Lancaster house rental - Your hammock is waiting.
Your hammock is waiting.
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps8
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Lancaster House Rental Photos and Description
Comfortable, thoughtful accommodation for 8-9, 5 BR, 3 BA, gorgeous views

The Chilton Summer House offers abundant comfort, recreation, and relaxation for your family and friends on Virginia's Northern Neck. Situated on the wide expanse of the Rappahannock just upstream from the Chesapeake Bay, the water views are endless and the sunsets are spectacular. The Chilton Summer House is located about 20 minutes by land, ferry, or water from the Kilmarnock/Irvington area, where you can discover the trendy shops, restaurants, antiques, art galleries and golf courses. Nearby Belle Isle State Park offers boat and bike rentals and walking trails. Rich historical sites are a short drive. Too ambitious? Then just relax on the veranda or doze in the hammock on the riverbank. The bright and spacious newly remodeled home is located on a quiet gravel lane with plenty of privacy. The large great room looks out on the water. TV room is separate. Full bath and 1 BR on the first floor. 2 baths and 2 2-bedroom suites on the 2nd floor. Indoor or outdoor dining. Come and enjoy!

Northern Neck Sightseeing and Activities: -Stratford Hall - Lee family ancestral home on the Potomac; beautiful example of Virginian Colonial architecture and excellent historical tour; nice gift shop, walking trails and restaurant on the expansive property

-Martha Ball Washington museum, Lancaster - home of George Washington's mother

-Historic Christ Church in Irvington

-Reedsville Fisherman's museum

-Motorboat, kayak, and bike rentals at Belle Isle State Park

-Saturday night concerts at Belle Isle State Park

-Westmoreland Berry Farm

-Ferry to Tangier Island

-Charter boat fishing on the Chesapeake

-Antiques and art galleries in Kilmarnock/Irvington

-Golf in Kilmarnock/Irvington

-Restaurants and shops in Kilmarnock/Irvington

-Easy day trip to Williamsburg

-Easy day trip to Mount Vernon and DC museums

Golf, marinas, charters: LOTS more photos available. Contact bajosselyn@gmail.com

Golf lovers in your group? Check out the variety of golf courses in and around Kilmarnock - Golden Eagle, The Tartan, and others.

Nearby Marinas - Greenvale Marina on the Rappahannock, and Yankee Point Marina on the Carrotoman.

Charter boats, out of irvington and Weems.

Parties and Weddings: For parties and weddings: The Chilton Summer House is not equipped for large parties - but there are great party and wedding facilities available at nearby Belle Isle State Park. We'll be happy to accomodate your wedding party or guests, but regret that the Chilton House cannot host the actual celebration.

More Details
Hide Details

5 Reviews of Property 125623 in Lancaster, Virginia

Chilton House, relax and refresh w waterfront recreation, gorgeous sunset views
average rating of 5.0 based on 5 reviews
business
Chilton House, relax and refresh w waterfront recreation, gorgeous sunset views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p125623
540 882-3468
Lancaster Chesapeake Bay - Northern Neck
5

Simply perfect!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We had a week long stay with 4 generations (80- 10 months) and each and every one of us had an incredible time. The views are outstanding and can be enjoyed inside, outside, upstairs, and down. There was so much room for all of us to both be together- and find pockets of alone time too. They provided for all of our needs- towels, linens, appliances- they had it all. The well appointed kitchen made it is easy to eat at home all week long- and really, once you get here you won't want to leave. There were games, kayaks, floats, and of course the wonderful river with little beach that was perfect for the kiddos. We kayaked, sawm, napped in the hammock, and just enjoyed the beauty of nature. In town we went to a charming small town parade for the 4th and got to watch fireworks shoot off over the river from the comfort of the backyard. Truly a dream location! Barbara was such a delight to work with, charming and accommodating. Thank you, thank you, thank you!
Owner's Response: Samantha

Thank you so much! It is because it is such a relaxing and comfortable place that we enjoy sharing it with other families. And always so gratifying to hear stories like yours about generations relaxing and playing together!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Chilton House, relax and refresh w waterfront recreation, gorgeous sunset views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p125623
540 882-3468
Lancaster Chesapeake Bay - Northern Neck
5

Amazing Sunsets!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
The pictures of the Chilton House do NOT do it justice! As soon as you walk in the door you are hit in the face by the beautiful views of the river! Sunset on the river is amazing. The house has everything you could possible imagine and then some!
We made trips to Williamsburg, Busch Gardens & Water Country USA. After that we were ready to just relax. The Chilton House was perfect for relaxation and hanging by the water all day. If you are in the house relaxing, it is hard to find a window without a view.

Thank you for sharing your amazing vacation home with us!
The Ritter Family and The Williams Family
Mount Gilead and Cardington, Ohio
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Chilton House, relax and refresh w waterfront recreation, gorgeous sunset views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p125623
540 882-3468
Lancaster Chesapeake Bay - Northern Neck
Brooklyn, New York
5

A fine time on the river

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 31, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
Chilton House is terrific, the pictures do not quite do it justice. It is a lovely up to date house and was a wonderful place for our family to gather this past August. Ten of us were able to stay there in comfort, it might be a squeeze for more, but possible... plenty of couches. The rambling layout on the ground floor is well suited for large groups. There is a great open kitchen and plenty of space for people to spread out. The location is remote but wonderful with the river just down the wide grassy bank in front of the house and a small dock for fishing or launching the small fleet of available water toys (3 kayaks, numerous large floats). For nature lovers and those who enjoy their own company this is an ideal getaway, birds and fish abound, on a couple of occasions we were able to kayak right amongst dolphin! For those who want more in the way of evening entertainment than fabulous sunsets and herons headed home to roost, this might not be a good fit as the small surrounding towns are a good ways off and there didn't seem to be much going on in them. There is history on the peninsula, though, and wonderful old churches, the birthplaces of George Washington, Robert E. Lee, and James Monroe, picturesque farms and villages, and a growing vineyard scene (not to mention nearly empty roads) making daytime exploration of the area, by car or bike, a pleasure.We brought our own canoe and the mild nature of the river was ideal for paddling, bird watching (Osprey, Eagles, Herons), and fishing. We fed the whole family one night on croaker pulled that day from the river and grilled whole on the available gas grill. Delicious! The nearest shopping is about 15 miles away so it is a good idea to stock up when you shop or bring food with you. There are farm stands in the area for fresh produce and be sure to try boiling or steaming blue crabs. A local delicacy that is well worth the effort in the eating. Drawbacks? When the winds drop or shift from landward there can be a lot of biting flies to contend with. If it were my house I would screen in either the area under the portico or the deck outside the kitchen. Skeeters, flies, and other nibblers were my family's main complaint, and with the sweet evening breezes it was frustrating to have to stay inside. We were also concerned about stinging nettles in the water, but it seems that in late August they die off. We saw few. In all, Chilton House provided my family a great place for an active summer get together.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
Chilton House, relax and refresh w waterfront recreation, gorgeous sunset views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p125623
540 882-3468
Lancaster Chesapeake Bay - Northern Neck
UK - SE England
5

Chilton House Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 18, 2008
  • Stayed: Sep 2008
This is a delighhtful, tastefully decorated house that more than lives up to its description. The photos on the website to not do it justice.

The facilities and accommodation are excellent with plenty of living space downstairs. The bedrooms are spacious but for a larger familiy understanding that one of the upstairs bedrooms leads off another may be important.

The location is very quiet with beautiful views. While it is deep in the Northern Neck countryside we found no difficulty visiting places such as Williamsburg - there is plenty or as little to do as you like..
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 10/10
business
Chilton House, relax and refresh w waterfront recreation, gorgeous sunset views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p125623
540 882-3468
Lancaster Chesapeake Bay - Northern Neck
Elgin, IL, USA
5

A lot of home for the price, a great family house!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 22, 2008
  • Stayed: Jun 2007
The home is very roomy and comfortable. The waterfront location is peaceful and the views out the back windows and doors of the house are amazing. You can relax in the Adirondack chairs in the backyard or on the hammock.

It's about a 15-minute drive to the Belle Isle State Park.

The house had everything we needed for a great family trip, and I'd definitely recommend staying there! It was a great alternative to the hotels in the area.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 13/13