Katama house rental - Beautiful inground pool and house
Beautiful inground pool and house
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Katama House Rental Photos and Description
- 3+ bedrooms, 2 full bathrooms, sleeps 8

This light-filled home is situated on a large private lot in the Katama neighborhood, one of the most popular locations on the island, close to south beach (1 mile), and historic Edgartown (1.5 miles). Edgartown Great Pond is also close by, and perfect for launching a kayak. A 40 ft. deck overlooks the yard, expansive patio and beautiful 15 X 30 ft in ground (unheated, 5.5 ft at deepest) swimming pool. The 2000 sq. ft. house is beautifully decorated to fit its contemporary style. Upstairs, a cathedral ceiling and sky lights brighten the fireplaced great room and kitchen. Two bedrooms (queen beds in each) and a full bath are also upstairs. Downstairs is kid-friendly and includes: a bedroom (double bed); full bathroom; front room (queen pull out and twin bed) with satellite TV, DVD; and a rec room with games and books. Wireless high speed Internet throughout the house.

Uniquely comfortable, friendly home: You'll see that I've received very positive reviews from renters. They agree that the house is unique on the rental market, not only for the pool and close proximity to South Beach and town, but for the comfortable and easy atmosphere I've created. From the hammock and Adirondack chairs in the large, private back yard, to the well stocked kitchen and comfortable seating areas and open, clean design indoors my most frequent comments were about the relaxing, friendly, inviting spaces.

Recent renovations, In the winter of 2010 I remodeled the kitchen, downstairs bathroom, and put in hardwood floors throughout the house. So everything is a bit lighter, more modern and updated.

More Details
Hide Details

I live in Los Angeles and this is my vacation home.

Karyn Franzen purchased this house in 2005

10 Reviews of Property 130096 in Katama, Massachusetts

Katama Home with Pool, Close to South Beach, Edgartown
average rating of 4.857143 based on 10 reviews
business
Katama Home with Pool, Close to South Beach, Edgartown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p130096
+1 617 680-0165
Katama Edgartown Area
Newton, MA
4

Good option close to beach

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2008
  • Stayed: Aug 2008
This was a nice property - clean and uncluttered. The pool gets sunshine most of the day and is a nice feature for older children when you don't want to go to the beach. The deck is also very nice for outdoor dining and relaxing. The location is very convenient to town, shopping and the beach. The only TV in the house is a small set in the lower level. The owner communicated well and gave excellent, very detailed instructions about the home. Overall, a good experience.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing
Owner's Response: As an update from this review in 2008, we now have large flat screen TVs both upstairs and downstairs in the house. There is DirecTV with HD upstairs.
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
Katama Home with Pool, Close to South Beach, Edgartown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p130096
+1 617 680-0165
Katama Edgartown Area
New York
5

Most relaxing vacation ever!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 14, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
My in-laws, husband, son and I all enjoyed this lovely home very much. It was without a doubt the most relaxing vacation we have ever had. We are renting this house again next summer. The pool was wonderful for my 4 year old. He loved splashing around. The pool was shallow enough that he could stand in it past the steps. The house had every amenity that you could need for your vacation. It was very clean, and every question I had was answered promptly. I would highly recommend this property!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Katama Home with Pool, Close to South Beach, Edgartown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p130096
+1 617 680-0165
Katama Edgartown Area
Massachusetts
5

Stay here, beautiful even in the rain!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 23, 2009
  • Stayed: Jun 2009
As a first time renter from a website, I was a little leary about renting from someone I didn't know. However, once we got to this great house, all of my worries went away. This home is beautiful, perfect for a family with teenagers. My daughter brought her boyfriend and her best friend. They enjoyed the downstairs of the house immensely, as they had their own area, including a nice bathroom and their own T.V. If they wanted to, they could just go downstairs and relax.

The upstairs of the house has the cutest kitchen you could ever imagine! As our ENTIRE week consisted of RAIN, RAIN, RAIN, the dining room table worked out perfectly for those long nights of strategic game playing (of which I didn't win at all!). My favorite part of the house is the wrap around deck with the great barbecue and nice patio set. Yes, we barbecued rain or shine and the kids really loved eating outside.

Have I mentioned the beautiful pool? Probably not, because we got to look at it, it looks wonderfully inviting, but thanks to Mother Nature, I didn't even get to dabble my feet in the water! Go in July, hope for sunshine!

This house is worth every penny that you're spending to rent it and more! It is very clean, relaxing and inviting. The four kids spread themselves out reading a book or watching T.V. AND it is very relaxing hearing the rain hit the skyroof! I highly recommend this house and we had a great time despite the very crummy weather. She even provides plenty of books and music to keep you entertained. Oh yeah, there is a cute little grocery store right down the street if you need milk or their DELICIOUS scones.

Honestly, it was the most relaxing vacation we ever had!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Katama Home with Pool, Close to South Beach, Edgartown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p130096
+1 617 680-0165
Katama Edgartown Area
Brooklyn, New York
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 22, 2009
  • Stayed: Jun 2009
This house was just perfect! We were on Martha's Vineyard for almost a week for a close friend's wedding and found the house to be just what we needed. For those rare moments of rest from the wedding, we enjoyed the wrap-around deck and hammock or curled up on the comfy couches and read a book.

The house was clean, comfortable, and a great space to spread out in. With the rooms separated out you have a great opportunity to get away from the rest of your family or group. Although we couldn't enjoy the pool (almost non-stop rain while we were there...) it all looked very clean and ready for the summer!

If you're looking for a great place to stay, that is close to Edgartown and the beaches, then you've found it!
business
Katama Home with Pool, Close to South Beach, Edgartown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p130096
+1 617 680-0165
Katama Edgartown Area
Wellesley, MA
5

Guestbook Comment

The House was great and just as advertised. The pool was perfect for the kids. It is furnished well allowing us not to have to bring extra things to M...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2008
  • Stayed: Sep 2008
The House was great and just as advertised. The pool was perfect for the kids. It is furnished well allowing us not to have to bring extra things to MV
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Katama Home with Pool, Close to South Beach, Edgartown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p130096
+1 617 680-0165
Katama Edgartown Area
Connecticut
5

Guestbook Comment

This couldn't be a better family setup. The pool to keep kids busy by day, the downstairs family room to keep them busy by night. Not to mention ...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2008
  • Stayed: Sep 2008
This couldn't be a better family setup. The pool to keep kids busy by day, the downstairs family room to keep them busy by night. Not to mention the great location, so close to town, the beach and a salt pond. We were very pleased.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Katama Home with Pool, Close to South Beach, Edgartown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p130096
+1 617 680-0165
Katama Edgartown Area
Massachusetts
5

Guestbook Comment

We had a great time in your beautiful home! We spent so much time in the pool, the nice big yard, and on the deck; what a great set-up! We really appr...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 30, 2008
  • Stayed: Jun 2008
We had a great time in your beautiful home! We spent so much time in the pool, the nice big yard, and on the deck; what a great set-up! We really appreciated all of the hard work and time that you have obviously spent in making this such a comfortable, relaxing home! Thank you!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Katama Home with Pool, Close to South Beach, Edgartown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p130096
+1 617 680-0165
Katama Edgartown Area
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2007
  • Stayed: Aug 2007
We had a wonderful time on Martha's vineyard and enjoyed your house very much. It was a life saver having the pool, it was great.
business
Katama Home with Pool, Close to South Beach, Edgartown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p130096
+1 617 680-0165
Katama Edgartown Area
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2006
  • Stayed: Aug 2006
We have been back from our vacation for a week now and miss your beautiful house.

We were the beneficiaries of all your hard work and great taste. The house was perfect in every way, the layout, the comfortable, beautiful furnishings, the incredible deck and the pool was just a huge vineyard bonus. There wasn't anything we would recommend changing, best house we have stayed in for a very long time.

Our weather was perfect and my husband read 3 books, we went to the beach every day but one. So thank you for all the time and effort that went into making this so perfect. We had a splendid vacation.
business
Katama Home with Pool, Close to South Beach, Edgartown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p130096
+1 617 680-0165
Katama Edgartown Area
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2006
  • Stayed: Jul 2006
Just wanted to send you a few comments after our wonderful stay at your house on MV. We both loved the deck and the living area, these are very comfortable places to hang out.

In my case, a great vacation includes a lot of time in a comfy chair with a book and a cold drink, so this worked out very well indeed. While we always bring books, your library certainly had a great selection. The kitchen was quite well stocked.

The location worked out very well too. We bicycled over to the RightFork diner many times, and on down to South Beach from there. Whenever we return to MV we'll check with you to see if your house is available for our vacation.