Vieques Island house rental - Exterior view
Exterior view
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 4 - 5 nights
 

Vieques Island House Rental Photos and Description
1 or 3 BR, 1-2 BA, Sleeps 2 - 6 (1 or 3 bdrm rental)

Casa Dos Chivos is an attractively-decorated three-bedroom island house (sleeps 2-6) situated in the Los Chivos hills of Vieques, with panoramic ocean views. The upper level of the house, which can be rented as a separate 1-bdrm, consists of a very large great room (24 x 28 feet) with two seating areas, dining area, and a fully-equipped kitchen. A large balcony with panoramic ocean views wraps around the great room on two sides. Adjoining the great room is an air-conditioned master (king) bedroom with adjoining bath (with shower). A spiral staircase connects the balcony of the upper level with the renovated lower level, where there are another two air-conditioned bedrooms (queen and twin), bath (with shower), large, L-shaped living/dining room, and kitchenette. There is a fully-equipped laundry room and gated, key-locked carport downstairs, satellite TV on both floors and free WiFi throughout the house.

The house is perfect for 2 couples traveling together! Each couple gets their own floor and bathroom. A little distance and time away from the other pair will make the time you spend together all the better! Families also find the layout very accommodating for time spent at the house doing what you want.

More Details
Hide Details

We keep our house in tip-top shape! We know there are lots of vacation rentals to choose from on Vieques and you want to be sure to book a house that will add pleasant memories to your vacation experience. Casa Dos Chivos is exactly that house! Just read our guest reviews – everyone comments on our stylish furnishings, how clean the place is, the magnificent ocean views, and the excellent service provided by our property manager. Isn’t that what you want in a vacation rental (and at a good value)?

31 Reviews of Property 126612 in Vieques Island, Puerto Rico

3 Bedroom House, SatTV, WiFi, A/C, Panoramic Ocean Views!
average rating of 4.9333334 based on 31 reviews
business
3 Bedroom House, SatTV, WiFi, A/C, Panoramic Ocean Views!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p126612
+1 202 550-2209
Vieques Island Puerto Rico
5

A wonderful, well managed property!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 9, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
We had a very enjoyable stay at Casa Dos Chivos. The information online, including the video accessed from their website, was very informative and accurate. The property manager, Renee, met us at a local landmark and led us to the house. She gave us good information about the area and showed us through the house, taking time to explain all pertinent information about the property.

Our first, and lasting impression, is that this is a beautiful property, well appointed, well maintained, and well managed. We were not disappointed in any way with our stay there. The house was clean and spacious. The view from the balcony was beautiful and we ate several meals there. We visited many beautiful beaches and did a tour of the bio bay. We had planned our trip to coincide with a new moon and the bio bay was amazing!

The property owners, Michael and Patrick, were informative during email exchanges before our visit. They have done a really great job creating a welcoming place to visit. We would not hesitate to visit this property again.
business
3 Bedroom House, SatTV, WiFi, A/C, Panoramic Ocean Views!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p126612
+1 202 550-2209
Vieques Island Puerto Rico
5

Casa Dos Chivos doesn’t disappoint.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 25, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
Casa Dos Chivos doesn’t disappoint. It is true to the photos and video on the website: http://www.casadoschivos.com/

This was our first self-planned VRBO experience and our first trip to Vieques. It was important to us that our week would meet the expectations we had from the website. We rented the one-bed room option.

Michael and Patrick have offered in this home everything you would want for an easy living vacation. The kitchen is well equipped for creating all kinds of meals and drinks. The huge gas grill on the balcony allowed diversity to our cooking. The adjoining dining area provides a wonderful setting for a late evening meal. The bedroom and bath areas are clean, large and very comfortable. Overhead fans kept all of the area comfortable throughout the day and night. Though there is an air conditioning unit in the bedroom, we found its use unnecessary.

Most of all we found the privacy on the second floor allowed us to use the entire space without concern for nearby houses. The gates enclosing the driveway and house porches gave us confidence in the security of the house.

There are plenty of books and DVDs available (no CDs, however). We used an available radio that picked up a station with some easy background music to add even more of a serene feeling to our stay.

Our morning meals on the balcony overlooking Isabel II and the Atlantic Ocean created a great beginning to every day. And after a day on the beaches or exploring the island, drinks before dinner on the same balcony provided a unique closure. And even though the nearest neighbor’s rooster sounded like it was occasionally right under the bedroom window and the light early morning traffic at times roared round the corner of the hill just at the entrance to the driveway, these sounds all created an ambiance, a special feel for island life, not available in a secluded, purged resort.

Vieques’ beaches are as diverse and as magnificent as you could want anywhere in the Caribbean. Be sure to rent a Jeep if you are truly interested in exploring all of the island’s beaches. Most of the roads to the best of the beaches can only be accessed by a Jeep and in a slow drive. But what a fun drive these roads are.

A great value for a great location vacation. We’ll be back!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
3 Bedroom House, SatTV, WiFi, A/C, Panoramic Ocean Views!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p126612
+1 202 550-2209
Vieques Island Puerto Rico
Wellesley, MA
5

We Can't Stay Away

We Can't Stay Away
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 2, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
I don't want to sound sappy but Casa Dos Chivos is pure perfection…from the decor, to the location, to the comfort, to the solitude on a hill overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. We've been coming here at the end of January for the past four years and now seriously cannot/would not consider going anywhere else. The house is, quite simply, our much loved home. It fits us to a T and we greet each day with joy and deep gratitude that we're able to spend a week each year in paradise. See, I told you I'd sound sappy. But, believe me, every word is true.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
3 Bedroom House, SatTV, WiFi, A/C, Panoramic Ocean Views!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p126612
+1 202 550-2209
Vieques Island Puerto Rico
4

Almost perfect

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 27, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
We loved almost everything about Los chivos .... my husband and I rented the top level 1 bedroom. The kitchen is spacious and well equipped. If you plan to prepare and cook your meals it is a great set up. The views are incredible and the king size bed is very comfortable. There are ceiling fans in every room including the bathroom, so there was always a lovely breeze throughout the house. There is a gas grill on the outside deck. The house has great books and the owners have left an invaluable book of information regarding the island which we found very useful. Renee, the house manager, was quick to respond to any questions or problems we had during our 6 day stay at Los chivos. We did have a problem with the gas grill, which was very dirty when we arrived. By the 3rd night it wouldn't light. The next day Renee had someone come to clean it and it did work the following night but on our final night, after purchasing fresh meat and fish, the grill would not start so we had to cook it stovetop inside. The stove in the kitchen is dated and does not light easily so the finished meal was not quite as good as it could've been. If grilling outdoors is important to you, I advise that you inquire if the grill has been cleaned and tested prior to your arrival.
The kitchen and bath are pretty clean but the kitchen stove/oven could definitely use an upgrade. There is a laundry room but it's down a spiral outdoor staircase and then below the driveway - so it's a bit of a haul. Other than that, I would say that for the price the place is great.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Casa Dos Chivos - we sincerely appreciate your feedback and take our guests' comments very seriously--as we've often stated, our goal is for every visitor at Casa Dos Chivos to have a truly wonderful experience. Renee did get someone to inspect the grill the day after you contacted her and he reported to her that he found it clean and in good working order. After you left Renee had no difficulty lighting the grill nor did the guests that followed you report any problems. We're sorry you had difficulty with the grill and we'll be sure it remains in good working order for future guests. Thanks again for your nice comments.
business
3 Bedroom House, SatTV, WiFi, A/C, Panoramic Ocean Views!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p126612
+1 202 550-2209
Vieques Island Puerto Rico
Philadelphia, PA
5

Gorgeous and comfortable getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
My husband and I spent our honeymoon at Casa Dos Chivos. The house was perfect for our one-week getaway -- thoughtfully furnished, conveniently located, and incredibly comfortable, with beautiful views from the top deck. Many thanks to Patrick and Michael for making this a vacation we will never forget!
business
3 Bedroom House, SatTV, WiFi, A/C, Panoramic Ocean Views!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p126612
+1 202 550-2209
Vieques Island Puerto Rico
5

A++++++++++

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Both the owners and the local property manager where a VERY important source of info for our planning. Their local insight was invaluable to enjoy and make the most of our time in Vieques.

The house looks like an IKEA showroom. Super clean, everything matches. Besides it offers everything you need while in Vieques (except for the car):
- Fully equipped kitchen. Restaurants in Vieques are expensive (it's hard to find meals for less than US$20) and sincerely we didn't have any AMAZING meals. We ended up cooking most of the time, which is no hassle thanks to the well stocked "Morales" supermarkets and the farmers market (at the intersection of 200 and 201).
- Beach gear (towels, cooler, chairs, shades)

Make sure to check what the house already has (specially condiments) before you head to the supermarket. The fridge was already stocked with a bunch of stuff from past guests.

Try to go and see the bio bay with no moon. We went with full moon and it was amazing, still I can only imagine how great it looks with full darkness.

Our favorite beaches where "Playa Plata" (white podery sand, turquoise water, no one around!) and "Playa Grande" (fun surf, large beach lined with huge palm trees, also no one around).

Punta Arenas is great for watching the sunset, BUT!... there is a huge water reservoir close by with almost no breeze, so the amount of mosquitoes was industrial! Be sure to have plenty of repellent.
business
3 Bedroom House, SatTV, WiFi, A/C, Panoramic Ocean Views!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p126612
+1 202 550-2209
Vieques Island Puerto Rico
5

superb experience

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
6 Nights in July: In brief this place is extremely accommodating, private, and lovely. It's hard to deny a room with a view.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
3 Bedroom House, SatTV, WiFi, A/C, Panoramic Ocean Views!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p126612
+1 202 550-2209
Vieques Island Puerto Rico
4

Casa Dos Chivos

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Awesome House and value for the price. I was by myself and thoroughly enjoyed myself. It was peaceful, well situated on the Island to the local farmer's market, Maritza's Car rental, gas station and the super market.

I loved that is was not right on the beach but high on the hill, the flower fragrances wafting through the air were intoxicating. I would not have been able to have that experience on the beach. The house was well equipped with amenities, including a hair dryer, snorkeling fins, beach chairs and a pair of teva sandals I borrowed to hike the rocky beach shorelines.

The kitchen was well stocked not only with cooking equipment but also cooking spices and condiments from previous guests which came in handy. They were all fresh too!!

The house was very clean all around. The bathroom was also well stocked with a good hair dryer, small first aid kit, skin care sundries and other toiletries that came in handy. Check the stock before you go to the market ;)

Rene' the property manager picked me up at the airport, took me to the car rental office and drove me to the house. She also took the time to show me some restaurants, where the market is and how to get to various areas on the island on the map provided by the car rental agency.

The owners provided SUPERB customer service prior to, during and after the stay. I am a hospitality professional and can be a bit of a snob about that... these guys are 5 star material. :)

Take the time to read the guest book thoroughly.... It has VERY good information regarding the beaches and getting around. The menus are a little outdated as are some of the pricing lists for the activities so call the companies and restaurants for current information.

I highly recommend Casa Dos Chivos and plan to return with friends in the near future.

Elizabeth S.
business
3 Bedroom House, SatTV, WiFi, A/C, Panoramic Ocean Views!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p126612
+1 202 550-2209
Vieques Island Puerto Rico
Kansas City, Missouri
5

An Unforgettable Stay in Vieques!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
My partner and I stayed in the top floor of Casa Dos Chivos in March for 9 days. The property is beautiful, larger than it appears online and is conveniently located between Isabel II and Esperanza. We were close to groceries (Mercados), restaurants and the many gorgeous beaches the island offers. That being said, a rental Jeep is a must when visiting the island. If you haven't been to Vieques, GO! It is (thankfully) not your typical cruise port destination but is a genuine Caribbean gem of an island that provides the perfect respite from life's everyday hustle and bustle. Our noted favorites about the Casa and Vieques ...
- the large veranda where we spent evenings sipping cocktails before dinner overlooking the Caribbean. Unforgettable!
- the availability of a washer and dryer.
- WIFI that worked great!
- the fully-stocked kitchen and grill (we bought freshly caught fish for a couple of dinners at the pescaderia in Isabel II).
- the tasteful and lovely decor in the Casa.
- the wild horses!
- the many sounds of Vieques (yes, including the roosters!).
- our favorite restaurants ... Conuco and El Quenepo
- our favorite beaches ... La Plata and La Chiva
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
3 Bedroom House, SatTV, WiFi, A/C, Panoramic Ocean Views!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p126612
+1 202 550-2209
Vieques Island Puerto Rico
5

The perfect Vieques getaway!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
My partner and I stayed in the top floor of Casa Dos Chivos in March for 9 days. The property is beautiful, larger than it appears online and is conveniently located between Isabel II and Esperanza. We were close to groceries (Mercados), restaurants and the many gorgeous beaches the island offers. That being said, a rental Jeep is a must when visiting the island. If you haven't been to Vieques, GO! It is (thankfully) not your typical cruise port destination but is a genuine Caribbean gem of an island that provides the perfect respite from life's everyday hustle and bustle. Our noted favorites about the Casa and Vieques ...
- the large veranda where we spent evenings sipping cocktails before dinner overlooking the Caribbean. Unforgettable!
- the availability of a washer and dryer.
- WIFI that worked great!
- the fully-stocked kitchen and grill (we bought freshly caught fish for a couple of dinners at the pescaderia in Isabel II).
- the tasteful and lovely decor in the Casa.
- the wild horses!
- the many sounds of Vieques (yes, including the roosters!).
- our favorite restaurants ... Conuco and El Quenepo
- our favorite beaches ... La Plata and La Chiva
Helpful votes: 2/2