Islington apartment rental - The Living Room
The Living Room
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 6 nights
 

Islington Apartment Rental Photos and Description
Friendly helpful owners, great neighbourhood, two bedrooms, separate shower

The great thing about this superb apartment is its location. Built in 1774, it is adjacent to the buzz of one of London’s “destination streets” (Upper Street), one minute from the underground (Victoria line), and on Highbury Fields, which London's colourful mayor, Boris Johnson calls 'the jewel of our borough, positively bursting with artistic and cultural delights' and where he plans to make good his new year's resolution to lose a stone. The apartment's proximity to the underground and its excellent connections, makes it the perfect place to come home to. Part of an historic Grade II listed terraced house, it has recently (February 2010) been completely re-decorated, and is modernised to a high standard. Our guests frequently comment on its attractive “feel” and many make return visits.

We are very happy to arrange a taxi from the airport if required.

Please note this is a non-smoking apartment.

The property consists of:: One double bedroom and one twin bedroom, both with 100 percent cotton sheets and wool blankets; living room with colour tv, freeview digital channels, DVD player, VHS, hi fi, sofa and sofa bed with duvet (sleeps two); modern kitchen fully equipped with washing machine, fridge, freezer, dishwasher, electric cooker and gas hob, extractor hood, microwave, coffee machine and toaster, bathroom with separate shower.

More Details
Hide Details

21 Reviews of Property 12777 in Islington, United Kingdom

Superb modern flat in historic building, close to tube, free broadband
average rating of 4.5238094 based on 21 reviews
business
Superb modern flat in historic building, close to tube, free broadband
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p12777
+44 (0)20 7833 5525
Islington London
HR GuestBook
5

Comments from Owner Guestbook

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 6, 2007
  • Stayed: Dec 2007
Comments from our guests: 'What a wonderful apartment. So close to the tube, excellent outlook, well equipped and such great taste. Thanks so much for the wine, flowers and welcome card. It was a thoughtful touch. We loved our short time here and hope to be back soon.' June 2007
'You came highly recommended from family and we can see why. A bright, clean flat that welcomed us 'home' each night. It was great to spread out and have our own space. Thank you for the welcome package.' June 2007
'We feel like at home! The flat is lovely.' September 2007
'Thank you for the wonderful welcome card and most enjoyable wine. Had a great time visiting London. It was made even better by this lovely flat and all your hospitality.' August 2007
'Thank you for sharing your lovely flat. It is wonderful.' August 2007
Helpful votes: 6/11
business
Superb modern flat in historic building, close to tube, free broadband
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p12777
+44 (0)20 7833 5525
Islington London
5

What a location!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
We loved our stay in this apartment and feel so lucky to have found it! We are a family of four with kids ages 9 and 6. Warren was extremely helpful and responsive as we were making the arrangements, and Nigel welcomed us and got us situated our first day. The neighborhood was perfect for us; convenient to everything at a comfortable, not-touristy scale. The kids loved the park and playground across the street, which was a perfect place to unwind after a busy day of sightseeing. The location was absolutely amazing, just a stone's throw from the Tube and a few minutes' ride to just about anywhere. With two grocery stores and many restaurants a short walk away, we were well fed and very comfortable. The flat itself is well-equipped, with a well-stocked kitchen, cozy furniture (comfortable and not fussy - perfect for a family with kids!), and lots of books about London! None of us minded the stairs a bit - they were not as bad as we had feared, given some of the reviews. We would stay here again in a heartbeat - and I hope we will have the chance to do so!
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Superb modern flat in historic building, close to tube, free broadband
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p12777
+44 (0)20 7833 5525
Islington London
5

Great Apartment - Great Location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 19, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
This is an excellent apartment - it had everything you could need for a comfortable and hassle-free stay and the owners were most obliging. We are a family with three young children (8, 11 and 13).

The location couldn't be more convenient - a quiet, leafy outlook across the road from a large park (with a children's playground), yet only 2 minutes from Highbury & Islington Tube/Overground Station which is well linked to many key destinations in London - 20 minutes to one of the biggest shopping malls in London at Stratford (near the Olympic site) and otherwise on the Victoria line with direct access to Kings Cross St Pancras, Oxford Circus, Green Park and Victoria. You are also only a short walk from the restaurants and shops of Upper Street. It's also walking distance from Arsenal Stadium or you can take the Number 19 bus across London into Chelsea territory!

It's true that being on the top floor of the building with no lift, the stairs can be a bit tiring (and the last flight is very steep), but what would you expect from the top floor of a terrace?

Although not large, there was plenty of storage in the bedrooms.

All in all this was a great place to stay and we would certainly come back.

Thank you Nigel and Sally.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Superb modern flat in historic building, close to tube, free broadband
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p12777
+44 (0)20 7833 5525
Islington London
4

Great location in North London

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 30, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
2 Highbury Fields is a great place to stay in London. Quiet location in a very grand Georgian property overlooking the Fields, but literally a stone's throw from a major transport hub and Islington's Upper Street.
You can be sure of a warm welcome from the owner, who lives downstairs, and a well equipped, attractive and spacious flat to enjoy, and entertain in - so much better and cheaper than booking hotel rooms.
Lots to do and places to explore nearby - especially enjoyed wandering some of the local areas - back streets of Islington, Stoke Newington and up to Crouch End.
Endless places to eat and drink, but for a very reasonably priced, good quality restaurant, Le Mercury (140 Upper Street) was great.
Can happily recommend this apartment to others - provided you've got the fitness to get up the flights of stairs (it's worth the effort!).
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Superb modern flat in historic building, close to tube, free broadband
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p12777
+44 (0)20 7833 5525
Islington London
Indianapolis, Indiana
5

Home-like but close to everything

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 4, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
We recently had a fantastic stay at this property. The listing description was accurate with helpful pictures, but we felt the actual property was even better. It was clean and very well-maintained, with everything we needed for our stay with us as parents and our two sons, ages 18 and 21. We had plenty of room to have some privacy, but also plenty of opportunity for family time as well. Our sons loved their bedroom with the two single beds and unique cupboard. Warren was very helpful in arranging our stay and responded to emails very quickly. Upon our early morning arrival, we were able to drop off our luggage and spend some time getting to know the area and having a nice meal before again meeting the owners, Sally and Nigel. They were very warm and pleasant and took time to not only show us the things we needed to know about the flat, but also to give us some information about the Islington area. We were happy to have them available if we needed assistance, but we had no need to contact them for anything.

The location, just a few steps from an Underground station and plentiful bus stops, allowed us to be anywhere in London in a short time, and we were also able to take some day trips to other England destinations. We were so close to Kings Cross/St Pancras that we considered a day trip to Paris, although we decided to keep our focus on Great Britain. There are excellent restaurants in the area, and we would particularly recommend LaPasta for an excellent meal and Euphorium for great scones and pastries. There is also good shopping further along Upper Street. Some shops are expensive, but we found many to be quite reasonable. Having the park directly across the street was very pleasant for both the view from the flat as well as quiet evening walks, and we all referred to returning to the flat as "going home" in the evenings.

We would highly recommend this flat to anyone who doesn't mind just a few stairs. Those steps are just part of the very excellent walking to be done throughout London. The historic aspect of the flat related well to that of Britain and is part of the overall character and personality that we desired. We loved our stay and very much hope to return at some point.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Superb modern flat in historic building, close to tube, free broadband
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p12777
+44 (0)20 7833 5525
Islington London
Australisa
4

Excellent London base

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 7, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
The flat was spacious, well equipped and spotless. Very excellent location and quiet. The landlord/hosts were exceptionally friendly and very nice. The only reasonable gripe was that the flat was at the top of the building and there is no lift, so quite a climb and quite steep at that. That notwithstanding, I would thoroughly recommend the property and would certainly consider staying there again.
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Superb modern flat in historic building, close to tube, free broadband
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p12777
+44 (0)20 7833 5525
Islington London
5

Excellent situation - very nice flat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 28, 2010
  • Stayed: Dec 2010
The situtation is really great, only 10 min from centre London.Very comfortable apartment, well equiped and the landlords are so kind and welcoming. I will definitely recommend it to my friends and family.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Superb modern flat in historic building, close to tube, free broadband
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p12777
+44 (0)20 7833 5525
Islington London
Perth, Western Australia
5

A Great Place to Stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 9, 2010
  • Stayed: Sep 2010
On our arrival from Australia after 20 hours of travel we were met by Nigel before we even had a chance to knock on the door. Nigel was very welcoming and enthusiastic in showing us the 'ins and outs' of the apartment. Our first impression of the apartment was that this would be a fantastic base for our week in London (the Underground was literally 2 minutes away). It met all of our expectations - even the stairs, which we initially had reservations about, were never a problem and became less daunting with each passing day! Also Warren was very helpful with our booking of this apartment and the arranging of our pickup from the airport. It is very easy to recommend 'Highbury Fields' to anyone who wishes to visit London. Thankyou Nigel and Sally for making our stay memorable.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 3/4
business
Superb modern flat in historic building, close to tube, free broadband
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p12777
+44 (0)20 7833 5525
Islington London
Konstanz/Germany
4

Great location and nice owners

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 23, 2009
  • Stayed: Aug 2009
Considering central London standards this apartment offers good space for 4 people. It was clean and everything was functional and convenient. The owner was very nice. This provided an instant feelgood factor.
The location is great. Islington itself is a vibrant part of town with many restaurants and shops. Its residential areas are also good for walks. Highbury&Islington station (Victoria line and London Overground) is across the road. A few insider tips (we used to live in the area for over six years):
- La Porchetta on Upper Street: great value for money and good fun. You can see the action on Upper Street through the large windows while you work on what must be the largest pizzas in the world.
- The Sunday farmers market (behind Town Hall, signposted on Upper Street): nice atmosphere and losts of organic shopping to be done for a nice meal or a quick bite:
- Chilling out on Highbury fields: it lies in front of you when you come out of the front door. Walk up to the Oasis Cafe for a cup of tea.
- Take a walk along the New River and look at one of the most beautiful streets in the world: Alwyne Road.
- Flashback on the Essex Road for second hand CDs.
- Sitting on the Islington Green and looking around.
- The Screen on the Green cinema: on of the best in London.
- The Hope and Anchor on Upper Street for live music.
- Hop on the Overground and ride out to wonderful wonderful Richmond.
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Superb modern flat in historic building, close to tube, free broadband
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p12777
+44 (0)20 7833 5525
Islington London
Lebanon, OH, USA
5

Great experience

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 2, 2009
  • Stayed: May 2009
We stayed in this top floor apartment on Highbury Fields for one week in May 2009. Our experience was great - the apartment was clean, well appointed, and just a few steps from the Highbury & Islington station on the Victoria Line (one stop from King's Cross, about 15-20 minutes from Victoria Station). Several markets are within walking distance, so it was easy to stock up on necessities. We didn't make much use of the kitchen for cooking (so many good restaurants around...), but it was clean, well stocked, and large enough to cook for a family. The beds were maybe just a bit harder than we're used to, but some might find that to be a good thing. Regardless, we had no trouble sleeping comfortably. As others have mentioned, the stairs leading to the apartment are narrow and steep, so if you have mobility concerns, this might be something to consider.
I have to say that communication was excellent. Though Sally and Nigel were at their other property in Edinburgh when we checked in, we did run into Sally later in the week. She was very bright and pleasant, and we would have been very comfortable contacting her if we needed anything (as it turns out, everything was already well taken care of and we had no reason to contact Sally or Nigel). We dealt mostly with Warren. Warren was highly professional and always answered emails promptly. We had arranged with Warren to check in early (our flight was supposed to arrive at 7:00), but after boarding the plane, we were delayed on the tarmac for nearly six hours. With no way of contacting Warren, we were a little concerned that no one would be there to check us in. When we arrived, we found that Warren had already checked on our flight and was ready and waiting for us right on time.
Thanks for a great stay!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2