Lake Nantahala cabin rental - 2010
2010
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps5
  • 1 Bathroom
 

Lake Nantahala Cabin Rental Photos and Description
Perfect Secluded Cabin - Amazing Views of the Smokey Mountains w/ hiking trails

We can't adequately describe how peaceful it is to sit on the deck of our little cabin and listen to the birds and the wind through the trees as you watch the sun rise over the Smokey Mountains. With the Nantahala National Forest literally as our back yard, this new log cabin is the perfect secluded nature getaway! After getting one of the best nights sleep you've ever had in our pillow top bed you'll have the energy to try Fly Fishing or White Water Rafting the Nantahala River, or water skiing on glassy water of the highest elevation lake east of the Mississippi (Nantahala Lake is just 1 mile down the road) or hike the nearby Appalachian and Bartram Trails. Area activities also include mountain biking, kayaking, hunting, golfing, swimming, sight seeing, and more. We've got some DVD’s at the cabin in case it rains and the towns of Andrews and Murphy are just a short drive away - if you don’t want to cook your own meals. The cabin has everything you'd have at your own kitchen and more - plus a grill on the deck. Our renters continually tell us how peaceful and therapeutic it is to stay at our cabin. They mention having great plans to visit touristic attractions and outdoor adventures - but are so lured by the peace and beauty surrounding the cabin that they end up spending most the day kicked back at the cabin and sitting on the deck enjoying the views. Many also comment on how much they enjoy the fire pit and the immensity of the stars at night.

NOTE:Driving Conditions/Drive Way: While mountain roads are sometimes steep and curvy they are well maintained paved roads and completely accessible. Our driveway however is EXTREMELY steep and only gravel. We have gone to great lengths to make the cabin accessible, but we can not guarantee your vehicle will have the traction necessary to pull you up our steep gravel driveway. Therefore, we now REQUIRE all renters to either have 4 wheel drive or park at the bottom and hike up. This is a typical request for mountain cabins and not an unreasonable expectation unless you're unwilling to hike the last 800 ft.

Renting Online: If you're reading this then you're ahead of the game when it comes to online renting. We have tried to make the process as simple as possible. Fee free to call us at anytime - but we ask that you still us the 'Contact the owner' process on this page which will generate an email to me. We'll then email you back a PDF file that contains our rental rules which will also outline the process from there on. You will then receive a phone call from me to get the payment information.

Once we have received confirmation of the payment we will email you a very detailed set of directions to the cabin which also include the 'key box code' for entry into the cabin.

More Details
Hide Details

As a child I would come to this property on extended family reunions. My mother was raised on that mountain when there was no running water or electricity. My father found stories of her childhood enchanting and when my Grandfather passed away in the 1980's my family inherited a parcel of that land. I shared my father's vision of developing and building on our 'family' land in North Carolina with my wife when we first got married. Even as we were finishing our degrees at Brigham Young University in Provo, Utah we began saving. In 2003 I joined the Air Force and was stationed at Warner Robins, GA. We practically raised our boys on the weekends hiking up and down those mountains trying to find the right spot for a cabin. In 2005 my Uncle who lives nearby granted us 4.8 acres of his property and we eventually built what you see now. In 2007 we were transferred to Alaska and in 2013 we made the epic journey from Alaska to Virginia - via 17 National Parks to our current duty station at Langley AFB. We hope you will enjoy our cabin in the Mountains as much as we do.

Mike Henrie purchased this cabin in 2005

If you want to watch TV, talk on your Cell Phone, check your Email, and Surf the Internet - then you should look for a different cabin. If you'd like to get away from all of that - then this is the PERFECT cabin for you.

16 Reviews of Property 128710 in Lake Nantahala, North Carolina

Spectacular Mountain Views on Lake Nantahala Log Cabin
average rating of 4.6 based on 16 reviews
business
Spectacular Mountain Views on Lake Nantahala Log Cabin
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p128710
+1 4789551649
Lake Nantahala North Carolina Mountains
Clover, SC
5

Great Cabin

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 12, 2010
  • Stayed: Dec 2009
Me and my girlfriend recently visited this cabin over New Year's and loved it. The place looks new inside and out, and it has everything you need. This was our first mountain vacation and it was perfect. I definitely reccomend checking out Wayah Bald, the view is amazing. The driveway is exactly as described, but if you like using your four wheel drive, like me, its quite enjoyable. Overall no bad remarks, i would love to come back in the summer and be able to enjoy the lake.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: It was a pleasure to have you Josh. We're glad you enjoyed the cabin and would love to have you back this summer. This summer we'll ty to make the driveway 2 wheel drive accessible again-though to me it kind of adds to the remoteness to only let 4x4's in.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Spectacular Mountain Views on Lake Nantahala Log Cabin
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p128710
+1 4789551649
Lake Nantahala North Carolina Mountains
Anywhere, Alabama
5

Awsome solitude!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Very cozy cabin, which is well appointed for all of your cooking needs. The owner provides a comprenhensive list of retaurants should you choose to eat out. Additionally, owners list of things to do is comprenhensive and detailed.
My brother and I went for a boys weekend getaway and had an awesome time. No neighbors and only the sound of a few cars headed to lake occasionally make for a peaceful setting. Great view! Tons of nearby hiking and whitewater make for plenty of action, but it is also great just to hang out on deck all day. Slept like a baby in the solitude and very comfortable sleeping arrangements.
They are not joking about the hill to climb on last stretch. My all wheel drive Audi made it up no problem, but don't bother to attempt with AWD or 4 wheel. Not a bad hike up last stretch if you don't have one though and pack light. We hiked it several times anyway as we parked my brothers car at the bottom.
Extremely responsive and gracious host for owner.
We will certainly be back, and also considering going with family as it is well suited for that.
business
Spectacular Mountain Views on Lake Nantahala Log Cabin
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p128710
+1 4789551649
Lake Nantahala North Carolina Mountains
5

smawlie is great

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
very nice little cabin, simple, clean & well maintained. we were glad to find a cache of children's books in the loft space when we had some rainy days. great views off porch. everything you read about the driveway is true -- steep ascent (& tough to do w/ a 2-year old strapped to your back!) so plan accordingly or just borrow somebody's 4WD vehicle. owner was easy to work with and helpful. enjoyed the Lakes End cafe on Lake Nantahala and the nearby Wayah Bald. weather was cool and we even had a chilly night (nice break from Georgia heat & humidity). We are already trying to plan a return for Fall. worth every penny.
business
Spectacular Mountain Views on Lake Nantahala Log Cabin
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p128710
+1 4789551649
Lake Nantahala North Carolina Mountains
5

Wonderful place!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 5, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
Hello all,

This cabin is such a beautiful place! My husband and I took one of our sons to stay the week in Knoxville with my sister and wanted to take the "long way home". I happened upon this cabin and to my surprise, it had only a one night minimum stay. I called Mike, (I think I woke him up, I didn't know he was in Alaska! Oops!) he was so great to work with and renting the cabin was very easy and smooth.

When I told my husband we were going to stay way out in the woods, he laughed and said "we live in the woods". Which is correct, our driveway is about 1400 foot off the road in the woods but the view from your cabin is soooo much better! Boy, I thought we had a crazy driveway, but it's not near as exciting as yours! Yes, we had to park the Chrysler at the bottom and walk up. Next time, we will be driving the 4 wheel drive truck, no matter how beat up it is!

I really enjoyed reading the book about the history of the cabin and hope that one day you and your family can build your dream home! You are such thoughtful people, I can't imagine anything that anyone would need that wasn't there! It was so clean and inviting and we will definitely be coming back as soon as we can.

Thank you so much for sharing your little piece of paradise with so many people. I highly recommend it to anyone wanting to get away from it all. It is so peaceful and just beautiful.

Love, Alan and Dawn Campbell, Lyerly, Georgia
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Spectacular Mountain Views on Lake Nantahala Log Cabin
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p128710
+1 4789551649
Lake Nantahala North Carolina Mountains
5

I hated leaving!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
In 2011 I backpacked the Appalachian Trail from Springer Mountain Georgia to Mount Katahdin Maine. I had joked with several people that if I finished the entire trail I would write a book. It took me about 6 months to walk the 2000 mile trail, yet I seemed to have a harder time finding a place to do my writing.
I don't know how I must have passed over this Rental so many times but I don't remember seeing it until the last minute. I contacted Mike and within a few days of finding the cabin, I was in my car driving back into the NC Mountains!
Andrews is a nice little town with a grocery store and a few places to eat out. If you need more then the town of Murphy is only about a 15 minute drive from Andrews. The Appalachian Trail actually goes right through the "Nantahala Outdoor Center" which isn't too far away, so it was the perfect place to write while having the Trail fresh in my mind.
I stayed at the cabin a total of 6 weeks in all, and I loved every minute of it! The driveway up to the cabin is STEEP! Mike had ben honest in telling me I probably wouldn't be able to drive up it in my car, but that was fine. I carried all my gear from the bottom of the hill, took about 5 trips total.
The cabin has all the dishes and appliances you will need. I WAS able to get cell phone service if I hiked to the top of the mountain, but its not exactly an easy climb for most. I was there in december and actually tried it one day in the snow.......needless to say I slid back down the hill without reaching the top lol.
If you are a couple looking for alone time then this is the perfect place. If you are looking for a family vacation (and a easy way to make kids burn off energy), this is a perfect choice. If you are someone just looking to get away to relax, or write, etc. This is the best place to go. Thankfully, I finished my book! I definitely plan on visiting many times more in the future.
On a scale of 1-10 I would honestly give this a 10. Granted I'm not your typical person whos addicted to video games and television. I did watch a few movies while there, and you can always rent more or bring a game system. I think there is one there but I never used it. I was fine without them.
I'm not sure what its like there in the summer, but it was beautiful in the winter.....COLD...but gorgeous. To anyone who does end up renting, make sure you take a few moments each day to sit on the front deck and listen to the silence, thats what I miss the most. Thanks Mike!
Owner's Response: James,

Great to hear from you! Thanks for the kind words. You were our first "Monthly" rental. I'm waiting on a copy of the book still :).

Take care of yourself!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Spectacular Mountain Views on Lake Nantahala Log Cabin
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p128710
+1 4789551649
Lake Nantahala North Carolina Mountains
Erwin, North Carolina
5

Did not want to leave

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 15, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
My husband and I truely enjoyed our stay at your wonderful cabin. Everything was as it said it would be and more. Don't let the sq footage fool you! Its the perfect size for a cozy getaway & we can't wait to go back during 2012 (summer) with our kids.
Owner's Response: We're so glad you enjoyed your trip. We'd love to have you back in 2012. Remember - all return renters get a "buy one night, get one night free".
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Spectacular Mountain Views on Lake Nantahala Log Cabin
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p128710
+1 4789551649
Lake Nantahala North Carolina Mountains
5

The best cabin in North Carolina.. July 2011

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
My boyfriend and I found this beautiful little cabin last minute on this website. The owner (Mike) was amazing in helping me set up the rental so that we may go there the same evening. It was the most breathtaking view from the cabin, quiet, tranquil and the cabin was everything I was hoping for and more. My hat is off to the owners as there is not one thing they did not think of. The cabin was immaculent and cute as a button. We whitewater rafted, horseback rode through the mountains and even hiked way up the hill behind the cabin. We then enjoyed a steak dinner at the cabin because everything we needed was there including a gas grill!! Ending our evening just the two of us with a campfire. Don't fight the driveway haha... just get your exercise and walk that bad boy!! I guarantee you it is worth every step :) Thank you again sooooo much for sharing your wonderful peace of heaven and we hope to return soon!! Smiles, Suzie and Travis
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Spectacular Mountain Views on Lake Nantahala Log Cabin
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p128710
+1 4789551649
Lake Nantahala North Carolina Mountains
Wilson, NC
4

August 1-3, 2008 Escape

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2008
  • Stayed: Aug 2008
Great weekend getaway away from the hectic working life. We stopped in town and stocked up on food and beverages for the weekend. Since the cabin has all of the amenties (stove, microwave, oven, refrigerator, sink, washer/dryer, patio grill, full bathroom, air conditioning and heat) there's no need to leave this beautiful mountainside cabin once you get there. Just enjoy the getaway and leave your phone and desire to watch tv behind. The cabin stocked with plenty of towels, so you don't have to worry about bringing your own towels and linens. By the way, the cabin looks brand new and is very clean. It really is an adventerous escape for two or for a small family with one or two kids. If you are flying your private plane in, Andrews-Murphy (RHP) is a well equipped airport with good service and nice, new rental cars. However, thorough pre-flight planning is necessary for this mountain airport . We'll be back again - with the kids next time.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Spectacular Mountain Views on Lake Nantahala Log Cabin
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p128710
+1 4789551649
Lake Nantahala North Carolina Mountains
Port St. Lucie Fl
4

NC Vacation

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 10, 2008
  • Stayed: Dec 2007
It is a lovly cabin, but it is famous for it’s driveway. We promptly started having issues with the famous 800Ft driveway… the car could not go up it even if its life depended on it. David tried first with the fully loaded car… no luck, so we carried the luggage all the way up the driveway. After our first trip up it, David had chest pains and told me to try to get the car up one more time… well, I tried. I was not able to get to the first landing, and I did something dumb, I backed down the mountain, and David was yelling at me the whole time to stop, but I had never heard him. I opened the door to check on my status, and I finally heard him when I was just about all the way back down, and unfortunately, I got distracted and ended up in the ditch.
The owner of the cabin’s uncle happen to come home a few hours later and he pulled me out, but I ended up with a damaged bumper cause I slammed into his trailer hitch. However, David and I didn’t care, the car was out and the nice man and his family were a true blessing to us. David cooked us a nice batch of really spicy spaghetti and I ended up with really sore legs and arms. Ohhh…. We had the car park at the very bottom of the driveway from then on, lol.

The next day it rained and we got nothing done. The following day though, We got up and hit the road bright and early. David was determined to show Calvin some snow. We spent the whole day exploring mountains and taking beautiful pictures. There was no snow unfortunately, but that is alright. The beauty of the mountains was exciting enough.

However, I don’t know why, but the next day it poured all day again. The following day, the 31st of December, we went to Chimney Rock.

Chimney Rock was a lot of fun and I enjoyed it very much. We took some good pictures of a water fall.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: It's quite an adventure - but as you can see from our guests - it's worth the trip!
Helpful votes: 2/5
business
Spectacular Mountain Views on Lake Nantahala Log Cabin
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p128710
+1 4789551649
Lake Nantahala North Carolina Mountains
North Carolina
5

Guestbook Comment

Mike, Wow! What a great vacation. You have a great place, very secluded but close to some great activities. Thursday we rented a pontoon boa...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 19, 2007
  • Stayed: Dec 2007
Mike,

Wow! What a great vacation.

You have a great place, very secluded but close to some great activities. Thursday we rented a pontoon boat from John. What a beautiful lake. We did not raft the the river, but will next time.

I mowed the grass around the fire pit area. Also enhanced the fire pit with larger rocks, a little safer and looks good.

My Dodge would have not made it up the driveway, but the Suburban did fine. Thanks for not sugar coating the driveway.

Thanks again, hopefully we can visit your cabin again soon,

Alan and Stacey
Helpful votes: 4/4