Orwell chalet rental - Nestled in the cove at Autumn Lake
Nestled in the cove at Autumn Lake
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps9
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay nights
 

Orwell Chalet Rental Photos and Description
3 BR and loft, 2 BA sleeps up to 9

This 1540 sq. foot chalet on 5 acres is nestled in a quiet cove on Autumn lake, just a few miles east of Pulaski, NY. Swim or fish for bass and trout on a private lake or walk across the street and fish for Rainbow and Steelhead trout and Northerns.

Enjoy the use of our kayaks and row boat. White water rafting is nearby and The Salmon River, only a mile away offers excellent salmon fishing in the fall. The Tug Hill Plateau snowmobile system can be accessed right from the property, which is located at the (C5) access point. With Alexandria bay less than an hour away, your stay will be eventful.

Fishing: The Salmon River is 1 mile away and offers great Chinook, Atlantic and Coho salmon fishing from September to November. Steelhead trout are prevalent pretty much from September to May. Northern Pike are also present in these and other waters from May to November. Bass fishing is allowed year round. Catch and release are practiced by all on autumn Lake as a means to preserve fish populations for excellent fishing.

White water rafting: Early spring and several especially reserved periods throughout the summer allows for some of the greatest white water rafting on the salmon River. All at reasonable prices.

snowmobiling/Cross Country Skiing: Numerous snowmobiling trails and cross country specific trails are next to or close by the Chalet.

More Details
Hide Details

31 Reviews of Property 134379 in Orwell, New York

Lakefront Chalet near Salmon River with cross country skiing/snowmobile trails
average rating of 4.967742 based on 31 reviews
business
Lakefront Chalet near Salmon River with cross country skiing/snowmobile trails
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p134379
+1 413 563-5678
Orwell Thousand Islands
5

Excellent place to rent

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Dave and Roz were gracious hosts and clearly communicated all details about the house. They were very easy to work with throughout the process and genuinely nice people. The house itself was clean and well stocked (included a mountain of board games which we really enjoyed) and very cozy. We enjoyed the electric fireplace in the living room and the real firepit outside. The lake is beautiful and very relaxing to take a boat out on and go fishing. We stayed here with 4 adult couples (and our 7 month old baby) and felt quite comfortable. We already want to rent next year! I would highly recommend this property. Thanks again Dave!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Lakefront Chalet near Salmon River with cross country skiing/snowmobile trails
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p134379
+1 413 563-5678
Orwell Thousand Islands
5

Beautiful, peaceful and private.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
The Chalet was all Dave and Roz advertise. The home is well kept, clean and just down right gorgeous. Very quiet and private spot. My family (wife, 2 daughters, 2 son-in-laws, 3 grandsons) had a extremely relaxing week. My 5 and 7 year old grandsons swam, kayaked and caught fish when ever they felt like it. They both have told me they that they want to live there! The satellite TV came in handy to quiet them down before bed time. Dave does a great job of communicating facts about the house and area. We enjoyed the fish hatchery, Salmon River falls and Sandy Island Beach State park just minutes away. If you're looking for some tranquility THIS IS the place for you. Many thanks to Dave and Roz. Peace.
Owner's Response: Thanks you Chuck and Deloris for the pleasurable experience of renting our home to your fabulous family! It really means a lot to be part of your vacation memories. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Hope to see you again.
Dave
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Lakefront Chalet near Salmon River with cross country skiing/snowmobile trails
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p134379
+1 413 563-5678
Orwell Thousand Islands
Long Island, N.Y.
5

AWESOME WEEK IN PARADISE!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
Dave and Roz,
Bill, Justine and myself can't thank you enough for providing such a great place for us to stay and enjoy our annual fall fishing trip to Altmar. The house was immaculate and everything we needed was there, we couldn't have asked for more. We would highly recommend your chalet for anyone looking for a great place to stay and enjoy a week or more of R&R. We're already booked again for 2013 and looking forward to another great week in Altmar. The fishing can be hit or miss but we know the accommodations are always first class, which makes it easier to relax after a long day fishing. Thanks again, see you this fall.
Regards,
Chris
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Lakefront Chalet near Salmon River with cross country skiing/snowmobile trails
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p134379
+1 413 563-5678
Orwell Thousand Islands
Forest Hill, Maryland
5

Fishing trip to Pulaski NY (Chalet)

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
I’m a little behind on writing this review for our fishing trip to Pulaski NY in October 2012. However, I wanted to make sure that everyone that is planning a vacation has an opportunity to check with Dave & Roz before staying anywhere else. My son and I stayed at the Chalet in October of 2012 and 2011. This is truly a beautiful place. In addition to the fishing, we always enjoy the peaceful Private Lake. Trust me; you cannot beat the comfort of staying here. All the privacy you need and very clean. Dave and Roz are hardworking people that go the extra mile to make certain that everyone is happy here. Go, stay and relax. You will not regret one moment. Thanks again Dave & Roz you’re the best of the best. Larry Sr. & Larry Jr.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Lakefront Chalet near Salmon River with cross country skiing/snowmobile trails
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p134379
+1 413 563-5678
Orwell Thousand Islands
5

Guys Fishing Trip

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
The house is beautiful and the fishing was amazing!!!! Myself and six of my high school friends got together for a guy’s fishing trip at the chalet. There was plenty of room for all of us and we did not need to leave the house once because it had everything we needed. We had a fishing tournament on the final Saturday and I lost even though I caught 28 fish in just 3 hours!! We had a great time sitting by the fire or on the deck just reminiscing about old times. The week was everything we hoped it would be and more and will definitely be back. Thanks for everything!!!!!

Jason
Owner's Response: Nothing more I like to here about Autumn Lake is the fishing is awesome! Our private lake is respected by all and catch and release makes it one of the most productive lakes in upstate NY. Too bad you missed the 8 pounder that our neighbor John caught (and released) back into the lake in September. Thanks for the Review!
Dave
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Lakefront Chalet near Salmon River with cross country skiing/snowmobile trails
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p134379
+1 413 563-5678
Orwell Thousand Islands
5

Fantastic Vacation Rental

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
I was looking for a relaxing place to say that would allow me to stay off the grid and away from any stress. This chalet offered everything I was looking for and much more. I also wanted to enjoy some quality time with my wife and grown children. We all enjoyed every aspect of the stay.

The cottage has every possible amenity you could imagine. We literally only needed to bring our clothes and some food. The kitchen has everything needed. There were games, TV, wireless network and extremely comfortable furniture. Dave also provided all the boats and water craft we needed. I had asked about bringing my own kayaks and he stated that they had everything I would need. That saved me the work of packing all my gear. He even provided all the fishing gear we needed. I lost count at 25 large and small mouth bass we caught. We spent all day on and in the water. The beach area was great for floating, swimming and relaxing. Nothing better than having the entire cove to yourself. I saw one other boat the entire week. We took advantage of the great fire pit, gas grill and deck. We were outside almost the entire week. The one day we had some rain we enjoyed the games, reading and the very comfortable home.
Dave has to be the nicest guy I have ever rented from. He was very easy to work with and took care of any needs. Dave and Roz keep the place extremely clean and in great shape.

I would highly recommend the cottage for anyone that wanted a relaxing vacation and didn’t want to worry about packing a lot of extra gear. The location is beautiful and quiet. If you are interested in some day trips you are not far from the Salmon River falls, 1000 Islands and wine country. We did take one day trip to the 1000 Islands. We toured the boat museum and castles both of which were well worth the trip.

Thank you Dave and Roz for one of the best vacations we’ve had in years!
Owner's Response: Thanks for the thoughtful review Doug, Don't be a stranger and feel free to come back and pack-up more memories.

Dave and Roz
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Lakefront Chalet near Salmon River with cross country skiing/snowmobile trails
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p134379
+1 413 563-5678
Orwell Thousand Islands
Ontario, Canada.
5

Great place, great owners.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
This cottage is an ideal place to spend if you’re looking for a quiet, relaxing, place to vacation. The cottage is on a small cove and there are no motors allowed on the lake. You won’t see jetski’s flying by or the roar of outboard motors. The cottage itself is very well equipped with most everything you’ll need including a propane BBQ which is a new addition to the place and it works great. There are dozens of games inside for rainy days and outdoor games for the nice weather. Boats, rods, and life jackets are all provided.
The owner – Dave goes out of his way to make sure that your stay is a great experience. He’s there to greet you, and to see you on your way. He checks in by phone just to make sure there’s no issues (the smile never leaves his face either).

I’d recommend this place to people who are looking to relax and enjoy nature, to get away from the noise. The stars at night are amazing, we saw whitetail deer, wild turkey, grouse. We caught frogs, bugs, and many largemouth bass on the lake. The forest is great as well, a nice trail where the kids can run and play without getting eaten alive by bugs.

The falls nearby is a “must see” and be sure to bring a large container to put water into as there’s a spring on the way to the falls on the side of the road where you can get ice cold spring water. This saves you time and money by not having to buy water in town. We also spent a day at a state park – Sandy Island Beach State Park, it’s about a 30 min drive and it’s a nice beach with life guards and a small cost to enter.

If you want a quiet, relaxing, vacation, next to wilderness, but still with wi-fi, satellite tv, and a microwave oven, I’d recommend this place. It’s great for any age.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Roz and I so appreciate your thoughtful review. It is always our hope that your stay will bring back fond family memories and hopefully future family memories for years to come. Come back soon!

Our Best,

Dave and Roz Fernandes
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Lakefront Chalet near Salmon River with cross country skiing/snowmobile trails
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p134379
+1 413 563-5678
Orwell Thousand Islands
Forest Hill, Maryland
5

Comforting & Beyond Beautiful

Comforting & Beyond Beautiful
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 16, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
I’ve been visiting New York for the excellent fishing on and off over the last 20+ years. I’ve enjoyed the places that I have stayed. Usually, once I get comfortable, I normally don’t change places. However, this was the first year that my son was going to join me on the fishing trip. We decided to start fresh with a new place. We found the Chalet while looking at vacation homes. Sometimes, you just know when you hit a winner. I contacted Dave and found him to be super friendly and welcoming. My son and I decided to give it a try. WOW!!!! What great people. Dave and his wife Roz should win some type of award for friendliness. They even called us on our cell phone while we were driving to New York from Maryland just to check on us and to make sure everything was okay. Once we arrived, they gave us the grand tour of the Chalet, offered to share fishing equipment and the secrets of the lake. I can’t even begin to tell you how relaxed and comfortable we felt staying there. I can’t imagine staying anywhere else when we return for our next trip. Thank you again Dave and Roz. You’re the best of the best. Larry Sr. & Larry Jr.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Lakefront Chalet near Salmon River with cross country skiing/snowmobile trails
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p134379
+1 413 563-5678
Orwell Thousand Islands
5

Fabulous Fun and Relaxation had by ALL!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 25, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
This was our second stay at the Chalet. Roz and Dave are make you feel so welcome, and comfortable - like your part of the family. They are there to greet you, show you what is new, how to work things, etc. There is nothing that you could possibly want, that is not there at the Chalet. Outside - boats and rods for fishing in the lake (which my son did non-stop). Fire pit, with benches to spend the evening sitting and chatting by the fire. Large deck with table and enough seating for everyone to have morning coffee, afternoon tea, or evening hot chocolate, taking in the beautiful scenery. A Charcoal, and red heat grill. And a dog kennel for your furry kids! Inside the chalet - its inviting, and cozy. Plenty room for everyone to have their own space. Satellite tv, wireless internet, numerous board games, well stocked kitchen with appliances / utencils, anything you could possibly need on vacation. We have stayed at numerous vacation rentals, but none that compare to the Chalet and its owners. We know that when we arrive, everything is clean, and working. No need to worry what it may be like. The Chalet is close to town and salmon river, yet far enough out that your not bothered by all the salmon fisherman and traffic. We knew from the first stay at the Chalet we would not have to look any further, and we would be going back year after year. Thank you Roz and Dave for sharing with us your Chalet.
Owner's Response: Looking over my reviews I realized that I never submitted a response to last years review. So Sorry, but for all you readers...Tammy is back with her family this year and is fishing the lake with son Dalton,and clan, catching bass. Truly one of my Favorite fab families, that I look forward to seeing, year after year. Go hook a lunker for me and take a pic, Dalton.

Dave
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Lakefront Chalet near Salmon River with cross country skiing/snowmobile trails
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p134379
+1 413 563-5678
Orwell Thousand Islands
springville ny
5

wow

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
Our family stumbled upon this rental while looking for a vacation that everyone could enjoy without the usual tourist traps. Dave and Roz are wonderful-they greet you on your arrival and help get you situated. The home is amazing and very comfortable-everything you could ever need is provided. We fished everyday and even our 2yr old grandson couldn't wait for the next fish to be caught-you could tell he thought that was pretty exciting and would pet each one before they went back into the lake. We also enjoyed the kayaks-they were also used everyday. We also played horseshoes and bocce ball and went on a few trails to find some geocaches. The lake is beautiful and private-usually we were the only ones on it. We called the one end of the cove Turtle Log Bay-always saw several turtles sunning themselves on a log as well as seeing a beaver-very serene. And for some reason we were very intrigued with the old water tower built in 1914-very interesting as well as the Salmon river fallls. Thanks Dave and Roz for thr experience-it was a pleasure to meet you!!!-you really made us feel right at home and at ease. chip & donna
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children