Holualoa estate rental - Back yard lanai, pool & jacuzzi .. From the lanai you have a perfect ocean view.
Back yard lanai, pool & jacuzzi .. From the lanai you have a perfect ocean view.
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps22
  • 5 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 - 8 nights
 

Holualoa Estate Rental Photos and Description
Estate, 4 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 5 Baths, (Sleeps 17-22)

A four bedroom (including additional 'Ohana' unit), plus a family room non-smoking unit (3746 square feet/348 square meters) in a home-style single home with a panoramic view of the ocean. This home has three kings, two doubles, and twelve single beds (or 5 doubles & 6 singles) for a total of 17 beds. Sleeping double in king & double beds give a maximum occupancy of 22.

For more information, please see our direct 'Lako House' website at www.lakohouse.com

FEATURES OF LAKO HOUSE:

* Living Room (376 sq ft): Two sofas, entertainment system (large TV with cable, VCR, Multi-region DVD, many DVD/VCR tapes), large plush chair, large coffee table, and ceiling fan. Access to pool, jacuzzi, barbecue area (back yard).

* Master Bedroom (605 sq ft): One king (two persons), and one sofa bed with trundle (two persons). Has TV and VCR, reclining chair, ceiling fan, two separate (his/hers) bathrooms: one shower, one shower/tub, two basins, two toilets, one bidet, two large closets, and two ceiling fans. Private sliding door with access to side yard. Space for optional full-size bed and/or futons (two to three more persons).

* Bedroom #2 (536 sq ft): One king (two persons), two single (two persons), and two very large couch beds (two to three persons) that can be put together two make a king-size bed. Desk and chair, ceiling fan. Private access to front yard, Space for optional full-size bed and/or futon (two to three more persons). Adjoining common shower and basin area.

* Bedroom #3 (209 sq ft): Two single beds (two persons). Ceiling fan, private access to side yard. Bathroom with tub, shower, basin, and ceiling fan.

* Bathrooms: All three have ceiling fans, hair dryers, shampoo, and hair conditioner. Fourth 'bath' is actually a separated shower and basin area; the toilet is for separate 'guest-use' located in the entry hall area.

* 'Ohana' unit (690 sq ft): Private access and separated unit with kitchenette,large living area, walk-in closet, ceiling fans. Has TV, DVD player, computer (Mac with Virtual PC software), DSL internet connection, fax, phone. Bathroom with tub, shower, basin, and toilet.

* More Features: There are two sets of washer and dryers (inside and outside), Lanai (434 sq ft) with tables and chairs for seating 25 people, outdoor swimming pool with waterfall, jacuzzi. Separate Dining Room (289 square feet) with seating for eight, high vaulted ceilings in all rooms, ceiling fans in all rooms. The barbecue area has separate charcoal and gas stations. Basketball hoop and ball (car port area), (electronic) gated property with full security alarm. Property also has highspeed Wireless DSL internet available.

* View: Master Bedroom, Living and Dining rooms face the ocean (West) with an unobstructed panoramic 130 degree ocean view from the Lanai. Second bedroom view is to the North (front yard) and the Third bedroom faces South (side yard).

NEIGHBORS:

The property is on a 19,000 square foot lot and has trees and greenery separating the nearest three neighbors' property to the east and the south. To the west (ocean view direction) and north, the property sits on top of a 30 foot high wall and overlooks the properties far below (no neighbors) and Lako Street to the north.

ADDITIONAL RENTAL INFORMATION:

* Deposit: One night (low) or Two night (high or peak) required to hold booking; non discounted rates.

* Cancellation 31-91 days or less prior to check-in forfeits deposit

* Cancellation Fee returned if other renter is found for same period

* Availability ?? = Please see our web availability link below...

Keywords: Large Single-Family Home with pool/jacuzzi; private gated property, 180 degree ocean view, 5 minutes to the beach

More Details
Hide Details

We've traveled around the world quite a lot and find that Hawaii is a natural mid-point between the USA and Asia (another frequent destination of ours).

And although we have quite a few groups coming from North America, almost half our guests also come from Asia (especially Japan, Korea, China ... ).

The Owner purchased this estate in 1995

The Big Island has it all ! It has the most diversity of the Hawaiian island climates, the most diversity of people and food (!) and, the most amazing range of possible activities !!

Of all the Hawaiian islands (Big Island included), Kona has the best weather, least rainfall, and also offers a quieter, less populated and more relaxed atmosphere.

Lako House is a very spacious place even for very large groups just staying or hosting events, parties and wedding receptions, etc. In addition, Kona has very little rain and Lako House's location (300ft elevation) much less heat & humidity (and traffic!) than right at the beach (but we're still just 5 minutes away).

26 Reviews of Property 13293 in Holualoa, Hawaii

Big 4 BR Kona Home with Pool/Jacuzzi, Ocean View (Sleeps 22)
average rating of 5.0 based on 26 reviews
business
Big 4 BR Kona Home with Pool/Jacuzzi, Ocean View (Sleeps 22)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p13293vb
+1 (808) 329-6804 (Hawaii #) (Hawaii, USA)
Holualoa Kona Coast
Fremont CA
5

Lako House for families

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Lako house is home away from home and more! We were a group of 12 people including kids ranging from 1year to 7 years, adults upto 70 years old and they all loved staying here!
The major PROS :
1. Location, location,location: Between Alii drive and highway giving us easy access to everything, safeway Kona town, beach
2. Short drive to my fav snorkeling beach.
3. Pool and jacuzzi
4. Very equipped kitchen
5. Spacious!! Every bedroom had multiple beds for kids to sleep.
6. Wifi (Very imp for the techies from silicon valley)
7. 180 degree of breathtaking views!!

Cons:
1. I could only have vacation for 5 days :(

Bill was VERY responsive and answered all our questions right away. This is a property I would recommend anybody in a heartbeat.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you Kadambari for your feedback ! We look forward to hosting your family & friends someday at Lako House again in the future ... Aloha, bill
Helpful votes: 5/6
business
Big 4 BR Kona Home with Pool/Jacuzzi, Ocean View (Sleeps 22)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p13293vb
+1 (808) 329-6804 (Hawaii #) (Hawaii, USA)
Holualoa Kona Coast
Texas
5

Family Vacation 2013

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We spent a week in Hawaii where the weather and water was wonderful but the house was perfect! Plenty of room for our group of 11. Everyone had their own space and didn't feel like we were on top of everyone. The kitchen was fully stocked with cookware, utensils and plates the only thing we had to buy was the food, spices were also fully stocked. The pool was the perfect size and the openness of the house was refreshing but most of all the view was breathtaking! Fantastic house we hope to return again in the future.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Hello Alyssa and Mahalo for your feedback ! Yes the view ... especially in the morning, the ocean view is so blue, so amazing !! (and of course feel free to revisit our website again to see the view via the pictures & video, etc. ... Thank you again for choosing Lako House ... We look forward in hosting your group again in the near future ... Aloha, bill
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Big 4 BR Kona Home with Pool/Jacuzzi, Ocean View (Sleeps 22)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p13293vb
+1 (808) 329-6804 (Hawaii #) (Hawaii, USA)
Holualoa Kona Coast
Anchorage, AK
5

Trip Leader

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
The house was beautiful, fit our space needs very well, and Bill was very accommodating, always available, and made the entire operation as easy as could be imagined. We loved our stay all around!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you Jeremy for the comments ... We believe Lako House is well set-up for large group accommodations and we in fact host 2-3 school groups every year. Given a 19,000 sq ft property lot, large room sizes, and the great number of beds available at Lako House (not to mention when a group also rents other/neighboring houses), Lako House is ideal for large (25-30 person) group/family gatherings, etc. ... Perhaps we'll see your school again next year (?) ... :-) Thanks again for staying at Lako House !! ... Aloha, bill
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Big 4 BR Kona Home with Pool/Jacuzzi, Ocean View (Sleeps 22)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p13293vb
+1 (808) 329-6804 (Hawaii #) (Hawaii, USA)
Holualoa Kona Coast
Colorado
5

Lako House on The Big Island

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
Wow! Wow! What a near-perfect setting for a large family gathering for a very special occasion! We departed Lako House a week ago this morning and seeing the VRBO photo makes me want to be right back there. There were twelve of us ~ eight adults and four "tweens". The very large kitchen is well-equipped with every conceivable appliance, pot and pan, dish and glass that could be needed. The two outdoor barbecues make cooking outdoors convenient. The lanai tables and chairs, which rest on a deck above the pool, make for superb ocean vistas when eating meals outdoors. The swimming pool and hot tub are very well cared for. Eating indoors in the dining room, there are seats for 13, when including stools on the dining room side of the open kitchen. The living room area and entryway are most spacious.

The setting is positively beautiful and unique for a home in a residential neighborhood, in that it is entirely private, with absolutely nothing obstructing the 180-degree magnificent views of the ocean. It is beautifully landscaped. We used Ohana, also, so that each of our families-within-the-larger-family could have their own bedroom.

Bill is a most cooperative owner who made accommodations to our special requests.

The only small liability of the property is the lack of an attached bathroom to the second-largest bedroom. The occupants of that bedroom need to step across the hall to a lovely powder room with toilet and basin, or step around the corner into the laundry room to use that basin and shower. Then there's always the extra bathroom within the master suite (which contains two very large bathrooms), that can be put to use for those second-bedroom guests, too. So, it's doable, just a bit inconvenient.

This property is clearly an older house, but is extremely well-maintained, and expertly-equipped. Prospective guests need have not single worry about renting it!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, People with Disabilities
Owner's Response: Thank you very much Gwen for your thorough review. Lako House in fact was the first home of the architect and general contractor who constructed both the Komohana & Kilohana subdivision homes in the neighborhood. And so ... Since Lako House was to be his 'pad', he made it the ONLY house constructed with a sole driveway connecting to Lako Street, featuring probably one of the most massive rock wall structures in Kona prominently overlooking the neighborhood giving unobstructed ocean views from some 30-40 feet high, etc.

Another feature of the original home was an indoor garden ... Yes, in fact the 'Big' room as we call it (536 sq ft), was more of a study / relaxation area in that it had many indoor tropical plants, indoor water fall, etc. (and thus no attached bathroom). The next owner of Lako House (professional baseball player) however decided they wanted more bedrooms / beds for guests and so the conversion took place to what we see today ... A very large room with 7 beds, access to a small patio area overlooking the front yard, shower & basin area just outside the room to the right & W/C down the hall.

There's additional Lako House history regarding the Ohana studio unit as well ... The original architect / owner was an avid fisherman and so built a massive, 3 door, two-car + one boat garage. However the third owner wanted to run his business in an area separated from the main house and thus, the Ohana unit was born by converting the large boat + 1 car garage area into a very large studio area (690 sq ft) including separate sleeping bath, hot/cold water, mini-kitchen/dining facilities.

And so, 16+ years and 3 remodels later, Lako House is still a place for groups ranging from small to very large ... Even some groups rent out additional homes next door / nearby making Lako House the central home to enjoy the pool, meet & congregate.

............................... In closing, we wish to say 'MAHALO!' Gwen & Jim for choosing Lako House as your Winter place to stay for your large family ! We look forward to having you folks visit us again in the future and wish you all the best of this year's coming Spring, Summer and Fall !! Aloha, bill
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Big 4 BR Kona Home with Pool/Jacuzzi, Ocean View (Sleeps 22)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p13293vb
+1 (808) 329-6804 (Hawaii #) (Hawaii, USA)
Holualoa Kona Coast
Sacramento, CA USA
5

Great Find!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
Very nice property with a spectacular view! Great neighborhood--very private property. I stayed in the Ohana which was plenty big and comfortable. Proximal to main "downtown" area--a short drive or a nice long walk. Access to pool and hot tub are a nice touch. I watched the sunset from the roomy deck--awesome.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Dean ...

Thank you very much for staying with us at Lako House ... We look forward to perhaps hosting you folks sometime again !! All the best .. bill
business
Big 4 BR Kona Home with Pool/Jacuzzi, Ocean View (Sleeps 22)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p13293vb
+1 (808) 329-6804 (Hawaii #) (Hawaii, USA)
Holualoa Kona Coast
Orange, CA
5

Great place to stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
This was a great place to stay. I found the location to be perfect everything you needed was there. I needed a place to rest and relax and enjoy Kona. Great communication by the owners. I will be back to see more of the island. I recommend Lako house!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thank you Frances for your review ... We hope to see you folks again at Lako House someday in the near future ! bill
business
Big 4 BR Kona Home with Pool/Jacuzzi, Ocean View (Sleeps 22)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p13293vb
+1 (808) 329-6804 (Hawaii #) (Hawaii, USA)
Holualoa Kona Coast
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Ohana Studio Unit stay ... 7 nights / 2 persons

  • Submitted: Feb 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
Phone voice message left on 19 Feb 2013:

"Hello Bill, this is Frances ... Just stayed at the Ohana house and wanted to thank you again for the opportunity to be there ... Really enjoyed the place and the location, everything was really great ... Appreciate you working with us to getting some things that we needed ... so I just want to check in and make sure everything was right .. Thank you so much .. Bye-Bye"
business
Big 4 BR Kona Home with Pool/Jacuzzi, Ocean View (Sleeps 22)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p13293vb
+1 (808) 329-6804 (Hawaii #) (Hawaii, USA)
Holualoa Kona Coast
Homer, Alaska
5

2 Wonderful Weeks at the Lako House in Kailua-Kona

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
We just got back from a 2 week girls trip at the Lako House in Kailua-Kona. What a great house, it worked out perfectly for us. Our numbers fluctuated a bit because several of our group couldn't stay the whole 2 weeks, but there were 7 to 10 of us at any time. The first bedroom had a king bed, 2 twins and 2 day beds (with trundles we didn't use); the 2nd room had 2 twin beds; and the 3rd room had a king bed, a futon bed and a daybed (with trundle). It was great that we could all have our own beds.

There are 2 big bathrooms in the 'master bedroom', 1 with a shower only and one with shower/tub. Both have large closets. The room with the 2 twin beds also has a full bathroom with tub/shower. Then there is a 1/2 bath just off the main entry. And behind the kitchen is a small laundry room with another shower and a sink. It was really easy to share the different spaces and we never felt like we had to wait in line for bathroom access. Though the wall to wall (and ceiling) mirrors in the 1/2 bath caused a lot of laughing and coments about keeping the lights turned off.

With 10 women there was a lot of laundry being washed too. We liked using the 2 drying racks which we set up in the side yard.

We only rented the main house, but it was great. It was clean, the kitchen was very well stocked with dishes, etc. and even a few different kinds of coolers we could borrow when we went to the beach. We ususually had breakfast and dinner at home, so we used the kitchen a lot. Bill even got us a 2nd coffee pot which let us make 2 kinds of coffee (dark roast & medium roast) each morning so there was no arguing about coffee :-).

The pool deck is the crowning glory of the house. What a wonderful space. The upper section is tiled, and has lots of chairs and 3 outdoor tables. We ate breakfast and dinner outside almost every day. The view out across the pool to the ocean was wonderful. We saw quite a few whales while sitting on the deck. The BBQ area is great with an easy to use the propane grill. And the hot tub is a big plus. What a great space to warm up after snorkling with the dolphins or body surfing at Hapuna.

Bill can also set up the wi-fi. We've rented houses frequently these last 10 years and usually we have trouble hooking up to the wi-fi, but no one had trouble at the Lako House. We all had smart phones, and there were a couple of lap tops and a iPad. So there was a lot of e-mail checking and Facebook posting going on.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Dear Lori ...

Thank so very much for such an in-depth review of your group's stay at Lako House.

We hope that someday we will get a chance to host you folks again.

All the best !!

bill
Lako House
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Big 4 BR Kona Home with Pool/Jacuzzi, Ocean View (Sleeps 22)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p13293vb
+1 (808) 329-6804 (Hawaii #) (Hawaii, USA)
Holualoa Kona Coast
Bay Area, CA
5

Great house

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
We stayed at the Lako House for 10 days right after Thanksgiving and there were 11 of us. The house is big enough to fit everyone. It is even better than the pictures on the website. The house is clean, bedsheets were clean and kitchen is well stocked with all the utensils. The backyard is awesome, kids loved swimming. The location is very good. The house is near a public beach and all the stores in case you need to go buy food. My whole family was very happy with the stay. I would definitely recommend this house for a large party.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Aloha Harinder,

Thank you so very much for the kind review & feedback of your stay at Lako House.

We look forward to perhaps hosting you folks again someday.

All the best,

bill
Lako House
business
Big 4 BR Kona Home with Pool/Jacuzzi, Ocean View (Sleeps 22)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p13293vb
+1 (808) 329-6804 (Hawaii #) (Hawaii, USA)
Holualoa Kona Coast
San Francisco
5

Great place!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 17, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Awesome place!
We stayed at the Lako House for a week and it was wonderful. Perfect location and amazing view.
I would come back in a heartbeat.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you Marc for your review / feedback.

We look forward to seeing you folks again someday at Lako House !

Aloha,

bill