Michigamme River cabin rental - The relaxing living room and natural fireplace.
The relaxing living room and natural fireplace.
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
 

Michigamme River Cabin Rental Photos and Description
3 bedrooms, 1 bathroom w/ shower, stone fireplace (maximum 4)

Escape the ordinary vacation. Relax or be adventurous. Fish your heart out! A break from technology. This historic (1800s), 2 bedroom, cedar log cabin is nestled within a 2 acre rustic private island on the Michigamme River. Electricity, running water, land-line phone and wi-fi are some of the creature comforts on this rustic island. Enjoy the wildflowers and wilderness. Rustic Decor. High beam ceilings. Kitchen, breakfast bar, bathroom with shower, plus a gorgeous natural wood-burning cobblestone fireplace warms the living room. TV (2 channels)/VCR/DVD. Linens provided. An open mind and flexibility are keys to fun here.

Water-access only. Be your own captain with our provided boats! A Jon boat (best in low water), pontoon (best in high water) with electric motor, canoe, aluminum boat, and a paddle boat for 2 are all provided for your sole use during your stay.

Off-street and alongside road parking. Republic Island is the home of excellent fishing, bird watching (a bald eagle nests nearby), and canoeing.

Activities near the Island/Large group option: Canoeing, pontooning along the river, fishing and swimming at the beach are all fun activities. Relaxing with a good book and listening to the sounds of nature is my personal favorite.

Marquette County: Rated as a Top 5 Mountain Biking Destination by Bike Magazine

Ojibwa Casino: 1 hour, 8 miles East of Marquette or Kewadin Casino in Baraga: 1 hour Northwest of the Island.

Pictured Rocks Boat Cruises: 1 hour 45 minutes (Munising)

Dog sledding: 1 hour 45 minutes (Munising)

Snowmobiling: Enjoy 25,000 miles of trails

Visit the Historic Republic Mine: 2 miles

U.S. Ski Hall of Fame - Ishpeming: 14 miles

If you'd to visit the Island with more than 6 people, we do have a 1/2 duplex in the town of South Republic, just 6 miles South of the Island. The duplex has 3 bedrooms-sleeps 8 total. We also have a 5 bedroom/4 bath Lodge in Rapid River (1 1/2 hours Southeast of the Island.) Call for details.

For more information: Go to www.upmichiganrentals.com

Getting to this water-access only Island: Getting to and from the island: You can park your car in either the off-street parking or along the small asphalt road. The boat landing is approximately a 8-10 foot walk down to the dock. Then, hop in the boat and either row or use the motor over to the island. It is approximately a 5 minute row or a 1 minute motor ride (approximately 100 yards). Once you've crossed the river, from the dock to the cabin on the island is a casual winding walk of approximately 50 feet up to the cabin.

*Boats and motors subject to change without notice for required maintenance or environmental needs We can guarantee that you will have transportation to the Island, yet we cannot guarantee that all modes will be available when you arrive. We do our best to ensure that they are all available and that the motors are in working order.

*If there is not someone in your group who is willing and able to row/paddle (if needed) 100 yards to the Island, then the Island vacation may not be for you.

The Island Experience: The Island is very quiet. There are many times you can hear silence. An American Bald Eagle has nested and flies near the Island. If you are interested in the Island, you need to keep in mind that you are actually in the wilderness. Nature abounds, creatures great and small are part of your experience.

The Island is ideal for out-doorsy couples seeking romance and peace or for small families who love to fish with creature comforts of home. Beware: If ANY member of your group is not out-doorsy, or is afraid of the sounds, sites or smells of the wilderness, then your trip will be contaminated. The Island is too small of an area to escape from negativity.

**Everyone in your group must be able to entertain themselves (fishing, reading, exploring nature, non-selective TV/DVD watching) in order to enjoy the Island experience.

Budget-minded option for additional guests: We have a 3 bedroom 1/2 duplex in town. It has a large kitchen, big screen TV (cable) and a washer/dryer.

More Details
Hide Details

Mark and I are both from the Metro Detroit Area (with roots in both Sterling Heights and Allen Park--we now live in Wyandotte.) Mark spent many years of his youth in Buffalo, NY. Mark is superman in disguise and has been a steelworker for 36 years climbing, inspecting and repairing cranes. I spent my 20s traveling the world via my wonderful Peace Corps experience in Paraguay and teaching at the International School Bangkok in Thailand. My 30s were spent teaching high school in Detroit and enjoying working at Borders. Mark and I have 4 children-- 3 adult children + our sweet 4 year old.

Freshwater Vacation Rentals purchased this cabin in 2005

Cara (glancing through a real estate catalog while driving through Michigan's Upper Peninsula) to Mark: 'How cool. A private island for sale!'

Mark: 'We can't afford it.'' (implying that as a teacher and steelworker, those ideas are crazy)

\Cara: 'But...... perhaps.....other people would find it just as neat of an idea and want to rent it.

Mark: 'That's an idea.'

Then, the owner let us spend the night on the Island. We realized that this 18000s cabin would take a lot of work to get it up to a good condition. Still, we figured we were up for the challenge, even though we lived 9 hours away. We have since developed many local relationships so that we are able to maintain the property.

Not many people have an opportunity to stay on a deeded private island with no other cabins and a sweet sense of peace and tranquility.. We offer 4 simple boats, as a boat is the only way to get across the 300 feet to the Island.

History buffs will love the real logs that were hand cut and placed to create the cabin. Privacy seekers will love the peace and tranquility. Nature lovers will enjoy seeing all types critters and small animals. I love when the eagle nests on the Island. Fishermen/women will love the ease of fishing right off the Island, or taking the boat just feet from shore. Adventure seekers will love the whole experience of an unpredictable vacation where you can truly make the fun your own.

10 Reviews of Property 126101 in Michigamme River, Michigan

Private Island on Michigamme River in the Upper Peninsula of Michigan
average rating of 5.0 based on 10 reviews
business
Private Island on Michigamme River in the Upper Peninsula of Michigan
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p126101
+1 734-284-5677
Michigamme River Upper Peninsula Michigan
Port Washington, WI
5

Crossing the river to a bygone time

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 19, 2007
  • Stayed: Sep 2007
The Republic Island getaway cabin in Michigan's Upper Peninsula proved to be an ideal place for my wife and I to celebrate the countless adventures we have experienced during our 10 years together.
The log cabin on the Michigamme River brings the "roughing it" experience adventurers want with most of the modern conveniences.
Getting to the cabin requires a bit of a leap of faith, since you need to to use the provide canoe, rowboat or paddle boat to reach the isolated lodging (which is actually located atop a peninsula that juts into the river). The boat ride allows you to feel you are leaving your day-to-day worries behind in the roadside parking area.
Hauling baggage and a week's worth of supplies across the river makes the island of limited appeal to some, but there is a sense you earned your stay once you get to the island.
A few minutes of paddling, and you reach the dock, where a pontoon boat awaits. The beauty of nature quickly envelopes you. A short climb takes you to the cabin, a real log cabin with a modern-day addition.
If you go to Republic Island expecting modern hotel services, you will be disappointed. But if you are open to adventure, it is a sheer delight.
The large living room has a view of the river on one side, and a striking stone fireplace on another. The furniture is comfy, as you would expect from a well-lived-in cabin. Unexpectedly, the room features a TV with a DVD player and a surprisingly large collection of movies and TV shows.
But you don't go to Republic Island for the video entertainment — there are gorgeous scenes of the river and trees from every room.
The bedrooms are small, but more than adequate. The same can be said about the bathroom, which features a shower stall.
The kitchen offers all your cooking need, including a spectator gallery created by the line of stools that line the breaks bar. A stove, refrigerator, microwave oven, toaster and coffe maker are available. A charcoal grill and a gas grill are offered on the deck, located through sliding glass doors from the kitchen. The place cries for outdoor dining and coffee sipping whenever possible.
We loved watching the myriad of birds flitting through the trees and on the river. We saw eagles, mocking birds, mergansers, jays and woodpeckers. Tracks in the riverside mud showed frequent four-footed visitors, too.
Fishing from the dock or any of the provided boats can provide a challenge for even the avid angler.
The greatest appeal of Republic Island is the solitude — often the loudest noise you'll hear is the wind blowing through the towering pines.
We loved our stay and plan to return to our Anniversary Island.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 98/98
business
Private Island on Michigamme River in the Upper Peninsula of Michigan
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p126101
+1 734-284-5677
Michigamme River Upper Peninsula Michigan
5

PERFECT FAMILY GETAWAY.....TRULY AMAZING =)

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 12, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Spent the week together with my daughter and her boyfriend just before they left for college, and my teenage son and his best friend as well as my husband and my puppy. Absolutely loved the cabin! So beautiful and peaceful and secluded. Much to do around the area and explore with the family. Played a lot of board games included with the cabin (the newlywed game was the best!). Lots of fish were caught and ate up =) The heated floor and the shower were great...lots of water pressure and everyone had their own room thanks to the fold out loveseat. Also the wifi was great. Firepit, hammock, patio, grill, you name it...we utilized it...including the indoor fireplace when it was raining we roasted marshmallows..lol What an excellent getaway for you and your family and Kara was great and more than helpful....the local guide and the notebook with entries helped us find the best fishing spots (even though my husbands bobber is still attached to one of the fish...lol) We had an awesome time and can't wait to get together and book another week as soon as we get the chance <3 Thank you Kara for the accurate description of the property. It was even more beautiful than the pictures and was very clean and well taken care of....I have recommended this vacation spot to everyone I see, especially those with fur-babies....our dog just loved being able to go with us WHAT AN ADVENTURE!!
business
Private Island on Michigamme River in the Upper Peninsula of Michigan
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p126101
+1 734-284-5677
Michigamme River Upper Peninsula Michigan
Kalamazoo, MI
5

A Week On a Private Island

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
The property was clean and well-maintained. Honestly, they thought of everything, right down to spices in the kitchen. Cara was super-friendly and helpful. The cabin was well appointed. Beds were comfy. Heated bathroom floor was a huge plus. We were able to bring our dog, who loved the trip, but has decided she isn't much into fishing. We saw a MOOSE from the jon boat, which was a rare treat. Also had the opportunity to view a doe and her fawn. Caught lots of fish, cooked and ate most of them. Water was pretty low, which is normal for the fall, so we weren't able to use the pontoon, but the jon boat worked just fine. We brought our own trolling motor and battery. If you aren't into rowing, consider it. Well worth the added effort. The listing was pretty accurate, so we knew what to expect. The information packet was helpful. I would recommend this property to any friend or relative who desires a true "get the heck away from everyone else" adventure. I would not recommend it to anyone with any mobility issues. We fished everyday. I am a fishing maniac. My husband isn't. But the location was great, so there were plenty of opportunities to take photos. The Island is located really close to a number of other areas. It was surprising how easy it was to get to Lake Michigamme, Houghton, Hancock, etc. We toured the Quincy Mine in Hancock. If you go, try Tony's steak house on US41. Great food. If you want a really nice, decently priced meal, I would highly recommend Mt. Shasta right outside of Michigamme. The food was excellent, as was the service. The place is very cozy, an 1800's log cabin. And it was the site of filming Anatomy of a Murder, with some interesting stories / pics on display. We will be back, and are also so impressed with the management we are looking forward to renting other properties they manage in Michigan. Could not be happier!!!
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Private Island on Michigamme River in the Upper Peninsula of Michigan
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p126101
+1 734-284-5677
Michigamme River Upper Peninsula Michigan
5

Peace

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
There's no better way to describe the Republic Island than a place of peace. The cabin is well maintained and well equipt, thus it allowed time to partake in the important things in life, like fishing. If you like smallmouth bass, be sure to venture to the second bridge by canoe. I caught some dandies there.

Until next time, Peace.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Private Island on Michigamme River in the Upper Peninsula of Michigan
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p126101
+1 734-284-5677
Michigamme River Upper Peninsula Michigan
Traverse City, MI
5

Highly recommended!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We LOVED our stay here: we were able to relax on the island in the mornings, and explore the little towns in the U.P. in the afternoon and evening. Great location allowed us all the comforts of home (wifi for our teenagers) and a secluded, private setting. The cabin seems rustic at first glance, but it's been well cared for and updated: believe it or not, the bathroom floor is tiled and heated! The owners were genuinely glad for us to be there, and provided us with all the information we needed. We kept in touch via cell phone and text. We would recommend this to any family looking for a unique, secluded vacation spot.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Private Island on Michigamme River in the Upper Peninsula of Michigan
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p126101
+1 734-284-5677
Michigamme River Upper Peninsula Michigan
Madison, Wisconsin
5

Great outdoorsy, relaxing vacation!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 6, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
The cabin was exactly what we were looking for: quiet, out of the way, but close enough to go into town if we needed to. A great place to relax and disconnect. We really enjoyed the island, but I think our Lab enjoyed it more than we did! The heated floor in the bath was great and the cabin interior was really comfy. There are two fire pits with chairs (which was really nice because the wind could be avoided).

My husband enjoyed fishing on the river and I enjoyed curling up with a book by the fire. We had a great time and would definitely recommend the cabin for anyone looking to really relax and have a low key vacation.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Private Island on Michigamme River in the Upper Peninsula of Michigan
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p126101
+1 734-284-5677
Michigamme River Upper Peninsula Michigan
Colfax,In USA
5

Home away from home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 11, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
As you drive down River road you start getting the feeling that you are on a great get away. When you get to the cabin you feel relaxed and peacefull. The wild life is a new scene everyday. I will have to say I am very jealous of the Bald Eagle as he can catch fish better then me. This was our second trip to the Island. We decided to spend two weeks this time. There are enough day trips to take you will need two weeks or more, or just come back year after year. You will not be disappointed. I know we were not. When it was time to leave we wish we did not have to go. The peace and quite the island offers is an experience like no other. Mark and Cara have done a great job of keeping the island up. You have everything in the cabin you will need.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 13/13
business
Private Island on Michigamme River in the Upper Peninsula of Michigan
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p126101
+1 734-284-5677
Michigamme River Upper Peninsula Michigan
Plano, IL
5

Fantasic Cabin

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 11, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
We actually were invited to go stay at this cabin with 2 friends of ours, and well we were like sure we have never been this far north. We live in IL. Looked cute and hidden away. We also were able to bring our dogs..which I might add LOVED it I was able to not worry about them just let them out the dog and on they went sniffing. I don't know what those grown evergreen's were but they just layed in them. We only stayed 3 nights after the 2nd night I wanted to stay longer but had to be back to work on Monday so sadly that was not going to happen. I have booked this place for just me and my husband for a week.

We are looking forward to our stay. We want to stay longer so we can enjoy how peaceful it is and also maybe have time to explore around. We also went to an antique shop in town it was very nice and the guy there was very helpful We can not wait till our next stay and I am sure the dogs are looking forward to it as well.

If you are looking for a place to enjoy peace and quite this is your place I say stay more then a weekend tho because you will not want to leave. Also there is a log in the cabin from the people who have stayed here it is very entertaining I sat and read that for a few hours.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind words! We love the Island and are thrilled to be able to share it with others. We are constantly looking for ways to make it even more comfortable.

You are right, before our dog passed, he loved the freedom the Island gave him too. I loved that I didn't have to worry about bothering anyone nearby, as I did when we stayed in a hotel with him. Our only challenge was that after a couple years, he had the courage to swim the 300 feet across the Michigamme River, to the roadside, when we were getting something out of our car.

Look for the Island featured in the July/August 2011 issue of Midwest Living Magazine. We are so excited to be given that opportunity. We appreciate our wonderfu guests, such as yourselves, who bring your positive energy to the Island and take such great care of it, as well as the cabin, when you stay. Thank you from the bottom of my heart.
Helpful votes: 15/15
business
Private Island on Michigamme River in the Upper Peninsula of Michigan
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p126101
+1 734-284-5677
Michigamme River Upper Peninsula Michigan
Kenosha, WI
5

Rest and Relaxation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 19, 2010
  • Stayed: Oct 2010
After a week of rest and relaxation we went away rejuvenated and ready to tackle our everyday high stressed lives. The hammock was a nice surprise. Loved the stone fireplace and heated bathroom floor.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
Private Island on Michigamme River in the Upper Peninsula of Michigan
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p126101
+1 734-284-5677
Michigamme River Upper Peninsula Michigan
Holt, Mi
5

Good Week

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 27, 2008
  • Stayed: Jul 2008
A very good week, accomodations were great, weather was great, fish were not hungry, but caught some. Lots of nature and quiet. Easy access to Marquette, Mi
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 27/33