Captain Cook house rental - Exterior View
Exterior View
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay nights
 

Captain Cook House Rental Photos and Description
House, 2 Bedrooms + Sleeping Porch, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 4-6)

Enjoy the seclusion of a two story home on a three acre parcel in Southern Kona coast. Located thirty miles south of Kailu-Kona in Papa Bay right next door to Miloli'I, the oldest Hawaiian fishing village. A beautiful lush Hawaiian country side away from the usual tourist traps. Elevation is at 1,000 feet overlooking the Pacific ocean with gentle Hawaiian breezes and no need for air-conditioning.

SuGar Cottage II is a self-contained 1,200 square foot top story home with two bedrooms(each containing a queen size bed),one bath, dining room, living room, full kitchen and a large screened in lanai which also contains a full size washer and dryer. There is a full size futon in the lanai that makes a very comfortable bed. Some guests prefer sleeping on the lanai to enjoy the beautiful Hawaiian nights.

SCUBA DIVERS! As a dive master I will take you out on shore dives, no extra charge. We provide FREE AIR and WEIGHTS. This service is for our guests only.

KAYAKING! We have kayaks available... FREE! We can set you up with a kayak to explore the beautiful water. Many guests enjoy snorkeling off the kayaks. Lots of great places to explore!

SNORKELING! We can show you many locations to snorkel away from the usual tourist places.

Ask us about our other cottage that is located in the same area that sleeps two to four people. This is located at vrbo.com/62707.

Rates:

SUMMER SPECIAL PRICE! $115/night plus 11.42% Hawaiian tax US Dollars. Maximum of six guests.

$50 cleaning fee regardless of length of stay. Check in 3:00pm Check out 11:am

50% deposit required upon booking. Balance due on or before arrival.Four-Week cancellation notice for a full refund. Minimum two nights.

We accept Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover and JCB.

Keywords:

More Details
Hide Details

40 Reviews of Property 127431 in Captain Cook, Hawaii

Private Setting in So Kona Free Scuba & Snorkel Tours
average rating of 5.0 based on 40 reviews
business
Private Setting in So Kona Free Scuba & Snorkel Tours
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p127431vb
(808) 328-9515
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Ohio
5

Great Place to Stay! Fun and Lots of Laughs Diving with Garry!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 22, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
We stayed here for 8 nights while on our one might visit to the Big Island. We chose to stay here so that we could do some diving with Garry and see some of the local spots he loves to dive. We weren't dissapointed..Gary showed us lots of interesting sea life and we saw many new things...a conger eel...you can only find them in Hawaii and Garry has one that likes to meet new divers. He also has a puffer fish that hangs out in a hole under this arch. It was the first time I heard whales in the water while diving..it was so cool! Also saw a Titan Scorpion fish for the first time...those guys are really big compared to the scorpion fish we see in the Atlantic. Garry's place is nice and cozy...not fancy...but the beds are comfortable and the kitchen is well equipped. We stayed there with 4 people, 2 couples and we each had a private bedroom. We loved our stay and Garry and Susan are great people who go out of their way to make their guests comfortable!!!
business
Private Setting in So Kona Free Scuba & Snorkel Tours
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p127431vb
(808) 328-9515
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Benicia Ca.
5

There is a reason this proery has so meany five star reviews

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
This was the second time we stayed with Gary and Susan.
This was first time at the larger cottage. We were very comfortable in the cottage, we had every meal on the large lanai with several of the resident geckos to keep us company. The cottage is complete. It has a well equipped kitchen and a washer & dryer. We had many peaceful evenings on the lanai listening to the frogs.
The dives with Gary have always been good. He is very patient, always safe, and he really knows the area. This trip we had some exceptional dives.
Day one spinner dolphins. Lots of spinner dolphins, first snorkeling and than later we were diving at about 35 feet. Very memorable.
Before the week was over we saw a manta ray, eagle rays, and five hammerhead sharks. These were in addition to all the fish, turtles, coral, crustations, and amazing underwater landscapes we know we will see when diving with Gary.
If you like to dive the deal Gary & Susan are offering is impossible to beat. I highly recommend this rental.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Private Setting in So Kona Free Scuba & Snorkel Tours
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p127431vb
(808) 328-9515
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Issaquah, WA
5

The Best Diving Experience Ever !!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
My family of four (2 adults and 2 teenagers) really enjoyed our stay at SuGar Cottage. We couldn't have asked for two nicer people to make us feel welcome in our vacation home. The cottage, while certainly not fancy schmancy, was very adequate for our stay. There was plenty of room to just hang out and read, watch geckos, listen to birds, and relax. Most importantly, the diving was extraordinary. We felt so safe and pampered by Garry. He took us on 6 spectacular dives and made sure that we had an awesome experience. We are already looking forward to our next diving vacation on the Big Island. SuGar cottage is also in a good location for people who want to explore the green and black sand beaches near the South Point, as well as hike around in the Volcano National Park.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Private Setting in So Kona Free Scuba & Snorkel Tours
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p127431vb
(808) 328-9515
Captain Cook Kona Coast
tucson, az
5

Simply awesome!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
We visited Kona for the first time with our three kids. Gary and Susan's
cottage was just the home away from our home that we were hoping to be in.
We spend 5 wonderful days in their Sugar cottage. It is a beautiful area -
can see the ocean in the distance from the lanai, lots of friendly birds and gecko's, very peaceful and
serene. The cottage was clean, well stocked and perfect for our family of five. There were balls, board
games, playing cards etc for little kids to stay busy with. Our kids loved
running and catching/taking pictures of the gecko's. The cottage was more then we expected.
Gary truly won our kids hearts. He patentially taught them how to snorkel for the first time and we
totally loved every location that Gary took us to. Gary would dive down and bring up and explain
different objects (starfish, sea cucumber etc). Note that Gary took us to a Scuba shop where we rented wet suits and gear for our whole family. It was very reasonable and we got a discount due to Gary. Also, anticipating our needs, Gary provided us with his boggie boards, a life vest, mats for the beach, bags to carry stuff and offered to allow us to use his Kayaks. Gary took us to places that we would have never have seen otherwise and pointed us to beautiful beaches that were not at all busy.
On one beach, it was one other family and us. After spending several days at the places Gary took us
to, going to a "normal" tourist places (ex: beaches near the hotels in Kona) felt odd. We felt like we
were locals going to tourist traps.
Susan made Christmas very sweet for our kids, she brought a big platter of
cookies which disappeared within minutes...thanks Susan!!!
Although we did not go diving since we are not certified, we sure hope
we can come back soon to Gary and Susan's cottage to go scuba diving with the
dive Master!
We called and spoke to Gary and Susan a few times before and after we booked our stay to plan our trip. They both were very help. If one of their two cottages are available on your travel dates - don't think twice, just book it. You will not be disappointed.

Thank you Susan and Gary, you're the best!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Private Setting in So Kona Free Scuba & Snorkel Tours
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p127431vb
(808) 328-9515
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Northern Alberta
5

Amazing folks!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
My review may seem to be titled strangely but it is appropriate. This was the 3rd time we stayed at SuGar cottage. Every time we go we enjoy it more. Gary is a very competant dive master (and he really has his work cut out with me as i am very distractible). He always ensures everyone is comfortable with dive conditions before entering the water and is quick to poit out creatures of interest.
The cottage itself is clean and the bed is very comfortable. The geckos put on a show outside as do the birds if you decide to feed them.
Through the years both Sue and Garry have become more like friends or family than landlords. We will be returning over and over i am sure!
dutchess
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers
business
Private Setting in So Kona Free Scuba & Snorkel Tours
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p127431vb
(808) 328-9515
Captain Cook Kona Coast
United States
5

A Place in Paradise, Fantastic Knowledgeable Divemaster, Snorkeling, Kayaking all in ONE!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 19, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
Garry and Susan are amazing hosts, they were just like family. We stayed six glorious (short) days at Sugar Cottage. The home is in the middle of paradise, just loved the vegetation, and rain forest wildlife music. Quiet. Peaceful. Our favorite room was the screened in lanai, for quiet mornings and evening meals (prepared in the provided crock pots). One family member so enjoyed the atmosphere they often opted to stay at Sugar Cottage while the rest of us headed to the ocean. As a newly certified scuba diver (who didn't enjoy the certification class) I was encouraged by prior comments of Garry's patience with novices. During the Minnesota open water part of our certification I (52 year old Mom) had a difficult time equalizing, never achieving a depth greater than 19 feet, and couldn't wait for each session to end. On our first shore dive with Garry at the Refugee/Two Step/Puuhonua o Honaunau, Gary patiently helped me to successfully equalize, and I was amazed how easy it was to reach a depth of 74 feet. It was an awesome first dive that I didn't want it to end. Gary instills confidence and a passion for scuba diving. Every previous comment about Gary as a divermaster is absolutely true. Our son really hoped to see a shark and Garry found him a hammerhead - very exciting. Another highlight was snorkeling with a large pod of spinner dolphins. We found Sugar Cottage very clean and wonderfully equipped; especially appreciated the beach towels, and cooler for lunches. With Gary's knowledge of the many great beaches located from Captain Cook to South Point; one could easily stay a month. Thanks for everything Garry and Susan!!!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Private Setting in So Kona Free Scuba & Snorkel Tours
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p127431vb
(808) 328-9515
Captain Cook Kona Coast
The Woodlands Texas
5

Great Diving, Great Porch and wonderful hosts!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Our family of 4 with 3 certified divers, and one snorkeler booked Garry and Susan’s Sugar Cottage for 6 nights in July 2012 as our home base for our Big Island west side Hawaiian Holiday. Garry and Susan are gracious hosts and generous folks. They were a great source of information about local snorkeling sites and beaches as well. Garry has a wonderful sense of humor and is a patient and helpful dive master. He listened to our goals for diving and designed dives to match our desires and abilities.This was my second dive trip, (first doing shore dives) and I’m not the boldest diver, and also have some trouble equalizing my ears. Garry was patient and helpful, and my dive experience was excellent. He also took my husband and son on some more challenging dives, and they were equally pleased. The dive sites we visited were good for snorkeling also. We rented BC’s and regulators from Espace Plongee/Seaspace diving in Captain Cook which saved us the hassle and expense of hauling that stuff. If you have wet suits, bring them, otherwise you can rent those too. Espace Plongee/Seaspace gave us a discount for Garry and Susan’s guests.

The cottage fit our needs perfectly. The location is a bit south of Captain Cook, beautiful uncrowded real Hawaii. While we were there there was no one staying downstairs, so we had absolute solitude, and plenty of space. The only noises we could hear were natural ones frogs chirping all night! If you need designer wallpaper, and 600 thread count sheets to enjoy your vacation, you should stay in a generic 5 star hotel. We thought this cottage was much better than a fancy hotel. It’s a Hawaiian boonie-booking, a real Hawaiian house in real Hawaii, and we were very comfortable there. We stocked up at Costco and the local fruit stand, and made good use of the well stocked kitchen, saving tons of money in the process, and tons of time too. The cottage has a dining room and a living room, but we did not use them at all because we LOVED the screened in porch. It’s the best thing about the house, nature sans mosquitoes! Our 14 year old son slept on the futon on the porch, and we thought he was having too much fun, so we (mom and dad) kicked him out for a night! We were happy to have the full size washer dryer on the porch also. It’s all you need to relax and dive on the west coast of Hawaii and an exceptional value especially when you consider that most days Garry will take you diving! Thank you Garry and Susan.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Private Setting in So Kona Free Scuba & Snorkel Tours
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p127431vb
(808) 328-9515
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Davis Ca
5

Wonderful place to stay.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 25, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
Took my parents to Maui and then here. They were so much more impressed with this house compared to every other place we stayed and every other place was much more expensive. Comfotable house and lovely setting. The owners are very gracious and were very nice to my dad even when he talked their ears off. Was very nice to have good travel advice too.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Private Setting in So Kona Free Scuba & Snorkel Tours
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p127431vb
(808) 328-9515
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Valdez, Alaska
5

Quiet Hawaii Get Away

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
Gary and Susan's cottage was just the ticket for our winter get away to the Big Island. SuGar Cottage 2 is surrounded by vegetation offering a beautiful background of bird sounds while lounging on the 2 lanais. During the evening the music of tree frogs, occasional chickens, and the steady rhythm of surf in the background, made for a relaxing way to wind down the day.

The acommadations were clean and the kitchen well stocked, so we were able to easily cook and prepare meals from the grocieries we stocked up on in Kona.

As mentioned by everyone, the icing on the cake are the gracious host and hostess. Gary and Susan are the best! They truly want your experience to be memorable. We planned to scuba and brought our gear. Bill was able to complete four dives with Gary, and though I made the initial attempts to make the dives, it had been a long time since I was PADI certified and I suffered with a little panic. Gary would have taken all the time in the world to get me through my worries. He's patient and really wants his clients to have a great experience. Bill saw a white spotted eagle ray, white tipped shark, swam with turtles. I enjoyed some snorkeling so my time was great as well. One day we borrowed their kayak and paddled to Captain Cook Memorial and enjoyed the amazing snorkeling there. We were able to spot a beautiful zebra morray eel on that trip.

Gary shared a few beach locations off the beaten track that with a little hiking got us to some beautiful spots away from the crowds.

SuGar Cottage 2 is a two thumbs up in our book. We're already planning a return trip with our adult kids for next year.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Private Setting in So Kona Free Scuba & Snorkel Tours
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p127431vb
(808) 328-9515
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Olympia, WA
5

Great Place and People

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 25, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
Our family of 4 stayed with Garry and Susan for 8 days in June 2011. Two went diving and two went snorkeling most mornings. Garry and Susan are wonderful hosts and generous people. The accommodations were large so the two teenagers had their own beds - one in a bedroom, the other on the lanai. The kayaking to Captain Cook Monument was awesome with the two kayaks from Garry and telling us about the tips to get our kayaks on/off with the wonderful people at the boat launch. We saw spinner dolphins and great snorkeling near the monument. We certainly have plans to go back.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway