Woodstock farmhouse rental - On the Pond
On the Pond
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps10
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Woodstock Farmhouse Rental Photos and Description
4 bedrooms, 3 bathrooms, sleeps 10 + extra sleeping in separate, private TV room

THIS PROPERTY IS NO LONGER AVAILABLE FOR RENT.

Beautiful classic Vermont farmhouse, sitting on 120 acres, this home is up on a private, dead end road, a quiet haven in Woodstock, VT. Located 4 miles from the village, close to everything. Wonderfully renovated, lovely interiors using highest quality furniture, fabrics and Persian rugs, a rustic, cozy, light and airy home. Relax and enjoy the surrounding fields and woods, work out in the fully equipped gym in the basement, go fishing in the pond, go into town for a nice dinner, or cook out on the grill and dine al fresco on the stone terrace. Loads of things to do, or curl up and read a good book. It's a hide away where you can relax and do nothing, or head up the hill for a nice hike, or go into town, go skiing, antiquing, shopping, hop thorough art galleries, but just enjoy being in Vermont. Ski slopes are as close as 20 minutes away.

THIS IS A NON-SMOKING PROPERTY

Additional Information: This is a beautiful executive home, on 120 acres, with all of the expected amenities and comforts. Recent interior upgrades, full gymnasium, new furnishings, all new paint inside and out, new flat screen TV's, new French doors open to new stone terrace at back of house, stone table in upper field, very elegant and luxurious, yet comfortable and cozy for total relaxation. Fabulous large pond adjacent to stone terrace, stocked with trout. Snow removal and gardening are provided. At the top of the hill is an Oak Grove with stone table and bench for picnics in Summer and Fall. Sited on a private, dead end road, peace and quiet are assured.

This home is a wonderful turn-of-the-century farmhouse with many upgrades and recent renovations.

Friday check-in 4 p.m. to Sunday 11 a.m. checkout. Saturday check-in 4 p.m. to Saturday 11 a.m. checkout.

More Details
Hide Details

16 Reviews of Property 130026 in Woodstock, Vermont

Woodstock, Vermont -
average rating of 5.0 based on 16 reviews
business
Woodstock, Vermont -
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p130026
+1 8027771977
Woodstock Eastern Vermont
5

Beyond beautiful!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We loved this home. A perfect place for a family retreat. The home provides every comfort you could imagine. Very spacious with plenty of room for a family of 10. The home was clean and stocked with useful supplies.
We used the gas grill, the outdoor fire pit (roasted marshmallows) and sat by the pond listening to bull frogs.
It was very difficult to leave this "little bit of heaven on earth" Four days was not enough time for us. We would love to return!
business
Woodstock, Vermont -
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p130026
+1 8027771977
Woodstock Eastern Vermont
5

Beautiful, relaxing home in Southern Vermont

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
My family and I have vacationed in this wonderful home for the last four years. The house is beautiful and comes fully equipped with everything you could need. Kitchen and bathrooms are all updated and the rest of the house boasts comfortable furnishings that allow you to relax and rejuvenate. The fields and pond surrounding the house enhance the peaceful and serene setting. You really couldn't ask for anything more in a vacation home!
Owner's Response: This family has been renting from me for the last four years and always treat our property as if it were their own home. They are lovely to work with, prompt with payment, and always appreciative of being able to stay there. We look forward to having them again next year.
business
Woodstock, Vermont -
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p130026
+1 8027771977
Woodstock Eastern Vermont
5

Amazing!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 29, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Staying in this home was a dream come true! I recently graduated from a masters program in New York City, and after weeks of hustle and bustle felt like I was able to completely unwind in Vermont. There were seven people in our party and because of the home's floorplan and the thoughtful arrangement of the decor, I felt we had more than enough space to relax and restore. The fireplace warmed us day and night, the kitchen had ample space for us all to create delicious culinary delights, the player piano was fantastic and made us all feel like professional musicians, the property was otherworldly, and the naps were out of sight. What a sparkling memory- Thank you!!!
Owner's Response: What a lovely family. They were complimentary throughout the whole process of renting, payment, and communication. It's renters like this who make it worthwhile to share our home and we look forward to having them return soon.
business
Woodstock, Vermont -
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p130026
+1 8027771977
Woodstock Eastern Vermont
5

Beautiful Home!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
This was our first experience with Home Away and our first visit to Vermont. The four nights we stayed with our family (3 young children) were perfect! Westerdale Farm was beautiful and exactly as depicted in the online photos. We felt very comfortable, had plenty of space and were amazed at the beautiful views - especially sitting in the family room looking out the huge window as it snowed. The kids seemed to love the "loft" area to play games.

The house itself was very well maintained and I loved the gym in the basement. We made several trips to Killington for skiing with our kids and went into Woodstock to eat at the Woodstock Inn with grandparents. All were in close range to the house. I highly recommend staying at Westerdale Farm with extended family because there is ample room. The only thing i would rate a bit lower was that wi-fi wasn't working after the first day of our stay, but we had a hot spot to use, so it worked out fine. Also, be sure to bring plenty of food as the local stores were very expensive and there's no lack of storage in the kitchen!

All in all, we were very pleased with our stay and would love to go back in the near future! Thank you Barbara!
Owner's Response: This is a lovely review and I am grateful for all of the positive comments. I'm sorry to learn that the wireless Internet did not work while this guest was in our home. Usually, it simply requires turning the wireless router off then back on and that solves it. Although they did not complain, we would have been quite eager to correct the problem. In any event, it sounds like it didn't affect their stay and we welcome them back at some future date. Thanks again for your very nice review.
business
Woodstock, Vermont -
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p130026
+1 8027771977
Woodstock Eastern Vermont
United States
5

Delightful

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
This is our second stay at Westerdale Farm. We are in love with this part of the world, and this beautiful home makes the perfect launch pad for all of our favorite activities. This year we mountain biked and hiked at Killington, ate amazing "farm to table" meals, fly fished the Battenkill, and explored the trails around the house.
The best thing about Westerdale Farm, aside from its proximity to all things Vermont, is the sense of ease you get in those moments when you just want to be still. The fire pit under the stars at the end of a long, active day is just one highlight of this wonderful country home. The perfectly appointed kitchen with all the bells and whistles is another. We will see you next year!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Woodstock, Vermont -
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p130026
+1 8027771977
Woodstock Eastern Vermont
Boston, Massachusetts
5

Ideal for a family vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 31, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
We had a great time and it was an ideal for our family vacation. Plenty of space and at the same time very cozy.
business
Woodstock, Vermont -
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p130026
+1 8027771977
Woodstock Eastern Vermont
5

Celebration Weekend

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 1, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
What an incredible home. It was the perfect place to celebrate 4 family birthdays and my parent's 60th Wedding Anniversary. Lasting, meaningful memories were made in this beautiful home and property. So close to the center of Woodstock too. We all shopped and ate lunch on Saturday. Then off to the opening day at the Billings Farm Museum. Doesn't get any better than that. Thanks so much for sharing your wonderful home.
~I would highly recommend staying here and hope to return some day!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Woodstock, Vermont -
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p130026
+1 8027771977
Woodstock Eastern Vermont
5

Over the river and through the woods...

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 1, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
Woodstock is a special place--the kind of place where my family and I spent countless Thanksgivings at a house on the village green until it was recently sold after the grandparents passed away. In an effort to keep the tradition of heading "over the river and through the woods alive", we found Westerdale Farm--and what a beautiful surprise. The warmth and comfort of the house made us all feel like we were home again. The gorgeous fully equipped kitchen made for hassle-free Thanksgiving preparations, and the spacious living room became the perfect place to unwind by the fire while taking in the gorgeous natural beauty of the snow draped landscape outside. A true retreat. Upon leaving, we took with us memories of one of the best holidays we've had and the feeling of knowing we'd be back.
Paula Fenton
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Woodstock, Vermont -
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p130026
+1 8027771977
Woodstock Eastern Vermont
5

Hassel-free rental, Beautiful home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 26, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
This was my first experience with HomeAway, and thanks in no small part to the owners of this beautiful country home, it was perfection.
I was booked to stay at an inn in Woodstock for a wedding however, due to the effects of Hurricane Irene and the subsequent closure of the inn I was forced to scramble for alternative accommodations for my entire family. What at first appeared to be a terrible inconvenience ending up making our Vermont weekend. I came across this listing on HomeAway and emailed the owner - who immediately got back to me. As a first time renter I was nervous about the convenience or inconvenience of dealing with a home owner as opposed to a hotel, I shouldn't have been.

Everything went flawlessly with my rental. The home was fantastic: great location, beautiful rooms, nice layout, perfectly clean and very obviously well maintained.

Bottom line, the next time I find myself in the Woodstock area I will not even consider an inn if this home is available.

Thanks for a wonderful experience.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Woodstock, Vermont -
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p130026
+1 8027771977
Woodstock Eastern Vermont
5

Loved, Loved, Loved it!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
Driving up to the house we were struck by how beautiful the whole setting was. The grassy hills were so perfect for our children to run and play, the Barn is so Vermont, and the pond was perfect for hours of fishing entertainment! The outdoor fire and terrace were a highlight! Inside, the house was just as wonderful. Wooden beams and floors paired with comfy furniture and snuggly blankets made us feel right at home! The kitchen was big, clean, open and easy to hang out in. There was even a "hide out" playroom as my kids called it. We slept better and longer than we do at home, it was so peaceful and quiet! We made wonderful memories in this home and hope to return! The owners are also wonderful!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1