Vancouver house rental - Welcome to 'Serenity'
Welcome to 'Serenity'
 
  • Bedrooms6
  • Sleeps12
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights
 

Vancouver House Rental Photos and Description
- 6 bedrooms, 4 1/2 bathrooms, sleeps 10-12

A Vacation Home Like No Other...Nestled in the serene village of Lions Bay, British Columbia, a grand, rustic home awaits it’s guests with a view of majestic beauty. A custom log home sits perched above the natural grace and tranquility of Howe Sound, yet only minutes away from the sights and sounds of Vancouver, and a short drive to the world class resort of Whistler. You quickly consider whether it is time to unwind or time to get busy living. You soon discover that there is time for both. A beautiful home. A setting above the sky. You have arrived. Welcome to Serenity.

Our family stays in 'Serenity' every year as our vacation home. We both have our own businesses and with triplets, we stay busy. So when we decide to take a break, just knowing that we have the home in Lions Bay is amazing. We absolutely love staying there. I've never seen a view as spectacular as the one that we have right on our deck. It's just a terrific place.

Several years ago, I had come to Vancouver just to look at some properties with the possibility of finding a place a year or so down the road. We already knew that we loved Vancouver but we weren't quite ready to get a place.

But when we saw this home, we just couldn't pass it up. As I said before, I had never seen a view as spectacular as the one at this home. So, we decided to just go ahead and do it!

15 Reviews of Property 132351 in Vancouver, British Columbia

Luxury Log Home - 'Serenity' in Vancouver
average rating of 4.6 based on 15 reviews
business
Luxury Log Home - 'Serenity' in Vancouver
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p132351
+1 619 2538822
Vancouver Vancouver Coast
5

Beautiful!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
The pictures uploaded of this vacation home does not do it justice. This is one of the most beautiful homes I have stayed in. The kitchen is very well equipped and is very spacious for activities around the house. Our group absolutely enjoyed our stay and experienced no problems. We hope to return very soon!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Luxury Log Home - 'Serenity' in Vancouver
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p132351
+1 619 2538822
Vancouver Vancouver Coast
4

Great family get together place

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
This large well equipped, well maintained home has an excellent location just outside of North Vancouver, that allowwed us to participate in the family wedding activities in the big city, but enjoy the peacefulness and great views of the west coast. The property was as advertised, easily accommodating 12 of us of ages from 1 to 57. The whole family felt quite at home in "Serenity" and would gladly recommended it to anyone with a larger group who wants to be just outside the city. The owner was very easy to work with, and the whole experience allowed us to feel like it was our home for the time we were there.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Luxury Log Home - 'Serenity' in Vancouver
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p132351
+1 619 2538822
Vancouver Vancouver Coast
Vancouver, BC
5

Absolutely A Great Place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 21, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
It certainly deserves a big Wow from everyone of us - the view, the space, the floor plan, and the big slope. We are a group of 14 adults and kids, and there is more than enough space for us to both gather together and have privacy when required. As said in a previous preview, the hot tub is not inviting. It sure is, but it is not a big deal. We find basically everything that we need including a variety of condiments which is very helpful indeed. Personally, I don't mind seeing left-behind supplies in the kitchen or fridge so long as the expiry date is still good and was kept in good condition, which is the case here. The only minor complaint is insufficient / lack of supply of dishwasher detergent, glad wrap and tin foil. Last of all, the quick response from the owner to all my enquires is very much appreciated. Thanks.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thanks Adeline for your review!

I'm very glad that you enjoyed yourself and had a good time in our home. In regards to the hot tub, let me know what issues you had and we will certainly take a look. The hot tub was completely drained, cleaned and refilled prior to your visit, but we're always committed to making the home meet all your expectations.

Hope you decide to stay with us again!

Best Regards,

Wayne
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Luxury Log Home - 'Serenity' in Vancouver
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p132351
+1 619 2538822
Vancouver Vancouver Coast
Tampa, Florida
5

Serenity is exactly right

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
Just returned from beautiful Vancouver. We scheduled a last minute vacation for my family and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.

The log home we stayed at was so cool - we've never stayed in a log home and I wasn't sure what to expect. Of course, the pictures on the site looked great but you never know...

All I can say is "Wow"...it really is a log home but it's massive with this huge hearth and then standing outside, you just can't believe the view. I wish the weather was a bit clearer that day but even still - you feel so small just looking at it.

The home itself is perched on on the side of the hill which is why you get the views you do. It's quiet, and it's close to Vancouver as well as Whistler. We even took a quick ferry ride over to one of the small islands in the area - the ferry terminal is only ten minutes from the house.

We'll definitely be coming back. It's just a terrific home in a great location.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Luxury Log Home - 'Serenity' in Vancouver
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p132351
+1 619 2538822
Vancouver Vancouver Coast
Napa, California/USA
5

Amazing View, wonderful rustic and spacious home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
We just came back from Vacation to celebrate our 10th anniversary with friends and family. We stayed at Serenity and we had a wonderful time. As many others have stated, the view is just breath taking. Photos do not do it justice.

The home was large and comfortable, with nice leather sofas in front of a huge rock fireplace. The bedrooms are very nicely sized and each bed is a log bed which is perfect since the home is a large log home!

The kitchen was clean and had everything we needed. The deck gives you a 180 degree view of Howe Sound and it is really stunning.

The owner supplies an incredibly detailed manual that will explain everything about the house, although it's really not that complicated.

We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again and would highly recommend it!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Hi Olivia,

Thanks so much for your kind words. We're very happy you enjoyed your stay and hope you'll consider staying with us again in the future!
business
Luxury Log Home - 'Serenity' in Vancouver
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p132351
+1 619 2538822
Vancouver Vancouver Coast
Tiburon, CA
3

San Francisco Visitor

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 29, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
The pros: 1) As others have stated, views are incredible; photos don't do justice. 2) Home is extremely spacious, with bedrooms/bathrooms on three levels, thus loads of privacy for our three families uniting for the American Thanksgiving weekend. 3) Location is superb: we enjoyed easy access to Stanley Park aquarium and Black Friday shopping (yes, in Canada too!) in downtown Vancouver, as well as an easy daytrip to Whistler. 4) Radiant heating kept the home remarkably comfortable over a cold weekend. 5) Owner provides the best briefing materials I've ever seen, having rented VRBO homes from Hawaii to Martha's Vineyard.

The cons: The home should not be described as a "luxury log home." I've shared my thoughts on this with the owner directly (no financial dispute here). There is nothing "luxury" about it. It is a large home with average finishes/furnishings, in need of considerable maintenance. The owner does a disservice by setting renters' expectations for luxurious accommodations. Before committing, I would suggest asking for photos of kitchen appliances (while the owner focuses on the new stovetop, the single oven and dishwasher need to be replaced) and all bedrooms/bathrooms, which, while clean, are quite basic. We found one bedroom unusable because of an overwhelming odor of mold/mildew. The hot tub, located under the front entry stairway, was not inviting. The extremely steep driveway was manageable for most of us but quite a challenge for 87-year-old grandma.

All in all, had we been expecting an average-quality home with a fabulous view in a great location,we would have felt better about the experience. But we walked in expecting a "luxury home" and were disappointed. It's all in the expectations.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your response. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we also appreciate your comments. We are in the process of updating the kitchen. The oven, dishwasher and sink will be replaced in the next couple of months. They are all working fine but they are a number of years old.

We are always committed to making the home a nice place for people to spend their vacations!
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
Luxury Log Home - 'Serenity' in Vancouver
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p132351
+1 619 2538822
Vancouver Vancouver Coast
Napa Valley, California
5

Breathtaking view & beautiful home

Breathtaking view & beautiful home
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 1, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
Our family rents vacation homes each year. We've rented beautiful homes all over the world in Paris, New York, Switzerland, etc. In all our stays I can say that we've never stayed in a home with a view as amazing as this one. You stand on the deck and it's just amazing - all that blue water with picturesque islands from left to right. Words really can't express how beautiful this place is.

The home is a large, spacious luxury log home and you'll feel right at home the moment you walk in. Big comfy leather sofas in the main hearth with a huge fireplace that just speaks to romance and coziness. The kitchen isn't luxurious, but is clean, kept up, and had everything we needed to serve the 14 of us.

We haven't ever returned to a vacation home but our group definitely is considering returning to this gem of a home.

Just gorgeous.
business
Luxury Log Home - 'Serenity' in Vancouver
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p132351
+1 619 2538822
Vancouver Vancouver Coast
2

Location Outstanding - Home Disappointing

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 29, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
The location of this home is exactly as described and the views from the deck are outstanding. The driveway/parking is a little tricky but was not a problem for us. That being said, the interior and upkeep of the house was very disappointing. The few pictures provided do not truly represent the interior or exterior of the home. For example, the deck of the master bedroom was not safe and had "caution" tape on one end of it so seemed unusable. The main floor deck was useable but also has a fairly noticeable tilt to it. The grill did not work - although we could get it started, the grates were so dirty that it did not generate enough heat/flame. Inside, the decor was very outdated and worn. Carpets are stained, wallpaper and paint have not been updated in a long time. Windows in one of the bedroom were not able to be opened because of "stripped" gears and the screen door in that room also was ripped - so essentially could get no fresh air into this room. The kitchen has also not had attention in awhile - the sink is scratched and appliances are old (although working). Food was in the cupboards and freezer. Finally, not all of the beds were properly made up (ie., no pillowcases on pillows) and although we could find these items, I don't think we should have to do this. Towels also not distributed throughout bathrooms. As an owner of a different VRBO property, I would be mortified to have people stay in a place with noticeable deficiencies in upkeep. Given what we paid for this rental, our group was very disappointed and would not stay again.
Owner's Response: We're always very sensitive to the comfort and satisfaction of our guests. The guest is correct in saying that there was some repair work needed in the master bedroom railing, but this issue happened a few days before they arrived and we were in the process of fixing it.

In regards to the rest of the guest's comments, we have not had any of the same comments from any of our other guests and I suspect that the guest was motivated to find things to complain about due to some payment issues that needed to be addressed.

Please note, for example, that the kitchen stovetop and refrigerator are absolutely brand new, as well as the countertop on the kitchen island.

In addition, the guest made no complaints to us when she moved out, which if they had been that serious, I certainly would have appreciated. We always make an effort to address problems as they arise and would have done so in this case if they had actually notified us, which they didn't.
Helpful votes: 1/3
business
Luxury Log Home - 'Serenity' in Vancouver
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p132351
+1 619 2538822
Vancouver Vancouver Coast
5

Summer Family Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 14, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
WOW!!!!! What a great time.... This was our annual family vacation that was made up of 5 couples and a total of 11 people, all adult age. The home was awesome and very comfortable. It had plenty of space to relax and get together and discuss the adventures of the day. The house is very centrally located for things you may want to do. It seems like every day we took off in a different direction but never were too far from what we wanted to do, and there is so much to do there. Wayne provided great information before the trip and was VERY prompt in answering any questions I had prior and during the trip. Everything you will need for the most part is provided at the house except the food. The kids (ages 23-27) enjoyed the hot tub most nights after a long exhausting day.

This property provided everything we expected and more. Our only regret is that we only had one week to enjoy the house and the area.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Luxury Log Home - 'Serenity' in Vancouver
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p132351
+1 619 2538822
Vancouver Vancouver Coast
St. Albert, Alberta
5

60th Wedding Anniversary Family Gathering

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
Our family had the pleasure of staying at this beautiful "serene" home to celebrate our Mom and Dad's 60th wedding anniversary. The pictures on the website exactly depict the look and style of the home.There was lots of space for adults and children to gather, play games and enjoy each other's company without feeling as though we were crowded. We were pleased to find that there was plenty of cooking supplies provided; the sleeping accommodations were great - very comfortable; the property was very clean and well-maintained; the beach was great (even in the rain); the hot tub was a bit small but it was still very relaxing after a day of hiking. Wow... the sunsets just have to be seen to understand how beautiful they are. I would certainly recommend this property and will specifically request this property when our travels take us back to Lions Bay. Thank you! Our anniversary celebration was a great success.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2