Center Harbor cottage rental - Sunset view of Center Harbor from waterfront photographed by one of our guests
Sunset view of Center Harbor from waterfront photographed by one of our guests
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
 

Center Harbor Cottage Rental Photos and Description
1 or 2 bedrooms cottages, kitchen, 3/4 or full bathroom, Lodge rooms available

Situated in the beautiful Lakes Region of New Hampshire on the north east side of Lake Winnipesaukee, just one mile from Center Harbor, NH. Colonial Pines is centrally located from all of New Hampshire's famed attractions.

The harbor itself is an ideal safe place for kayaking, sailing, motor boating, water skiing or just drifting around in a canoe, for it is protected by land on three sides.

The four completely equipped cottages with large screened porches are nestled in a grove of majestic Cathedral Pines. The location is in a quiet non-commercialized area, assuring our guests of the utmost privacy. All cottages command a wonderful view of the lake and surrounding woods, and are spaced to insure privacy. They are attractively designed to harmonize with their rustic surroundings. Cottages will accommodate two to four people. The largest cottage #3 has two bedrooms. One bedroom has two twin beds and 2nd bedroom has a queen size bed. Cottages #2 and #4 sleep four people and have one bedroom with a double bed as well as two twin day beds in the living room. The smallest cottage #1 has a bedroom with a double bed and a futon in the living room. The separate bedrooms have adequate drawer and closet space. Large windows give the desired cross-ventilation as well as a beautiful view of the nearby lake, mountains and woods. Homey living rooms in cottages have comfortable furniture. Rooms are all finished in knotty pine for rustic effect. Large screened porches make an ideal second living room for eating and relaxing. Each cottage has a fully equipped, up-to-date kitchen. Gas ranges, refrigerators, toasters, coffee makers, microwaves in two of the cottages and all cooking utensils are provided for your convenience. All cottages are provided with heat for cool weather. Our deep artesian well furnishes cold, clear drinking water. Sandy bathing area ideal for families, right on beautiful Lake Winnipesaukee, one of the East's largest bodies of fresh water. Great power boating, sailing or fishing on this lake known for its sparkling clear water, views of the White Mountains from every spot, Weirs Beach and the famous M.S. Mt Washington which sails the lake everyday in the summer. One hundred fifty feet of sandy bathing with gradual slope, ideal for small children and non-swimmers, two wharves, one with diving board; swim float, stone fireplace by lake for cook-outs, outdoor shuffle-board court, badminton court, and table tennis. Complimentary use of canoe and paddle boat. Kayak rentals.

See More Information and Pictures at Website: www.colonialpinesresort.com

NOW RENTING ROOMS IN OUR ORIGINAL LAKE HOUSE LODGE. ROOMS ACCOMMODATE UP TO 2 GUESTS. QUEEN SIZE BED, ATTACHED BATH AND SCREEN PORCH WITH HAMMOCK CHAIRS OVERLOOKING CENTER HARBOR BAY. NOW ACCEPTING RESERVATIONS FOR THE 2014 SEASON. PLEASE CALL OR EMAIL FOR DETAILS.

WINTER RENTALS - COTTAGE #3 IS AVAILABLE TO BOOK YEAR ROUND.

More Details
Hide Details

Our seven bedroom lodge was built in 1915 as a private home. Cottages were built later and became Lawrence Cottages. The Luce family purchased the resort in 1960 and we continue to strive to maintain comfort and peacefulness while balancing the historical significance of waterfront housekeeping cottages.

Gary and Cindy Kunz purchased this cottage in 1960

A westerly exposure means sun all afternoon in our swimming area and beautiful sunsets! Our customers (some have been returning for over 40 years now) feel there is something special about our beautiful location on this pristine lake.

A deep artesian well on the property assures excellent drinking water.

Get in touch with nature, perfect for boating, kayaking, canoeing, swimming and fishing for all ages. Children love to catch fish in and around the boathouse and many improve their swimming skills during their stay.

There are few locations on the 'big lake' that offer so much privacy without a long drive to the store and services. Restaurants and groceries are only 2 minutes by car or boat. Restaurants ranging from family fast food to gourmet meals are within a couple of miles.

WINTER RENTAL - Cottage #3 is available to book year round.

10 Reviews of Property 123781 in Center Harbor, New Hampshire

Center Harbor charming waterfront cottages & Lodge rooms on Lake Winnipesaukee
average rating of 4.9 based on 10 reviews
business
Center Harbor charming waterfront cottages & Lodge rooms on Lake Winnipesaukee
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p123781
+1 6032534305
Center Harbor Lake Winnipesaukee Area
5

Cozy NH cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Colonial Pines Reort is a small group of cottages directly on the lakeshore. One of the cottages is open all year round, and I rented it for the Thanksgiving weekend. It is the perfect spot to get away from the hectic life in the city. Located within walking distance from Center Harbor, the cottages are on a quiet street with hardly any traffic. The cottage has a small living room, a fully equipped kitchen, and two bedrooms. The living room has a big and extremely comfortable sofa and a gas oven that kept the place warm in spite of freezing temperatures outside. The owners live on site and are very friendly and helpful. I'd certainly recommend the place and I 'll come back next year.
business
Center Harbor charming waterfront cottages & Lodge rooms on Lake Winnipesaukee
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p123781
+1 6032534305
Center Harbor Lake Winnipesaukee Area
5

Great getaway!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
My husband and I stayed at Colonial Resort to be close to our son who was at band camp on Lake Winnipesaukee. The location was incredible....close to shopping, restaurants, tourist attractions. The accommodations were very clean, spacious, and had everything we needed. Our hosts, Cindy & Gary were so very friendly and helpful. We had such a relaxing, peaceful stay at this wonderful cabin set on the beautiful lake. We even called a few weeks later to go back with our boys! Looking forward to another stay and highly recommend it to others!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Center Harbor charming waterfront cottages & Lodge rooms on Lake Winnipesaukee
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p123781
+1 6032534305
Center Harbor Lake Winnipesaukee Area
5

Cozy room in a charming lodge

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
This is a perfect room for a couple that has a charming, old feel to it. The room is spacious enough for two, with a nice size bathroom that has a small hall separating the bathroom from the bedroom where linens can be kept. There is also a small covered, screened porch with two hanging hammock chairs that are pure bliss. Both the bedroom and porch face the water. If you need to have wireless connection, it's hassle free and no extra charge. The room is perfect if you don't want to do any cooking. We brought a cooler for breakfast /lunch/drinks, which we had on our boat and ate on the water - pure heaven! We ate out for dinners. There is a grocery store within walking distance, so no need to pack food ahead, if you choose not to. There are plenty of restaurants and pizza shops close by as well. There is a nice sandy beach on location and you can put your boat in at the local launch and drive it over to your own slip on premises. The owners are delightful, eager to please and very welcoming and knowledgeable about the area. I highly recommend staying here for some relaxation and fun!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Center Harbor charming waterfront cottages & Lodge rooms on Lake Winnipesaukee
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p123781
+1 6032534305
Center Harbor Lake Winnipesaukee Area
5

Exactly What We Had Hoped For

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We found Colonial Pines last minute for the 4th of July week and we really felt like we hit the lottery. We'll definitely be back. Great location, fishing, beachfront, swimming, the cabin we stayed in was exactly what we expected and very clean. Gary and Cindy are super nice people and were all about making sure we had a great vacation.

Most importantly...the kids really enjoyed themselves. It was great to see them put down their electronics for a few days and enjoy the outdoors.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Center Harbor charming waterfront cottages & Lodge rooms on Lake Winnipesaukee
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p123781
+1 6032534305
Center Harbor Lake Winnipesaukee Area
5

Perfect summer retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The cottages were well maintained (due to our late reservation and cottage availability we stayed in 2 different cottages during our vacation) and provided ample room for the 2 of us. The bathrooms and kitchens were clean. The view of the lake from one of the cottages was beautiful and the porch from the other cottage provided a peaceful resting place. We enjoyed the nice dock to watch the sunset and wished we stayed long enough to get a fishing license for we could see fish right around the boat house! We had a great time playing table tennis and wish the weather cooperated enough so we could have played shuffle board. We were able to enjoy the canoe available for guest use. For being such a quiet and peaceful place it was amazing how close we were to Center Harbor for shopping (Keepsake Quilting, grocery store and gift shops) and many restaurants (the Canoe - delicious!!!) and ice cream too! We picked up dinner from Hart's Turkey Farm (yum!!!) during the day and then heated it up later in our own kitchen so we could watch the sunset. The owners are incredibly friendly and make you feel welcomed. They were able to answer any question we had and made suggestions as to what to see or do. They have lived in the area for some time and are quite knowledgeable. We most definitely recommend this as the perfect quiet summer retreat.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Center Harbor charming waterfront cottages & Lodge rooms on Lake Winnipesaukee
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p123781
+1 6032534305
Center Harbor Lake Winnipesaukee Area
5

Perfectly Relaxing!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 4, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
We had read guide books and made many plans for our weekend in the Lakes Region, but when we got to the cottage, we loved it so much that we spent all day Friday and Saturday just relaxing in the cottage, looking at the lake, canoeing, and using the paddle boat. I haven't felt so relaxed in years!

Our cottage had both a screened porch and an open air deck which looked right out on to the water. I had wondered whether there might be mosquitoes or black flies, but there weren't any. We were able to use the open deck comfortably.

The cottage is very clean well kept, and the kitchen works well. We ate every meal there. An especially nice surprise was the drinking water, which comes from an artesian well and is cold and delicious! We brought bottled water, but never opened it.

The bed is comfortable with a firm mattress and we slept well. The photos looked like the bedroom might be tiny, but it was big enough for a dresser and a chair, and room to move around comfortably. There was also a clothes closet with plenty of hangers.

Cindy and Gary are experienced hosts who know how to welcome guests and offer assistance, but also leave space for privacy. They are genuinely nice people, and we felt completely comfortable with them.

Another unexpected treat was that we could use the canoe, kayaks and paddle boats. The lake is very clean and clear, and there are islands nearby which can be explored.

After checking out on Sunday, we spent the day at Castle in the Clouds, a fascinating place to explore.

We look forward to returning for a longer stay next year, and hope there will be room for us!

Denise and Michael
Northampton,MA
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Center Harbor charming waterfront cottages & Lodge rooms on Lake Winnipesaukee
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p123781
+1 6032534305
Center Harbor Lake Winnipesaukee Area
5

Perfect Vacation Destination

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 19, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
What a wonderful hideaway! Thanks to Cindy and Gary for a perfect few days of lakeside vacation. Colonial Pines was exactly what we hoped for: a cozy and comfortable cottage, a fabulous location, and extremely warm hospitality. We'll be back!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Center Harbor charming waterfront cottages & Lodge rooms on Lake Winnipesaukee
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p123781
+1 6032534305
Center Harbor Lake Winnipesaukee Area
5

Like living a Memory

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
How many opportunities does one have to live a memory?
Being at Colonial Pines gave us that and so much more. All the more simple things in life which seem to have vanished in the hussle and bustle of the lives we lead today: being able to just relax without hassles, the peace and quiet, having conversations without interruptions, ping pong, relaxing on the screened porch, taking the time to barbeque the old fashioned way with charcoal, jumping off a diving board, lounging all day on the dock or by the lakeside, walking to get an ice cream, paddling around the lake, enjoying coffee while sitting lakeside watching the sun rise over the water, listening to the loons bring in the dawn. While there was a TV, it stayed off, the cell phone put away.
Cindy and Gary, as well as their family members we met while there, were wonderful; They were available if we needed information or anything else, yet invisible, and it was obvious that they too truly enjoyed thier home and their roles as managers of Colonial Pines. Because Cindy grew up on the property and continues to be a member of the community, she and Gary were able to share so much information about the area and all it has to offer. They are just truly kind people.
The property is well kept and clean and the he vacation costs, affordable. The website is accurate and the FAQ section most helpful. There are many activities to participate in and many attractions to visit in the surrounding area, but we never felt the need to leave the peace of Colonial Pines. We saved all the "touristy" things to do for the day of check out, because we just didn't want to leave the tranquility of what we had found. We agreed this was the best, most relaxing vacation we have ever taken and look forward to returning.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Center Harbor charming waterfront cottages & Lodge rooms on Lake Winnipesaukee
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p123781
+1 6032534305
Center Harbor Lake Winnipesaukee Area
5

I would like keep this place a secret

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
This was my first time here. The owners were super nice.
Its feels like a place from a time when things were so much simpler.

If your looking for a place with AC, video games, computers and all of the modern day distractions, this is not for you.

If your looking for a place with the sound of kids playing, boats motoring by, loons calling and just calm quiet, this place is perfect!

The cabins are clean and neat. The dock is in great shape. There are two fire places by the water. The water is clean an not weedy.

Parking is nice.
I would recommend you bring a tarp or drop cloth to throw over your car. There are a lot of pine trees and the sap and needles get all over your car.

I am looking forward to spending some more time at this cozy hideaway.
My wife and I loved it.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Center Harbor charming waterfront cottages & Lodge rooms on Lake Winnipesaukee
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p123781
+1 6032534305
Center Harbor Lake Winnipesaukee Area
4

Very Nice Place to Stay at the Lake

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 19, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
Even at the end of August, we had good weather. Cindy and Gary are excellent hosts; they're always around when you need them, either for a hair dryer that we needed to borrow or advice about where to go in our boat. The cottage was very comfortable; I knew I needed to bring sheets and towels but didn't realize I needed to bring everything else, like dishwashing liquid and toilet paper and paper towel and kitchen towel and sponge, etc. So we had to buy a number of things when we got there. Also cottages are all in the shade under the pines, giving the illusion that it's cool or cloudy, but once you get outside, it's great. Lake is just a hundred yards from any cabin door and the boat slip was perfect for our 20' boat, so convenient. Our cottage, #3, just needed more towel racks for four people as the two in the bathroom were small towel racks, barely large enough for one regular size bath towel. Cottage was very clean, too. Shuffleboard and ping-pong were fun and great local food five minutes away and supermarket, too. Kitchen had all the pots and pans and silverware we needed.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Sydney and Tim, thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback about your stay. We appreciate your positive comments, they help us to know what we are doing right. We're glad you found the cottage very clean and well equipped with cooking equipment and utensils. We feel this is important to our guests. We know that being able to dock your boat in one of our secure boatslips not far from your cottage is important to boaters. Shuffleboard and ping pong are great family activities, no electronic games here! We are fortunate to be within walking distance to the quaint town of Center Harbor which as you discovered has great restaurants and a locally owned supermarket. It also has other great shops such as Bayswater Book Store, Bella Bead Shop, Keepsake Quilting and Patternworks Yarn Shop as well as Yikes Gallery. Did you get to attend a band concert at the gazebo in town? They're held Friday nights throughout the summer. Sometimes you can hear the music from the porch of your cottage as the sounds drifts across the harbor.
Also thank you for helping us identify what we need to improve on. We will create a list on our website of what guests need to bring, and what is provided in the cottages. We will add towel racks in cottage 3 to accomodate more towels.
It was nice to meet you and your family. We hope to see you next summer. Cindy & Gary
Helpful votes: 11/11