Old Center house boat rental - Houseboat with snow
Houseboat with snow
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Old Center House Boat Rental Photos and Description
House Boat, 3 Bedrooms, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 3-6)

Hercules Seghers is a more than 100 years old and authentic houseboat on the most beautiful historic canal of Amsterdam. The boat is fully equipped for a nice, sunny and relaxed stay aboard. The Hercules Seghers is located under the Zuiderkerk

The Zuiderkerk was constructed between 1603 and 1611 and stands on the 'Zuiderkerkhof' square near the Sint Antoniesbreestraat. The distinctive church tower, which dominates the surrounding area, was not completed until 1614 and contains a carillon of bells built by the brothers Hemony, installed in 1656.

- The Rembrandt huis is around the corner on 1 min walk

- The Dam, Nieuwmarkt, Waterloomarket, and the red light district are on a 5 min walk.

The Hercules Seghers location is the best you can have in Amsterdam! Really in the hart of town but on the most quiet canal. You will be surprised how quiet Amsterdam can be!!

As to respect our guests, smoking is ONLY allowed in the WHEELHOUSE.

As to respect our neighbours, we do not want GROUPS or PARTY'S.

Just installed new 42' flatscreen with playstation 3 in the living room for more entertainment. See also youtube and search for: raamgracht concert

Keywords: Houseboat

More Details
Hide Details

I've travelled the world and still do. So, if I'm not home in Amsterdam, I share my lovely houseboat with friends from all over the world. You're very welcome in my town and house!

It's a place so uniquely situated that I couldn't resist buying it when it came on my way, we use it mainly as our family house and share it from time to time with friends.

Sight seeing, family fun, reunions of friends, museum visits, concerts, strolling through town, fishing and making trips on the canals.

7 Reviews of Property 125595 in Old Center, Netherlands

Unique Modernised Houseboat in the Heart of Amsterdam
average rating of 4.714286 based on 7 reviews
business
Unique Modernised Houseboat in the Heart of Amsterdam
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p125595vb
+31 621243255
Old Center Amsterdam
Rio de Janeiro, Brasil
5

Perfect place to stay in Amsterdam

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
I stayed at Hercules Seghers with more four friends for five days. It was an amazing experience! At a first moment, we was afraid to stay in a houseboat because it was winter but the boat has heating. We were carefully received for the owner John with coffee, tea, typical cookies and several all guides of Amsterdan.
The location is perfect, we did everything in the city by foot with the advantage to can go back to the boat for lunch and dinner. The boat has also cable tv, internet, computer, dishwashing machine, piano, etc. It’s very cozy and comfortable, we enjoyed a great time in there and would not be same if we had stayed in a Hotel. We strongly recommend Hercules and hope to go again!!!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Unique Modernised Houseboat in the Heart of Amsterdam
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p125595vb
+31 621243255
Old Center Amsterdam
Sarasota, Florida
4

The Perfect Traveler's Reunion

The Perfect Traveler's Reunion
  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 19, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
We selected Amsterdam for a week-long reunion of traveling friends because our flights connected through Schiphol airport. We selected Hercules for something a little different and for the value. In our group of six, three were returning from 2 weeks in Uganda, two coming from London and one from Florida. We were all new to Amsterdam and found the central location of the boat perfect for our outings. A'dam is a walker's city and being centrally located is a plus. But really, with such good public transportation, you can get anywhere form anyplace in the city. Or even the outlying areas. We took one day trip to Haarlem on the train.

Hercules is as the owners have advertised her. She has all the comforts which they described and they are helpful and gracious hosts. And they leave you alone to enjoy the boat and the city. Everything... from the cable TV, Wi-Fi, well equipped galley with appliances, heat, hot water, toilet facilities...worked as needed. (A printer would have been useful.) The weather was not unusual for March (over-night lows in the mid-40's) but our concerns about adequate heat were unfounded. Hercules is toasty warm, although the bedroom alcoves were chilly. Lots of comforters. Others may find that sleeping space access is limited, but it was not a problem for our group of seniors.

I would warn less agile travelers that the companionway from the wheelhouse to the living area is steep. Also, entry into the shower can be challenging. But these small inconveniences are outweighed by the charm of the quite canal setting and the soothing chime of the nearby church bell.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Unique Modernised Houseboat in the Heart of Amsterdam
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p125595vb
+31 621243255
Old Center Amsterdam
Harrison, Arkansas, USA
5

Wonderful Reunion Location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 25, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
We stayed for a week in mid September with our grown children and were so pleased with the location. We had no trouble sleeping during the day when we first arrived - very quiet canal and neighborhood. On Friday and Saturday evening, we had drinks on the deck and watched as boat after boat of tourists, birthday parties, wedding celebrations, and diners came by on charter boats. They seemed amused as we toasted them and took their picture! We were able to walk to all attractions and were only a 20 minute walk from Central Station dragging our suitcases. Our thanks to our hosts for leaving us snacks in the fridge and taking such good care of us. The Hercules is spacious, bright and very, very comfortable. There is a computer on board and wi-fi, however no printer. We were unable to print boarding passes and tickets to museums or events that we purchased online. We finally found a print shop, however, no weekend hours. Other than a printer, we felt our stay was perfect and beautiful.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Unique Modernised Houseboat in the Heart of Amsterdam
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p125595vb
+31 621243255
Old Center Amsterdam
Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
5

Wonderful way to stay in Amsterdam

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 19, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
We stayed in the houseboat last summer with our two children, ages 5 and 2, and loved it. The owners were extremely helpful and left the fridge stocked with delicious snacks and a bottle of sparkling wine. The boat was in a fabulous (and relatively quiet) location in the heart of the city, and it was clean and very well maintained. My children were delighted to stay in a boat, and fed baby coots every day off of the boat's deck. We were pleasantly surprised by how spacious and airy the inside of the boat felt. We have already recommended the boat to friends and will be happy to stay there again should we have the opportunity.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Unique Modernised Houseboat in the Heart of Amsterdam
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p125595vb
+31 621243255
Old Center Amsterdam
Dhahran Saudi Arabia
4

Great location and spacious houseboat

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 25, 2010
  • Stayed: Sep 2010
My husband and I stayed on the Hurcules Seghers for two nights this September 2010. The boat is quite large and the quality made kitchen is modern and has all you need to prepare a meal. Upon arrival the owner met us and showed us around the boat. He demonstrated how to use the gas oven and espresso coffee maker. I highly recommend that future guests ask the owner to demonstrate the use of the wireless internet. We did not, and we were never able to get online via wireless. The internet code is in the welcome book but there are many servers and we did not know which one to use nor could we find out even though we asked the owners on the phone and via email. We were never given the name of the server so we were not able to use our wireless laptop. However, there is a Mac provided onboard which worked sufficiently. Also, to future guests, ask the owner to demonstrate the living room DVD player and the master bedroom DVD player to make sure they are functioning. We assumed they were in working order but upon trying to play a DVD in both players we realized that neither of the DVD players were actually connected to the TVs! The cables that run from the DVD to the TVs on both DVD players were missing! We thought this was strange so we emailed the owners immediately only to be told that they would buy a new TV and DVD player on Friday which was the day after our scheduled departure. Could the purchase of two cables solve the problem? Just a thought.
Other than the lack of functioning DVD players and non wireless internet, we thoroughly enjoyed the Hercules. The owners were very thoughtful upon our arrival by putting a selection of healthy snacks in the fridge for us. The outside deck area of the boat was fun to sit on and watch the swans and ducks. The view from the deck is really awesome as well. You can see up and down the canal as well as straight down the street across from the boat which has some really lovely buildings. There is the most beautiful courtyard just outside the church which is near the Hercules. The grocery store is only a couple blocks away as well. Airport taxi pick up is also included in the rental rate, but be sure you let the owners know if you are putting your luggage in storage since that will take extra time and cause the taxi driver to have to wait which in turn can end up costing you the difference in euros. With all this said, overall, we had a wonderful stay on the Hercules. It was very clean, spacious ,and comfortable.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Unique Modernised Houseboat in the Heart of Amsterdam
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p125595vb
+31 621243255
Old Center Amsterdam
Lancashire. England
5

Annual Superb Chill-out from Lancashire. England.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2010
  • Stayed: Sep 2009
Our party of 6 from Lancashire, England have been coming to Hercules Seghers for these past 5 years and we have always found the houseboat to be a superb accommodation. Although situated close to the centre of Amsterdam, the houseboat is moored in a quiet location near to a lovely church which emmits beautiful chims every half hour from its tower. The owners are excellent helpful couple who try their upmost to make our stay an enjoyable one, that why we come back year after year for a laid-back chilled out holiday.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Unique Modernised Houseboat in the Heart of Amsterdam
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p125595vb
+31 621243255
Old Center Amsterdam
La Canada, CA/USA
5

Amazing boat and location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 25, 2010
  • Stayed: Apr 2010
We stayed on the houseboat for a week in April with our 2 boys, ages 7 and 10. The boat was in an excellent loaction for getting out and seeing the sights of A'dam, but quiet enough to do nothing and not get bothered. The kitchen was well stocked, the furniture comfortable and nice, the beds very comfortable, and there was plenty of room for all of us. The views of the adjacent canals from the boat were incredible, and everything you need is just a short walk away. John is very attentive and great to work with, even if you get stuck there due to erupting volcanos! Thanks again for a comfortable and memorable trip!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 8/8