Joshua Tree cabin rental - Lover's Lodge
Lover's Lodge
 
  • BedroomsStudio
  • Sleeps2
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Joshua Tree Cabin Rental Photos and Description
Enjoy Breathtaking Views,Star-Filled Nights&Spectacular Desert Sunrise

This 1940's cabin has been fully restored and is the perfect desert hideaway. Minutes from Joshua Tree National Monument with its world class climbing and hiking trails, the cabin is nestled on 2.5 fully fenced acres. Bring your pets, even your horse and enjoy the riding trails out your front door. Or relax on the expansive, covered patio and wonder at the star-filled sky. A jacuzzi on the back porch is a perfect spot to unwind. Down comforter, luxury towels, well-stocked kitchen. Just bring your toothbrush.

Lightening fast, wireless high-speed Internet, flat screen t.v., CD player and quality sound that is smartphone accessible.

The ultimate in relaxation: Incredible views from the steaming hot tub. Light the bonfire, recline in the hammock and enjoy a glass of champagne under the spectacular Joshua Tree night sky.

20 Reviews of Property 131667 in Joshua Tree, California

Lover's Lodge - Cozy Fireplace, Soothing Hot Tub.
average rating of 4.631579 based on 20 reviews
business
Lover's Lodge - Cozy Fireplace, Soothing Hot Tub.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p131667
+1 7603698207
Joshua Tree California Desert
5

It was perfect

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 13, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
Our stay was wonderful. This little house is perfect. The pictures don't do it justice! The weather was great and so was Joshua Tree. We left some food in the refrigerator. In the freezer is some ice cream. I have to say, you have been so thoughtful in how you stocked and supplied the cabin-great dishes, pans and you thought of all the little necessities. Again, it was great! Look forward to staying again.
business
Lover's Lodge - Cozy Fireplace, Soothing Hot Tub.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p131667
+1 7603698207
Joshua Tree California Desert
4

Lovely Trip in the Desert

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 4, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
Good location. Easy to find. Hot tub wasn't working properly, but Kelly, the handyman on site, was easy to reach. Cabin was clean and fully furnished with everything you can possibly imagine.
business
Lover's Lodge - Cozy Fireplace, Soothing Hot Tub.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p131667
+1 7603698207
Joshua Tree California Desert
Los Angeles, California
5

Wonderful Stay in Joshua Tree

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 13, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Lovers Lodge was a great place to stay in Joshua Tree. It has just about everything you need, towels, shampoo and other toiletries, coffee, sandwich bags, a cooler, candles, matches, and even DVDs. The hot tub was a perfect way to end the day after hiking in the park. The park is a short drive from the house, as well as places to eat and drink in Joshua Tree. There is also a place to make a fire and the grill on the front porch was easy to use. The view at night was beautiful, with tons of stars and the lights from the towns below. Also the bed was very comfortable which is always a plus!

Vida was very easy to arrange things with, I paid with PayPal, but you can also mail her a check. Her directions to the house were easy to follow. The only thing I would say that wasn't perfect was the house was not 100% clean when we arrived. The bed was unmade, there were crumbs still on the table from the previous renter, the floor hadn't been swept and the coffee filter had not been cleaned out. These were very minor flaws in an overall great experience - hence why my review is still five stars.

I would highly recommend this place to anyone looking for a quiet weekend or week in Joshua Tree. I will definitely rent from Vida again the next time I am in Joshua Tree.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Lover's Lodge - Cozy Fireplace, Soothing Hot Tub.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p131667
+1 7603698207
Joshua Tree California Desert
Los Angeles, CA
5

The Perfect Escape from LA

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Took my girlfriend to the Lover's Lodge to get away from the city for the weekend. We wanted to bike in Joshua Tree, so we didn't want to camp and risk having our bikes walk away. Found this place and we are so happy that we did.

Lover's lodge is the perfect size. The kitchen is great (I couldn't find a coffee grinder), we used both the front patio and back for dining locations, and the hot tub hit the spot after a long day cycling (It takes some time to heat up, but the view of the stars is incredible).

Vida was warm and helpful and provided excellent suggestions for breakfast dining options (and where to find the awesome coffee mugs).

There's no question that we'll be back.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks, Russell! And there will be a new coffee grinder on the counter when you return!!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Lover's Lodge - Cozy Fireplace, Soothing Hot Tub.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p131667
+1 7603698207
Joshua Tree California Desert
5

Going back!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
I'm writing this review because I just finalized dates to go back to this cabin for the second time, and Vida deserves the good press.

I'm a writer, and I live in Orange County, which is great and all but I get sick of its prefabricated feel. Not always inspiring. I also teach college, which means that I'm always working -- not that I work a million hours a week, but that I'm never really 'off' -- weekends, nights, anytime...I could theoretically be working. And I'm always working at *home*. So last year, I decided to take off to the desert for my spring break so I could 1) get away from the school-aura that hangs around my apartment at all times and 2) do some writing in a new natural environment. I'd never been to the desert so I was kind of scared -- I'm very much a coastal person. But I got a good feeling about the place from the pictures, reviews, and from my communications with Vida. Plus the U2 album I listened to in middle school.

Anyway, with that groundwork laid: the place is great! I had a phenomenally relaxing and productive week. Finished a manuscript, did a lot of journal writing, couldn't wait to get out of bed in the morning, stopped watching Netflix and checking email compulsively, and breathed deeply of solitude. I had a small smile on my face the entire time, I'm pretty sure (though only the jackrabbit in the yard would really know). I used absolutely every amenity in the place -- hammock, firepit, fireplace, tv, wifi, jacuzzi, desk, cd player, kitchen, airconditioner....and everything worked just fine. It took me a while to figure out the flue, honestly, had to google it, but I pretty much figured it out. And it's isolated enough I slept with the curtains open so I could wake up to morning sun (also an impossibility in my first-floor Irvine Company apartment). I was so far away from what my day-to-day is, but it didn't feel uncomfortable, either. The property is a bit windblown around the edges but it's the desert, so duh. I like that about it anyway; it's down-to-earth, approachable, solid. Inside, the decor and layout are clean, usable, and just arty enough that it's easy on the eyes but not so much you're distracted by it.

I can't say enough about that week. And come January this year, I started, out of nowhere, smelling heat that rises from desert dust in a quick storm, and dry clean air, and woodsmoke. I didn't even mean to go back, but it just came over me. And I can't wait.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Lover's Lodge - Cozy Fireplace, Soothing Hot Tub.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p131667
+1 7603698207
Joshua Tree California Desert
5

unforgettable

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
The lodge is a cozy abode with great views of the expansive landscape and sky from both front and back decks. The hot tub is a wonderful way to relax under the stars -- and it was a full moon when we were there. One of the best parts of the lodge? The bed. The memory foam mattress pad, super-soft sheets, and down comforter made sleeping such a treat! ;) We would definitely want to stay here again. (p.s. the wifi was fast & we had no problems with streaming Netflix for movies)
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Lover's Lodge - Cozy Fireplace, Soothing Hot Tub.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p131667
+1 7603698207
Joshua Tree California Desert
4

Perfect!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
Despite the cold and bitter 50mph winds, we found peace, warmth and comfort at the Lover's Lodge. The dogs were in heaven with the fenced 2 acres, and we were able to relax knowing they weren't going to escape. Even though it was extremely chilly outside, we spent plenty of time in the hot tub, under the stars - it was spectacular! It was so nice to find the cabin clean, warm and stocked with everything we needed (big bath towels, hot tub heated, bathroom amenities including soaps and bath washes, shampoos and conditioners, even razors!).

We slept like the dead, woke to beautiful sunshine over the mountains and enjoyed walking around the property with the dogs. We had some great meals, watched a movie and took full advantage of the fireplace. The farmer's market Saturday morning was bustling, and we found some treats we don't usually see at the markets here in SD.

Vida sent very detailed directions and instructions for everything. We did appreciate her insistence on using PLASTIC glassware outside, as (and this would be our only complaint) we did find and pick up a considerable amount of broken glass around the hot tub and yard close to the house.

Thank you so much Vida! You helped make my girlfriend's birthday weekend extraordinary. We will definitely be returning.

Thank you again.

Sincerely,

Paulette Gagnon - San Diego
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Lover's Lodge - Cozy Fireplace, Soothing Hot Tub.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p131667
+1 7603698207
Joshua Tree California Desert
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

An amazing escape from the city

  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
There's nothing like taking a dirt road away from the city and arriving into your own little paradise. This property is located just far enough away from the main roads to be secluded and private yet close enough to get anything you need from town. The open rooms feel as open as the desert skies. Speaking of the desert skies, go outside at night, sit on the porch and have a glass of wine listening to the quietness and gaze at the gazillions stars in the sky. Sleep peacefully inside and wake up to bunnies and jackrabbits mingling with the quail around the property.

The only thing better than the property is the owner, Vida. Vida made this as easy and comfortable as you could ever expect. I rely on other people's honest reviews to guide me through homeaway as I'm sure you do, too. I want to be sure that everyone knows what a gem this property and the owner are. If you're considering staying here...the answer is yes.
Recommended for: Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Lover's Lodge - Cozy Fireplace, Soothing Hot Tub.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p131667
+1 7603698207
Joshua Tree California Desert
Los Angeles, CA, USA
5

Cute Yellow Casita

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 29, 2011
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
I stayed in the little yellow house behind the one pictured, owned by the same people (which is why it's not listed on it's own page). Vida and Ray went out of their way to make sure we were well taken care of. Extremely friendly and an absolute pleasure to rent from. The house was cute and fun . . . big open living area/kitchen with 2 separate bedrooms. We didn't even make it to the park our first day, we just lounged around the house and took photographs all around the building. Tons of cool desert scenery . . . I've never stayed anywhere like it. It was really relaxing, and a memorable time. Would recommend it to anyone.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Lover's Lodge - Cozy Fireplace, Soothing Hot Tub.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p131667
+1 7603698207
Joshua Tree California Desert
Tempe, Arizona
5

a cozy, character-filled cottage!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 21, 2011
  • Stayed: Feb 2011
My husband, myself (who are in our late 20s), and our shepherd mix, niko, had a wonderful long weekend at 'the lover's lodge'. The interior is cozy, the bed is super comfy and the amenities are more than suitable. The weather was a bit cold so the fireplace was a perfect addition to keep as warm while sipping our wine and listening to music. We utilized the outside grill and the oven to prepare our meals and the kitchen had more than enough cookware to assist with that. the outdoor hot tub is definitely a bonus-and my husband and i were super bummed that the weather prevented us from using it more! There is also an outdoor firepit that would be perfect in warmer weather. Niko had about 2 acres of fenced in property to explore, which is a plus for any dog owner who worries how far their pet may explore! There were also plenty of dirt paths outside of the property to take niko for long walks wikthout having to travel far. The property itself is just a a few minute drive to the shops and restaurants in downtown joshua tree. Joshua Tree National Park is also just a five minute drive from the cottage. All in all, this was one of the best accommodation we have stayed in. It has such great character and made our first trip to joshua tree even more memorable. We are already planning our next trip when the weather gets a bit warmer... Thanks Vida!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1