New Preston house rental - Circa 1890's Home; Largest Private Swim & Picnic Area on lake;Great Porch views!
Circa 1890's Home; Largest Private Swim & Picnic Area on lake;Great Porch views!
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

New Preston House Rental Photos and Description
4 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, sleeps 8, private sandy beach, canoe & sailboat

If you are looking for a home away vacation that involves unlimited amount of rest and relaxation,swimming, boating, hiking, cycling, antiquing, award winning vineyards, terriffic restaurants from casual to formal,family fun & adventures, quaint New England towns & shops,& spectacular sunsets from their porch or beach, then look no further! This family owned property nestled in the historic Litchfield Hills on Lake Waramaug is the perfect destination. This Circa 1890's Adirondack home will welcome you with 4 bedrooms, 2 full baths,fully equipped kitchen & eating area, Formal dining room with fireplace,Spacious Living room with large open hearth fireplace, Large Front Porch with vintage wicker furiniture & large cushions for comforable seating to read,dine and enjoy morning coffee & evening sunsets with a glass of wine. It has Wifi,cable, washer/dryer, gas grill, and private beachfront. They provide canoe,sailboat,row boat, propane grill and firewood. It is only 2 hours north of NYC, and 1.5 hours from Bradley International Airport in Hartford.

PrivateSchools: This property is a great lodging alternative when visiting local private schools: Rumsey Hall, The Gunnery, Canterbury School, Taft, Kent, South Kent, Forman, Marvelwood, Westover.

Need Breakfast?: We will gladly stock the fridge with breakfast fixings to make your first morning on the lake even more relaxing. Please inquire.

Want dinner in?: We will arrange to have a delicious meal prepared and served by the fire in the dining room. All you have to do is find a seat when the dinner bell rings. Please inquire regarding price.

More Details
Hide Details

The Lakehouse was a summer cottage built at the turn of the 20th century. Our parents bought and renovated it into an all year round family home. It was a wonderful place to raise a family of 6 children. What better playground than a scenic lake as your front yard!? The Lakehouse continues to be a special place for the siblings to gather and celebrate life's special moments with their extended families.

Owner purchased this house in 1955

private beach, view from the front porch, best sunsets on the entire lake

14 Reviews of Property 124476 in New Preston, Connecticut

Adirondack House on Lake Waramaug
average rating of 4.857143 based on 14 reviews
business
Adirondack House on Lake Waramaug
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p124476
New Preston Lake Waramaug
Rochester and Keene Valley, NY
5

The Lake House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 12, 2009
  • Stayed: Oct 2009
My family, 7 of us anyway, spent the Columbus Day weekend at The Lake House. We had a wonderful time in this welcoming and warm home. It was cool outside, but we could still sit on the porch and at the beach, paddle a canoe around, hike up Lookout Mt and "The Pin," marvel at the wonderful fall colors, and even enjoy a fire in the fireplace. The kitchen had everything you could need to prepare fro and feed a cast of thousands (something, but not much, of an exaggeration). We would go back in a minute! Everything was as described, it was clean, well maintained, and the contact person, Missy, was helpful.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: So glad that you all enjoyed the beauty of the lake and the cozy warmth of our lakehouse. The lakehouse and the surrounding towns have something to offer all who visit it, no matter what the season.
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Adirondack House on Lake Waramaug
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p124476
New Preston Lake Waramaug
5

Awsome time!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 8, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
We had a great time in this wonderful house for the New Year Eve week-end. We were 2 couples with 5 children between 3 months and 5 year-old. The house is beautiful, very welcoming and cozy. She is also very well maintained.
The location is great (next to woodbury mountain, which is great to ski with the kids) and the view on the lake is breathtaking.
We absolutely recommend this house for a weekend or a longer period of time. We definitely look forward to coming back to this house.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Adirondack House on Lake Waramaug
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p124476
New Preston Lake Waramaug
4

Golden Girls Meet Again

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
I met up with five ladies all of us being childhood friends and deciding to meet up again after almost 45 to 50 years. We had the time of our lives. This lakefront house is so beautiful and surrounded by breath taking scenery. It was clean, beautifully furnished, had everything we needed from linens and towels being supplied to a fantastic well stocked kitchen with all the utensils and pots and pans you could need to cook, or fantastic restaurants if you chose to eat out. Comfortable living room, big dining room, beautiful bedrooms, two nice bathrooms. We had the most wonderful time and were so glad we chose this home to rent. We will treasure the memory all year long and would like to return to this beautiful home next fall for another get together.
business
Adirondack House on Lake Waramaug
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p124476
New Preston Lake Waramaug
Everett, WA
4

A Family Gathering Place

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: May 24, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
Dear Missy,
We found the perfect family gathering place in your wonderful Adirondack home on Lake Waramaug. To surprize our daughter for her birthday, we looked for a place with warmth, plenty of room to hang out together, cook, gather around a table and spend time together celebrating. The walls there speak of many generations of celebration and gatherings. The lovely old hearths in the dining room and livingroom, were a warm backdrop to our evening meals and long rambling talks.
We had everything we needed for making meals and living comfortably there. Though the weather did not cooperate with us much, we plopped out on the covered porch on rainy afternoons and enjoyed the view of the lake. Having use of the canoe was fun on that one day that the sun shown through and we did get out on the lake for a short time.
The approach to the driveway is a bit tricky to navigate and the road in front can be busy, but being close to the lake was really great.
Thank you for opening your special family place for us. Clearly it is a home long cherished and full of family memories. We've added some of ours.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Adirondack House on Lake Waramaug
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p124476
New Preston Lake Waramaug
Bristol, CT
5

Girls Weekend

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 27, 2010
  • Stayed: Sep 2010
7 friends spent the weekend at the Lake House. It was the most relaxing weekend we have ever spent together (we do a get away once a year) The view from the porch is spectacular, you feel like you're in a tree house overlooking the lake. We had planned to spend the an afternoon sightseeing, we chose to visit the winery and head back to the porch The house is very well equipped and is even better in person than advertised. Dealing with the owners was a great experience, very responsive to emails and questions. Everyone is asking to return to next year which is impressive as the group of us have nver gone to the same place twice. All of us highly recommend this property
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are so pleased you had a great stay. The weather in September and October is some of the best at Lake Waramaug. .
The mention of feeling like you are in a tree house is interesting as the original name for the house was "The Eyrie" which means a nest in a tree-top on top of a mountain.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Adirondack House on Lake Waramaug
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p124476
New Preston Lake Waramaug
Ossining, NY
5

A Real Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
We have just returned from a wonderful week at the Lake House. The house was extremely well equipped for our extended family, including two grandchildren. Bike rides around the lake, dinners on the large porch with beautiful sunsets, hikes up to the Pinnacle, short excursions to neighboring towns, lively games around the large dining room table after dark -- these all provided memories that we will long treasure. The owners are very helpful and pleasant. This was a terrific destination not too far from home!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: As with many of our guests this summer, the Lakehouse has served as a "home away from home" with a couple of extra perks that Lake Waramaug and the surrounding area provide!
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
Adirondack House on Lake Waramaug
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p124476
New Preston Lake Waramaug
New York, New York
5

Two Magical Weeks in July

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
"The Lake House” is even better than advertised. It is as other reviewers have stated: well equipped, clean, charmingly decorated, and roomy. It is more difficult to describe the special warmth and calm of the house that make it very welcoming. The owners are most responsive to questions if any arise. Yes, there is the cell phone restriction, but on our way to the nearby farm stand to buy fresh picked corn, we would stop on Tanner Hill to get reception. The New Preston area has many attractions to offer – we visited Kent, Washington and Tanglewood. But we were most content taking long swims several times a day, lounging on the private dock a few strokes from the shore, canoeing, cooking, watching the sunsets at the beach or sharing dinners on the porch with appreciative guests."
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: So glad that our guests are able to enjoy our home as much as we do. This is a special place that has been in our family for over 50 years.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Adirondack House on Lake Waramaug
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p124476
New Preston Lake Waramaug
philadelphia
5

Delightful Family Gathering Place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 17, 2010
  • Stayed: May 2010
My 2 sisters, my mother and my niece spent a spring weekend at the Lake House. It was a perfect place -- clean and welcoming, well-stocked, charming and beautifully decorated bedrooms, lots of hot water. It is large enough that we could do things in different rooms and not feel we were on top of one another. Drinks on the porch before dinner. Board games later on in the kitchen. We all curled up with books at different times in different comfy chairs or couches. The weather cooperated so we spent time rowing one afternoon, but also enjoyed the changing light at sunrise and sunset. One comment--my 85-year-old mother had more difficulty with the stairs than I'd anticipated, so she ended up sleeping on a couch, which turned out fine and using the full bath on the first floor. (Go Mom!) A word to the wise--there was no cell phone (AT&T and one other) service in the house or even very nearby because it is so hilly, I think, so coordinating arrival times and communicating with family at home required a trip to town.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Adirondack House on Lake Waramaug
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p124476
New Preston Lake Waramaug
Southern CT
5

We had a great time .......................

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 10, 2009
  • Stayed: Nov 2009
I loved our weekend at the house. It was so warm and comfy, cozy and just beautiful.

everything you need is provided for you.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Adirondack House on Lake Waramaug
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p124476
New Preston Lake Waramaug
Oakland, NJ
5

Spectacular Weekend

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 10, 2009
  • Stayed: Nov 2009
I came up for Sharon's birthday weekend, along with 4 other women, some of whom didn't know each other. Sharon and I drove up together, got the house ready for the rest of the girls. When we drove up we were taken by the beauty of the location. Once inside, it brought it to another level. Here's a home that was well loved and is very welcoming to the visitors that frequent her. Absolutely perfect! Everything was clean and neat as a pin. The cooks of the group were amazed at how well stocked your kitchen was with everything. Made our lives a lot easier I can tell you. We all had a wonderful time and want to do it again. Old friends and new came together and formed a bond. One I believe your home helped build. Thank you again for your generosity and sharing of your wonderful home.

Sincerely,

Heidi
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1