Bass Harbor cottage rental - Harbor Cottage and studio
Harbor Cottage and studio
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Bass Harbor Cottage Rental Photos and Description
- 2 bedrooms, 1 bath with shower, 1 bath with 2 person jacuzzi tub, sleeps 4

This gem of a cottage, perched above the quaint, picturesque village of Bass Harbor, enjoys all-encompassing views of the ocean and mountains. It is filled with light and the 4 decks overlooking the harbor bring the ocean to you. It is charmingly furnished and fully equipped. The second bedroom, a former artist's studio, is detached from the cottage.

(Please note that for Winter Season rentals, there is only one bedroom available--in the Cottage itself . The second bedroom, in the former artist's studio, is not winterized and is, therefore, unavailable. Also, please note that for the WInter Season ONLY, the Cottage is available at a daily rate, with a minimum three night stay. For all other Seasons, the minimum stay is one week.)

14 Reviews of Property 132292 in Bass Harbor, Maine

Luxury Cottage with Spectacular Panoramic Ocean Views near Acadia Nat'l Park
average rating of 4.857143 based on 14 reviews
business
Luxury Cottage with Spectacular Panoramic Ocean Views near Acadia Nat'l Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p132292
+1 703-528-1079
Bass Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

Awesome trip thanks to this cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Recently, my wife and I honeymooned at this cottage. The owner was very friendly and helpful, speeding us through reservation process. He also was very accommodating and informative - he has compiled lots of information about the island for renters to utilize, which was very helpful for us as first time visitors! The cottage was just tad smaller than we had anticipated, and was everything we needed for our trip. The kitchen is well-furnished, and including helpful things like a lobster pot and other seafood specific utensils that made cooking up lobster (which we bought from a place about 1 minute away by foot) much easier.

Again, this was our honeymoon, and it was excellent, but that would not have been the case if this place hadn't been so great. We look forward to coming back to the island in the future, and potentially staying here again.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Luxury Cottage with Spectacular Panoramic Ocean Views near Acadia Nat'l Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p132292
+1 703-528-1079
Bass Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

Very relaxing and peaceful

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
The pictures and description of this cabin don't do it justice. It is a very relaxing and amazing place to stay. Roger (the owner) only added to how wonderful it was for my wife and I. He was very quick to respond to any questions we had in advance and checked in to make sure we arrived ok. The location is amazing and the views are as well. It's in a quiet area with easy access to anything you could want to see on Mt. Desert Island. We were there before the tourist season began. There were plenty of places open and all of the natural attractions were still accessible to us. I would highly recommend this cabin to anybody looking to unwind and destress. My wife and I will be staying here again and again in the future.

Thomas and Alicia Clapper
business
Luxury Cottage with Spectacular Panoramic Ocean Views near Acadia Nat'l Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p132292
+1 703-528-1079
Bass Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

Absolutely perfect!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
As the previous reviews said, its even better in person!
It is the perfect couples getaway.
Spacious yet private... updated and cozy.
The harbor view is right out of a Hollywood movie.
The endless sun light waking you through the skylights in the morning to stunning sunsets golding over our dinners.
We enjoyed an entire week of winter peace, watching the fishermen on their boats, hiking snow covered trails, discovering breath taking vistas, hunting down fresh lobster at the pounds, and simply breathing in lots of fresh air.
Roger, the owner could not be more attentive and kind.
This whole experience was a delight and will be our winter hideaway for years to come...
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Luxury Cottage with Spectacular Panoramic Ocean Views near Acadia Nat'l Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p132292
+1 703-528-1079
Bass Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

Perfect Getaway!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
My partner and I rented the Harbor cottage this past summer. Having stayed at various places on Mount Desert Island, this was by far our favorite. The views were amazing. The house was bright, open, and clean, and you can tell Roger takes great pride in the place. Other reviews have been spot on in terms of the views and comforts of the home. The space is well designed and the home is fully-equipped to meet all of our needs. For us, the location is ideal...on the quieter side of the island, away from many of the crowds, but close enough to the great restaurants and small town feel of Southwest Harbor and, of course, Acadia. I would by far say that Roger is the most helpful and enthusiastic owner we have dealt with on both Homeaway and VRBO rentals. We would highly recommend this place!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Luxury Cottage with Spectacular Panoramic Ocean Views near Acadia Nat'l Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p132292
+1 703-528-1079
Bass Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

Great property with spectacular views

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 16, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
We just finished a stay in the house last week. As other reviewers have said, the pictures are very accurate, though I believe they don't do justice to the views available from nearly every window and porch. There are fantastic and commanding views of the harbor and the mountains of western MDI. It's also fun to watch the ferry coming in and out. Sunsets are fantastic, and I can imagine in the summer when it's warm enough, sitting outside on the front balcony would be great for watching them (but they are great from the dining area downstairs as well).

The place really is a great size for two people, feeling both cozy and yet spacious enough that you're not on top of each other all the time. We didn't use the side studio, though that seemed like it would be fairly comfortable for additional people. The house is very clean, well-appointed and attractively decorated, and the kitchen is excellent. Appliances are new and in great working order. The owner is very responsive and helpful, and it's clear that he takes pride in this house.

I happen to really like this side of the island, and Bass Harbor is a great spot to be. There are two beautiful coastal trails within a few minutes' drive, Wonderland and Ship Harbor, which are great for morning or evening walks. There are a couple of very good (but not fancy) restaurants in Bass Harbor, within a minute walking distance of the house, and Southwest Harbor with more and varied options is only about ten minutes away by car. Overall, if you love MDI but are looking to get away from the b.s. in the Bar Harbor area (yet still be close enough to the main parts of the park to go in if you want to), this is a fantastic spot.
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Luxury Cottage with Spectacular Panoramic Ocean Views near Acadia Nat'l Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p132292
+1 703-528-1079
Bass Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

Harbor Cottage, Bass Harbor Maine #132292

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Our stay at this romantic and charming cottage by the harbor exceeded my expectations. The property was immaculate and very comfortable. You can see the harbor from almost every room and from each of the three decks. The garden was beautiful and well maintained. We spent many evenings sitting on the upper deck watching the sunset while sipping wine. What a treat! The location is very convenient to excellent markets- both farmers and retail - in nearby Southwest Harbor. I even found a decent gym to work out when I wasn't enjoying wonderful meals -- lots of good restaurants. And it was only a short drive to the numerous trails in Acadia National Park. What is unique about the property is that it is located in a working harbor where lobstermen their haul for the day. We got a good flavor of being a "local." The owner was most attentive and made the transition to his lovely retreat very easy. I would recommend this property and plan on returning as well.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Luxury Cottage with Spectacular Panoramic Ocean Views near Acadia Nat'l Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p132292
+1 703-528-1079
Bass Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
4

A deck for every occasion

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
This rental is a feat in architectural planning and pretty on the eyes. There are many decorative vases and bowls, plates on the wall, cloth doilies, antique rockers, etc. It is suitable for couples or older mature children who can sleep alone in the separate studio bedroom and share bathrooms in the main house. There are irregular stone steps and a small flight of stairs from the studio to gain entrance thru the back screened porch and then into the main house and 1st floor bathroom, or you can enter around the front of the house up stone steps to the front porch. Since the downstairs ceiling is partly open to the rafters and skylights upstairs (there is a waist high balcony in the bedroom upstairs), lights on in the bedroom will provide a glow downstairs at night without a night light being needed downstairs while people are still up. The doors to the back and front upstairs decks can remain open at night, and there is a ceiling fan as well, to keep the cool breezes going through. There are blinds in every window if you need them. You can cook your lobster and eat it on the upper back deck, where the umbrella table is, if the bugs aren't too bad. The house is almost immediately on the dead end road to the ferry. Most to/from traffic patterns follow the ferry schedules to Swan's and Frenchboro. The ferry's last run is around 6:30pm and goes about hourly throughout the day. The LLBean bus stops at the ferry landing about hourly, which is only several hundred yards away from the house. There is a lobster pound 3 houses down the street the other direction. It is around a half hour drive to Bar Harbor. The house main floor has a half refrigerator but no freezer section. The regular size refrigerator with a freezer section, as well as the washer/dryer, is in the cellar. There are no handrails going to the cellar. The bedroom in the main house is upstairs, as well as a bath with shower. If you have to work, there is desk/internet. If you want to make a puzzle on a rainy but calm day, there is a small flat surfaced bistro table out on the screened porch that will display a 500 piece puzzle. The living room is wicker "crate and barrel" style; no place for extra sleeping. The small backyard has a landscaped border and chairs. The neighbors are both island residents, and one is a lobsterman. You can wake up about 4:30 to listen to and watch the fishing boats around the harbor going out to sea on sea worthy days from the upstairs deck/bedroom
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Luxury Cottage with Spectacular Panoramic Ocean Views near Acadia Nat'l Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p132292
+1 703-528-1079
Bass Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Lititz, Pennsylvania
5

Great Harbor Cottage and Amazing Views

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
My wife and I recently stayed in this cottage for a week. We found it to be clean and comfortable. The views were great - there is a water view out of almost every window in the cottage. The owner was very helpful and provided information and recommendations for hiking trails and local restaurants which we found to be very helpful. He even helped to coordinate flowers being delivered to the cottage ahead of time at my request, in order to surprise my wife. We had a great time and would recommend this cottage without hesitation.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Luxury Cottage with Spectacular Panoramic Ocean Views near Acadia Nat'l Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p132292
+1 703-528-1079
Bass Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

Charming, Comfortable and Cozy!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 24, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
When we chose Mount Desert Island for our Maine destination, we looked for a cottage on the quiet side of the island (hotels are too confining and bed & breakfasts are too expensive). This was the perfect place!

The owner of this property has done an excellent job with the listing on homeaway.com. It is very accurate; the cottage looks exactly like the photos online. It was nice to have a washer/dryer, so we could pack lighter. The kitchen was well-equipped for cooking, but we frequented the many excellent restaurants on the island more than we cooked at the cottage. The Internet was wireless and fast (this was important to me).

The cottage was spotless and I felt comfortable in my bare feet! The shower had good water pressure, the linens were fresh and the bed was comfy. We didn't use the second bedroom that is located in the "artist's studio."

We scheduled our visit to Maine around the fall colors (we determined from the Internet that the second week is the best for peak colors), and we weren't disappointed! However, our Moose Excursion (up near Greenville, Maine) was a bust because hunting season was underway and the moose had vacated the area. We thoroughly enjoyed Acadia National Park, Bar Harbor Whale Watch and the Improv Comedy Club. We also enjoyed a canoe race with the locals! So much to do and not enough time!

I would recommend this cottage to my family and friends (I already have!). The place is perfect if you want a quiet, relaxing get-away with INCREDIBLE views of the harbor out almost every window! It is about a 25 minute drive to Bar Harbor, but we didn't mind. The drive was beautiful.

The owner was very easy to work with; he communicated via e-mail in a timely, clear and friendly manner. We would definitely return to Harbor Cottage!
Helpful votes: 3/4
business
Luxury Cottage with Spectacular Panoramic Ocean Views near Acadia Nat'l Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p132292
+1 703-528-1079
Bass Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

Wonderful Relaxation on the Quiet Side of MDI

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 12, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
We arrived the first week of October for our honeymoon. This was our first time booking a vacation home through Homeaway.com and we were somewhat nervous about what to expect... From the start we received great communication and service from R. (owner). He was quick to respond to questions during the booking process and was proactive in getting us information ahead of time so that we didn't have to worry about our honeymoon while still planning the wedding itself. Beyond the basic information on his home, he also went out of his way to answer questions about activities on MDI itself!

When we arrived, the home was immaculate and welcoming. R. had left a note and small honeymoon gift on the kitchen counter for us... what a pleasant surprise. Everything in the home was exactly as described. The outside was well kept and the inside spotless and clean. The master bed was a very comfy sleep number style. As others mentioned, the upstairs patio has amazing views. In addition, there is a larger deck on the backside of the upstairs with seating for 4. We didn't get to use the outside much due to the weather, however the small dining room has nearly equal attractive views as the patio above it.

As another reviewer mentioned, the studio is a separate building. This did not affect us at all as there were only 2 of us. We did check it out and it looked nice, but we can't comment on how comfortable it was.

The drive was a bit longer that we anticipated to Bar Harbor and much of Acadia National Park. However, as the week went on and we exhausted activities on the busy side, we started exploring the surrounding towns near Bass Harbor. We discovered that our favorite moments and meals ALL occurred on the quietside, especially in Southwest Harbor, a mere 5 minutes away.

For those who want to bike and/or hike much of Acadia, the location may not be ideal. But for those who don't mind a bit of driving we found it much nicer to have quiet evenings to ourselves, almost feeling like we were the only ones on the island, as opposed to the busyness of Bar Harbor.

Overall, we loved Harbor Cottage and were already talking about staying there again in a few years when we might want to visit Acadia for a second time. Between the great owner, immaculate home, and great experiences to be had on the island, we could not have asked for a better honeymoon!
Helpful votes: 3/4