Lake Algonquin - Wells cottage rental - Cottage; Quiet, cozy with lake and mountain views just yards away.
Cottage; Quiet, cozy with lake and mountain views just yards away.
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps5
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Lake Algonquin - Wells Cottage Rental Photos and Description
Cottage sleeps 5-6

Spacious & Quiet Adirondack Cottage. It is located in the south central Adirondacks, set back off the road into a wooded area, and directly across the street from our private property owners lakefront swimming area which you will have access to during your stay.

Town boat launch is just down the road so you could bring your kayak or canoe to put in for quiet water trips on the lake. Lake and river fishing is also walking distance away with a handicapped accessible fishing dock available for all to use just steps away. The town community center has outdoor tennis courts and basketball court walking distance away. Bring your own DVD's or rent them in town for visual entertainment or simply pop on the cable T.V.

THIS ONE BEDROOM COTTAGE has a queen sized bed, full sized futon to bed in the living room and a twin sized day bed. There is a huge screened in porch that looks directly across to the lake and mountains about 200 yards away. The porch has a picnic table big enough to seat 6-8 adults and wicker furniture for your comfort. The kitchen is fully stocked with coffee maker, blender, microwave, toaster, full sized oven and frig. Table seating for 4 in the kitchen is additional to the picnic table in the porch. The weekly cost of the Cottage is $850/week, or $150 per night for long weekend stays including Thursday through Monday use and $125 per night if your stay is on a Tuesday or Wednesday. We open for the 2014 season on May 1st.

If you're interested in attaining a peaceful, easy access experience, this is the place for you. Saratoga, Lake George and The Adirondack Museum are all approximately 50 minutes away. Cooperstown Baseball Hall of Fame or Lake Placid are around 2 hours away. We have been renting to folks for years, but are new to Homeaway. We have updated hiking / trail books, area coupons, leisure reading materials and board games for the family. Our typical renters are those who love to get onto the hiking trails then take a dip in the lake. We also have regulars who come into town to visit friends or family. We do entertain multiple weeks, monthly or simply long weekend arrangements. Please No Smoking or pets! In the past our renters have typically preferred to bring their own sheets as well as their own pillows so we continue to ask you do the same. If you want me to supply these needs tell me ahead of time but then please add an additional $25 to your total cost for laundry. There is a $50 cleaning fee with every rental arrangement. If you have questions, email me and I will get back to you as soon as possible.

More Details
Hide Details

7 Reviews of Property 125326 in Lake Algonquin - Wells, New York

Country Cottage with Lake Access / Lake and Mtn. Views
average rating of 4.714286 based on 7 reviews
business
Country Cottage with Lake Access / Lake and Mtn. Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p125326
Lake Algonquin - Wells Adirondacks
5

Perfect Weekend

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We had a perfect long weekend!!! This beautiful, immaculate home was so warm and welcoming, we cannot wait to go back. The huge front lawn is perfect for the kids to play on and the relaxing enclosed patio is so nice to relax in!
It had everything we could have needed and more, so many personal touches!
I cannot thank Carol enough for all she did to make us feel so welcomed and I am going to contact her ASAP to make sure we can stay again next year.
Owner's Response: Danielle,

You and your family are such wonderful people. It was beyond a pleasure to see your kids playing on the lawn and at the lakefront beach all day long. We of course invite you back for next year. Keep in touch.

Sincerely,

Carol
business
Country Cottage with Lake Access / Lake and Mtn. Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p125326
Lake Algonquin - Wells Adirondacks
4

Girls Weekend

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We do an annual girls weekend and look for a new place every year. It is hard to find cabins that will rent for a weekend but this cottage was perfect. The cabin was clean and was fully stocked with everything we needed. The lake is right across the street. The neighborhood was quiet which was a concern for us since we are a bunch of chatty women but the neighbors were all very nice. The couple who watch over the cabin were so friendly and lots of fun. The lake did not have a beach which was the only part we weren't thrilled with, but the town has a public beach not far away. I would recommend this rental to just about anyone who is looking for a getaway. We will stay again in the future.
Owner's Response: Supporting your annual girls weekend is a bonus right there but it was also rewarding to hear all of you enjoyed yourselves so much. Hope to see you back in the future.

Regards,

Carol
business
Country Cottage with Lake Access / Lake and Mtn. Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p125326
Lake Algonquin - Wells Adirondacks
4

Peaceful and Perfect

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Very quiet and lots of room to roam. Having the screened in porch is a great option. Private beach across the street is really lovely and warm. Carol was extremely nice and had lots of information on things to do in the area.
Owner's Response: Thanks for the kind words. We hope to see you back in the future.

Carol
business
Country Cottage with Lake Access / Lake and Mtn. Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p125326
Lake Algonquin - Wells Adirondacks
Rochester,NY
5

Thanks so much !

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 13, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
We rented this cottage for our family visiting from Houston. They fell in love with the unique design, knotty pine and wonderful screened in porch where we could sit and relax in bug free comfort. The smell of the pine trees is so wonderful and the weather was a welcome break from Texas heat. They could hardly believe how quiet and pristine the lake is. Cooking in this spacious kitchen was fun too.
Arranging the rental with Carol was a pleasure. We would highly recommend this cottage to anyone.

Linda and Harry
Owner's Response: Linda & Harry,

It was a pleasure meeting your family and helping everyone get together for your reunion. Thanks so much for your kind words. Hope to serve you in the future.

Carol
business
Country Cottage with Lake Access / Lake and Mtn. Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p125326
Lake Algonquin - Wells Adirondacks
5

Another Wonderful Visit!!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
This is our third time staying in this delightful cabin on Lake Algonquin. It was particularly hot on this 10 day trip so we spent most of our time swimming, boating, and relaxing on the lake. The lake is right across the road from the cabin so we could easily walk there. The cabin itself is very comfortable with a delightful screened in porch to spend the evenings, if you so desire. The owners provide all amenities. Just bring your food and let your stress melt away. There are restaurants, hiking trails, and some local concerts all close by. Visit and enjoy!!!!

Joan and Hank
Owner's Response: Always happy to make your stay comfortable. We found a new hike recently so will share it with you when we see you again next year. Your kind words are always appreciated. Have a wonderful year.

Sincerely

Carol
business
Country Cottage with Lake Access / Lake and Mtn. Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p125326
Lake Algonquin - Wells Adirondacks
5

Favorite Vacation Spot

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
Very clean and well maintained, everything it's described as and more. Well equiped with all the comforts of home. We loved sitting on the enclosed porch looking at the mountains (and drinking our coffee). Swimming is convienent and enjoyable at the private beach. All we could have hoped for and more. The owner was attentive and helpful. I would absolutely recommend this property, and can't wait to go back myself. Relaxation at it's best.
Owner's Response: Dina, Gary & family,

Thanks so much for the kind words. Can't wait to see you back next year!

Carol
business
Country Cottage with Lake Access / Lake and Mtn. Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p125326
Lake Algonquin - Wells Adirondacks
5

Wonderful, Relaxing Trip

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
My husband and I stayed for 2 weeks at this immaculate, charming, and delightful cottage. It is located just a walk across the road to the beach with incredible lake and mountain views. You can boat, fish, kayak or de-stress with a good book. The owner provides everything you need...just bring your food along (stop on your way up) as Wells is a small town and does not have a major supermarket. Also, the owner provides books and information on local hikes and waterfalls, and restaurants and attractions in the nearby areas. We went on several hikes and particularly liked Fawn Lake, Pine Orchard and Tenant Falls. We also know you would enjoy eating at the Melody Lodge in Speculator and taking in the free Saturday night concerts at the Camp in the Woods. I would highly recommend staying here. There is a screened in porch where you will enjoy spending your evenings. It is truly a " tiny bit of heaven on earth".
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: I am so thrilled you had a wonderful experience, and I thank you for taking the time to post this review. See you both next year!!!

Sincerely,

Carol
Helpful votes: 1/1