Hendersonville house rental - Windy Hill Exterior
Windy Hill Exterior
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps15
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Hendersonville House Rental Photos and Description
Total 10 beds (can sleep 15); 3 bedrooms plus sleeping porch; 2 bathrooms

Beautifully restored turn of the century homestead, updated with all modern conveniences plus air conditioning, located on three acres just minutes from the shops and restaurants of historic Hendersonville and Flat Rock. Attractively landscaped yard, a modern play area for children, croquet, and a barbecue grill. . Nine beds upstairs plus single sleeper sofa downstairs can sleep a total of 15 (3 bedrooms plus sleeping porch with 5 beds ) 2 bathrooms.

Return to yesteryear: Leave all your worries behind and enjoy the quiet afforded by no telephone or internet. Television with DVD and VCR players provide indoor entertainment. Nearby restaurants have wi-fi internet access for necessary email communication, etc. Make plans now to hold your next holiday, vacation, family reunion or special event at Windy Hill and enjoy a unique experience in a fully renovated home from the 1890's complete with modern amenities and conveniences, including air conditioning . A large front porch and rocking chairs create a relaxing atmosphere.

Ideally located in Westen North Carolina: Historic Hendersonville and the Village of Flat Rock are within 3 miles. The nearby area features attractions such as the Flat Rock Playhouse, Connemara (home of Carl Sandburg), Chimney Rock, the Biltmore House, The Brevard Music Center, and downtown Asheville among many others. This part of the state is renowned for its art, music, antiques, history, scenic beauty, and pleasant climate. Come and discover the region's championship golf courses, antique shops, restaurants, vineyards, ski resorts, waterfalls, rafting, hiking and fishing opportunities. See DuPont Falls nearby where parts of the movie Hunger Games was filmed.

Outside Summer Cottage: A two room cottage with twin beds, sofa, tv, stereo system, etc., is across the driveway from Windy Hill. It can be Inexpensively rented for $25 a night extra (the plumbing is in the main house), it has fans for summertime and heaters for winter, and is ideal for couples or teenagers wanting separate quarters..

More Details
Hide Details

13 Reviews of Property 130077 in Hendersonville, North Carolina

Elegant Turn of the Century Homestead
average rating of 5.0 based on 13 reviews
business
Elegant Turn of the Century Homestead
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p130077
+1 828 692-0893
Hendersonville Asheville Area
null
5

Wonderful Family Home Away From Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
We had the pleasure of staying at Windy Hill for a weekend with two other families. There were 6 adults and 9 children in our group, and I can honestly say that we couldn't have found a better place to stay. The children enjoyed the sleeping porch while each couple had their own room. The children could run and play outside in the open yard or play on the swingset while the adults enjoyed visiting on the front porch.

We enjoyed learning the history of the home and family as well as looking at all the beautiful antiques. We all voted we would definately come back for another visit...hopefully in the near future!!

Thank you for opening up your 'Home Away From Home' to our group. What a blessing it was to our families to share your Windy Hill!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Elegant Turn of the Century Homestead
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p130077
+1 828 692-0893
Hendersonville Asheville Area
Charleston sc
5

Beautiful Winter Weekend Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 25, 2011
  • Stayed: Jan 2011
What a wonderful January weekend we had. We had 6 adults and 5 children and had more than enough room. The history and charm of the house took me back to my childhood days of growing up in a rural New England town yet in minutes you could be in the middle of it all.

The six to eight inches of snow that was on the ground was a special treat for the kids. Even though it was the middle of winter, the house was extremely cozy and warm and the kids loved the sleeping porch. We couldn't have asked for a better equipped house. We really hope to come back again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Elegant Turn of the Century Homestead
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p130077
+1 828 692-0893
Hendersonville Asheville Area
near Savannah, GA
5

Labor Day Rest

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2010
  • Stayed: Sep 2010
What a fabulous weekend we had in this lovely, historic home! From the moment that we entered the house we felt like we'd come home. Julie has taken so much care to preserve her family's history, books, personal items and furniture and has documented their story so beautifully. We felt like we were family as we enjoyed it all.

The ladies (two moms and three daughters) thoroughly enjoyed the beautiful old kitchen with all of its farmhouse charm. It is beautifully outfitted with everything you could possibly need.

What a delight to sleep with our windows open to the cool the mountain air, and to have coffee on the front porch every morning while we all enjoyed visiting together. The grounds were so lovely and several of our group took nice morning walks around them. Our children enjoyed riding in the wagon and playing croquet. Our last night, we all sat on the front porch where we had our "Low Country Boil" and savored the night sounds, the good food, and the good company. It was perfect!

None of us really wanted to leave, and felt very sad that we hadn't planned to stay another day. We had an excursion every day at one of the many places to visit in the area, so we all want to come back and just spend our time at Windy Hill relaxing. Windy Hill makes you cherish the slower days of times gone by and we can't wait to return!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Elegant Turn of the Century Homestead
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p130077
+1 828 692-0893
Hendersonville Asheville Area
Savannah, GA
5

Wonderful Weekend Trip

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 7, 2010
  • Stayed: Sep 2010
The moment we turned into a gravel driveway lined we apple orchards and saw the beautiful white farmhouse, we fell in love! Then as we entered, beautiful things of old greeted us as if we have come to visit our beloved grandparents home. Thank you for a wonderful experience and memory at your beautiful home, Julie.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Elegant Turn of the Century Homestead
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p130077
+1 828 692-0893
Hendersonville Asheville Area
Durham, NC
5

Beautiful Mansion in the Woods

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
This place is everything that was described and SOOO much more. I recently celebrated my 40th birthday by gathering women of varied ages who I love for a weekend in the mountains. I selected this house because of the sleeping porch, but the whole place is a complete delight.

We had 13 women and a baby, and the house has plenty of room for everyone to spread out as their personalities dictate. The kitchen is stocked with every kind of dish or utensil you might need. We fit 13 women around the dining table with room to spare. The communal areas downstairs are beautifully furnished with antiques and family historical items. The lightswitchs are the old fashioned button kind, and there is a very cool bell on the wall to call people to meals. There is an enclosed porch, a living room, an office, a sitting room, the dining room, the kitchen, and butler's pantry/laundry room. Some of the moms with young kids said they would dream about the laundry room with its light and space for some time to come. The front porch is like another room (It is the same size as the sleeping porch which is just above it) and plenty of space for lots of people to congregate.

The 3 bedrooms upstairs are GORGEOUS!!! The beds are quite nice. The bathroom upstairs is beautiful with a clawfoot tub. The hallway has bookcases and a beautiful desk. The books are so interesting too, we could have spent a couple of days just reading. The grounds are gorgeous with plants, butterfly bushes, beautiful forest, and and lots of paths that lead to potential adventures. They also have a bench swing, a tire swing, and a playground in the trees around the house.

While we were there, we visited Asheville and Hendersonville, but it was really hard to leave the front porch. I definitely hope to come back to spend more time in Hendersonville and Flat Rock.

The homeowner was wonderful and so accommodating. I definitely recommend this house if you have a small to medium size family reunion with children/teenagers or are having a ladies getaway.

Oh, and I had always dreamed of sleeping on a sleeping porch, and it was EVERYTHING I dreamt it would be. SOOOO fun!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Elegant Turn of the Century Homestead
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p130077
+1 828 692-0893
Hendersonville Asheville Area
Greenville, NC
5

Birthday Celebration Weekend

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2009
  • Stayed: Aug 2009
Our family of 14 (ages ranged from 2 yrs to 85 yrs old) spent three nights in this wonderful historical home. The beautiful and large dining room table greeted us with a fresh bouquet of flowers grown in the manicured yard and the magnificent table seated all 14 of us for our meals. The well-stocked kitchen was wonderful for cooking and the long countertop was perfect for serving our meals buffet style. We loved the seclusion of the property and the beautiful yard was inviting to do outside activities. The home is extremely large giving everyone their private space and quiet time. Our grandchildren had a great time on the playground equipment and they enjoyed the freedom of the large yard to play in. There were plenty of extra tables and folding chairs to set up activities in different locations. Some of our family attended a play at Flat Rock Playhouse which is only mins. away from Windy Hill. The gas grill was perfect for grilling. The owner provided excellent customer service, directions, and was very prompt in answering emails and questions. The property is easy to get to and is located near restaurants and a grocery store. We guarantee the front porch will be the favorite of everyone. We definitely recommend this property and plan to return.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Elegant Turn of the Century Homestead
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p130077
+1 828 692-0893
Hendersonville Asheville Area
Kingsport, TN
5

Girls' weekend in Flat Rock, NC

Girls' weekend in Flat Rock, NC
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2009
  • Stayed: Jul 2009
This is a beautiful home and a wonderful hostess. Several ladies in my family met here for the weekend and we had a wonderful time. The house is large and spacious. The rooms are clean and well-appointed. The bathrooms were sufficient. We enjoyed shopping at A Day in the Country and at downtown Hendersonville (~10 minutes away). We also enjoyed a play at Flat Rock Playhouse -- highly recommended. If you have a chance to stay here, take it!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Elegant Turn of the Century Homestead
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p130077
+1 828 692-0893
Hendersonville Asheville Area
Greenville, SC, USA
5

Get Out of the City and Go Back in Time

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 4, 2009
  • Stayed: Jun 2009
Our family enjoyed the privacy of this location. There was so much history documented in this home. I was fascinated with the family history that has been preserved.

We enjoyed playing horseshoes, walking the property, cooking in the well stocked kitchen, grilling on the gas grill, and eating in the large dining room. There are so many books to read. We didn't want to leave the property because there was so much to do there.

If you would like to escape the stress of city life and spend time getting to know your family again, this is the place!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Elegant Turn of the Century Homestead
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p130077
+1 828 692-0893
Hendersonville Asheville Area
White, GA
5

Wonderful Place to stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 2, 2008
  • Stayed: Nov 2008
We meet at Windy Hill for Thanksgiving. Family came from central NC, South TN, and Atlanta, GA for Thanksgiving. Although I was a little nervous with no cable and no wi-fi, we really didn't miss it. The kids (ages 22 to 9) played outside and the old folks sat on the wonderful front porch talking. In the evening we played bored games and watched dvd's together. We are already looking at our 2009 calendar's to see when we can visit Windy Hill again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Elegant Turn of the Century Homestead
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p130077
+1 828 692-0893
Hendersonville Asheville Area
Columbia, SC
5

Beautiful Group Gathering Spot

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 16, 2008
  • Stayed: Sep 2008
For the second year, my group of friends and I have stayed at Windy Hill while taking part in a conference at Kanuga Conference Center. And again, we couldn't have been more pleased. The home is elegant, fully furnished, and stocked with everything we've needed to set up house for the long weekends we've spent there. The sleeping porch is a favorite for those up for a "sleep over" atmosphere. For those that needed a little more privacy, the other bedrooms offered provided that.

The house is convenient to Kanuga (15 minute drive), Flatrock, and Hendersonville.

We have loved weekends at Windy Hill and so appreciate the hostess opening up such a lovely home for rent.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 3/3