Vieques Island house rental - A perfect spot for morning coffee.... with a view
A perfect spot for morning coffee.... with a view
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 4 nights
 

Vieques Island House Rental Photos and Description
1 BR, 1 BA, full kitchen, sleeps 2-4, amazing beachfront location

This unique & rustic vacation cottage offers visitors the essence of Vieques. It's owners are committed to sharing with others the Vieques they fell in love with after seeking uncharted waters 20 years ago, and which they knew they found from the first moment they landed on what was then a barren airstrip with only a cargo container for a terminal and a wind sock for flight control.

The bygone quality of Vieques is captured perfectly in the Beach Bungalow. Resting on a secluded tropical lot surrounded by palms, sea grapes, and almond trees, this Vieques' most natural location with its tropical trade winds, front door view of the Atlantic Ocean, and neighboring protected lands.

Simplicity is the key to life at the Beach Bungalow. Stress is simply no match for this relaxed and comfortable setting!

Your Beach Bungalow Beach: For the more active and adventurous traveler, the Beach Bungalow offers a kilometer of empty secluded beach providing many activities: shelling, swimming and for snorkel enthusiasts, a coral reef only 45-yards from shore revealing red snapper, yellow fin tuna, conch, angel fish, and much more exotic oceanic life.

Walk West, you will pass a hundred yards of TIDAL POOL behind a coral breakwater creating the perfect swimming experience for the very young and/or the very mellow. Beyond that is one of Vieques prime beach glass locations.

Walk to the East and you have mellow Atlantic breakers as far as you can see and, for the adventurous HIKER, over 10 miles of Fish and Wildlife Refuge coastline completely inaccessible to vehicular traffic of any kind. KAYAKERS, knock yourselves out reassured that no matter how how far you go... the trade winds will gently drift you back home. Stay put and watch the sun make its way across the Atlantic to a perfect sunset!

Beyond the Bungalow -- Vieques Beaches: Starting with the Western end of Island, Punta Arenas is the farthest, and one of the prettiest, with great views of the Big Island. The Rompeolas (breakwater), for serious fishing and spectacular sunsets, is also out that way. The most accessible swimming beaches are in the Sun Bay Balneario. It is just east of Esperanza on the south side of the island and has 3 very different beach experiences, one of which is Media Luna, the best toddler beach on earth!. This vast Parques Nacionales area also has the bioluminescent bay. We recommend going on moonless nights with the BioBay Conservation group's pontoon boat and biologists, or another organized group. Many deserted beaches are on the East end Fish and Wildlife Refuge. The road to the main beaches is good, but feel free to explore off the beaten path. Other precious experiences are feeding wild horses, losing yourself on long walks through tropical hills and dales, and weekend nights at the NASA...dancing on the strip in Esperanza

Beach Bungalow Amenities: While the Beach Bungalow is little more than a beach shack, life doesn't have to be difficult here. The bed is soft and comfortable with 500 thread count sheets to soothe you after a full day of adventure. There are both indoor and outdoor showers and plenty of lush and thirsty towels.

Pack light as you will need very little here. There is a full sized washer and dryer for your convenience, as well!

You may not need much more than the sound and site of the ocean for entertainment but, just in case, there is a DVD player with an assortment of movies, an ipod dock with speakers,& a library of good beach books. Relax on the huge screened porch or stretch out on the comfortable futon style sofa with pillows and throws.

The kitchen is small but fully equipped. There is an outdoor grill for your fresh catch of the day!

Beach towels, beach chairs, an umbrella, coolers, snorkeling gear & floats are here for your waterfront enjoyment.

All you have to do is relax...

More Details
Hide Details

20 Reviews of Property 128536 in Vieques Island, Puerto Rico

Enchanting Beachfront Bungalow. Best Beach Front on the Island!
average rating of 4.7 based on 20 reviews
business
Enchanting Beachfront Bungalow. Best Beach Front on the Island!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p128536
Vieques Island Puerto Rico
Dayton, OH
5

Charming beach house in quiet location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 9, 2008
  • Stayed: Dec 2007
We stayed in this property over the Christmas holiday, and we will definitely be back again! The house was very comfortable, with a great view of the secluded beach. There's a full kitchen if you'd like to prepare your meals, or there are many restaurants just a few minutes away. The location is very quiet - there are very few houses nearby, so at night you can really hear the coqui frogs. The balcony of the beach house is screened, so we were able to sleep with the doors open to the ocean breezes without worrying about mosquitos getting in. Nearly every morning there were wild horses grazing in the yard, which we loved. Bring DVD's to watch in the evening if you don't speak Spanish, since the local stations are not in English. Pack light, as there is a washer & dryer & plenty of towels.
There's fantastic snorkeling off of many of Vieques beaches, and a trip to the bioluminescent bay is a must!! The island is very family-oriented, so this is a great place for familes with young children. Many of the beaches have shallow, calm water that is perfect for the kids to play in. This was our best vacation yet, and I highly recommend this property!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 38/39
business
Enchanting Beachfront Bungalow. Best Beach Front on the Island!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p128536
Vieques Island Puerto Rico
5

Perfectly flexible

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 11, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
This is a great property, and I think one of the few with direct access to the waterfront. The beach is fantastic and nearly deserted, and being at the end of the road keeps things nice and peaceful. We had a wonderful stay there, and the best part was the management staff, who are very flexible and communicative and do a wonderful job. Hopefully will be back someday soon! You definitely need a vehicle for this location unless you don't want to go anywhere, but other than that the unit has everything you need but for groceries, and even some of those!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Enchanting Beachfront Bungalow. Best Beach Front on the Island!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p128536
Vieques Island Puerto Rico
5

Peaceful Island Bliss!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
My husband and I spent an enchanted week on the island of Vieques. We were thrilled to find the Beach Bungalow and loved its out-of-the-way location and the omnipresent sound of the ocean right out our back door. The home was perfect for the two of us - so many "extras" I didn't expect to find in an island rental. Beach chairs, cooler, a few basic food supplies, some basic toiletries, washer / dryer, tv, dvd, snorkel equipment, and more. It was like visiting something owned, cared for, and prepped for you by your family. There was ample - and incredibly helpful - communication ahead of time and upon arrival, Annette was the kindest, most informative hostess ever. We loved Purple Beach (right out the back door) and marveled at the wild horses we sometimes saw walking there. We did have some neighbors that were a bit loud a couple of nights - but not loud enough for us to go over and talk to them =) so it really wasn't that bad, you know? We plugged in the A/C and shut the doors and windows so we couldn't hear them and went to bed early. =) All in all our stay was relaxing, romantic, and wonderful! I would definitely recommend this rental on so many levels!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Enchanting Beachfront Bungalow. Best Beach Front on the Island!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p128536
Vieques Island Puerto Rico
Omaha, Nebraska
5

Charming

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
Wife and I stayed for 5 days late Oct 2012. Fantastic out-of-the-way location but easy drive back into Isabella Segunda for the rather pleasant nightly paseo on the square. House was just right for us -- the big doors out to the porch were great and provided fantastic ocean views and sounds day and night. No bug/pest problems indoors or out. Horses out front and back were always a treat to watch. Vast majority of the time we had the beach completely to ourselves; good snorkeling directly off the beach (watch for riptides). Snorkelling, beach chairs and other beach kit provided. Kitchen was just fine, ceiling fans and AC unit in bedroom in good working order and kept things quite comfortable. Hot water in the shower was off-and-on but was not a bother for us. Nice having the outdoor shower right by the door. We didn't need anything fixed/repaired while there, but Annette was fantastic about getting us settled in and checked out. Dealing with the owner was not in person, but equally friendly and easy.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Enchanting Beachfront Bungalow. Best Beach Front on the Island!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p128536
Vieques Island Puerto Rico
5

One of our best family vacations ever!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
We spent a wonderful week in this little cottage on the beach with our two children, ages 5 and 8. The kids slept comfortably on the futon and we all enjoyed listening to the waves from our beds. The waves at the beach at the house were a bit rough for us for swimming but we loved taking walks and shell collecting by the house. The caretaker gave us great tips for the best beaches and local restaurants. Everything we wanted to do was within a 15 minute ride and we loved the solitude of the house. We will definitely be back one day (hopefully soon!) Thank you for a wonderful home base for exploring the beautiful island of Vieques.
Owner's Response: Thank you. Thank you. Thank you.
We love to hear that others love the Beach Bungalow in the same way that we do!
We promise that ,when you return, it will be exactly as you remember it -- perhaps even better!
business
Enchanting Beachfront Bungalow. Best Beach Front on the Island!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p128536
Vieques Island Puerto Rico
2

Hot!

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
The house was very charming. Every thing you could need was in the house. The house next door is about 5 feet away, which wasn't a problem as the occupants left the day we arrived. When we first got there the property manager told us the house was very hot because the dryer was running. He also said that they were putting a new roof on the house and it was not finished yet. The house never cooled down. The first night we did not get to sleep until 2 am because of the heat. The next morning we left by 8 am due to the heat in the house. That night when we returned from the beach, the house was still incredibly hot inspite of running the two air conditioners and 4 fans all day. The power started surging and then went out. At that point we left and checked into the W. The owners did refund half of our rental fee and offered us 1/2 off a stay next year, as we did not give them a chance to rectify the situation, although I don't know how the heat problem could have been rectified in a week. Maybe at a different time of year, this house would be okay. Also the beach is public. The locals came both days we were there in trucks and on horseback, drank beer and left the beer cans on the beach. This was not in the owners control, but something you need to know prior to renting this house. The owners did let us know that they have installed new high powered fans as they experienced the same heat when they went down a week or two later, so maybe that problem is now fixed.
Owner's Response: There is no question that summers in Vieques are hot. The trade winds, cool ocean breezes , and ceiling fans usually keep the Beach Bungalow quite comfortable. We were, therefore, quite concerned to receive this guests' complaint. We went down for a 5 day stay as soon as availability allowed to investigate this complaint as our #1 priority is providing as close to a perfect getaway as possible. Although we did not use the a/c at all during our stay, we did replace ceiling fans with more high powered models. Nor did we experience a power outage during our stay -- but recognize that they do happen from time to time on Vieques. Our plan, just in case, was to move the mattress onto the screened porch to capture the cooling ocean breezes for better sleeping.
As for the beach, all beaches in Vieques are public beaches. Occasionally islanders will come on horseback or via car to enjoy the cool waters. More often than not, the beach is virtually deserted save for a few wild horses or local fishermen who meander by. Beach Bungalow's unique location adjacent to the protected lands means that if even if someone happens to situate themselves on "your" beach , a five or ten minute stroll will take you to another beach that you can have all to yourself!
When planning a vacation, it is important to keep in mind that Vieques is an island off an island. Its power and water systems are far from perfect but. alas, that is part of the charm of the island. Expect the unexpected. Even with its imperfections, Vieques -- and the Beach Bungalow -- is sure to steal your heart!
Helpful votes: 9/9
business
Enchanting Beachfront Bungalow. Best Beach Front on the Island!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p128536
Vieques Island Puerto Rico
Indiana
5

Fantastic!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 2, 2011
  • Stayed: Jan 2011
My husband and I stayed at the bungalow for a week in January (sorry this is so late getting on here). we loved every minute that we were there. Yes, it is a minimalist stay; but, if you don't need a lot of ammenities it will be the best place you ever stayed!. From the beach to the local folks, everything is welcoming. I would reccommend this to anyone wanting to get away from all the "tourist" stuff and just relax.
We are looking forward to going back. Soon I hope !
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Enchanting Beachfront Bungalow. Best Beach Front on the Island!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p128536
Vieques Island Puerto Rico
Dc
5

Best vacation ever!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 12, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
the beach bungalow was an amazing place to stay in Vieques. It was so cozy and quiet. Far enough away from the town that it felt remote and romantic, but close enough that it was convenient to get anywhere on the island! We slept every night with the big back doors wide open and woke to the sunshine and the sound of the waves crashing on out own private beach. I would highly recommend a car if you stay here. The beach is lovely, but the most beautiful beaches are the ones you have to drive to. Can't wait to go back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for entrusting your vacation to us! We strive to exceed the expectations of our guests; we want our guests to consider the Beach Bungalow their "special Place". We want all of our guests to fall in love with the Beach Bungalow -- just as we did! Can't wait to welcome you back!
Helpful votes: 9/10
business
Enchanting Beachfront Bungalow. Best Beach Front on the Island!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p128536
Vieques Island Puerto Rico
Woodcliff Lake, NJ
5

Most romantic vacation in 30 years!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 17, 2011
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
My husband and I just returned from this magical cottage on the beach. It is the perfect setting for simple, private beachfront living. When not relaxing on the beach, we took long walks to find undiscovered coves, collected sea glass & shells, and snorkled to discover an entire underwater universe. Most of our meals and off-beach living were on the huge screened porch which encompassed the entire front of the house. The house was stocked with dishes, wineglasses -- even wonderful cloth napkins to give a restaurant under the stars feel. Great sheets, towels, etc gave a touch of luxury to the desserted island feel. Beach chairs, umbrella, thirsty beach towels and more -- everything we needed seemed to be here. Pick the fresh catch of the day & grill a perfect under the stars feast. Do everything -- or nothing at all. The Beach Bungalow provides the backdrop to a perfect romantic getaway.
Can't wait to go back!!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
Enchanting Beachfront Bungalow. Best Beach Front on the Island!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p128536
Vieques Island Puerto Rico
Washington, DC
5

Fantastic beach bungalow in Vieques

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 15, 2011
  • Stayed: Feb 2011
We spent a magical week in March at this bungalow by the beach listening to the sound of the waves through the screen porch that extends the width of the house. Both the living room and bedroom open on to this porch, and we spent much of our time here when we weren't at the beach. The beach is beautiful and virtually deserted aside from the occasional horse that wanders by. The bungalow is fully equipped and comfortable with nice linens, beach chairs, and a barbecue. There are good restaurants and a fully equipped grocery store nearby. We were met at the airport as planned and taken to our rental car. Once at the property, we were shown around and given a very warm welcome. This is a lovely place and the owner and manager are very attentive to details. I wish I were there now.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5