Lake Algonquin - Wells house rental
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps7
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
 

Lake Algonquin - Wells House Rental Photos and Description
- 3 bedrooms, 1 bath, 1 half bath. Sleeps 6-7, No Pets Please

Visit Longview, our year round lake front home in the foothills of the Adirondack Mountains, located on quiet Lake Algonquin in the town of Wells. Enjoy crisp cool Fall days and star filled nights around the campfire. Summer fun includes, swimming, boating, hiking. Lake George is less than an hour away. Saratoga even closer. Autumn brings breathtaking colors and fabulous mountain views, hunting and hiking. The home is recently renovated (so no pets, please) with updated kitchen and bathrooms and appliances, stainless pots and pans, new floors, lots of charm, and working fireplace (gas insert) in the living room. Step out onto the large screened-in porch facing the lake and private dock. Ski at nearby Oak Mt. or Gore Mt. which is 30 mins. away. Snowmobile trails nearby. Watch the deer on the lake at sundown during the winter. Rest and relax in the mountains with the lake outside your door surrounded by nature. Vist Wells website: http://townofwells.org. 25 and over to rent please.

Longview: Summer is great in the Adirondacks. Sit on the dock and day dream or read. Watch the herons and occasional eagle or otter. Watch numerous hummingbirds at the feeder. Take a kayak ride and check out the beaver dam. Canoe to the beach for lunch. Go for a hike or spend the day in Lake George. Build a campfire in the yard and roast marshmallows. Tennis courts available in town.

Fall and Winter are fabulous time to be in the Adirondacks. Relax in front of the fireplace and watch the leaves float by or watch the snow fall. Hike, hunt, ski, snow mobile or do nothing. Gore Mt. is a half hour away. Lapland Lake Resort is 10 mins. away if you're into cross country skiing.

Town of Wells website: http://townofwells.org/content/

More Details
Hide Details

44 Reviews of Property 132792 in Lake Algonquin - Wells, New York

LAKE FRONT w/ Private Dock, Kayaks & Canoe RESERVE FOR SUMMER NOW
average rating of 4.9545455 based on 44 reviews
business
LAKE FRONT w/ Private Dock, Kayaks & Canoe RESERVE FOR SUMMER NOW
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p132792
+1 2019981111
Lake Algonquin - Wells Adirondacks
NYC, United States
5

A fairy tale winter house!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 28, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
Cozy, convenient and right on the beautiful lake.
business
LAKE FRONT w/ Private Dock, Kayaks & Canoe RESERVE FOR SUMMER NOW
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p132792
+1 2019981111
Lake Algonquin - Wells Adirondacks
5

Wonderful getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
This was a perfect getaway from the hustle and bustle of New York City. The lake was beautiful and the neighborhood was calm, quiet and peaceful. We loved kayaking around the lake, making fires at night, and grilling. Barbara and Jim were lovely. The house is very cute, clean and comfy. We would definitely come back!!!
business
LAKE FRONT w/ Private Dock, Kayaks & Canoe RESERVE FOR SUMMER NOW
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p132792
+1 2019981111
Lake Algonquin - Wells Adirondacks
5

THE BEST!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
I've been dragging my feet about writing this review ... The reason for that is that we want to keep this place "our secret" but that's not fair to our hosts so here it is...
Longview is the BEST!
We've been vacationing in the Adirondacks for 28 years and this has been the best spot of all!
It's on a friendly, quiet street with a great lake view from the enclosed porch. The porch has new windows and flooring. It's very comfy with antique quilts on the rockers, making it a great place to read and watch the hummingbirds. (I have never seen so many!!). There is cable TV and Internet but the outdoors is always calling. The lake is nice and calm for kayaking and the five mile hike around the lake gives you such beautiful views of the lake and mountains!
The cottage is clean and comfortable, the kitchen well equipped.
Barb and Jim are very accomodating if there is something that you might need. This year there was a new outdoor grill, last year- a new dishwasher (a dishwasher on vacation is one of my favorite things). You will be very happy in this cottage!
It was, as always, a wonderful trip. Thanks Barb and Jim!
business
LAKE FRONT w/ Private Dock, Kayaks & Canoe RESERVE FOR SUMMER NOW
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p132792
+1 2019981111
Lake Algonquin - Wells Adirondacks
4

Peaceful spot, comfortable cottage

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Six of us (three generations) enjoyed a week in August at Barbara and Jim's cottage on Lake Algonquin. It's a cozy, comfortable, cottage in a lovely, peaceful spot. The location was convenient for getting to the Adirondack Museum and Saratoga Springs. We enjoyed canoeing and kayaking on the lake, biking in the area, and swimming at the beach. We loved browsing at Crock Room Books, just over the bridge and up Route 8 a short distance. The hike to Auger Falls is a short drive up Rt. 30 and is quite beautiful. We enjoyed roasting s'mores on the fire pit at night and watching the endless stream of hummingbirds coming to the feeder all day. All-in-all, a fun and relaxing week for a group that ranged in age from 9 months to 84 years.
business
LAKE FRONT w/ Private Dock, Kayaks & Canoe RESERVE FOR SUMMER NOW
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p132792
+1 2019981111
Lake Algonquin - Wells Adirondacks
5

Peaceful and Unplugged

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We truly enjoyed Wells. The home was very clean and it met all of our needs. The Lake is wonderful and relaxing. The kayaks and canoe were great complements to our kayaks - we were all on the lake at the same time. Auger Falls is a must do hike. Mountain Memories for breakfast - great. The State Park in Wells (Day Use facility) was a lot of fun. The people were very friendly and the river and small waterfall was perfect for our boys to swim and have fun. The Town beach is great -no need to bring a car, just a quick walk or kayak over as there is a small boat landing. Visit the Wood Place in Wells, visit the villages of Northville and Speculator. Or do nothing at all. My husband spent many hours fishing (catch and release) in the lake, on the rivers and by the dam. Our vacation was really wonderful and exactly what we needed to unwind from the hustle and bustle. Thanks to Barbara and Jim for sharing their delightful home. It is truly a special place.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
LAKE FRONT w/ Private Dock, Kayaks & Canoe RESERVE FOR SUMMER NOW
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p132792
+1 2019981111
Lake Algonquin - Wells Adirondacks
5

Relaxing and fun weekend at Longview

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We (5 adults) stayed for a short 3days/2 nights but had a wonderful time. The house was clean, cozy and had everything we needed and more. The kitchen was well-equipped (we cooked every day). There were plenty of boardgames, movies, books, and puzzles for rainy days. The lake house also comes with 2 kayaks and a canoe (all 5 of us were able to go in the lake at the same time). We also got a fire going, made smores and barbecued outside (they have a new grill now, which is larger than the one in the pictures). The lake was very peaceful; no large/noisy boats. Also, if you forget to pick up a few things at the grocery store, like we did, there is a small gas station nearby (~2 min drive/ within walking distance) that may have some things you will need. It could save you a trip to the super market, which is further out. The gas station had a few items like butter, salt, crackers, chocolate, beer, oil.
Barbara and Jim were absolutely wonderful and very helpful.
We wished we could have stayed longer. We had a great time and hope to come back again! Thank you, Barbara and Jim, for answering all our questions and for making our stay such a wonderful experience!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
LAKE FRONT w/ Private Dock, Kayaks & Canoe RESERVE FOR SUMMER NOW
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p132792
+1 2019981111
Lake Algonquin - Wells Adirondacks
5

Perfect place for Memorial Weekend

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 5, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
We spent the Memorial Weekend here and we enjoyed our stay very much (5 adults + 2 kids). The house was clean, very well equipped and just perfect size for our family.
We had miserable weather for first 2 days but the house turned out to be very cozy and warm and with plenty of DVDs, games.
Barbara was very helpful and informative. Thank you!

I would definitely recommend this place and would love to come back to explore the area more!

Alicja
business
LAKE FRONT w/ Private Dock, Kayaks & Canoe RESERVE FOR SUMMER NOW
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p132792
+1 2019981111
Lake Algonquin - Wells Adirondacks
5

A Great Stay in Wells

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
We had a great stay on Lake Algonquin! The house was clean, well equipped and perfect for the 6 of us (4 adults and 2 babies). Barbara and Jim went out of their way to make sure that we were comfortable. The weekend was a great escape from our busy lives, as we enjoyed hiking, sitting by the camp fire and fishing on the dock. A great time was had by all and we are very excited to plan a trip back! A wonderful family vacation spot!
Owner's Response: Fall is such a great time to be in the Adirondacks. Beautiful foliage, cool crisp air...what's not to like? We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and found everything to your liking. So nice to meet you!
business
LAKE FRONT w/ Private Dock, Kayaks & Canoe RESERVE FOR SUMMER NOW
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p132792
+1 2019981111
Lake Algonquin - Wells Adirondacks
5

great stay in the Adirondacks

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 1, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Dear Barbara and Jim, we had a great stay in your great house at the lake this summer.
We are a family of 4, 2 adults and 2 boys ( 12yrs and 10yrs old) and we are from the Netherlands. This was our first visit to the Adirondacks and we had great time.
The boys enjoyed the lake every day and at night the fire pit.
Barbara and Jim thanks for all the service and kindness you gave us and we definitely want to come back. Robert, Esther, Julian and Bjorn.
Owner's Response: Such a pleasure for us to welcome international travelers and to have you chose our home. An even greater pleasure was having the opportunity to meet you. You will be welcomed anytime you decide to visit us again. We loved seeing your boys canoeing around the lake each morning. We're very glad you had such an enjoyable stay.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
LAKE FRONT w/ Private Dock, Kayaks & Canoe RESERVE FOR SUMMER NOW
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p132792
+1 2019981111
Lake Algonquin - Wells Adirondacks
5

HOME AWAY FROM HOME

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
We had a wonderful stay at the Longview Cottage. Unfortuneately, we never met the owners to personally thank them for the attention to every detail. The cottage was clean and the accomodations were great.

Both my husband and I enjoyed all the amenties available. We both love to cook and enjoyed our meals on the front glassed in porch while being entertained by the wildlife and (our favorite) the hummingbirds which were hysterical. In the evening we enjoyed the firepit and the beautiful stars, as well as the huge indulgience of roasted marshmellows.

During the day we hiked the many trails available in search of the beautiful waterfalls in the area. Having found 3 out of the 4 was fantastic. It was like going on a scavenger hunt everyday. Fishing was great for him, and reading on the beach was what a vacation is to me.

We did venture out one evening to a local restaurant called the Melody Inn, which we were lucky enough to be at for "Monday Lobster Night". The rest of the menu looked fantastic, but the lobster was fabulous; not to mention the view from the windows that overlooked some majestic mountains.

We have rented many cottages in the Adirondack region, but this is one we will return to. Thank you for all the comforts of home, but most importantly your attention to detail. We will be back.

John and Christina
Owner's Response: We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for letting us know. We hope that you do return and we will make a supreme effort to meet you on your return trip. We love meeting all our guests and are sorry that we missed you.
Helpful votes: 1/1