Manchester chateau / country house rental - Your very own HUGE country mansion!
Your very own HUGE country mansion!
 
  • Bedrooms14
  • Sleeps34
  • 11 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights
 

Manchester Chateau / Country House Rental Photos and Description
14 bedrooms, 13 bathrooms, commercial kitchen, dining room, yoga studio/ballroom

This 24 room mansion is perfect for retreats, reunions, bridal parties, corporate gatherings and large groups that want privacy in a beautiful, natural setting in the heart of Manchester Village.

This enormous, 9,000 sq foot home features a grand ballroom, sun filled yoga studio, commercial kitchen, formal dining room, a large living room with a piano and other musical instruments, and a game room complete with a ping pong and giant chess table and 14 bedrooms- each with private bathroom – so bring the whole family!

There is even a two bedroom apartment with it’s own kitchen and an additional handicap accessible bedroom on the ground floor. This 9,000 square foot home includes free WiFi and satellite TV, 5 private acres of woods and streams, a winterized large gazebo.

Best of all, it is next door to the Hildene Meadow and Nature Preserve. You can enjoy stunning scenic footpaths and trails in the wildlife past streams and forests and meadows.

The Battenkill Valley Mansion is only half a mile from the Equinox hotel, but it feels a world away, surrounded by tall pines, and adjacent to the rolling fields of Hildene Meadow and the Battenkill River. Step outside your door for miles of scenic bike rides or runs along scenic River Road.

The historic Battenklill Valley mansion was built in 1904 as a wedding present for the daughter of the family who lived nearby at the Wilburton Inn. Guests of the Battenkill Mansion may now enjoy the amenities of the Wilburton Inn, including pool, tennis, and 28 acres of sculptures, flower gardens and breath-taking mountain views.

Manchester is a year round destination for sports, arts, and relaxation, less than 5 minutes away from designer outlet shopping, Orvis fishing, canoeing, tubing, hiking, and world-class golf. Bromley Mountain is only 10 miles away, and Stratton just 18 miles. The Dorset Summer Theatre Festival, Vermont Horse Show, Southern Vermont Art Center, Crafts Fair, and farmers markets are just a few of the fun nearby activities.

Guests are welcome to dine at the 1902 Wilburton Mansion where, for an additional fee, they can feast on a hearty country breakfast, evening cocktails or a gourmet dinner featuring artisanal whole-grain breads and dishes crafted with seasonal produce from the property's family-run organic farm.

The Wilburton Inn accommodates up to 125 guests in 8 buildings of different sizes and styles. It is an ideal private getaway for destination weddings, corporate retreats, family reunions, and private celebrations. Ask us how we can help you plan your next special gathering! We look forward to welcoming you.

More Details
Hide Details

My wife and I have been the owners and innkeepers of The Wilburton Inn for the past 25 years. My wife is from Brooklyn, NY. Her sister, Wendy Wasserstein, honored her by naming Madeline Kahn’s Tony Award winning role, Gorgeous, after her in the Broadway play, The Sisters Rosenswieg. I am a psychiatrist from Athens, Greece. I am interested about art, education, religion, and conflict resolution. I look forward to giving a TED talk on the future of creativity this summer.

We bought our first home in VT in 1972 because the mountains reminded me of my days at medical school in Switzerland. It is our pleasure to see our children and grandchildren now take an interest in running the inn. We enjoy welcoming travelers to our beautiful homes. We love introducing them to the history and beauty of Vermont and The Wilburton Estate.

Melissa Levis purchased this chateau / country house in 2002

This robber baron estate has evolved through the 20th century from a private home, to a prep school, to an inn and now to an inn that celebrates life as a farm, a bakery, and a museum advancing creativity to become the core of education. This is a spectacular, huge home where guests can relax and truly get away from it all.

Tour our outdoor sculpture trains that show the history of love and the evolving images of women through cross cultural myths.

Visit our son's Earth Sky Time organic farm and bakery less than 3 miles from the house.

12 Reviews of Property 233674 in Manchester, Vermont

HUGE Mansion - Great for groups - retreats - yoga - weddings - sleeps 34!!!
average rating of 5.0 based on 12 reviews
business
HUGE Mansion - Great for groups - retreats - yoga - weddings - sleeps 34!!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p233674vb
(917) 680-6739
Manchester Stratton and Bromley Ski Areas
Toronto, Canada
5

Great House for a Christmas Family Reunion

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 28, 2010
  • Stayed: Dec 2009
This was a wonderful house for our week-long Christmas family reunion. The house was even larger and more comfortable than we had imagined from the pictures on the website. It easily accommodated our 20 family members with plenty of room to spare. The kids had plenty of room to spread out in their space, and the ping pong table in thegame room was a big hit.

The dining room was large enough for all of us to comfortably have dinner together every evening, and the fireplace in the dining room added to the festive atmosphere.

Dr. Levis is a very considerate and gracious host who made us feel right at home. Before we arrived, he had arranged to have a Christmas tree put up in the living room for us, and he checked in regularly to make certain that we were comfortable.

Manchester is a great place to visit. Lots of Vermont charm, an abundance of designer outlets and plenty of good skiing nearby.

We had a wonderful week and could have easily stayed longer.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/6
business
HUGE Mansion - Great for groups - retreats - yoga - weddings - sleeps 34!!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p233674vb
(917) 680-6739
Manchester Stratton and Bromley Ski Areas
Birmingham, Alabama
5

Christmas in Vermont !

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 21, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
My family and I spent seven days this past Christmas at this wonderful mansion. There were 26 adults and children and we could not have picked a better place. The bedrooms were charming and enough for every couple, single and child. The house had enough rooms for the children to play and run and the adults to talk and play games or read. Several nights we all sat at the large dinning room table and had cozy, fire-lit dinners. The beautiful, private surroundings made this the perfect place. I should also mention that the owners are wonderful and do everything you need to make your stay enjoyable! I can't say enough good things about this house and recommend it highly!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
HUGE Mansion - Great for groups - retreats - yoga - weddings - sleeps 34!!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p233674vb
(917) 680-6739
Manchester Stratton and Bromley Ski Areas
Geneva, NY
5

Large family Thanksgiving reunion

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
We came back for our 3rd 28-person family reunion in the Telion Holon mansion for 4 nights at Thanksgiving . There were 14 grandkids (ages 13 and under) who had a great time in the large, comfortable house, as well as did all the adults. The 3 floors with multiple stairs encourage creative games of hide n seek, etc. and keep kids occupied for hours at a time. The large adjacent playing fields and nature walks are excellent for outside activities. This year the below freezing temperatures did not stop the 2-hr soccer games 3 days in a row. The house gets better each year and this year it was in excellent shape for our arrival - with banquet tables and chairs for our large group to use in the game room for the Thanksgiving day feast. The meal is certainly easily prepared with the 3 kitchens and large commercial ovens. The nearby spa and outlet stores in Manchester also are a good diversion for those that need a break. Finally, I must say that we have always enjoyed the Levis family, particularly the interactions with Albert, and now with Melissa who has taken over the care of the Mansion.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: It was such a pleasure to host your beautiful family! Thank you for joining us and letting us help you celebrate another family Thanksgiving in Vermont! We look forward to seeing you again.
business
HUGE Mansion - Great for groups - retreats - yoga - weddings - sleeps 34!!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p233674vb
(917) 680-6739
Manchester Stratton and Bromley Ski Areas
5

Amazing house, amazing location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
What an incredible house! I just spent the weekend here with 18 friends and eight kids and we had a blast. The house is massive and beautiful and perfect for our group -- the kids played in the large family room while the adults lounged around in the living room or cooked feasts in the kitchen.

The garden is huge and leads down onto a lovely boardwalk through marshland, where we went for nice walks. Also there is good hiking behind the Equinox hotel in Manchester (five minutes away).

Melissa made every super easy during the planning and was very responsive to our (many) questions and she went above and beyond to help us during our stay -- when one of our group got sick, she personally came to the house to check on him, and her father delivered us a huge bag of gourmet bread for breakfast on Saturday morning. amazing

The only caveat I would give is this: it would be a real squeeze to get 34 people in this house as some of the beds counted in his number are sofa beds or just couches. it was perfect for our number, especially since we had a lot of kids, but we were happy not to have been more. But bottom line: we had a blast in this house and are already planning our next trip back. Highly recommended!
business
HUGE Mansion - Great for groups - retreats - yoga - weddings - sleeps 34!!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p233674vb
(917) 680-6739
Manchester Stratton and Bromley Ski Areas
Quechee vt
5

Our 12th Family reunion

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 29, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
We spent a full week here in August 2012 and can do nothing but rave about our experience. Had a total of 23 attending and each one felt very comfortable in their rooms and enjoyed the opportunities for recreation on site and in the area. Kayaking great a nearby Emerald Pond State campsite. Went to excellent theatre in nearby Weston and a side trip to the races in Saratoga was only about an hours drive. Our host and owner, Albert, was terrific and most welcoming and helpful when called upon. He owns the nearby B and B where we used the pool and tennis and he is a collector of some very interesting art. Big living room was the center for evening gatherings and a ping pong tourney in game room one of the highlights. Food shopping in Manchester easy to get to and outlets worth a visit but too much to do to spend time looking for bargains.

Bill and Jean Eveleth
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
HUGE Mansion - Great for groups - retreats - yoga - weddings - sleeps 34!!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p233674vb
(917) 680-6739
Manchester Stratton and Bromley Ski Areas
-
5

Family Gathering July 4 weekend

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 23, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
The Mansion was terrific for our family gathering of 29 on July 4 weekend. The place was clean and the common rooms provided great space for smaller groups to play cards, ping pong, board games, etc. Also, the outdoor space was an added plus for whiffleball, babies in small pools and just sitting in a circle and enjoying the outdoors.

The only (slight) drawback was that the kitchen is dated. All in all the place easily handled our large group and I would definitely recommend this rental house.
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Is the kitchen dated?
yes and no. I will give you a description:
we do have three kitchens, one for cooking, one for drinks and sitting down for a group, and a third on the top floor apartment for convenience.
The first kitchen has two gas driven stoves with 8 top burners and two bottom stoves, two huge refrigerators and a triple sink and dishwasher. There is a cuisinart and many appliances around.
Dishes and silver are available for more than 30 people.
There is an antique woodburning stove in one corner and many cabinets with glasses and dishes that remind you of the old times. There is a pantry with more cabinets..
There is adequate countertop space which can be expanded as needed with the addition of table.
I recently painted the kitchen.
Overhead ventilation is good and many recessed lights,
All the same, I will continue my effort to improve the unit.
Albert
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
HUGE Mansion - Great for groups - retreats - yoga - weddings - sleeps 34!!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p233674vb
(917) 680-6739
Manchester Stratton and Bromley Ski Areas
Brooklyn, New York
5

Great location for an amazing weekend ski getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 22, 2011
  • Stayed: Feb 2011
What do you do when 25 good friends all want to get away for an epic ski weekend? You rent this amazing mansion!

We were struggling to find a place that would accomodate us all, until we found Teleion Holon. Beautiful and spacious, this house served us perfectly. There is plenty of common space for relaxing and playing games and the fireplaces were great for keeping it cozy and warm. The bedrooms are all beautiful and each had its own feel to it - most even have attached sitting areas and private bathrooms! Also, The commercial size kitchen was well stocked, and great for cooking for so many people. We used the other downstairs kitchen for drinks and we didnt even need to use the third kitchen upstairs!

Best of all, the owner Albert was a pleasure to work with. He went above and beyond by giving us a short tour of the house and the artwork inside which he has curated and calls the Museum of the Creative Process. Very interesting, and gave us much more appreciation for the art in the house.

All in all, it was a great experience and I would highly recommend this house to anyone with a large group.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: The house has generated me many friends. Here is another group that upon leaving would like to book the place for next year.

There are two discrete features making hospitality special in this large house. These guests discovered both of them.

I acquired this house as a base for my son's organic farming and food production project, but also to utilize the building for educational retreats on the creative process. Although my son's farm has been moved to another location where it is thriving and expanding beyond a local CSA to a regional manufacturer of a range of culinary delights, from outstanding breads and popular vegiburgers, to garlicly spiced humus and pesto, I am interested in preserving the building as a bastion for agritourism so young people can discover farm life and occasional guests experience VT as a real countryside destination. As far as the educational mission, I am publishing a book on the exhibits of the Museum of the Creative Process, one of which is the Gorski Retrospective, housed at the Teleion Holon mansion.

I thank you for enjoying the visit and look forward to your return.
Regards,
Albert
Helpful votes: 3/4
business
HUGE Mansion - Great for groups - retreats - yoga - weddings - sleeps 34!!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p233674vb
(917) 680-6739
Manchester Stratton and Bromley Ski Areas
North Reading, MA
5

Wonderful Accommodations

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 23, 2011
  • Stayed: Jan 2011
We had a magnificent weekend gathering of 18 family members for a 50th Wedding Anniversary celebration. The mansion has lots of character with many wonderful artifacts and stunning architectural elements.

We all stayed for two nights and enjoyed the many amenities such as the commercial quality kitchen, expansive dining room, large game area, impressive family room, numerous well-kept bedrooms and bathrooms, etc. All family members (from young children to grandparents) had something to do from enjoying the wonderful game room to relaxing in the comfortable family room. At night we used two of the many fireplaces to provide a spectacular festive atmosphere.

The grounds and also the views are simply breath-taking. Dr. Albert Levis, the owner, is very gracious and was very accommodating to our needs.

There are many activities to enjoy in the area including skiing, lots of shopping options, enjoying spectacular mountain views, restaurants, sightseeing and much more.

We would highly recommend this place to any family or gathering of any type.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
HUGE Mansion - Great for groups - retreats - yoga - weddings - sleeps 34!!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p233674vb
(917) 680-6739
Manchester Stratton and Bromley Ski Areas
Middlebury VT
5

Vermont Wedding

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 16, 2010
  • Stayed: Sep 2010
With my eldest son getting married in Manchester, my younger son who is a chef in California wanted to cook their wedding dinner. Being best man precluded that option so they decided he would take on the "rehearsal" dinner. So, where to do that, how to find a place big enough with a kitchen he could use. Some searching on the internet led us to the Teleion Holon house owned by innkeeper Albert Levis. As well as meeting that criteria so well, this fabulous mansion with lawns surrounded by woods, hidden off River Road, could also accommodate up to 30 of the wedding party. And being close to town and our wedding site, it was the prefect solution for a large gathering for the weekend.
The kitchen has a two oven-10 burner stove, two refrigerators, dishwasher and large double sink. A little limited on counter space, adding a prep table was a huge help. The "ballroom" was just big enough with the game tables removed to seat 34 people at a single long table. Freshly painted (thank you Albert) and set with flowers, candles and strings of little white lights made for a beautiful setting for our table . And there was plenty of room after dinner in hall, living room and ballroom for the additional guests for an after party.
Albert loaned us tables and chairs which helped for the dinner. The butler's kitchen was great for overflow party supplies. And the Wilburton's chef was so friendly to my son and generous in sharing his kitchen equipment.
The rooms upstairs were really attractive: clean, attractive with simple decor and comfortable; the guests staying there loved it, having the house to themselves to really settle into for the weekend.
It was indeed a perfect part of a perfect weekend.
Owner's Response: The task of a rehearsal held in house was a new challenge.
It was not easy as I had to remove all art and games from the ballroom and transform it into a function room.The comments of the guest family are reassuring. Our staff was helpful and the event went on smoothly.

I have some pictures from this happy event that show how the guests were creative in decorating the house and making it a truly successful family affair.

Now we are aware that the place can serve its mission as an extension of our relocated farm and as the extension of our Museum of the Creative Process to offer its cultural training program combined with an agricultural and culinary experience.

Albert
Helpful votes: 3/4
business
HUGE Mansion - Great for groups - retreats - yoga - weddings - sleeps 34!!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p233674vb
(917) 680-6739
Manchester Stratton and Bromley Ski Areas
NY, NY
5

New Year Eve Weekend

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 5, 2010
  • Stayed: Dec 2009
I was just there over the 4 day weekend with my kids and friends..
We had a total of 28 people in the house. It was a beautiful house and great surroundings. The adults as well as the kids had a blast...
I would definitely recommend this house to people with kids..

Albert, Sorry for the mess we made....... this house is not for the lazy ones....we really needed a maid to clean up after us EVERY DAY..

The house is also close to everything.. especially the outlet... a lot of good sales going on there.

I don't mind going back again next year.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: I appreciate the honesty of this guest and reviewer. Indeed her group of friends left the place messy and I had a bigger job in cleaning the house up after they left.
I will accept her recommendation of making house keeping available for guests that are "lazy" and also for big groups and in the future I will ask for a security deposit to cover excessive cleaning after a stay.
I am delighted in welcoming groups to this huge house but I am learning the limits of hospitality and the conditions for good long term relationships. For instance I will never have a group of high school graduates party in this house again; that was the worst experience ever. I recoil remembering the liberties they took in this place like a beer pong drinking competition across the ping pong table. The mess of this last group is minor compared to the mess the school graduates left behind.
Albert
Helpful votes: 3/4