South Lake Tahoe house rental
 
  • Bedrooms5
  • Sleeps14
  • 4 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

South Lake Tahoe House Rental Photos and Description
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14

This spectacular, prize-winning executive home is on Lake Tahoe's South Shore. To reach the front door, one must enter into a great stone cavern formed by massive granite boulders under a sod roof. The end of the fifty by thirty-five foot living room is formed by a single stone. In the center of this great room lies another boulder and a mossy trout pond. This brings indoors the natural beauty of the surrounding landscape, patios, and lawns. Two gigantic fireplaces rise and pass through the room's twenty-three foot ceiling. Overlooking all of this are two sweeping, curved balconies which provide additional views of the mountain peaks and green forests that have made the Tahoe Basin world famous.

'Stonehenge' is a beautiful vacation home built on a rocky ridge overlooking the woods and meadows of Tahoe Valley and the crest of the snow-capped Sierra Nevada. It is located at the edge of the El Dorado National Forest and no house or rooftop, nor street or wire, mar its magnificent view.

http://www.Tahoestonehenge.com: The end of the 50 by 35 foot living room is formed by a single stone. In the center of this great room lies another boulder and a mossy trout pond, bringing the natural beauty of the surrounding landscape, patio and lawns inside. Opposite the living room's glass solarium is the dining room, breakfast corner and tiled kitchen. Two gigantic fireplaces rise and pass through the room's 23 foot ceiling. Overlooking all of this are two sweeping, curved balconies which provide additional views of the mountain peaks and green forests that have made the Tahoe Basin world famous. Each bedroom is decorated with a unique and distinctive decor, the Greek Myth room, the Timberline room, Tyrolean, Mediterranean and Wildlife room. The unusual Austrian-styled 'Strube' has its own stucco fireplace and provides a separate hideaway for games or intimate conversation. A library contains books and memorabilia gathered in travels to distant parts of the world.

tahoestonehenge.com: Mountain climbers who sometimes scale the boulders near 'Stonehenge' acclaim its distinctive setting, intimate and blending with the environment, isolated, yet only five minutes from the center of town, elegantly styled but with a homespun sort of warmth.

More Details
Hide Details

17 Reviews of Property 126001 in South Lake Tahoe, California

Tahoe 'Stonehenge'... the Home No One Can Forget... Spectacular!
average rating of 5.0 based on 17 reviews
business
Tahoe 'Stonehenge'... the Home No One Can Forget... Spectacular!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p126001
+1 530 544 1920
South Lake Tahoe Lake Tahoe South Shore
5

Unique cabin in a beautiful location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We stayed at Stonehenge for a weekend and loved it. There are 5 queen beds so it can sleep 10 easily. We were 15 but we were able to find nooks and crannies so we could all fit in. It is a very warm and cozy cabin built while preserving the natural elements of the area. The owners are wonderful people and we had a chance to interact with them a bit which added to our appreciation of the cabin as they apparently built it by hand. The hot tub outside was great as it allowed us to relax both evenings after a long day out. There is a small negative - the place is about a 15 min drive to the casinos (but it is balanced by the beautiful location which would not be possible if the place was closer to the heart of town). I would definitely stay here again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Tahoe 'Stonehenge'... the Home No One Can Forget... Spectacular!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p126001
+1 530 544 1920
South Lake Tahoe Lake Tahoe South Shore
fallbrook ca
5

Unique property

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
What a beautiful home with fantastic views. Rosemarie and Robin made sure our stay in Lake Tahoe was memorable. Our entire family was impressed with our choice of this property for our family reunion. I guarantee we will be looking forward to coming back next year.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
Tahoe 'Stonehenge'... the Home No One Can Forget... Spectacular!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p126001
+1 530 544 1920
South Lake Tahoe Lake Tahoe South Shore
United States
5

Sublime, unusual and AWESOME

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Wow. This property is so cool. I agree with another reviewer who said the pictures don't do it justice! The house is the most unique house I've ever been in--each room has its own character, and there's a giant boulder and stream running right through the middle! But also, it's so comfortable and relaxing--the huge windows let in light from all sides, the kitchen is well-equipped, the beds extremely comfortable. My husband and I stayed for two nights and wished we could stay for another week or more. The vistas are gorgeous. You can sit and have breakfast watching bunnies and blue jays darting about in the yard or have a glass of wine in the hottub while stargazing. Because the windows at the back of the house all face the mountains, it feels extra secluded. We want to come back as soon as possible and share the experience with friends--it's a perfect place to have big dinner parties outside as the sun sets over the mountains.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Dear Lexa. I am very happy you enjoyed your stay at Stonehenge.Thank you for letting me know. Please come again. ROSMARIE
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Tahoe 'Stonehenge'... the Home No One Can Forget... Spectacular!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p126001
+1 530 544 1920
South Lake Tahoe Lake Tahoe South Shore
Meyers, CA
5

Can't wait to return!

Can't wait to return!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
This house was perfect for our group. It's in the perfect location, off the beaten path yet close to skiing and the lake. And it's built around giant boulders that add to the mountain house experience -- it's probably the coolest place we have ever stayed, and we can't stop talking about it! The huge yet cozy house has all the amenities one could want, including a hot tub to sit in and stargaze from. I wish we never had to leave! It's worth a stay for the views alone.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Tahoe 'Stonehenge'... the Home No One Can Forget... Spectacular!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p126001
+1 530 544 1920
South Lake Tahoe Lake Tahoe South Shore
Meyers, CA
5

An Amazing Tahoe Experience

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
I love Stonehenge! This special house is perfect for a getaway with friends or wedding parties, any group that wants to stay together but enjoy their privacy -- the house is spacious and relaxing. The views are unsurpassed, the Sierra and Desolation Wilderness are just outside the door. And the house is built around and amongst boulders--it's unique, and my friends who have stayed here can't stop talking about it. Stonehenge has all amenities, and plenty of room--you'll feel tucked away, but in comfort and luxury. It's close to everything that South Lake Tahoe has to offer, but its location is quiet and perfect for stargazing from the hot tub. Stonehenge is truly magnificent and an unforgettable experience--you won't find any place like it!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Tahoe 'Stonehenge'... the Home No One Can Forget... Spectacular!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p126001
+1 530 544 1920
South Lake Tahoe Lake Tahoe South Shore
San Francisco, CA, United States
5

Spectacular and unique vacation home!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
My friends and I rented Stonehenge for a winter ski weekend. We absolutely loved its character, views, and amenities. It was clearly built with a lot of love, and every detail (and oh my, there are many details!) succeeds in making it a warm and welcoming place to stay. The views are incredible, and we spent far too long in the hot tub, identifying various constellations in the clear, starry mountain sky. We hope to return for another adventure sometime!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Tahoe 'Stonehenge'... the Home No One Can Forget... Spectacular!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p126001
+1 530 544 1920
South Lake Tahoe Lake Tahoe South Shore
Malibu California USA
5

Outstanding

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 29, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
Dear Rosmarie,
Thank you for all your gracious hospitality. Your home is like no other. We are still in awe and have not been able to stop telling our friends what an incredible vacation we had in Lake Tahoe. We are planning to make this an annual family affair.
Gary and the Gang
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Dear Gary and the Gang,
The pleasure was all mine. Thank you for being such terrific guests.
I look forward to seeing you again.
Rosmarie
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Tahoe 'Stonehenge'... the Home No One Can Forget... Spectacular!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p126001
+1 530 544 1920
South Lake Tahoe Lake Tahoe South Shore
pollock pines
5

Honored to share this dream

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 29, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
The pictures and descriptions of this home do not do it justice!
From the moment you enter the Boulder faced entrance your eyes and imagination will fill you with envy as you take in the home.
Windows in all directions let the mountains and landscaping complete the picture.
From dawn to dusk we saw marmots, rabbits, squirrels, chipmonks and birds galore.
The floor plan allows for groups and privacy.The bedrooms and baths are good sized and comfy. Radiant floor heat, ample linens and supplies in each.

This is a one of a kind house and we feel honored to have stayed here.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you, Steve for your glowing report on your impressions of Stonehenge!!!
The fact that we built it ourselves makes your descriptions especially gratifying. We never really thought, when in the design and construction, that others, like yourself would find it so pleasing. We are most appreciative .please come back again rosmarie
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Tahoe 'Stonehenge'... the Home No One Can Forget... Spectacular!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p126001
+1 530 544 1920
South Lake Tahoe Lake Tahoe South Shore
Napa, CA, usa
5

Fantastic Sierra Dream Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
A very unusual property from the cave entrance to the giant boulders inside of the home to the gorgeous mountain setting - Stonehenge has it all!! We stayed several nights and woke each morning feeling as if we were the only people visiting Tahoe. The setting is very private with fantastic mountain views from every window. The seating areas on many levels allow you to spread out and take it all in. The various rooms (wine room, Greek bedroom, fur bedroom) add to the uniqueness of this home. The owners obviously crafted a most unique and comfortable home. We were provided with all the amenities necessary to enjoy a most relaxing stay. We will return again to Stonehenge as we felt we had truly stayed in the High Sierra in this home.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you my wonderful guests.
All the best-
Rosmarie
Helpful votes: 10/10
business
Tahoe 'Stonehenge'... the Home No One Can Forget... Spectacular!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p126001
+1 530 544 1920
South Lake Tahoe Lake Tahoe South Shore
Napa, CA, usa
5

WOW - A true Sierra Hideaway!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
A very unusual property from the cave entrance to the giant boulders inside of the home to the gorgeous mountain setting - Stonehenge has it all!! We stayed several nights and woke each morning feeling as if we were the only people visiting Tahoe. The setting is very private with fantastic mountain views from every window. The seating areas on many levels allow you to spread out and take it all in. The various rooms (wine room, Greek bedroom, fur bedroom) add to the uniqueness of this home. The owners obviously crafted a most unique and comfortable home. We were provided with all the amenities necessary to enjoy a most relaxing stay. We will return again to Stonehenge as we felt we had truly stayed in the High Sierra in this home.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Dear Ron,
It is guests like you who make me happy to share Stonehenge.
Please come back!
Helpful votes: 1/1