Narragansett house rental - The Lake House from Indian Lake
The Lake House from Indian Lake
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps5
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Narragansett House Rental Photos and Description
2 bedrooms, 2 baths, sleeps 5

Vacation on Indian Lake--a pristine 200 acre freshwater lake, less than 10 minutes from Narragansett Pier and the state's best ocean beaches. Swim, kayak, fish, and bird watch from your front yard. This waterfront vacation home is perfect for a family with children, two couples (each has their own bathroom), or as a romantic get-away for a couple that desires privacy. The lake warms up earlier than the ocean and the water stays warm well into fall. There are 4 kayaks for your use, a large lawn for playing volleyball, and a huge deck and BBQ for relaxing. Large windows overlooking the lake, cathedral ceilings and numerous skylights create an interior that is both bright and cheery. In addition to the large great room ,there is also a family room with sliding doors to the deck, 2 bedrooms, 2 full baths, a fully equipped kitchen and a laundry.

Lake House Community: The Lake House is located in a small, quiet community of private homes known as Indian Lake Shores. Although quite removed from the hustle and bustle of town, everything you need is nearby. Several large grocery stores and the many other shops and restaurants of Wakefield and Narragansett are only 5 minutes away.

Spring, fall, and winter vacations: The Lake House is a great vacation rental in any season. Come to the lake in the spring and enjoy the water when the ocean is too cold. The green of the trees' new leaves and rainbow of the colorful blooming flowers reflect off the blue water. September and October are also special times in southern RI. Indian Lake is full of wildlife as migrating birds stop on their way to winter feeding grounds. While days are usually mild, the cool autumn nights paint the leaves red, yellow, and orange and the lake reflects the riot of color that surrounds it. A wood-stove with gas logs in the great-room will keep you cozy warm as you sip your mulled cider. Of course, there is a full heating system to keep you toasty if you visit in winter to go skating on the lake.

Golf opportunities: When you vacation at the Lake House, you have plenty of choices for golf. Less than 3 miles away is Rose Hill Golf Club, a beautiful new 9-hole course. In about half an hour or less, you can be at any of 11 18-hole golf courses or any of 7 9-hole golf courses.

More Details
Hide Details

I grew up in the nearby village of Kingston. My father was a professor at the University of Rhode Island and my mother was a school teacher in West Kingston. My first swimming lessons were on Indian Lake and I spent many happy hours swimming and boating on the lake.

When my wife and I decided to purchase a vacation home, we knew we wanted to be on Indian Lake. It is perfect for swimming, kayaking, and fishing. The property has shade trees to relax under while enjoying the view and the lot is double wide with 120 feet of waterfront. Although it feels like we are in our own little resort, we are only 10 minutes from the beautiful salt water beach in Narragansett and just a bit further from the state beaches. Often, we go swimming in the ocean in the morning and then come home and swim in the lake. Later we fire up the BBQ grill and enjoy a nice supper on the deck.

The house is bright and airy, even on cloudy days, with views of the lake from most rooms. It is so comfortable, we always hate to leave.

11 Reviews of Property 131216 in Narragansett, Rhode Island

Waterfront Home with 4 Kayaks, Near Best Ocean Beaches
average rating of 4.818182 based on 11 reviews
business
Waterfront Home with 4 Kayaks, Near Best Ocean Beaches
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p131216
703 758-8942
Narragansett Narragansett area
NY
5

Amazing and relaxing

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We want to go back, not next year...NOW & FOREVER! It was a little piece of heaven on earth, especially the sunrises and sunsets over Indian Lake. Set up like a ranch style cabin/cottage it's comfy, has all the amenities of being home, and is close to it all. The use of the "extras" provided is a plus and well worth the weekly rate at any time of the season.
business
Waterfront Home with 4 Kayaks, Near Best Ocean Beaches
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p131216
703 758-8942
Narragansett Narragansett area
NY
5

lakefront gem

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Lots of extras make this lakefront property well worth the weekly rate. Location to great state beaches, restaurants and historic towns would be enough but to be this close to a pristine, clear lake is the icing on the cake. Provided by the generous owners are kayaks, rafts, fishing gear, beach chairs, coolers, grill, cable TV, WIFI... Bring your sheets and towels and enjoy this cozy cottage setting that's so close to anything you need or want (after bringing in some groceries you really won't have to leave, or want to leave). The pictures are a true representation and we have lots of our own photos and memories to reflect on a great week away.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Waterfront Home with 4 Kayaks, Near Best Ocean Beaches
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p131216
703 758-8942
Narragansett Narragansett area
5

Peaceful vacation on the lake!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 27, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
Our vacation at Indian Lake was superb, thanks to warm weather, a beautiful lake, and the comfortable and well appointed Cosgrove house. It was nice to be able to swim in the warm waters of Indian Lake -- our ocean water out here is much too cold.

We wish we could have stayed longer, and hope to come again. Our four person family definitely recommends this house to other families. We are fortunate that our 12-year-old daughter found this place on the internet and told us about it. Thank you!
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Waterfront Home with 4 Kayaks, Near Best Ocean Beaches
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p131216
703 758-8942
Narragansett Narragansett area
Bolton, MA
5

THE BEST VACATION!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
Our family of 4 had one of the best vacations ever at the lake house. The home is immaculate, comfortable, peaceful and just a beautiful location. My only suggestion is to purchase some swim shoes. The lake is rather rocky and they can be a bit slimy and treacherous barefoot. We went right down the street to Olympia sports, got our swim shoes and were golden for the rest of our stay! My 11-year-old son began and ended every day fishing off the dock. Even my teenage daughter never once complained about anything. They LOVED kayaking, something neither had ever done before.

The Cosgroves have thought of everything - this was an absolutely phenomenal vacation experience. We did not want to leave.

We have been renting vacation homes online for the past 5-6 years. This was my "last shot" at getting it right, there are A LOT of misrepresentations out there. This home is definitely NOT misrepresented. It is PERFECTION. We would have stayed all summer.

The house is convenient to everything - 10 minutes to Scarborough beach. Downtown Wakefield has a great ice cream parlor and Pier Pizza (right nest door to the ice cream parlor) has the BEST pizza we have ever had. And if you love stuffies and clamcakes, Iggy's is the place to go.
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 8/8
business
Waterfront Home with 4 Kayaks, Near Best Ocean Beaches
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p131216
703 758-8942
Narragansett Narragansett area
Davidson, North Carolina
5

idyll at the lake

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2008
This is my family's second visit to the Lake House. Like last summer, everything was wonderful: picturesque setting, a wonderfully appointed house, and a great location. The owners are efficient and gracious hosts, always quick to respond to inqueries or dllemmas in a very quick and helpful manner.
We hope to return next year for another enjoyable sojourn on a gorgeous, secluded lake, just minutes from RI's finest beaches.
Could not be better!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
Waterfront Home with 4 Kayaks, Near Best Ocean Beaches
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p131216
703 758-8942
Narragansett Narragansett area
South Windsor, CT, USA
5

Family Fun

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 30, 2008
  • Stayed: Jul 2008
This beautiful lake house has become a family tradition. From kayaking off your own private dock, to enjoying the swimming hole, to BBQ on the deck at sunset, this is a great family vacation. The house is immaculate and fully stocked, the location is ideal, the neighborhood is quiet and accessible. Restaurants and great beaches are just a short drive away and day trips to Newport and Providence are convenient. We can't wait to go back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Waterfront Home with 4 Kayaks, Near Best Ocean Beaches
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p131216
703 758-8942
Narragansett Narragansett area
Seattle
5

I kind of don't want to share this secret...

I kind of don't want to share this secret...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 29, 2008
  • Stayed: Aug 2008
What a find. Despite living in RI for 25 years, and visiting frequently for the 20 years since then, neither I nor my local family members had any idea that Indian Lake existed, let alone this great rental.
I stayed at the house in August 2008 with my husband, and my twin 9-year old girls. It was simply lovely. The home, the setting, and the location all exceeded our expectations. The lake is excellent for swimming and kayaking, the home was well-maintained and comfortable, and the location proved a great base camp for visiting family, for sampling beaches, and for sightseeing. The neighbors were sociable, kind and quiet. The house had lots of "extras" that made the stay more enjoyable: games, local information, picnic baskets, beach chairs, kitchen gadgets, etc. The owners do NOT supply sheets or towels. It's a bit of a hassle to round up these items, get them to the house, and return them. The biggest problem we had, though, was that our visitors never wanted to leave those lake-view Adirondack chairs once they plopped themselves down! Honestly, some people just can't take a hint.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Waterfront Home with 4 Kayaks, Near Best Ocean Beaches
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p131216
703 758-8942
Narragansett Narragansett area
burlington, ct
5

Peaceful

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 26, 2008
  • Stayed: Jul 2008
Our family has stayed at the lake house for one week, for the last three summers. If has been relaxing and exciting for all four of us (2 are teenage girls). We brought 2 cars, the girls went their way, we went our way. And we all did things together.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Waterfront Home with 4 Kayaks, Near Best Ocean Beaches
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p131216
703 758-8942
Narragansett Narragansett area
Corby, Northants, England
5

Perfect...

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 16, 2008
  • Stayed: Sep 2008
We arrived in Boston in the dark - complete with thunder storms, so when we arrived at the Lake House we were so tired we didnt even unpack. (Excellent bed by the way)
Nothing prepared us for the next morning. The views are amazing!! It excelled our expectations and we never got tired of just sitting and looking at the views.
The house and location are just as I would choose to live in. (Very hard to leave)
I was really pleased as Adrian discovered art for pleasure for the first time in years (normally kept only for employment purposes)
Although we didnt want to leave the house we did go to a few local restaurants and Belmonts is a great source of supplies (as recommended)
The Lake House is ideal for completely relaxing or equally exploring Rhode Island.
We visited Newport, Mystic, Wickford, Jamestown and a number of beaches - all worth vistiting.
The owners could not have been more helpfull.
Will we be visiting again? Hopefully.
Thank you so much for a wonderfull vacation.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Waterfront Home with 4 Kayaks, Near Best Ocean Beaches
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p131216
703 758-8942
Narragansett Narragansett area
Dullatur, Scotland. U.K
5

Lake Magic

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 2, 2008
  • Stayed: Sep 2008
My husband and I have visited the Eastern Seaboard of U.S.A for 3 weeks from Scotland for the past 17 years. Our base is always Ogunquit, Maine and we use the area to explore the surrounding area. In 2007, we chanced on the "Waterfront Home with Kayaks". Intrigued we booked it. The information given at the time was excellent and covered everything, The enclosed pictures gave an image of the area. It did not live up to the reality of Indian Shores. Set in a lovely wooded private garden, surrounded by lawns. The cottage was so comfortable with every touch of a family home and not "just for rental guests". It was spotless, old broad board floors gleamed in the spacious lounge room, the bedrooms and bathrooms were small, but in total keeping with the charactor of the house. The kitchen had everything you would have in your own home and did not lack for anything. There is a perfect quiet room if you wish to read it has a good choice of books and board games.
The views from the windows looking to the Lake, were stunning, from dawn to dusk, a birdwatcher or artists paradise. Whether dining "al fresco" on the deck or inside at the dining room table it was a pleasure. And when it sizzled, a dip in the lake. The Lake House is so convenient to an excellent shopping area in nearby Wakefield, Belmonts in particular for food shopping. There is an excellent range of restaurants nearby. Spain in particular, we loved.
Naragansett Beach is a short 10 minutes drive,with a beautiful pristine beach, with plenty of nearby parking. Great surf if the wind is blowing. Beach chairs and coolers are on hand at the house, just pack up a picnic and enjoy the day.
The fast ferry to Martha's Vineyard is worth a trip.
Being so near to the main routes, makes sight seeing so easy, Mystic....wonderful, Westerly.....stunning. Newport we love, visit the International Tennis Hall of Fame and the mansions are awesome... how the other half lived. The Black Pearl Restaurant on Bannisters Wharf and the West Deck at Waites Wharf, we love. At beautiful historic Wickford check out Wickford Gourmet Foods,great for cheeses and pates. Try lunch there.
If you like outlet shopping Wrentham Village 45 minutes away just off the I 495 is worth a visit it the day is dull.
And if you ask did we do this in one week....this answer is no. We are planning our "to do and see and eat" list for next year. Providence is on the list for 2008, especially Al Forno, didn't manage it this year
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 7/7