Acadia National Park cottage rental - Private ledges for Sunset Cottages
Private ledges for Sunset Cottages
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Acadia National Park Cottage Rental Photos and Description
Ideal for couples or small family, full kitchen, 1 bath, wi-fi, cable, heated

Oceanfront! Choice of three quaint cottages on the quiet side of Mount Desert Island directly on scenic Blue Hill Bay. All three cottages are situated on a green meadow leading down to rocky ledges. Picnic table and Adirondack chairs at water's edge. Ledges, tidal pools, birdwatching, spectacular sunsets. This property is a photographer's dream and offers genuine tranquility. All linens provided. Fully equipped kitchen includes microwave, fridge, stove, coffee maker, dishes, pots, pans, utensils, etc. Your own outside grill and picnic table. Lobster pot available. Free wifi, cable/satellite TV, DVD. Acadia National Park and Bar Harbor minutes away. Picturesque 'Down East' scenery, carriage roads for walking or biking, sea kayaking, whale watching, art galleries, mountain trails. The nearby village of Southwest Harbor offers restaurants, shopping, and unique art studios. Lobsters on the dock -- just 5 minutes to Thurston's Lobster Pound. Details at www.sunsetacadia.com.

9 Reviews of Property 127011 in Acadia National Park, Maine

3 quiet waterfront cottages near Acadia National Park & Southwest Harbor
average rating of 4.888889 based on 9 reviews
business
3 quiet waterfront cottages near Acadia National Park & Southwest Harbor
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p127011
+1 2072443760
Acadia National Park Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

Sunset cottages, the way life should be!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
There is a saying when you cross the state line into Maine. It goes Maine the way life should be. That's the feeling you get when you stay at Sunset Cottages. This was our second year staying in Annie's Outlook. The cleanliness of the cottage reminds us of home. Very tidy and neat. The deck offers grand views of the ocean and always offers magnificent sunsets. Watching the bald eagle soar over head was very majestic. After hours of hiking nothing beat coming back to the cottage for a cold beer sitting Oceanside. The true beauty of Annie's Outlook was the tranquility. There were no tour buses and thousands of people disembarking cruise ships. The only sound was the calming ocean breeze blowing through the tree tops. You have all the amenities of home without the stress of your everyday work life. I will be returning to Annie's until I'm old and gray. The only way I can explain its true beauty is if you the fellow traveler experience it for yourself. You will not be disappointed and you will never want to go home. That's how I feel a true slice of heaven. Enjoy your stay one trip and you will be hooked for life!
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
3 quiet waterfront cottages near Acadia National Park & Southwest Harbor
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p127011
+1 2072443760
Acadia National Park Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

Paradise on Earth!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
My husband and I had an absolutely wonderful stay in the Little Cottage at Sunset Cottages. Everything about this property is just marvelous. Robin was very helpful, and most welcoming. The setting, the tranquility, the view, the night sky are unparalleled. It is easy driving distance away from Mount Desert Island's more famous sights. As an added benefit, Thurston Lobster Pound is just "around" the corner. We highly recommend it for couples, maybe with older kids who enjoy nature, good food, outdoor activities.
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
3 quiet waterfront cottages near Acadia National Park & Southwest Harbor
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p127011
+1 2072443760
Acadia National Park Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

Great place to stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 13, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
We picked this place because it was on the Quietside of the island and right on the water. The grounds were beautiful and our 18 month old son loved running through the meadow to look at the water and boats. We loved walking down to the beach during low tide to view the water and throw rocks in the water.
We stayed in the Sunset Cottage, which suited our needs very well. The kitchen and grill came in handy for fixing meals for ourselves when we didn't feel like going out to eat. The picnic table and adirondack chairs next to the cottage were the perfect place to sit and relax and watch our son run around. The red squirrels and hummingbirds were fun to watch too.
We would highly recommend this place to everyone and hope to come back sometime in the future.
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
3 quiet waterfront cottages near Acadia National Park & Southwest Harbor
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p127011
+1 2072443760
Acadia National Park Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Ellicott City, Maryland
5

The Perfect Stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
This was a perfect stay for us! The views are just fabolus! Robin, her husband, and sister are great hosts. We are having a house built down the street, and we loved hearing stories of "moose sightings, and bear scares" near our property, during happy hour. We really enjoyed our picnic lunches on the shaded picnic table, by the waters edge. The cottage had everything needed, and was in the right price range for our depleted budget. We were so happy to meet new neighbors, and learn of a great overflow option for future large family gatherings. We look forward to having that glass of wine together on our deck next time! Many thanks!
Owner's Response: Welcome to the neighborhood. So happy you enjoyed your stay with us! Looking forward to sharing that glass of wine and enjoying your tree top views. Happy homebuilding!
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
3 quiet waterfront cottages near Acadia National Park & Southwest Harbor
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p127011
+1 2072443760
Acadia National Park Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

Sunset Cottage is everything and more

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
Sunset is a wonderful, cozy getaway on the quiet side of Mount Desert Island that offers a relaxing alternative to the bustling Bar Harbor area. The views are spectacular, the lawn is perfect for an evening soccer game and the rocky shoreline offers endless alternatives for kids to explore on the rocks. The cabin is rustic, but clean and offers all of the amenities one would need for a Maine getaway. The owners make you feel completely at home and are willing to offer advice and assistance in getting settled in to the surroundings.

I would highly recommend Sunset for a small family (we had 5 staying) looking for a Maine experience at a very reasonable price.
Helpful votes: 1/3
business
3 quiet waterfront cottages near Acadia National Park & Southwest Harbor
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p127011
+1 2072443760
Acadia National Park Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

Amazing getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
Wow, we were so happy with the sunset cottage. It sits on an amazing piece of gods country with breathtaking views of the sunsets overlooking the water. I highly recommend this property if you are looking for a very clean cozy cottage close to hiking, biking and site seeing, we will be back!
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
3 quiet waterfront cottages near Acadia National Park & Southwest Harbor
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p127011
+1 2072443760
Acadia National Park Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

Home Away From Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
In my many years of traveling throughout Maine, I have NEVER, EVER stayed at such a wonderful place. Little Cottage is my piece of heaven!!! It rests on the most beautiful piece of property, leading right to a rock overlook. At dusk you can walk down the gently sloping lawn to watch the sun do its nightly performance of painting the sky with its breath taking sunsets. I loved sitting in the Adirondack chairs, listening to the waves, the gulls, feeling the breeze gently blow, and watching the sky light up!!!! We experienced nothing but peace and quiet! It was a great pleasure to "tour" the island, Bar Harbor, and Acadia and know that once we were "home" we could truly relax and get away.

Virgina and her family were fantastic hosts. Although we had our privacy, they were always friendly and willing to offer great suggestions about anything and eveything in the area. Little Cottage is so cozy and homey and the perfect size. We had plenty of room to settle in and had a blast playing cards at the table. I cannot say enough about this wonderfaul vacation spot. It is clean, well maintained, and had all the amenities one needs and more. There is nothing like climbing into bed after a 14 hour ride and smelling the fresh clean sheets!!!! One week here keeps me going all year long. When I roll out of the drive, ending my vacation, the dream of another year starts. I am so thankful for being able to stay here and cannot wait until August!!!!
Helpful votes: 4/5
business
3 quiet waterfront cottages near Acadia National Park & Southwest Harbor
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p127011
+1 2072443760
Acadia National Park Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Easthampton, MA
5

Cozy Cottage in Beautiful Location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 24, 2010
  • Stayed: Oct 2010
Our hostess was wonderfully friendly. The seaside setting is breathtaking. Sunset Cottage was cozy, basic, and provided everything we needed. This is well-kept secret on the quiet side of the island.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/7
business
3 quiet waterfront cottages near Acadia National Park & Southwest Harbor
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p127011
+1 2072443760
Acadia National Park Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Tennessee
4

Great Hostess

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
I think these ladies must be the most honest people in Maine. They quoted us a price which included 8% taxes. When we arrived they gave us a check to refund 1% of the money charged for taxes because the tax increase did not pass as expected on election day. Can you be more honest than that. We would have never known the difference. Enjoyed our stay and enjoyed being in a quiet area. Very basic cabin with wonderful view.
Becky
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 4/8