Dawn Beach villa rental - We've had weddings on this spacious patio
We've had weddings on this spacious patio
 
  • Bedrooms6
  • Sleeps14
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 4 nights
 

Dawn Beach Villa Rental Photos and Description
6 BR 4 bath (lower rental rates for smaller groups)

This gorgeous villa is one of the very finest homes in the entire Caribbean and the locations CANNOT be beat if you love the beach.

Located directly on Dawns Beach with a few steps down to the sand.

Spacious 6 BR stucco house has been totally renovated a few years ago and has dramatic views of the ocean from every room in this house. You only pay by number of guests so don't worry if you don't need all the bedrooms.

Surrounded by palm trees, mango trees and lemon trees.

See more photos and info at owner's website: (link is on lower level of this page) Our Rental Paradise dot com

own and manage 7 vacation homes in Caribbean and New England ski country

John Gallagher or Susan Gilmore purchased this villa in 2005

this house is directly on beautiful Dawns beach

ocean views from every room

patio is huge and has sweeping ocean views 180 degrees

oversized swimming pool

sleeps up to 12 people comfortably

44 Reviews of Property 128003 in Dawn Beach, St Maarten / Saint Martin

Ocean-front Villa with large pool/Dawns Beach, on the beach
average rating of 4.105263 based on 44 reviews
business
Ocean-front Villa with large pool/Dawns Beach, on the beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p128003
+1 9785267512
Dawn Beach St Maarten / Saint Martin
Cotuit, Ma & Bonita Spring, Florida
5

DON'T MISS THIS ONE!

DON'T MISS THIS ONE!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 16, 2009
  • Stayed: Mar 2009
My husband and I had the most amazing family vacation at La Perla. The house is designed so each family has their separate sleeping quarters. My husband and I stayed in what was called Madame Gucci's private quarters. Private deck, gorgeous ocean view with a glorious morning sunrise. It's a wonderful family setup for families with little ones.
The location is unbeatable with crazy views of St. Barts and beautiful harbour views off to the left. Definitely don't miss a day trip over to St. Barts!
Nicely and newly decorated, with a designers eye to detail, includes all the high tech amenities, so easy for large family entertaining. Although, my husband and I have rented just the main house for the two of us and had one of the most scrumptiously romantic weeks ever!
Walk down your private steps to your own silky white sand beach. Also just a short walk down the beach to a great restaurant, surburb breakfasts and the Carribean Lobster or the Spaghetti Bolognaise is a definite must have with a little Rum Punch for dinner. Then it's a nice stroll back to the villa for an after dinner drink in the gorgeous infinity pool with the warm breezes and island lights of
St. Barts off in the distance, so romantic!
Staying at La Perla is definitely like taking a page from Life of the Rich and Famous, with the old world style that only The Gucci family could provide.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 27/27
business
Ocean-front Villa with large pool/Dawns Beach, on the beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p128003
+1 9785267512
Dawn Beach St Maarten / Saint Martin
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

We prefer Dawns beach side of the island

  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
Nice of you to ask us how we enjoyed our vacation on St. Martin, so we're happy to report it was a great stay.

In years past we usually stayed in the high rises near the airport, but that place is now looking like Miami Beach and is too crowded and noisy.

We always liked Dawns beach for a day trip so this time we decided to stay there and found your house listed on Homeaway.

Dawns beach is quiet, the people very friendly and that little beach bar Ms. Busby's got a workout from us, sometimes at breakfast, often at lunch, every day at happy hour and one night for dinner. At night they put tableclothes and move the tables onto the beach which is very romantic with little lanterns for lighting.

Your house has a magnificent location and walking down those few stairs to go swimming in the ocean you get very spoiled.

The kitchen is pretty small but equipped well enough so we used the gas grille on the patio most nights.

One night we had a caterer come you had recommended and they did a great job.

One bedroom had an issue with the air conditioning but we called your caretaker who came over and fiddled with it until it started working.

the ocean breezes were pretty good so we probably didn't need the A/C

Appreciate the brand new sheets your cleaning lady brought over along with a bunch of oversized towels.

Yes, our vacation was restful and everything we wanted it to be so while we've been to other Caribbean islands, I think St. Maarten has more to do and more to offer than the Virgin Islands

For people who've never been to SXM, staying near the airport may seem convenient but the hustle and bustle destroys the slow pace of Caribbean living. We now prefer the Oyster Cove section of Dawns beach so your house is certainly well sited.

Many thanks for the enjoyable stay at your lovely home.

Please keep us on your mailing list as we may be able to take advantage of a cancellation special on short notice.

Barb and Sam
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Ocean-front Villa with large pool/Dawns Beach, on the beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p128003
+1 9785267512
Dawn Beach St Maarten / Saint Martin
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Great spot on the beach

  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
Hi John, You asked me to write a review of our stay so I'm happy to say we enjoyed the house and island of SXM immensely.

The highlights of course is the fact that we're right on the beach at your house and the stairs were easy to navigate as they were not steep. It's only about 60-70 feet from the pool deck to Dawns Beach where the waves are generally pretty gentle and there's no undertow at all.

The pool got a lot of usage as well and though we stayed a few years ago in another house on Dawn beach that only had a dipping pool, having a larger pool where you can swim laps is very nice.

The house furniture you recently purchased is just OK but I understand you pointed out in your information packet that wet bathing suits destroyed the former leather furniture.

Computer was nice with the Magic jack for free calls. Wifi coverage was a bit spotty throughout the house but worked well on the patio where we parked ourselves much of the time.

I must say the views are just as you said they were, and the ocean views are panoramic from every one of the 6 bedrooms.

We enjoyed the food on the island, eating in one night and then going out for dinner the next. Captain Oliver's which is very close to your house was quite good though it's technically on the french side it was more American in menu style but the seafoods and salads were excellent so we went there twice.

Another night we went to one of the many fine French restaurants in Marigot though I forget the name, it was excellent.

You say there's 37 beaches on the island and we probably visited most of them. After Dawns beach, we liked orient beach the best though if nudity bothers you, then the french side beaches might not be to your liking.

The girls did lots of shopping on both the Dutch and French sides, often bargaining and some high fashion clothing on the French side they enjoyed.

The new airport is easy to get into and out of so we rented a car right there for a bargain price of just $ 400 for the week for a suv type of vehicle.

All in all a great and relaxing vacation and we'd like to return to your house and the island in the spring when rates drop again.

We had a total of 10 guests to split the cost so it was quite affordable.

Best regards, Tom and Lucy
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Ocean-front Villa with large pool/Dawns Beach, on the beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p128003
+1 9785267512
Dawn Beach St Maarten / Saint Martin
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
1

enjoying our stay

  • Submitted: Dec 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
hi Carrie,

I'm writing this on your computer here, and wow is it hot here today. I'm in the bedroom with the A/C on so it's not bad, but the ocean breezes seem to cut down the humidity so Jim and I are going for a long walk along the beach, then hanging by the pool.

We love the house and location. We did have a problem with the refrigerator so Alvo had the repair guy come and fill it with coolant so thankfully we have cold drinks and ice again. He's very helpful by the way. And his wife did a nice job cleaning the house since we arrived early.

The house is nice and spacious so we've eaten outside on the patio every night and you're right about the ocean views. They are panoramic and beautiful. The island is a great place, people friendly, many beaches we've explored and tomorrow we're following your guide word file and going on a snorkeling boat trip with free cocktails of course. This has been a bargain vacation since your fall rates are so much less than other times of the year so we think we'll make November a regular time to take a week off. Cheap airfare this time of year also and we were able to get a direct flight so we were on dawns beach by noon. Thanks again for sharing your lovely home with us and please post these comments on your website.

Sincerely, Susan R.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Ocean-front Villa with large pool/Dawns Beach, on the beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p128003
+1 9785267512
Dawn Beach St Maarten / Saint Martin
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Just an amazing location and terrific beach-front

  • Submitted: Oct 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Inside this big 6 BR house is nothing super luxurious though the caretaker did inform us we were sleeping on sheets he just bought which were nice and silky, along with big new fluffy towels which we took to Dawns beach, just a few steps away from the pool as they say. And what a beautiful beach that is. One of the very best in the Caribbbean and we've been to many island.

the house is well equipped though the kitchen is small but very functional though we did much of the cooking outdoors on the new gas grille which worked very well.

You want to rent this house for the amazing views, sleeping of up to 14 people even though we were only a party of 4 we paid much less as your fee is determined by the number of guests so it is a bargain for a small group like ours. We only used two of the master Bedrooms as the house actually has 4 masters.

The views are everywhere as advertised on their website, with 180 degrees from the patio where you could hold a huge function if you wanted to. The lounge chairs were comfortable, the house very clean though a few more outdoor umbrellas would have been nice (the caretaker said they often blow away in storms as it can get pretty windy being right on the ocean).

Each bedroom also has excellent ocean views, and 2 of them have a private patio and most bedrooms have their own bathroom which is very convenient.

The Westin hotel is a short walk away if you want their amenities though at $ 8 per beer, no thanks.

A better bet is to walk on the beach to the left of the house and visit Ms. Busby's beach bar where you'll meet some interesting characters and they serve 3 meals a day. They go gourmet at night with tablecloths and it's very impressive food, especially the lobsters. it's bunk that Caribbean lobsters don't taste as good as cold water ones up north. One night we went to Grand Case a 20 minute drive for an outstanding French meal with reasonably priced French wines (which is amazing to get a good wine for 35 bucks)

We had a wonderful relaxing vacation, and this location simply cannot be topped anywhere on the island. The interior is a bit worn in some places but who cares as you'll spend your time outdoors on the patio, reading your Ipad as they have wi-fi, relaxing, and swimming in the generous sized pool which was sparkling clean as the guys came twice that week to add chemicals and didn't notice our wives laying their topless. I guess they're used to nudity on SXM !
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Ocean-front Villa with large pool/Dawns Beach, on the beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p128003
+1 9785267512
Dawn Beach St Maarten / Saint Martin
Mendenhall, MS
3

Best View On Dawn Beach

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
A group of four couples stayed here Sept 7-14. The view is very special. It is the best thing about this property. We spent most of our time in and around the pool when we were at the house.As this was St. Maarten we took day trips around the island. if you do plan to cook the stop at the big market in Phillipsburg on the way to the house. The kitchen is ok, but the frig does not cool well. Make sure that you buy an ice chest and stock it everyday with drinks for the day. Ice can be bought at the little store next to Mr. Busby's.We filled the cooler everyday and kept it by the pool for easy access. everyone should know that this house is in need of repair. This is not a luxury home.In fact the paint is peeling off in some of the rooms.Also, he property man will meet you on the first day,and we never saw him again. I did need gas for the grill and emailed John who did get someone to bring gas. Just know that the pictures are of the outside because that is the best part of this house. I will say that you do receive a good value for your money with this house. Just know what you are paying for. We have stayed on Dawn Beach two time before and did pay more.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
business
Ocean-front Villa with large pool/Dawns Beach, on the beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p128003
+1 9785267512
Dawn Beach St Maarten / Saint Martin
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Incredible house and views. we love St. Maarten

  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Carrie, just a short note to tell you we had a superb vacation at your villa on St. Martin. Being beach front really spoiled us. With 4 couples splitting the bill, it was a pretty affordable vacation as we took most of our meals at your house, dining outside. You were right about the views. They're a perfect ten. Dawns beach is fantastic and the little beach bar there sells beers for a buck during happy hour and is quite popular. nice to just walk about 100 yards from that beach bar to your house. The wi fi was nice as sitting on the deck with our ipads and looking over to the island of St. barts is mesmerizing. Really had a great time and we'll be back to this beautiful island and your beach house. Sandra M.
business
Ocean-front Villa with large pool/Dawns Beach, on the beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p128003
+1 9785267512
Dawn Beach St Maarten / Saint Martin
Milford, MA USA
4

Killer Views, Beach at your Feet

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
I stayed with a group of nine people celebrating several of our 40th birthdays Aug. 10-17, 2013 and we all had a spectacular time. A few highlights:

The back patio/pool area offers quintessential tropical ocean views with St. Bart’s visible in the distance. The living/dining area and bedrooms also have nice views. The pool was relaxing and clean, and also features a nice ledge to take in the ocean views.

The bedrooms worked fine for our group. Nobody felt crowded and the a/c was effective. While the spacious common areas aren’t air conditioned, we found that opening the front door and back sliding doors created a comfortable cross breeze that we complemented with the ceiling fans.

Dawns Beach is easily accessed by walking down the backyard stairs and out the private gate. The beach was outstanding … clean and not at all crowded. You get some nice waves on this side of the island, too. Nothing overpowering but enough for bodysurfing if you’re patient.

Mr. Busby’s beach bar is a quick walk down the beach. Nice folks, good food (try their pizza) and cheap beers. We took full advantage of the $1 Amstel Brites during the day. Mr. Busby’s shifts to more upscale dining in the evening, which we enjoyed one night.

Next door to Mr. Busby’s is the Oyster Bay Beach Resort, which offers a couple of nice restaurants and remarkably friendly staff. You can also find an ATM and small market (the market is convenient, but the prices are much steeper than if you were to drive to one of the larger grocery stores).

The location itself worked out really well, particularly as we rented cars. It’s on the Dutch side of the island but less than a mile from the French side. We found it easy to take numerous day trips across the entire island.

I highly suggest BZH Creperie for breakfast, just over the French side in Oyster Bay. Well worth it.

Alvo, the caretaker was friendly and helpful. He met us at the house when we arrived and provided a thorough walk-through. He noted that the cable TV was out and stopped by with the cable box from his house to test it before arranging for the cable company to come over and repair a line outside.

The kitchen had everything we needed and was fully functional. There’s also a gas grill on the back patio. We took advantage of both for home-cooked meals.

There’s Wi-Fi available at the house. It’s not accessible everywhere, but if you situate yourself in the dining room area you should be fine.
Owner's Response: These guests were very pleasant to deal with an left the place spotless. Nice folks the caretakers told me. John the owner.
business
Ocean-front Villa with large pool/Dawns Beach, on the beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p128003
+1 9785267512
Dawn Beach St Maarten / Saint Martin
Texas
2

LUXURY CAMPING at BEST

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Well let me first say, the veiw is to die for! But as we all know ,that only can take you so far.
Our family of 12 was not that impressed at all with the house, care givers or attitude of owner. Once we got to the house the caregiver was not helpful at all answering our questions, he wanted to gives us the keys and go, and we were told he did not work Sunday the next day so not to call him.
Sunady we found out that the grill was out of propane, we call, we got it 3 days later, Refrig. would not keep anything cool so we bought 3 ice chest and bought ice all week to keep food and drinks in, called, was told to unplug,wait plug in...didn't work. no light in one bedroom, cord was cut off. 50% of bulbs in house, out or didnt work. Microfiber furniture in living room smelt like wet dog (not ocean freindly.TV not the one in photo, but doesnt matter, cable didnt work. Furniture was broke and most of it falling apart.Windows caulked shut, window missing in upstair bedroom had plywood in it, rained came in, woke up to water standing on floor, luggage was on floor wet, bedspread wet. Adjusted shower head, it feel off. Captions under photos in ad are at best 50% miss leading. We took pics but not allowed to post or give our contact info.
The island was nice and the beaches are to die for!!
If four grand down the tube is for you....this is your place.
Owner's Response: The prior guests turned the refrigerator up to 100% which caused the compressor to shut down and leak water. turning it back down to normal 70% setting fixed the problem and food and drinks were plenty cold though we leave some coolers and ice for guests who want their drinks and beers super cold. We just replaced several pieces of furniture abused by guests whose kids were obviously jumping on nice leather chairs. The cable tv goes out often and we can't control that, after all, this is the Caribbean and this happens. the house is spotless, the views to die for, we have a huge pool over looking the ocean and guests in there last week said they had the best vacation of their life (in the best setting) and when I say the ocean views are a perfect 10, I mean a perfect ten. The huge patio overlooking the ocean has hosted many gorgeous weddings. If you want the Ritz Carlton styled furniture, sorry, there is not one on the island but our guests spend less than $ 60 per night per guest which is the biggest bargain of modern times for an ocean front house, bank appraised at $ 3 million. Staying at a mediocre hotel room with beach access and you'll pay 3-4 times per guest per night what our big beautiful house works out to as our house can sleep 14. Yes we have designer sheets, huge towels which guests often leave on the beach and have to be replaced every few weeks, and we always have to buy new outdoor furnishings as people take our nice chaise lounges to the beach a few steps away, and guess what....they never come back. At $ 200 per chaise lounge this is not nice to us and very unfair but happens regularly and we don't go chasing guests for abuse of premises fees. Notice most recent reviews are 4 or more stars so some people you just can't please, and they don't realize a bargain for an oceanfront house when they have 10-14 people in there. try putting a dozen people in the Westin hotel and you'd be paying $ 3 grand a night vs. our $ 600 per night avg. big difference.
Helpful votes: 2/5
business
Ocean-front Villa with large pool/Dawns Beach, on the beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p128003
+1 9785267512
Dawn Beach St Maarten / Saint Martin
4

Gorgeous beach location

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
Hi Carrie,

Wanted to let you know your place on St. Maarten is our favorite vacation destination as this was our third stay with you.

We love the island and the friendly people, but just hanging around your pool with the views of the ocean was so relaxing. Glad you finally added wi fi so I could read my Ipad on that patio and gaze up at the ocean and beach.

Had a few problems with the kitchen stove but finally figured it out as I see it's new this year and propane, not electric like the previous one.

Hope to get back to your home for the fall when rates go down as well as airfare costs.

best personal regards, Nancy Olsen
Owner's Response: wonderful repeat guests. left the place clean as a whistle
Helpful votes: 2/2