Blue Ridge cabin rental - A Snow Fort
A Snow Fort
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps15
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay nights
 

Blue Ridge Cabin Rental Photos and Description
- 4BR, 3 BA, sleeps 15

Get away from the daily grind at 'A Snow Fort'. This beautiful log cabin is located directly off Aska Road & sits atop Green Mountain w/views of Lake Blue Ridge and panoramic vistas of the North Carolina, Tennessee, and Georgia Mountains. 'A Snow Fort' is wrapped w/ 2 open porches & 2 screened porches furnished w/ comfortable rocking chairs, lounge chairs, teak dining table/umbrella w/ seating for 6, day bed, hammock, hot tub, & gas grill. 'A Snow Fort' features 4 bedrooms, 3 baths, a loft, den/sports room, a spacious fully-equipped gourmet kitchen, spacious dining room, spacious living room, & large master bath. The large dining room is equipped w/ table for 8. The spacious living room is equipped w/ wood burning fireplace, sectional sofa, TV/DVD, & iPod player. The den/sports room is equipped w/ full wet bar, pool table, air hockey, books, & games. There is a priceless view from every corner of this beautiful cabin. Have fun & relax.

A Snow Fort - Lake Blue Ridge & Mountain View: Get away from the daily grind at 'A Snow Fort'. This beautiful log cabin is located directly off Aska Road and sits atop Green Mountain with views of Lake Blue Ridge and panoramic vistas of the North Carolina, Tennessee, and Georgia Mountains. 'A Snow Fort' is wrapped with porches and screen porches furnished with comfortable rocking chairs, teak dining table and umbrella with seating for 6, day bed, hammock, lounge chairs, sky chairs, hot tub, charcoal and gas grills. Escape to the downstairs den/sports room equipped with full wet bar, pool table, air hockey, games, & books. Enjoy mountain vistas as you relax or play in the den.

The gourmet kitchen is well-equipped with granite countertops, stainless steel appliances including refrigerator, microwave, oven, stove, dishwasher, and all of the cookware you will ever need. The large dining room is equipped with a table for 8 and mountain views. The spacious living room is equipped with wood burning fireplace, sectional sofa,TV/DVD, & iPod player. The loft is spacious and overlooks the dining and living rooms and features a comfortable seating area with couch, lounge chair, table and single over double authentic log bunk bed.

The master bedroom features a spacious screened porch with day bed, rocking chairs, & sky chair. The master bedroom features queen bed, night stand, lounge chair, TV/DVD, large master bath with double vanity sink, garden tub, and spacious slate shower with double shower heads. The 2nd bedroom features queen bed, night stand, lounge chair, & screened porch with 4 lounge chairs & sky chair. The 3rd bedroom features a queen bed with 2 night stands private bath & porch with hammock and rocking chairs. The 4th bedroom features a queen bed with lounge chair & TV/DVD. The Loft features an authentic log bunk bed with a single over double bed with sofa, lounge chair and table. Location is everything. 'A Snow Fort' is located directly off Aska Road and the Aska Adventure Area. Recreational activities include canoing on the Taccoa River, horse back riding, fishing, hiking, boating on Lake Blue Ridge, camping and much more. 'A Snow Fort' has it all !!!

More Details
Hide Details

9 Reviews of Property 133333 in Blue Ridge, Georgia

Aska Adventure Area with GA, NC &TN Mountain & Lake Blue Ridge Views!
average rating of 4.888889 based on 9 reviews
business
Aska Adventure Area with GA, NC &TN Mountain & Lake Blue Ridge Views!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p133333
404 931-1176
Blue Ridge North Georgia Mountains
Atlanta
5

Perfect Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
I stayed here with a number of friends last year for a very special numbered birthday (which I will not say). This place was stunning, beautiful views, relaxing porches, quite, peaceful, and very entertaining! All my guest and myself included were extremely impressed and had blast staying in this house for the weekend. It was like a home away from home. I look forward to returning to this place soon, I do believe it is in order. Thank you so much Snowfort for making my birthday celebration the best one yet and for being such a beautiful and comfy place to get away!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Aska Adventure Area with GA, NC &TN Mountain & Lake Blue Ridge Views!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p133333
404 931-1176
Blue Ridge North Georgia Mountains
Atlanta, GA
5

Great Getaway for Extended Family of 13

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
My sister and I wanted to plan a getaway with our families to celebrate our mom's 70th birthday. A Snow Fort was the perfect setting for the memories we will cherish for years to come. Lots of together time with room to spread out and relax, too. The mountain views were just like the pictures posted by the owner. As for the gravel road portion of the journey, I was a bit concerned after reading the other review, but we did not find it to be a problem. If you have concerns, just plan to arrive during daylight hours and judge for yourself. I think you'll find this property's charm more than worth the trip!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Aska Adventure Area with GA, NC &TN Mountain & Lake Blue Ridge Views!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p133333
404 931-1176
Blue Ridge North Georgia Mountains
4

HONEST REVIEW

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 4, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
The home is beautiful inside. The pictures you see are when the home was just built, the landscape/trees are overgrown. The house is right on the road, not as far away as the picture makes you think. The drive to the home is, to say the least, an adventure. You need a jeep or some type of 4 wheel vehicle. The road is gravel and very steep. You cannot leave the cabin and then decide to come back and have lunch, then leave again...be sure to be back by dark.. no lights on the road.
There are beautiful views from the cabin and it is very comfortable, kitchen is great... Lots of room! Just wanted those that are making a decision to stay here know about the drive to it.
We have stayed in the mountains before but the roads were paved and easier to travel...
The property was very clean and owner answered all my questions, I just didnt ask the right ones! :)
Owner's Response: These are the first neg. comments about the road since I began renting the cabin in '05.One of the endearing attributes of A Snow Fort is its location & most guests enjoy the approach to get there. It has sweeping views of the National Forest which is a picturesque landscape of 2000-4000 ft mtns & gorgeous valleys.What is unique about the view is there are no structures w/in the view (not even in the distance).It's just pure nature & pure views of the National Forest & when the full moon hangs above the peaks it's breathtaking.However, to get to this wonderful place you must travel down the National Forest Service Rd. Guests find the road a plus because they feel like they are "getting away".The National Forest Service maintains this well compacted road & there are no pot holes & NO steep inclines.I'm not sure why she stated it is steep. It is mostly level & curvy with slight inclines.You can refer to topographic maps online, follow the road with your curser, & see just how level it is. The road hugs Lake Blue Ridge & the trip in and of itself is a pleasure for most.The only steep portion of the trip is inside the security gate on a newly paved road which leads you to the top of the mountain where the cabin is situated. What I STRONGLY disagree w/ most about the review is her statement the guests need a four wheel drive. If that were true, there would be negative reviews stating just that & those reviews don't exist.I drove my 3-series BMW to the cabin from 2005 to 2008.There is about 8 inches of clearance from the Rd to the bottom of a 3-series. I never bottomed out once.

Regarding trees, the pic is from '05 but I have now switched it out with a recent photo & left the old photo online to compare the two pictures so you can see the trees have added to the property's charm.Since '05 I have planted numerous evergreens including Hemlocks, Deador Cedars, Long-Leaf Pines, Ponderosa Pines (from California) & more. I love trees & feel evergreens are the right choice.There really is no landscaping(except bushes across the front) to speak of since it is in the woods.

I do agree with the rest of the review.It is wonderfully appointed & clean w/ everything you need for the perfect Blue Ridge getaway.On your way in town go Ingles on Hwy 5/515 & load up w/ everything you need.Most guests tell me once they get to A Snow Fort they don't want to leave.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Aska Adventure Area with GA, NC &TN Mountain & Lake Blue Ridge Views!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p133333
404 931-1176
Blue Ridge North Georgia Mountains
5

One of the best views in N. Georgia

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
This property truly was a pleasure to visit. It was a weekend visit and I was extremely impressed with the quality of the craftsmanship and detail to the structure. With the wide open living space and kitchen, it is ideal for socializing. In addition the privacy of each bedroom makes for a perfect quiet getaway and peaceful night. I'd be remiss if I didn't mention how the view from any level on the back of the home was truly breathtaking. The sunrise and sunset were amazing. In fact we were blessed to see some friendly wildlife roam the lower hills of the backyard. This place is a must-go and I will definitely enjoy staying again!!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Aska Adventure Area with GA, NC &TN Mountain & Lake Blue Ridge Views!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p133333
404 931-1176
Blue Ridge North Georgia Mountains
Asheville, NC
5

What an awesome place!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
I have stayed at this lovely cabin more than once and I cannot say enough for how perfect it is. The decor is "mountainy" without being overly country or heavily themed. From the moment I stepped inside the first time, it said "relax and enjoy...feel pampered". The floorplan/layout is wonderful for large families/groups, with bedrooms spread out, and even a rec room downstairs in the walkout "basement" level (I put that in quotation because it is not at all "basementy" :) Huge multi level decks provide a breathtaking view. The kitchen is well equipped and spacious, and coupled with the large dining table, can accommodate many for dining. But the most notable thing, to me, is the "feel" of the place - it is BETTER than home away from home (it feels like home, only better!). It is without a doubt the BEST mountain cabin I have ever been in...and I grew up in the Asheville, in the mountains of WNC so I have been in many mountain vacation homes! Beyond that, it is the best vacation rental I have stayed in, in terms of the thoughtfulness of the owner and attention to details. Stay here...You will not be disappointed!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Aska Adventure Area with GA, NC &TN Mountain & Lake Blue Ridge Views!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p133333
404 931-1176
Blue Ridge North Georgia Mountains
Atlanta, Georgia
5

A Great Getaway!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
We have stayed at this home on numerous occasions and have always had a fabulous time! The house is perfectly appointed with everything you need for a great weekend. I have to mention the quality of the mattresses on all the beds, because when I go away, comfort while sleeping is my number one priority (If I can't sleep in a comfortable bed, I may as well camp -- um, no thanks!). So often with rentals you get lumpy or old mattresses, but the mattresses on all the beds at this property are as comfortable as my bed at home. As far as the location of the house, it is perfectly situated for access to everything in the area. Both days we went to nearby Morganton State park to swim, and we also parked on the side of the road in and walked down to the lake with our dogs to swim. Every time we go up there we find new things to do, from hiking totubing to boating to visiting a local orchard -- and they are all just a short drive from the property. On our next trip we will be checking out the nearby zipline! But it is almost as much fun just hanging out at the house, since it has everything people of all ages would want. We love having the hot tub available as well as the grill and large screen/DVD player. After a long day outside, we prefer to stay in during the evenings, so having the above makes for a perfect end to the days. And every morning we get a great work out by walking around the loop within the gates of the community. Finally, the owner was very responsive the to times we called him:once during a storm, when the power went out, and once when we accidentally set the alarm off. All in all, this is the perfect weekend spot for any season, and being under a 2 hour drive from Atlanta, we can enjoy all of Sunday before (regrettably) having to head home.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Aska Adventure Area with GA, NC &TN Mountain & Lake Blue Ridge Views!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p133333
404 931-1176
Blue Ridge North Georgia Mountains
Atlanta, GA
5

Pictures are accurate! Cabin is outstanding.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
My family and some friends stayed here in June and loved this property! We frequent Blue Ridge about twice a year and have always stayed in the same cabin and decided to tryout another location and I am glad we did! Ten adults had plenty of room to lounge, sleep and eat. Great kitchen layout allows for the people cooking to be part of the group that is lounging in the living room and the dining room. We walked down to the lake "bout a mile walk" and did a little fishing and swimming, watched DirecTV when it rained "they got the good channels!" and overall just enjoyed the view, seclusion and Blue Ridge. For being a techie, enjoyed the Bose speakers to hookup the 'ol ipod too!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Aska Adventure Area with GA, NC &TN Mountain & Lake Blue Ridge Views!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p133333
404 931-1176
Blue Ridge North Georgia Mountains
Atlanta, GA
5

Really amazing place!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 12, 2011
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
We stayed at the snow fort for a reunion of sorts (college buddies) and it was perfect. The cabin was awesome inside -- a really nice kitchen, supplied well, a nice LCD TV in the living room with a big couch, downstairs with a pool table, awesome decks for lounging, a hottub, and beds for everyone. Last but not least, the view is incredible. The pictures of the view provided above are accurate -- except it's even better.

As you can tell, I highly recommend this cabin, and I hope we get to go back before too long!
business
Aska Adventure Area with GA, NC &TN Mountain & Lake Blue Ridge Views!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p133333
404 931-1176
Blue Ridge North Georgia Mountains
Florida
5

Perfect Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 29, 2007
  • Stayed: Dec 2007
My family and I were looking for a place to get away for the Holidays, something different from the usual palm trees & 80 degrees that we've experienced in South Florida for the last 18 years. We found it surfing the net. "A Snow Fort" is exactly what we wanted. It was spacious enough for the 14 of us,it was clean and well furnished and the kitchen was amazing! We loved the roaring fire, the downstairs play room and the comfortable beds. Being "City Slickers" the road to the cabin was a bit daunting but by the end of our stay we were pros at navigating the steep, narrow slopes. The gated entrance, alarm system and friendliness of everyone we encountered on the mountain gave us a great sense of security. I look forward to vacationing there again soon.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 4/4