Putney house rental - view from brook
view from brook
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Putney House Rental Photos and Description
- 2 BR, 1 BA, sleeps 4 adults + 2 children

Contemporary saltbox with shaker style interior. On 10 acres adjoining extensive forest and trails. Year round brook, private meadow, direct access on the property to cross country ski trails, hiking, woodland trails. Located on paved, well maintained town road a short drive into Putney Village or Brattleboro. Open, comfortable layout, hot tub in basement available upon request for extra charge. Mt Snow, Stratton, Okemo 50 minute drive.

11 Reviews of Property 130854 in Putney, Vermont

Attractive saltbox home in woods
average rating of 5.0 based on 11 reviews
business
Attractive saltbox home in woods
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p130854
+1 860 836-7188
Putney Southeastern Vermont
5

Great House to Explore Vermont from and come "home" to

Great House to Explore Vermont from and come "home" to
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
We used this house as a platform to explore Artsy Putney, and close by Brattleboro. It was Fantastic. The owner was great, and was great communicating with us. This house is a very nice and easy getaway. Fall was at its prime, and the house floor to ceiling windows allowed for a fantastic view of the fall foliage. Great House, cozy and relaxing to come back to after a long day of adventure. Close to everything, but secluded enough to feel like you're really able to get away. Kitchen is loaded with all necessary pots pans dishes for cooking and coffee maker for mornings, so just bring food or buy groceries at the local putney market and relax with a romantic meal and wine. (Putney general store sells beer/wine also). We had a lot of fun, absolutely recommend this house to any couple looking for a romantic getaway. Plenty of room, great deck and the wood stove is a nice feature. Only complaint was the 2 upstairs bedroom mattresses were very hard.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: I appreciate the very nice review and aim to provide a comfortable, quiet, high quality stay in a wonderful part of Vermont. With respect to the comment about the beds, the feedback I have had is that the beds and the house are very comfortable. To some degree, this is a matter of individual taste however I am replacing the futon bed in the second bedroom with a new mattress that should be softer than the existing futon. Thanks again for the positive feedback.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Attractive saltbox home in woods
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p130854
+1 860 836-7188
Putney Southeastern Vermont
5

Lovely homebase to explore Vermont

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We had a wonderful stay in this attractive home. The house is well equipped. It's perfect for relaxation and to experience country life. Lovely wooden floors, a serene bedroom and peace and quiet.
Putney itself is a lovely village and the surroundings are beautiful.

Dan was very quick to respond to any questions. Thanks for renting out your lovely hideaway.
business
Attractive saltbox home in woods
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p130854
+1 860 836-7188
Putney Southeastern Vermont
5

Wonderful Stay in Putney

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 21, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
My friends and I chose to rent this house for a weekend getaway and had a wonderful time! The house was very clean and had everything we needed for the meals that we were planning to cook while there. We hiked on a trail that started just down the hill from the house, watched a few movies, and went shopping in nearby Brattleboro. This is perfect for a quiet weekend away.

Dan was very quick to respond to our inquiry and provided a ton of information about the area.

I'd happily recommend this house to friends and relatives.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Attractive saltbox home in woods
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p130854
+1 860 836-7188
Putney Southeastern Vermont
5

Perfect Getaway House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
My dog, my friend and I had a wonderful stay at Dan's Putney house.
It was quiet and comfortable, spacious enough, and you can walk on his own wooded land across the brook.
The area is lovely -- lots of places to hike, pick fruit, visit small towns -- and very friendly people.
Dan was great to deal with.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Attractive saltbox home in woods
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p130854
+1 860 836-7188
Putney Southeastern Vermont
Oakland, CA
5

Excellent experience

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 12, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
This is a great house, in a great location. The owner left great suggestions for things to do, places to go.
I've rented this house twice and highly recommend it.
I've visited in Fall and Spring.
Close to trails, lovely villages, The Putney School and convenient to Brattleborough if you need a little civilization (movies, restaurants, great co-op, shops ...).
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Attractive saltbox home in woods
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p130854
+1 860 836-7188
Putney Southeastern Vermont
Putney, Vermont
5

Wonderful place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 29, 2010
  • Stayed: Nov 2010
We recently returned from a Thanksgiving stay at this home. It was an excellent experience. The property is beautiful and peaceful. The house is warm and cozy. It was great waking up to the surrounding landscape with the large open windows. The house is well stocked with everything we needed. Even my 20 year old son who was unhappy about not having cell phone service started to appreciate the ambiance after less than 24 hours and had the epiphany that he could live without the technology. LOL. Putney Village is a very friendly, quaint gem. The view of the stars was amazing. We look forward to returning.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Attractive saltbox home in woods
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p130854
+1 860 836-7188
Putney Southeastern Vermont
Harrisburg,PA ,USA
5

The best vacation ever!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 13, 2008
  • Stayed: Aug 2008
Daniel Sosland's house is a wonderful place to be! It's isolated,warm,and close to everything Vermont. There are friendly neighbors and it is a very peaceful place.We have rented many houses off of the internet in Vermont and Maine and this is the best place so far!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Attractive saltbox home in woods
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p130854
+1 860 836-7188
Putney Southeastern Vermont
Brooklyn, NY
5

Serenity among the trees and a brook

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 11, 2008
  • Stayed: Nov 2008
Coming up from NYC to escape my lovable, yet overstimulated city, this house was the perfect antidote for a holiday week-end. The deafening silence and friendly townspeople made it perfect trip only 4 hrs from home. Also lucky to meet the many wonderful artists in Putney during the week-end crafts fair - don't miss the apple orchard and friendly owner just down the block, where I made my own wreath for a 1/3 of what it would cost in NY. Kathy from Brooklyn
business
Attractive saltbox home in woods
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p130854
+1 860 836-7188
Putney Southeastern Vermont
Brooklyn, NY USA
5

The nicest Thanksgiving!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 10, 2008
  • Stayed: Nov 2008
This place was all that we had hoped. It was quiet, warm and comfortable, and well-equipped enough for us to cook our Thanksgiving dinner.

The location couldn't be better and we got around to the "famous" Putney Crafts weekend. It was all great fun!

We hope to be back before long. Thanks, Dan, for everything.

Pat and Kathy
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Attractive saltbox home in woods
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p130854
+1 860 836-7188
Putney Southeastern Vermont
Wethersfield, CT
5

Relaxing, great place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 9, 2008
  • Stayed: Oct 2008
We really enjoyed this rental. The owner was very easy to work with and reliable. The house was very clean and in great shape when we arrived. Its not a large place but is comfortable and cozy. We werent that familiar with Putney, but it turned out to be a really great area with a lot of interesting arts and antiques if you're into that, also easy access to lots of outdoor activities. We also explored the area and found good inns and restaurants, apple picking and nice trails with views. We look forward to getting back.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway