Alton house rental - View of home from boat on water
View of home from boat on water
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps12
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
 

Alton House Rental Photos and Description
4 bedrooms, 3 bathrooms, sleeps 10-12

This Ultra modern 4 bedroom contemporary features 4 levels, 5 decks, 3 bathrooms, fireplace, and views of Lake Winnipesaukee from almost every room. A 34' U shaped dock and gradual sandy shoreline make this an exceptional lake Winnipesaukee waterfront vacation retreat. Lots of windows, skylights, 5 decks and spectacular views. Four levels of luxurious living featuring an attractive master suite with cathedral ceiling and fan, queen bed, double sliders to common deck and private balcony, and master bath with marble floors and double sinks.

There is another bedroom on the same level for the children with two sets of bunk beds and sliders to a deck overlooking the lake. Upstairs there are two bedrooms, one with a queen and one with a full bed, cathedral ceilings, and double sliders to a deck overlooking the lake. This is a year round home with laundry facilities, patio furniture, and water accessories including two kayaks with children seat. Come and have fun!

Welcome to our Lake House!: We'd like to welcome you to our lake house! We've owned the house for several years and we thoroughly enjoy using it ourselves several weeks a year. We rent it when we're not using it ourselves. Because of that, we have it furnished to utilize for us and also for you. Whether you come in the summer for the water fun, come in the fall for the beautiful fall foliage, come in the winter for the skiing, snowmobiling, and ice fishing, or come in the spring for the hiking, golf, and fresh air, we hope you will RELAX and find this a retreat you'll want to enjoy year after year! -Marie Presti, Owner

Boaters/Improvements: For our Boaters... NH requires all drivers of boats and water vehicles to have a license. Parker Marine located at the tip of Alton Bay (about a mile and a half away) has boats for rent. Gillan Marine is about 12 minutes away and also offers boat rentals. There are over 200 islands on Lake Winnipesaukee, some private and some open to the public. They sometimes will give you a temporary license if you're vacationing.

We've made updates each year and hope you like the improvements. For example, in Sept 07 we installed all new stainless steel appliances in the kitchen including new stove, refrigerator, and dishwasher. In '08 we purchased all new furniture for the family room. In '09 we installed a new bedroom set in the upstairs bedroom. In '10 we purchased TWO KAYAKS for your use! In '11 a new sectional and HD TV. In '12 a new blue ray DVD. In '13 we got a new roof, new exterior doors, new faucets, new whirlpool tub and painted the whole inside/exterior trim. In 2014 we refinished the living/dining room floors. Who knows what new items we'll have by the time you arrive!

Gunstock Mountain Information for Winter Fun: Less than 30 minutes away is Gunstock Mountain which is great for downhill skiing, snowboarding, cross country skiing, zip lining or snow tubing! General Info:

Vertical Drop: 1400 feet

Total Acreage: 220 (trail and glade)

Snowmaking Coverage: 80%

Number of Trails: 51

12% Novice, 61% Intermediate, 27% Expert

Lifts: 7 (1 high-speed quad, 1 quad, 2 triples, 1 double, 1 conveyor)

Night Skiing: 21 Trails, 5 Lifts

Snowboarding: All Trails, freestyle terrain park and wall (its the closest 12 acre park north of Boston!)

Thrill Hill Tubing Park – NH’s Longest Tubing Run!

More Details
Hide Details

We've owned the house for 9 years and use it ourselves in the off season. We like to keep it open year round and have it set up like a year round home.

Marie A. Presti, Owner purchased this house in 2005

We loved being on the 'Big Lake'. You can go so many places by car or boat, and this house has such awesome views, sometimes you don't have to go anywhere to be entertained by other boaters, snowmobilers, water-skiers, or other lakers. Also, this house has all the privacy you need but you have lots of common areas to socialize also.

waterfront, dock, can bring your own boat or rent one, swimming, westerly views, sunsets, many decks, privacy for lots of people.

16 Reviews of Property 134608 in Alton, New Hampshire

Lake Winnipesaukee Waterfront Year Round Contemporary with Dock- Sun/Ski
average rating of 4.4615383 based on 16 reviews
business
Lake Winnipesaukee Waterfront Year Round Contemporary with Dock- Sun/Ski
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p134608
+1 6176206948
Alton Lake Winnipesaukee Area
Boston
5

2008 New Year's stay

2008 New Year's stay
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 6, 2008
  • Stayed: Dec 2007
I can't tell how much we were impressed by this beautiful house. No one wants to come back to work now, time well spent! Perfect location: Gunstuck Ski resort is only 20 min away.
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your nice comments. We really appreciate them! Yes, so many people think this is just a summer vacation house but its wonderful all year round! We also have cross country ski'd in Wolfeboro just 15 minutes away also.
Helpful votes: 5/7
business
Lake Winnipesaukee Waterfront Year Round Contemporary with Dock- Sun/Ski
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p134608
+1 6176206948
Alton Lake Winnipesaukee Area
5

Would definitely recommend.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Overall we had a great time at this property. The house accommodated our large group for a family reunion and the location on Alton Bay cant be beat!. The decks lent themselves to great views of the fireworks and boat watching throughout the day. We also enjoyed the multiple levels of the house. Everything worked and the detailed instructions from the property owner made it easy for us to arrive and leave with no hassles.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Lake Winnipesaukee Waterfront Year Round Contemporary with Dock- Sun/Ski
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p134608
+1 6176206948
Alton Lake Winnipesaukee Area
2

Magnificent house, on the most beautiful Alton bay

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Our family reunion was great. The spacious rooms, overlooking the bay,and in clean, orderly condition. But, sadly the house has mold issues. And because it rained several days, we closed all the windows,and that is when the mold and mildew in most every room became so bad. 2 of our grand-children have asthma, so this was the worse surroundings for them to be in. But, my daughter and son had their medicines for the children and we made the best of staying outside when we could. Landlord should have been more upfront. I would love to recommend this house to family and friends, but I can't. If those issues can be addressed, this is an awesome area to have a family reunion.
Owner's Response: I find it funny that you never mentioned ANY issues to us throughout the week yet we spoke together several times on the phone during the week and also we spoke on the Saturday check out day itself. You even told me it was awesome and you would love to come again. It was only when I kept some money from your security deposit because you didn't clean any of your towels all week (taking my cleaner an extra 2 hours) that you then brought up this issue and specifically told me you would write a "bad" review if I kept some of your security deposit. How ironic... :) I'm sorry you feel this way but we have never had any "mold" issues in the house and haven't had any complaints about mold with any other tenants this summer or any tenants since your stay either.
Helpful votes: 2/7
business
Lake Winnipesaukee Waterfront Year Round Contemporary with Dock- Sun/Ski
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p134608
+1 6176206948
Alton Lake Winnipesaukee Area
5

Alton Bay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
This house was a great experience. We went up for the Tough Mudder and couldn't have asked for a better time.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Lake Winnipesaukee Waterfront Year Round Contemporary with Dock- Sun/Ski
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p134608
+1 6176206948
Alton Lake Winnipesaukee Area
2

1st Trip to Winnipesaukee

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 16, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
This house is a nice location with beautiful views of the lake. I have mixed views of this home as a rental. It's listed as a "luxury" property so my expectations were fairly high. From my perspective, this is not a luxury home.

Pro's: Great views, many different levels so kids could play or watch TV and not bother the adults if they wanted to sit and talk or read on a different level. Plenty of parking and lots of kitchen equipment. Dock right there and a few steps into the water so the kids could swim and play off the dock. Short drive to Wolfeboro which has some good restaurants and is a cute town to visit.

Con's: The house is not in good shape. Chips and marks on the walls, cobwebs and dust on the decor, master bath jacuzzi tub not working, and very musty/moldy smelling "kids" room on the main floor. Door moldings/trim is rotting away at the base of the doors that lead outside in multiple locations. The home was not cleaned very thoroughly prior to our arrival so the lamp shades above your head in the master bedroom were so dusty, that I cleaned them off prior to sleeping in the bed and master shower is not so great. Oven smoked up a storm the first time we used it as someone left burnt food on the bottom of it. If you are not in great shape, the trip up and down the stairs is a hike. Fine for us, but hard on the grandparents.

Maybe this is just what all rental homes are like in Winnipesaukee, but I can tell you that I would not rent this home again. It's definitely not a luxury rental.
Owner's Response: Thanks for your comments as we take them very seriously. We did have an issue with the jacuzzi tub this summer and am now working on resolving the issue now this fall. We also had a new cleaning assistant this year and so she wasn't used to cleaning the house. In defense, we do dust weekly but New Hampshire is a place that has a lot of pollen being so close to the lake so it collects very fast. Again, we are reviewing your list and making sure to fix all issues. Thanks Again.
Helpful votes: 5/6
business
Lake Winnipesaukee Waterfront Year Round Contemporary with Dock- Sun/Ski
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p134608
+1 6176206948
Alton Lake Winnipesaukee Area
4

Beautiful Lake and location but the house was a little worn.

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We stayed for a week and the view of the lake and location is perfect. The house defiantly looks better in the pictures. The main living areas are pretty worn and the deck is splintering pretty badly. The storage area had kayaks and some kids toys but was a mess and looked like someone just tossed it all in at random. The door for the storage area fell on us when we opened it....Overall it could use some work... However, the bedrooms were clean and it was great for the our large family. I would not recommend for small children or elderly because there are a lot of steps.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: This was last years response and we have since done a lot of maintenance including painting the entire interior, painting exterior railings and trim, installed a new roof, installed new exterior doors, updated the master bath including new fixtures and jacuzzi tub. All of our tenants this year have given us good reviews in terms of our maintenance upkeep.
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
Lake Winnipesaukee Waterfront Year Round Contemporary with Dock- Sun/Ski
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p134608
+1 6176206948
Alton Lake Winnipesaukee Area
New York City
5

Picturesque vacation, comfortable home, helpful owners

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 28, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
My family, including 2 kids, and 2 sets of grandparents, stayed in this property Thanksgiving week 2011. The house was cozy and comfortable, with beautiful lake views from many windows -- amazing to wake up to the view. The owner was very helpful with any questions we had about the house or the area. We enjoyed using the new instant Netflix feature on the TV, as well as the free wifi for our various laptops and iPads. There was plenty to do within an hours' radius, even in this off-season time. When we were out and about on our day trips, my 3 year-old daughter would ask if we could go back to our vacation house instead. My husband managed to squeeze in 3 or 4 morning kayaking adventures even in the cooler temperatures. There are enough different gathering areas in the house for small groups to do their own thing when they want to, which was good for our family. Clean property with many more amenities than other standard vacation rentals -- would definitely recommend it.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Lake Winnipesaukee Waterfront Year Round Contemporary with Dock- Sun/Ski
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p134608
+1 6176206948
Alton Lake Winnipesaukee Area
5

An Amazing Month on the Lake

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 11, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
This house should be at the top of the list for anyone looking for a large, clean, and ideally located vacation home on the lake. Local amenities are plentiful and the house is especially suited for groups or big families. There’s a Hannaford supermarket about 3 miles away and for organic groceries, Meat House steaks, and Boar’s Head cold cuts, Fiddlehead Farms Market is about a mile away. You can find big houses like this on Lake Winnipesaukee but not at this price point. Our group consisted of young kids, adults and older grandparents. The design of the house is such that there are lots of stairs – but with proper planning and baby proofing it’s not an issue. Everyone had a great time and agreed the house provided the perfect backdrop for our vacation. The description of the house was accurate and the owner was very good to work with. Although we didn’t need him often, over the course of our month-long stay a local house caretaker was very responsive and eager to assist. The house is situated on a narrow part of the lake and watching the boats cruise in and out of Alton Bay while enjoying a cocktail on one of the many decks was a great way to pass a leisurely afternoon. There are plenty of activities nearby with Wolfboro’s great downtown, Laconia and Tilton all within a reasonable distance which made even the rainy days enjoyable. I would certainly recommend this house to anyone looking for a great place to stay while at the lake.
Owner's Response: Thanks Pete! We would love to host you again should you have the opportunity! And we love large extended families! Best, Marie
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Lake Winnipesaukee Waterfront Year Round Contemporary with Dock- Sun/Ski
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p134608
+1 6176206948
Alton Lake Winnipesaukee Area
5

Magnificent Vacation at Magnificent House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
We had a wonderful time at a 3-family reunion in this spectacular house - 9 adults and 5 kids. The house is magnificent - it must have won some architectural design awards with its multiple levels, tasteful decks at each one of them, skylights and spectacular views - and the lake is beautiful. We had plans to go visit other parts of the lake, including the municipal beach for the kids, but this place had everything, so no one wanted to leave. The kids loved the beach and the little swimming area between the two docks. Everyone loved the two kayaks and the rubber raft, and they got lots of usage from adults and kids - we even kayaked through Alton Bay to the Merrymeeting River.

The kitchen was a big hit - lots of room and very well-appointed with every appliance we needed - stove, oven, microwave, dishwasher and even a blender for margaritas. The house was well-furnished and a cut above what we'd expect for a vacation place. The multiple TV sets were a big plus as the kids often wanted to watch different shows. The wireless setup and the printer were great (and well-used) for us computer people with our three laptops up there. The NetFlix subscription was a nice touch, though we didn't take advantage of it - too much else to keep us busy. The beds were fully supplied with linens, including the air mattress and futon, and the bathrooms were clean and modern. The views out the living room window were panoramic and spectacular. The decks were well-furnished and comfortable - when the sun left one deck, we'd just move to another. The grill was great and got well-used for hamburgers, hot dogs, kabobs and steaks - everything tastes better on a lake.

What a magnificent vacation in a magnificent house. We loved it, and we'd love to come back again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Lake Winnipesaukee Waterfront Year Round Contemporary with Dock- Sun/Ski
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p134608
+1 6176206948
Alton Lake Winnipesaukee Area
Lakeville,Ma
5

Excellent!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 6, 2011
  • Stayed: Feb 2011
We just came home from our annual family ski trip - this house was perfect for us - plenty of room for everyone!! Very clean and neat!! Ice fishing right out the back door and only 20 mins. to Gunstock!! I would definately recommend this house for any family gathering!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1