Playa Matapalo bungalow rental - Relax in a hammock shaded by palm trees and feel the ocean breeze
Relax in a hammock shaded by palm trees and feel the ocean breeze
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps6
Minimum Stay nights
 

Playa Matapalo Bungalow Rental Photos and Description
Bungalow, 1 Bedroom + Other (See Description), 1.5 Baths, (Sleeps 2-6)

Welcome to Paradise! We can accommodate up to 8 people with our studio and and one bedroom bungalows.

Slice of Paradise is located on one of the most beautiful and pristine beaches in Costa Rica. There is an abundance of wildlife here including giant sea turtles, sloths, monkeys and is an incredible spot for bird-watching.

Our lush tropical gardens are a beauty to behold and include mango, key lime, avocado and grapefruit trees. We also have an amazing selection of orchids, pink and red ginger and birds of paradise to name just a few. If you are in need of a mind, body and soulful experience and would like to see Mother Nature at her finest Slice of Paradise is the place for you.

Being located only 25km south of Manuel Antonio National Park and 15km north of awesome surfing in Dominical, Slice of Paradise is centrally located to all the best things Costa Rica has to offer.

Keywords:

51 Reviews of Property 135036 in Playa Matapalo, Costa Rica

Slice of Paradise Luxury Beach Bungalows
average rating of 4.8235292 based on 51 reviews
business
Slice of Paradise Luxury Beach Bungalows
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p135036vbi
506-2-787-5059 Costa Rica Home
Playa Matapalo Puntarenas
Patchogue, New York
5

Wouldnt stay anywhere else!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
If it weren't for Ron and Slice of Paradise, our vacation wouldn't have been as truly AMAZING as it was! The bungalow was more than perfect with everything you need provided. The room was more like an apartment which made it even harder to leave! The beach was BEAUTIFUL and almost everyday we had it to ourselves! Ron was extremely helpful with any questions before and while we were there. He also showed us around different places in Costa Rica which was better than any tour could have done. If you are looking for a place to truly relax and enjoy each others company this is definitely the place for you! Ron really made our two weeks there fly by! Next year we'll have to stay for at least a month! Thank you Ron for the perfect vacation!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Slice of Paradise Luxury Beach Bungalows
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p135036vbi
506-2-787-5059 Costa Rica Home
Playa Matapalo Puntarenas
5

More than perfect paradise!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 4, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
After more than 3 months in this country we were looking for a magical place to spend our very last days in Costa Rica. We found that place in Matapalo and were lucky enough to stay at Ron’s place. The cabina is really nice and was very convenient for our family (with 2 small kids), with a fully equipped kitchen, plenty of beach towels and space…and everything was very clean and comfortable. There’s a gorgeous view on the inner land and mountains from the balcony, and animals such as monkeys, iguanas and many birds come in the surrounding garden, which is full of fruit trees. But what made our stay so unique was also Ron’s warm welcome into his paradise; he is a wonderful host, knows everything about the region, and we had a lot of fun when he initiated us to ocean kayaking or took us for a refreshing bath in a secret waterfall. All in one he was very helpful and cool with us, and the kids loved him. Thank you Ron for the perfect stay, we hope one day we will be able to come back to you place.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Slice of Paradise Luxury Beach Bungalows
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p135036vbi
506-2-787-5059 Costa Rica Home
Playa Matapalo Puntarenas
ft collins
5

Home with a View

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 14, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
We have stayed at Slice of Paradise several times in the past few years, but this year was our first time renting the larger, two level, unit. The smaller unit is fine, but this time we particularly enjoyed the second level balcony in the large unit which faces east toward the coastal hills and offers a fantastic show of birds and iguanas at daybreak and throughout the day. As noted in other reviews, Ron is helpful with bikes, boards, and advice, and keeps bananas hanging out so the cute white-faced monkeys are often present in large numbers. WiFi is available on the back veranda of his house for folks who can't quite bond totally with paradise. Matapalo is a gem, and Slice of Paradise a fine place to stay.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Slice of Paradise Luxury Beach Bungalows
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p135036vbi
506-2-787-5059 Costa Rica Home
Playa Matapalo Puntarenas
5

SLICE OF PARADISE IS RIGHT

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 16, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
MY WIFE AND I JUST RETURNED FROM A 6 DAY VACATION IN COSTA RICA. SLICE OF PARADISE WAS A PERFECT CHOICE FOR US AND WILL BE FOR YOU AS WELL. VERY SECLUDED AND BEAUTIFUL BEACH. SOME DAYS WE DIDN'T SEE ANYONE FOR HOURS. MONKEYS VISIT ALMOST DAILEY TO START THE DAY OFF RIGHT. RON WAS A WONDERFUL HOST WHO TAKES TIME TO GET TO KNOW YOU AND ADVISES ON THINGS TO DO AND SEE. HE EVEN PERSONALLY TOOK US TO A WATERFALL NEARBY FOR A MORNING SWIM AND HELPED US FIND GOOD LOCAL FOOD AND FRESH FRUITS AND VEGGIES. CANT SAY ENOUGH ABOUT RON AND SLICE OF PARADISE. I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS SPOT FOR ANYONE AND WE WILL BE BACK SOON. THANKS RON. TILL THE NEXT TIME ROY AND APRIL.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Slice of Paradise Luxury Beach Bungalows
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p135036vbi
506-2-787-5059 Costa Rica Home
Playa Matapalo Puntarenas
5

Perfect accommodation, perfect surrounding, perfect host -3 generations had a perfect time!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 1, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
This place is perfect! We travelled with my parents and 3 boys aged 14 12 and 8. Everybody had a fabulous time. Ron was the ideal host. From the time of my first enquiry to the day we left he was a mine of information and advice and every recommendation he made for trips restaurants or any other activity was spot on. My dad ate sea food at the Happy lobster for the first time and is a convert!
The accommodation was outstanding. Clean, comfortable and spacious with great views of the mountains. We had both the one bed and duplex apartments which were ideal for our extended family. We felt safe and secure.
The beach is amazing, pristine sand and beautiful surroundings with great surf on your doorstep. Thanks to Ron's generosity in lending us his boards, we were all able to get out there together.
We are already planning next year's visit.
Thanks again Ron for our stay in paradise.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Slice of Paradise Luxury Beach Bungalows
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p135036vbi
506-2-787-5059 Costa Rica Home
Playa Matapalo Puntarenas
Peoria, Illinois
5

Great Family Memories Made!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 25, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
My husband, 2 year old son, and I stayed at Slice of Paradise for 8 days. At the conclusion of the 8 days, we were not ready to leave Paradise and return to reality. ? Our family stayed in the one bedroom bungalow which was perfect! There was a kitchen that met all of our needs and made breakfast and lunch with a 2 year old extremely manageable. We enjoyed the quiet evenings and liked waking up to the birds and sound of the ocean. We felt utterly safe and at home while staying in this bungalow.
Whether it was planning our zip-lining, rafting, boating, waterfall sightseeing, or dinners Ron was excellent in scheduling it all and communicating to us the times. He has so much knowledge about the land and knows all the right spots to visit. Listening to Ron, taking his advice on where to go and what to see was far better than any tour guide would give us. All the restaurants that were recommended by Ron were delicious not to mention suitable for a nice family dinner with a 2 year old. Ron took care of my family in all aspects. He took extra steps to ensure that our 2 year old son would have a trip of his life time. These steps were recommending having a family dinner at El Avion (sp?) so that our son could enjoy eating and sitting in a REAL airplane, hanging bananas so our son could enjoy the show of all the monkeys coming in and watching them eat the bananas. His dog, “Capi,” was also a big hit.
We were greeted every morning and felt entirely comfortable and welcomed. We enjoyed the memories that were made while at Slice of Paradise and look forward to another trip back. We will not be considering staying at any other bungalow. Slice of Paradise with Ron is the only option for us! Our son still talks about Ron, the monkeys, and beach to this day! There are no words to express to Ron how thankful we are for is assistance in ensuring that our family had the trip of a lifetime. We WILL be coming back soon for round 2! Pura Vida….
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Slice of Paradise Luxury Beach Bungalows
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p135036vbi
506-2-787-5059 Costa Rica Home
Playa Matapalo Puntarenas
Ft. Lauderdale, FL, US
5

Well appointed, clean and steps away from the beach

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
I just enjoyed a weekend stay in Playa Matapalo, located between Quepos and Dominical. While I have visited Matapalo before, this was my first time staying at Slice of Paradise Beach Bungalows. Owner Ron has put together an excellent beach side getaway that offers several well appointed and comfortable apartments.

The unit I stayed in was a 2-story villa with one and a half baths, a large fully equipped kitchen and an upstairs bedroom with a balcony offering views of the mountains and marsh lands. There was air conditioning throughout but I never had to use it because the beach breezes were so pleasant.
My favorite part of staying here is waking up to the sound of birds chirping and the rolling waves hitting the beach. "Slice of Paradise" really is an appropriate name for this place. I'll be back soon!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Slice of Paradise Luxury Beach Bungalows
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p135036vbi
506-2-787-5059 Costa Rica Home
Playa Matapalo Puntarenas
Ny
5

Best spot in cr!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
This all started out as my girlfriend saying that we should take a surf trip to Costa Rica. As she was blindly looking through internet posts and sending requests to random places she stumbled upon Slice of Paradise. Due to my skepticism I at first wasn't too sure even after seeing the gorgeous pictures, but once we were able to talk with the owner (Ron), who is THE person you would want to welcome you to your tranquil beachside vacation, I was quickly at ease and very very happy with our choice! Along with the beautiful and uncrowned beach, Ron would show us around to some of the best paces I have ever been! He has incredible knowledge of the area and the country itself. When we weren't at the beach or out seeing some ode the places nearby with Ron we were lounging in hammocks on the back deck enjoying the company of monkeys in the tres while of course sipping on an appropriate rum drink made with the best freh produce and fruits grown locally. This was totally a slice of paradise and I recommend it to anyone who is looking for a nice quiet tropical stay with a great host and tranquil setting.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Slice of Paradise Luxury Beach Bungalows
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p135036vbi
506-2-787-5059 Costa Rica Home
Playa Matapalo Puntarenas
Baschleiden/ Luxembourg
5

Our marvelous WE to Slice of Paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
It's really a paradise this place.
We stayed 5 weeks in Costa Rica. We went to a lot of places and hotels; but this one is the best one witn a very good price. The bed is the biggest I never saw also in 5* hotels...and so confortable.
It's not a room you're renting but an appartement! It's very luxury....So beautifull! And the view you have is awsome....
I just can say one thing: if you go to Costa Rica near Quepos, go to Matapalo playa(very beautifull beach), and spend one week to this place. You will love it...

Ron, the owner, is a very nice guy. he will help you to organize some trips if you need; he knows a lot. He has bicycles you can use, body surfs, surfs boards and all of that for free!

You must go there; you will never regret it...;

Françoise and Martin
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Slice of Paradise Luxury Beach Bungalows
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p135036vbi
506-2-787-5059 Costa Rica Home
Playa Matapalo Puntarenas
Baschleiden/ Luxembourg
5

Our marvelous WE to Slice of Paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
It's really a paradise this place.
We stayed 5 weeks in Costa Rica. We went to a lot of places and hotels; but this one is the best one witn a very good price. The bed is the biggest I never saw also in 5* hotels...and so confortable.
It's not a room you're renting but an appartement! It's very luxury....So beautifull! And the view you have is awsome....
I just can say one thing: if you go to Costa Rica near Quepos, go to Matapalo playa(very beautifull beach), and spend one week to this place. You will love it...

Ron, the owner, is a very nice guy. he will help you to organize some trips if you need; he knows a lot. He has bicycles you can use, body surfs, surfs boards and all of that for free!

You must go there; you will never regret it...;

Françoise and Martin
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway