Barnard house rental - back of house
back of house
 
  • Bedrooms6
  • Sleeps18
  • 5 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay nights
 

Barnard House Rental Photos and Description
6 bedrooms, 5 baths, sleeps 18

Huge lodge with lots of separate living spaces and bedrooms. Newly restored and expanded/furnished 1795 charming country Cape Home, 4000 sq ft. Designed for larger groups/ reunions or family vacations. With new WIFI. Limitless recreational options in Woodstock/ Barnard. Fabulous skiing and golf. 6 bedrooms, romantic 1st floor king w/ privt bath and wood beams, 4 queens, 2 w/ private baths, 2 w/ shared bath, and 20x28 dorm (4 beds) w/ privt bath. Total of 5 baths (3 new). Living room is 20x20, wood stove, exposed beams, cathedral ceiling, Pottery Barn furnished w/ 52 inch HD/sat TV/blu ray. Separate FR with 27 inch satellite and ping pong. 'Reading loft' above kitchen/dining room. Dining room w/ original wood beams seats 16, adjoining fully stocked cook's kitchen with stainless Miele/Subzero appliances. Large Ski/mudroom entry with storage. Apple orchard in back! 1 mile to Silver Lake and Barnard. 6 miles to Suicide Six ski area. 10 minutes to Woodstock golf. 30 minutes to Killington.

11 Reviews of Property 126561 in Barnard, Vermont

Barnard Lodge: Restored and Expansive 1795 Cape Home -
average rating of 4.7272725 based on 11 reviews
business
Barnard Lodge: Restored and Expansive 1795 Cape Home -
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p126561
202 237-1199
Barnard Eastern Vermont
Newton, MA
5

Margaret

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
My family and I enjoyed our stay at the Barnard Lodge. It is comfortable, spacious. well-equipped, and perfect for a mixed age group. The property is beautiful...my grandchildren liked climbing in the apple trees. We appreciated the inner tubes that the owner provides for drifting down the river or floating on Silver Lake. Highly recommended for a large group.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Barnard Lodge: Restored and Expansive 1795 Cape Home -
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p126561
202 237-1199
Barnard Eastern Vermont
Israel
5

Wonderful place for large family gathering with range of ages

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We had a fabulous time at this beautiful, fully equipped house in August. We took advantage of canoeing on Silver Lake (5 minutes away) and kayaking on the White River, strolls through Woodstock, and walks in the countryside. Apples were falling from the trees in the backyard, so the little kids (ages 9 to 2) helped pick and we made apple pie for everyone. The dormitory and expansive back yard is perfect for a bunch of cousins to spend time together, while the adults could relax enjoy each other's company. The place was clean and well maintained and the everything the owner promised.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Barnard Lodge: Restored and Expansive 1795 Cape Home -
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p126561
202 237-1199
Barnard Eastern Vermont
5

Beautiful, relaxing, flexible, fantastic!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
The house is gorgeous and the entire property is very well maintained. I'd recommend this place for a large group of people looking for a relaxing summer getaway. The description is spot on. We split the house between the families in one half and the late-night party animal folks in the other half - it was perfect.

We had a couple minor things that we needed help with. Kate and the caretaker, Jon were both really responsive so it was no big deal. We were staying here with many friends who had travelled from far away to come to our wedding which was 10 minutes away. It was perfect! We used the fire pit, grilled, cut flowers from the back garden, played ping pong, went swimming in Silver Lake down the road, etc. Everyone had a fantastic time.

When we arrived, the house was well cleaned, organized and very well maintained. It was easy to find and right down the road from the Barnard General Store which has most things you might need.

We has an awesome time! Thanks again, Kate!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Barnard Lodge: Restored and Expansive 1795 Cape Home -
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p126561
202 237-1199
Barnard Eastern Vermont
5

Fantastic Home for Family Reunion and Parties!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 30, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
We all have priceless memories from our one week stay at the Barnard Lodge surrounding our son's graduation from law school. Nine of us in four family groupings stayed at the Lodge with four additional family members joining us for dinners. Additionally, we hosted four parties with law grads and their families. The biggest was a brunch in which I lost count at fifty. This lovely home afforded us all the equipment and utensils to entertain on a huge scale! The space was perfect for large gatherings. Everyone enjoyed the huge living room with tons of comfortable seating and a cozy wood stove. Nearly every night we had a fire in the fire pit behind the house. One night we had a "corn hole" tournament and played ping pong in the upstairs playroom. The massive TV was great for watching Stanley Cup playoff games. The bedrooms with three in the historic house and three in the "barn" afforded each family group maximum privacy! The huge dormitory was amazing! Our granddaughters loved it. Our son who came alone was thrilled with his bedroom in the loft with a skylight and reading room. The backyard was a lovely space for the kids to play and for grilling. At one point during our brunch party, I looked out and saw it was snowing apple blossoms. What a perfect setting! The owner could not be more helpful! She even prepared a manual of places to see, things to do. The proximity to Woodstock was greatly appreciated. Every season there is so much to do! Since we only scratched the surface, I am sure we will be back.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Barnard Lodge: Restored and Expansive 1795 Cape Home -
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p126561
202 237-1199
Barnard Eastern Vermont
5

Barnard Lodge

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
This is a classic rustic Vermont house, made up of the original structure (1795 plus a large addition. There’s lots of informal space for a large group, from the three large and comfortable B&B style rooms with private baths in the old house, to the 3 other queen rooms and the great “dormitory” for all extra guests. Bathrooms are in good shape and there are plenty of them. The livingroom is spacious yet cozy – a great place to read or watch a movie. Large glass doors look out to the beautiful back landscape. There’s a grill, Adirondack chairs and table, old apple trees, stone walls and flower beds, with plenty of space for croquet. The rustic kitchen opens onto a long dining area with a big table that can seat 18 people, and also looks out to the backyard. The Barnard Lodge house is charming and welcoming – a great spot to unwind and enjoy being together with family and friends in a lovely location.

From the house, you can bike or take long walks right out the door down the country dirt road, or get in the car for excursions to Woodstock and other lovely towns near and far. Swimming, boating, hiking, farmer’s markets, summer concerts are easily found. The owner provides a list of places to go and activities in the area.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Barnard Lodge: Restored and Expansive 1795 Cape Home -
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p126561
202 237-1199
Barnard Eastern Vermont
Bethesda, MD
5

Great Ski Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 25, 2010
  • Stayed: Feb 2010
For a large family or group of families/couples wanting a winter getaway, this is your place.

We went last winter with relaxation and skiing in mind. We got both! The Barnard Lodge was the perfect place for our large multi-generational group. We enjoyed down hill skiing at Suicide Six and cross country skiing from the Lodge's back door. The evenings were spent cooking family meals, enjoying games in the large family room, and reading. The town of Woodstock was charming. There was definitely something for everyone. It was an ideal family vacation.

The owners were wonderful to deal with - very helpful in providing suggestions for things to do for the various interests in our group.

The accommodations were very comfortable and we loved the "dorm" for the kids. We can't wait to go for another ski vacation. Next time we will want to stay longer so we can enjoy skiing at Killington as well. We also look forward to trying a different season at the Barnard.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Barnard Lodge: Restored and Expansive 1795 Cape Home -
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p126561
202 237-1199
Barnard Eastern Vermont
Harrisburg, PA
4

Wedding Weekend

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
My family rented the lodge for a weekend when my son got married in Barnard. 13 of us stayed in the lodge, and it was a great place for a large group. Most of the bedrooms have private baths, and linens are included, which we don't often find in a rental property. A bit off the beaten track, but quiet and secluded. We would rent this lodge again if we're ever in the area!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Barnard Lodge: Restored and Expansive 1795 Cape Home -
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p126561
202 237-1199
Barnard Eastern Vermont
Bethesda, MD
5

Great House for a Group Trip

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 16, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2009
We organized a trip with 3 families who stayed at Barnard Lodge for a week last summer. We had a total of 6 adults and 6 kids, not to mention 2 visitors mid-week who stayed for 2 nights. This house was great.

The open kitchen and dining room area is good for group cooking and evening meals. The living room area has lots of seating and was great for evening games of charades and scrabble. The three couples had their own bedrooms with private bathrooms, and the kids (junior high, high school, and college) loved the sleeping dorm and bedrooms at the other end of the house. They felt like they had their own place for hanging out and playing ping pong, and we liked it because we couldn't hear them.

The house has a lot of little touches that made our stay easier. The laundry room is near the kitchen and has a new washer and dryer. The garage has inner tubes for floating on Silver Lake. There is lots of room outside for kids to play. We used the charcoal grill for most dinners. I liked sitting around late-night fires in the back yard.

One of the best things about the house is the location. Barnard Store is five minutes away for getting breakfast or picking up cooking supplies or a NY Times. Silver Lake's state park is next door to the store for swimming, sunning and our ultimate frisbee games. Barnard and nearby Woodstock had excellent restaurants the two nights we needed a break from cooking. We played 3 different golf courses within 30 minutes. And we had no trouble coming up with destinations for day trips. This is a great part of Vermont, with covered bridges, historic sites, and great scenery.

The owners were easy to deal with, and the house is clean and well cared for. We definitely will return, maybe in the winter so we can ski.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Barnard Lodge: Restored and Expansive 1795 Cape Home -
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p126561
202 237-1199
Barnard Eastern Vermont
Georgetown, MA
4

4 nights at the Lodge

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 1, 2009
  • Stayed: Nov 2009
The Barnard Lodge is a very good house for a group of friends or family gathering. We had 16 in our group and we were quite comfortable. Lots of space in a peaceful spot with Woodstock 20 minutes or so away. Kids stayed in the 'dorm' and the adults had their own rooms. I would recommend it.
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Barnard Lodge: Restored and Expansive 1795 Cape Home -
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p126561
202 237-1199
Barnard Eastern Vermont
Brooklyn, NY
5

Terrific place for large group, great owners

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2009
  • Stayed: Jun 2009
We rented the place for a large group of old college friends (15-20 during the week) for the week before July 4th. It was great. The house was exactly as advertised and as it appears in the pictures, the kitchen, living room, and bedrooms are clean & well-maintained & there is a great book selection. The big rumpus roof on the third floor is a great place for extra people/kids to crash and comes with a ping pong table. The yard is very nice and good for campfires (they provide a fire-pit) and croquet games.

The setting is ideal. Silver Lake State Park is only a mile or so away via a nice trail and is a good place for swimming, basketball, & soccer. In addition, the General Store is 2 miles away and is well-stocked, including a great newspaper selection. Finally, the house itself is on a nice quiet road along a valley with many beautiful barns & houses and is great for running & biking.

All our interactions with the owners were smooth & easy. And, unlike a prior review, we did not have a bug problem. (In any case, there are screen doors). I would highly recommend this house to anyone, especially groups of 10-15+.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2