Broadkill Beach house rental
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
 

Broadkill Beach House Rental Photos and Description
- 3 bdrm, 1.5 bath, outdr shwr, Slps 8 ($starting $950)

Love Rehoboth, but want a break from the crowds? Want peace and quiet in a natural setting? Then rent on direct beach/bayfront on the white sandy Broadkill Beach on Delaware Bay....just a dozen country miles NW of Rehoboth. Beach comb, fish, canoe, hike the wild life preserve, golf, enjoy the bay view from a huge porch. We hope you can come see for yourself! Enjoy the natural setting, the natural beauty, the natural quiet!

And, due to popular demand, wireless internet and cable TV has been included.

Broadkill Beach, where the house is located, is a quiet old fishing village that is entirely residential (all single family homes), and one quaint country store. The town is NW of Rehoboth/Lewes, close enough to hop in the car to hit the outlets, restaurants, or the boardwalk, but far enough that you enjoy peace and quiet. Broadkill's sandy beach is great for sandcastles, kayaking, beach combing, and the huge wildlife refuge (Primehook) is another attraction. A few miles inland is historic Milton, home of a huge collection of Victorian era architecture, bookshop, antique shops, ice cream parlor, as well as being the home of a couple of Delaware's 19th century governors--there large homes are still there. This is truly an area for all kinds of vacation tastes.

Together, the beach, the country store, and the cottage create a 'Summer of '42' type setting (as my neighbor calls it). The house was built while the baby boomer's were still riding skate boards and the 'greatest generation' was still the 'working generation'. We have, in fact, summer patrons who came here first as children themselves, and they now bring their grand children. The cottage includes a huge porch and a deck.

The cottage also includes the living room, and 3 bedrooms. The one full bath and one half bath inside is complemented by a shower stall outside. There is more parking than you can use, complements of Broadkill's low density of housing. Lastly, the house and the porch face on direct beach/bay front. At night you can see the twinkling lights of Cape May, as well as the pitching and rolling lights of the Lewes-Cape May Ferry.

More Details
Hide Details

11 Reviews of Property 130387 in Broadkill Beach, Delaware

Beachfront starts $950wk, 3bdrm, 1.5bth, Sleeps 8, outdr shwer, WIFI, Cable
average rating of 4.6363635 based on 11 reviews
business
Beachfront starts $950wk, 3bdrm, 1.5bth, Sleeps 8, outdr shwer, WIFI, Cable
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p130387
443.848.9625
Broadkill Beach Delaware
5

Perfect family vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We had a great time here. The house is very comfortable and fits our family of 5 beautifuly, it has everything we need (except dishwasher, but we used disposable plates). The outdoor shower with hot water is the best feature, it lets us enter the house free of sand.
Beaches are great, in addition to the local beach which our little kids enjoy very much (it is shallow and no waves, but the water a little bit muddy) we've been to Dewey beach, Lewes beach, Rehobot board walk and even Assateque island in Maryland. We've found great restaraunts (Surfing crab and Little Italy in Lewes, Southern Grill dinner in Ellendale) and we love local crab dishes. We even went to Washington, DC on a rainy day. We did some fishing right on the beach and caught quite a lot of fish.
We spent a nice Wednesday evening in Milton, they have concerts and kid's train rides on Wednesdays a 6pm and the ice cream in Ice Cream shop is delicious.
Kids Cottage in Lewes is a nice drop-in indoor playground with movie nights on Fridays.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beachfront starts $950wk, 3bdrm, 1.5bth, Sleeps 8, outdr shwer, WIFI, Cable
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p130387
443.848.9625
Broadkill Beach Delaware
5

This is the place for a relaxing beach vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
If you are looking for a cozy place to stay right in front of the beach, this is your choice. You can enjoy the nice beach without having to deal with the masses like at other beaches, such as Rehoboth or Dewey. Nevertheless, if you feel like it, these places are just a short drive away. The house is exactly as described. So it is a bit older, but this did not bother us at all. I even would say this place has some charm in that way. Still it is very well maintained and it even provides surprisingly fast WIFI. We only stayed for a longer weekend and nobody really wanted to leave once it was over.
business
Beachfront starts $950wk, 3bdrm, 1.5bth, Sleeps 8, outdr shwer, WIFI, Cable
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p130387
443.848.9625
Broadkill Beach Delaware
5

Great stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 17, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
My family and I just returned from our 1st stay at Broadkill Beach and we already can't wait to return! The house had everything we needed, plus a beautiful view of the bay. It is close to everything as we were able to visit Dewey Beach, Rehoboth Beach, Cape Henlopen as well as other hot spots in less than 10-15 miles. With two children under the age of 5, we couldn't have asked for a better place to stay. It is away from the tourist madness of the big beaches, but just a quick jaunt to the big beaches if desired. As an added bonus, the Broadkill Store is a hidden gem as we enjoyed homemade cinnamon rolls one day and homemade crab soup the next! We would highly recommend this house for a great family getaway!
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
Beachfront starts $950wk, 3bdrm, 1.5bth, Sleeps 8, outdr shwer, WIFI, Cable
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p130387
443.848.9625
Broadkill Beach Delaware
5

Many wonderful September memories.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
I've been spending a week in September at "Seaview" for nearly 20 years. It's a wonderful relaxing place to get away from it all. Great for reading, walks on the beach, and watching sunrises over the Delaware Bay. If you've tired of teeming crowds and noise - this is the place to be. And if you need the regular beach scene, then it's only about 20 minutes away. This is the "Summer of 42" experience. A very eclectic community - nothing else like it anywhere. Wonderful sub sandwiches and fresh donuts at the Broadkill Store. It's a place that you'll look forward to returning to year after year.
Helpful votes: 1/3
business
Beachfront starts $950wk, 3bdrm, 1.5bth, Sleeps 8, outdr shwer, WIFI, Cable
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p130387
443.848.9625
Broadkill Beach Delaware
Dover, DE
3

Visit

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 5, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
I went with a friend. The outdoor patio is overgrown now but we didn't use it. Grill shot. No TV reception but honestly the cutest place, clean, easy access to beach. Outdoor shower....no way...lol
Would happily go again, armed with a grill. Actually found I could live without TV. Had the most relaxing time ever.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway
Owner's Response: So glad they enjoyed it overall. And it is true, the TV reception is VHF, which is a throwback to the 1960s.... we get some New Jersey channels from across the bay. But we do have high speed internet. And, the grill...oops. We try to replace after every season (because of salt spray effects on metal). We will replace it this week.
Helpful votes: 4/6
business
Beachfront starts $950wk, 3bdrm, 1.5bth, Sleeps 8, outdr shwer, WIFI, Cable
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p130387
443.848.9625
Broadkill Beach Delaware
St. Charles
5

Nostalgic Nature

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 18, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
My husband and I stayed for a week in this lovely cottage. Our daughter and her husband stayed for the weekend, as it is an easy drive from their home near D.C.
We thoroughly enjoyed the laid back and informal nature of the "Seaview". It truly lives up to its name as it is right on the beach, protected by sand dunes and sea grass.
It's the kind of place where you can kick back, relax, and let the worries of the world go by. Don't expect HGTV perfection. It;s well equipped, but certainly not modern or fancy.
It's just what we two nature lovers wanted!
Great stay!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
Beachfront starts $950wk, 3bdrm, 1.5bth, Sleeps 8, outdr shwer, WIFI, Cable
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p130387
443.848.9625
Broadkill Beach Delaware
Pittsburgh, PA
4

Cute Cottage

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 26, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
If you love nature and quiet, this place is for you. The path from the cottage leads straight to the beach, where you can fish or just hang out on the beach. You can watch the evening lightning storms or ships from the enclosed lanai or take a shower outdoors. Don't leave your pet at home, this is a pet lover area. Nearby is historic Lewes, a quaint fishing village or the boardwalk at Rehoboth Beach. To escape the heat or rain, 3 Tanger Outlets are in the area also. Crab is the specialty here, several seafood restaurants are in the area along with other dining options. This cottage reminds me of my parents 2nd home, with all the amenities listed. Enjoy your stay!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/4
business
Beachfront starts $950wk, 3bdrm, 1.5bth, Sleeps 8, outdr shwer, WIFI, Cable
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p130387
443.848.9625
Broadkill Beach Delaware
Frederick, MD
5

Great Get-away

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2009
  • Stayed: Sep 2008
If you like peace and quiet and being immersed in nature, this is the place for you. Right on the beach and almost surrounded by dunes and pine trees, its a great place to relax. If that's the kind of thing that bores you, this is a great base from which to explore Rehoboth, Lewes and Cape Henlopen State Park, all of which are about 15 minutes away.
The decore is 50's and not exactly plush, but the home is well equipped. The best thing about the house is the Florida room with large windows on three sides. Even if the weather is bad, you can enjoy your day at the beach sitting in the Adirondack chairs. If the weather is good, you can walk or relax on a beach that is uncrowded even on the busiest days. The Bay water is shallow and not very turbulent so its perfect for small children.
I love this place which is why I visit every year. Enjoy!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/5
business
Beachfront starts $950wk, 3bdrm, 1.5bth, Sleeps 8, outdr shwer, WIFI, Cable
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p130387
443.848.9625
Broadkill Beach Delaware
Delaware
5

Cozy and homey

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 13, 2009
  • Stayed: Mar 2008
We stayed in the house in the off season, and it was a wonderful retreat. Well-suited to a family of 3-4 people (or a couple) and truly right on the beach. The house has a very old-fashioned vibe--very clean and well-kitted out, but quite mid-century in style. It reminded me of beach trips as a kid, and I thoroughly enjoyed it.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 4/5
business
Beachfront starts $950wk, 3bdrm, 1.5bth, Sleeps 8, outdr shwer, WIFI, Cable
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p130387
443.848.9625
Broadkill Beach Delaware
Wyoming Valley, Pa.
4

Nature at its best!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 28, 2008
  • Stayed: Jun 2008
We enjoyed our stay at the sea view. The natural beach is a sight to see. Sunsets were spectactular. Private yet close enough to attractions to keep you busy during your stay. Seaview was not the cleanest place we ever stayed in but it met are needs and over all we were pleased. We plan to return in the near future. Worst thing about our stay was the biting flies when walking thru the dune to the beach.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/2