We arrived to a house that had not been cleaned or maintained since who knows when. We have been renting in Harwichport and around the cape and islands for over 20 years. This was our worst experience!
* the counters were not wiped down
* the refrigerators (2) were moldy as well as food spills in them
* dish rack with dishes in it were moldy, utensils were rusty
* the plastic ware was moldy
* shower curtain liner in bathroom was very moldy
* outside shower was overgrown, water did not come out of shower head
* we took shower head off and unclogged, got the water to flow and weeded the shower
* cobwebs on most of the furniture (chairs, tables, humidifier, from most items on surrounding shelving to other items..frames, vases, etc.)
* dust everywhere...surrounding shelves vases, pictures, under beds (heavy), shard of glass under bed in front room ...we left it there!!
* futon cover and pillows on futon in room with tv was stained and moldy smelling
* back room windows facing harbor...bed on left (with back to harbor) falls off bed frame...arrived sat on bed and it fell to floor!! Everynight that the box frame was centered on the frame so it would not fall off
* stains on comforters for beds
* washing machine cycles would not start unless we held the door closed even thought the door locked light was on. We washed about 2 loads initially and then only washed the towels on the last day.
* there was no vacum cleaner...we found an attachment (the wand to a canister)
* ants in the kitchen
*Nice view of harbor
Great location, poorly maintained house. I do not recommend this rental to anyone!
Owner's Response: We had some issues this summer with our housekeeping plan and apologize to the renter who filed this review. We provided a small refund to compensate the individual for any time she may have spent to remedy the situation, but apparently she found this gesture inadequate. We also made exceptions for this particular tenant, allowing a 1 week rental, instead of the mandatory 2 week rental, and adjusted our rental schedule at her request. There appears to be no recognition for the exceptions we made for this renter. Because of this experience we may request that tenants provide a reference from a past rental owner to confirm that they are not one of those “perennially unhappy” renters. Again, we apologize for any inconvenience to this or other renters, and have remedied the problem with the property’s housekeeping plan.
Helpful votes: 9/12
Did you find this review helpful?