Friendship cottage rental - camp Galashiels
camp Galashiels
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Friendship Cottage Rental Photos and Description
3 bedrooms, 1 bath with shower in separate room, sleeps 6

Built in 1879, Camp Galashiels has been in the same family since 1905. The cedar-shake covered cottage includes a wrap-around living room and dining room, bathroom, galley kitchen with modern appliances, and one bedroom on the first floor, with two more bedrooms on the second floor. A covered veranda surrounds the cottage on three sides. The back deck offers a protected view of the spruce woods.The cottage overlooks Walker's Beach, with a private path to the beach. A private dock with deep water anchorage invites swimming, fishing, and boating. Public boat ramps are located nearby, and kayaks can be rented in Friendship village. A tennis court is available right on Martin Point. A full spectrum of summertime activities is available within a 45 minute drive from Boothbay to Camden, but here you can enjoy the real Maine in a secluded fishing village - lobster available right from the docks! Relax; enjoy sea and shore activities right at your doorstep in rustic elegance and seclusion!

We inherited this property from Betsy's parents - we are the 4th generation to be blessed with being the caretakers of this special place! It was purchased by Betsy's great-grandfather in 1905. We appreciate and enjoy being able to share our cottage with others.

There is no place quite like mid-coast Maine. The ocean, beaches, islands, people - all combine to make Friendship a special place! Because it is a working fishing village, it retains the real Maine value and peaceful atmosphere while being close enough to the tourist towns of Camden and Boothbay Harbor for entertainment.

The deep water dock, private path to the beach, and big wooden swing on the porch with its sweeping view of Muscongus Bay all combine to provide each vacationer with variety and comfort for the perfect Maine stay. Come see for yourself!

6 Reviews of Property 124973 in Friendship, Maine

Charming cottage overlooking the islands of Muscongus Bay
average rating of 5.0 based on 6 reviews
business
Charming cottage overlooking the islands of Muscongus Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p124973
+1 2078324810
Friendship MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
5

Incomparable Beauty

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 15, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
I have visited this little slice of heaven three times now and will be back, again, at the earliest opportunity. The Whites are gracious, warm, and always willing to go the extra mile for the comfort and pleasure of their guests. The minute you step into the cottage, you feel at home. Of the myriad activities available, my favorite is a total absence of activity.....this is a book lovers paradise. Make one of the rockers on the porch your own and read away. The sound of the waves and the breeze, the sun on your face.....well, maybe a just a little snooze before reading! This is a wonderful area for long walks as the scenery is some of the most beautiful on the planet. Cooking locally grown fresh veggies in the perfectly stocked kitchen or heading into Waldoboro for home cooking at Moody's are my favorite dining options. I can't possibly say enough good things about the Camp Galashiels experience; you just need to try it for yourself!
Owner's Response: We are always happy when guests write a review other than in our guestbook, especially when they have nice things to say! We are happy when folks feel at home here. Camp Galashiels is equally wonderful as a base for exploring the midcoast area, or as a vacation spot on its own, or both! We try to make each visit a memorable one, and are always glad to welcome new guests and returnees!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Charming cottage overlooking the islands of Muscongus Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p124973
+1 2078324810
Friendship MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
5

Maine Coast the way it was meant to be...

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 17, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
Camp Galashiels not only lives up to, but exceeds expectations. The large porch overlooking Muscongus Bay is the perfect vantage point for late afternoon relaxing & watching the moon in the evening. We never tire of watching the lobstermen ply their trade within an arm's reach of the shoreline. The wildlife is incredible too! We saw seals & puffins very nearby. The cottage itself is a delightful space with many references to the area and it's offerings as well a a good dose of insight to the history of the area. Betsy and Steve White are incredible hosts attentive to your every need. And I don't want to get started on the lobster.... So many fresh lobster, so little time! I can hardly wait until I return. And when I do, Camp Galashiels will be my destination.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are always pleased when our guests enjoy their time with us! We look forward to returning guests each year, along with first-timers. We appreciate their taking the time to write a review, also, about our very special spot.
business
Charming cottage overlooking the islands of Muscongus Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p124973
+1 2078324810
Friendship MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
South Portland, Maine
5

Highly recommend staying at this cottage.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 21, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
This is a very special place where expectations I didn't even know I had for a cottage experience were met and surpassed. Surprise after lovely surprise unfolding around each corner or just cooking a meal with the ocean in view. It is ALL here. Natural coastal beauty: ocean, rocks, surf sounds, curvey and woodsy foot paths which lead all around, broad grassy lawns just where they should be and some of them framed by pretty flower beds and all set among bird calls and chirps, peace and joy. You can sit and swing to and fro on the broad veranda looking out over the ocean in an oversized wooden swinging chair which has sides and a back and will seat more than one person. You can walk on the beach and look for sea glass. You can watch the life of the ocean; boats, birds, bouys, seals and the ever changing face of the weather and set your own pace. You can read, commune, day dream, conjure your hopes and reclaim your dreams. Close to everything but private and away from it all. This is an authentic cottage experience and magical. Comfortable, clean, well stocked, it is large and roomy and effortlessly will absorb the guests and still there is room for these cozy and wonderfully interesting nooks everywhere to curl up in and sleep, read, watch the gulls swooping and fishing or watch and listen to the waves shushing on the rocks. The owners are hospitable and wonderful and add to the overall sense of welcoming. I am going back as soon as I can.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Charming cottage overlooking the islands of Muscongus Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p124973
+1 2078324810
Friendship MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
Pownal, ME
5

Quilters delight!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 27, 2009
  • Stayed: Aug 2009
I have vacationed here with two friends for several years and love every minute of my stay. The cottage is a wonderfully comfortable home and the ocean is visible (and the waves heard!) from all three bedrooms as well as the living room. The large dining room is transformed into a quilting haven during our stay and we set our sewing machines up so that we enjoy the view while we sew. The front porch is my favorite spot because you can have sun or shade and sit there to read, eat or do hand quilting. We love watching the lobster boats pull traps and enjoy walking on nearby trails as well as the road where we can view the bay from many different vantage points. The cottage is always clean, well supplied, and the owners are more than helpful with any needs we have and with suggestions for local and nearby attractions (of which there are many). There are at least four quilt shops within easy driving distance! This is a great vacation spot and I look forward to my next vacation there all through the year. I highly recommend it and have my dates set for the next visit before I leave each year.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway
business
Charming cottage overlooking the islands of Muscongus Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p124973
+1 2078324810
Friendship MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
Bedford, TX
5

Charming, idyllic, enchanting cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2009
  • Stayed: Aug 2009
A writer's inspiration
A spiritual seeker's retreat
A haven for healing
A sea glass hunter's delight
A shell seeker's searchground
A cottage for ocean-lovers

Complete with gracious hospitality,
and well-equipped accomodations.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Charming cottage overlooking the islands of Muscongus Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p124973
+1 2078324810
Friendship MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
Bedford, Texas
5

My get away from Texas

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 30, 2009
  • Stayed: Aug 2009
I spent a week here in Friendship, Maine reading,walking the beach, shopping and seeing the wonderful sites of the coast of Maine. I enjoyed the comfortable surroundings of the cottage and the wonderful amenities within the cottage.

I felt like I was given a gift to be able to spend some needed quiet time as well as time to visit and catch up with good friends in the area.

I found the cottage well kept, very clean and well stocked with necessary paper staples.

I most especially found the owners, to be the most gracious and welcoming people a Texan could have wanted.

I would encourage anyone looking for some quiet time to just read, walk, shop and enjoy the clean salt air, to visit Friendship, Maine and this very quaint cottage. The owners are truly examples of the name of the town.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway