Arriate villa rental - El Cobijo, street view
El Cobijo, street view
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps10
  • 7 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights
 

Arriate Villa Rental Photos and Description
5 bedrooms, 7.5 bathrooms, accommodates 10

This magnificent villa is built on a sloping, 3 acre olive grove. The villa’s main level has an open patio, around which one has access to the living room with fireplace, a terrace with beautiful views of the sierra and Ronda, the dining room, a fully equipped designer kitchen, a powder room, and a guest room with bathroom. A hall way on an intermediate level provides access to two additional bedrooms each with bathroom. The bright, master bedroom is located upstairs with a large bathroom and private roof terrace with gorgeous views. An additional bedroom which doubles as the TV and game room with sitting area and a bathroom is on the villa's lower level. There's also a utility room for 2 washers, 2 dryers, and additional refrigerator. The swimming pool is surrounded by a large sun terrace with a shower house and a roofed, poolside bar with BBQ.

Visiting Ronda:

Ronda is a beautiful, historic Andalusian city. It is a perfect destination to spend an afternoon walking through the narrow streets of its ancient historic city center with a centuries old bridge over a 100 m deep gorge that divides the old and the newer parts of the city and with the oldest bull fighting arena in Spain. Ronda is located in midst of the scenic Serranía of Ronda dotted by the picturesque, white Andalusian villages such as Gaucín, Grazalema, and Zahara, an ideal area for sight seeing, hiking, mountain biking, horseback riding, and sail gliding.

Golfing and general tourist attractions:

The property is surrounded by over 30 of Spain's finest golf courses on the Costa del Sol and Costa de la Luz many of which are reachable in less than 50 minutes by car. Some of Europe's most important cultural cities such as Córdoba, Granada, and Sevilla can easily be reached for enjoyable and extraordinary sight seeing excursions. These cities offer historic sights of incomparable beauty as well as an opportunity to meander through charming, narrow streets and visit fine Andalusian shops, tapas bars and restaurants. In addition, one can drive through Spain's unique Sherry wine regions of Jerez and Sanlúcar, visiting such famous Sherry bodegas as Domecq, Gonzalez Byass, Lustau, Hidalgo and many others. While there, visit the famous Domecq Horse Show. Not far away is one of Europe's most intriguing bird sanctuaries, The Doñana National Park, a popular attraction for nature lovers. A day trip to Tangiers, Morocco with a visit to the fascinating and colorful local souks is only a few hours away by taking the high speed ferry from Tarifa.

If you don't plan on spending too much time traveling by car, you can choose among many local, charming destinations such as the magnificent, nearby village of Setenil with its breath taking gorge in (literally) and around which this Andalusian village was built or the Roman ruin of Acinipo with a well preserved amphitheater and stunning views of the region. Or you can take the scenic mountain road towards Algeciras until the lovely village of Gaucín, one of the most attractive gems among Andalucía's White Villages.

Other recreational activities:

The beaches of Costa del Sol are situated along one of Europe's most formidable summer resorts including Marbella, Puerto Banús, Estepona, and Sotogrande on the Mediterranean Sea. On the Atlantic side, the endless, white sand beaches frequently have steady winds making this area ideal for wind and kite surfing. One of our favorite beaches on this side is Bolonia, where you can also visit its well preserved Roman ruins.

If you love horses, we can help you plan a morning ride through the area's beautiful scenery. If you plan to travel in early spring, consider the highest snow peaks of the Iberian Peninsula located in the Sierra Nevada, very close to Granada, with some of Spain's best ski slopes. Although at least 2 and a half hours away by car, you can still plan on arriving at the slopes before noon and returning home for dinner. Sierra Nevada has over 90 km of well maintained, tree-less ski runs, some of which provide breath taking views of the Mediterranean Sea.

More Details
Hide Details

20 Reviews of Property 123690 in Arriate, Spain

Andalusian Luxury Villa near Ronda, Spain
average rating of 5.0 based on 20 reviews
business
Andalusian Luxury Villa near Ronda, Spain
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p123690
+34 606 60 71 56
Arriate Ronda area
5

A piece of paraside

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Our stay was perfect. The villa was superb in every way and as described on the website.

The villa was in excellent condition and everything was spotlessly clean.

The villa was well equipped with spacious light bedrooms.

The veranda eating area was a great space for family meals with mesmerizing views of the mountains

The pool was clean and was greatly appreciated given the fabulous weather.

The very friendly owner welcomed us and made sure we knew where everything was. The welcome Cava and Sangria were very much appreciated!

Would recommend without hesitation and we hope to return soon.
business
Andalusian Luxury Villa near Ronda, Spain
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p123690
+34 606 60 71 56
Arriate Ronda area
5

Beautiful Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
This is a beautiful and well maintained house located just outside of Arriate. A perfect base for exploring Ronda and the surrounding countryside (or for just hanging out in a beautiful part of the world). The house worked perfectly for 2 families with kids. The kitchen was expertly designed and well equipped for the most demanding chef. The pool area with first class grill and separate pool house was ideal. Daily maid service was a tremendous benefit. The owner was on-site during our visit, but in an entirely separate part of the house where we never saw him unless he was working in the surrounding olive groves. In fact, the owner was an invaluable resource for directions and sightseeing tips. The restaurant he sent us to in Arriate at the old train station was one of the highlights of our trip. No better place for a leisurely lunch, and the owner, Frank, will take great care of you and your family. I highly recommend this house and look forward to returning.
Owner's Response: Thank you for a beautiful review! We are always thrilled when our guests enjoy our house as much as we do, and I will make sure to tell Frank at El Muelle de Arriate of the most favorable comments.
business
Andalusian Luxury Villa near Ronda, Spain
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p123690
+34 606 60 71 56
Arriate Ronda area
Monroe, CT
5

Best vacation of our lives...

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 21, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
My husband and I prefer off-the-beaten-path vacations as opposed to high-octane touristy vacations, and by far, this was the most incredible vacation ever! We've gone swimming with stingrays, floated in biolumincent bays, and canvased rain forests on foot. But nothing prepared us for the breathaking scenery in Andalucia!! We were surrounded by groves of olive trees, small white villages nestled into mountainsides, and the town of Ronda was a wonderful surprise of history, endless restaurants, shops, architecture, and scenery.
Waking up every morning in this gorgeous villa made us feel like royalty. Our favorite time of day was morning. We spent endless hours drinking coffee on the patio/terrace, taking in the views, remarking about the previous days' adventures, and how fortunate we were to be able to find something so remarkable.
Raynold was very helpful from making the reservation, all the way through our stay, making sure we had everything we needed. Mari & Salvador, caretakers, were incredibly friendly and kept the villa in top shape every day. (I have to admit that I am not used to someone making my bed for me;). I even told Mari that if she were ever to make it to the U.S., to come stay with us, and I meant it! We were nervous about taking a vacation with friends, and leaving our kids behind, but everything went so smoothly and we were able to completely relax and enjoy. We will be returning, and with our children too!! Many thanks for the best vacation we've ever had!!
Owner's Response: We wish to thank our guests for such a raving and kind review. We enjoy sharing this beautiful part of Andalusia with our guests and are always thrilled to provide personal assistance during every step of the preparation for a family vacation in this part of Spain as well as to make our guests' stay in our villa a memorable one.
business
Andalusian Luxury Villa near Ronda, Spain
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p123690
+34 606 60 71 56
Arriate Ronda area
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

An idyllic house in a breathtaking region

  • Submitted: Sep 19, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
El Cobijo is that rare combination of comfort, style and thoughtful design. It is a stunning and impeccably maintained property with living spaces for all moods and times of day: a sheltered courtyard patio filled with plants and a water feature; a shaded veranda with wonderful views; a splendid sitting room with large fireplace and well-stocked bookshelves. The bedrooms are spacious and well decorated and, in our party of 8, nobody was left feeling that they had drawn the short straw (which was a first in our ten years of renting villas together). The kitchen, indeed the whole house, was extremely well equipped, and no less attention to detail had been given to the delightful pool area. Our host, Raynold, was welcoming and helpful yet most discrete. Mari, who came in 2 hours daily, was a godsend, and the in-house catering offered by Deborah was hugely successful after a full day’s sightseeing. I have never felt so well looked after on a villa holiday! There is a whole range of attractions on the doorstep –beautiful towns and villages to explore (Ronda, Zahara and Grazalema were favourites); a stunningly located Roman amphitheatre at Acipino (which we had to ourselves); fascinating cave paintings at Cueva de la Pileta (though the cave itself is awesome); the Garganta Verde (which seemed almost prehistoric in its lush isolation with vultures flying overhead); the Via Verde for walking/cycling (if the heat allows!). And don’t overlook Arriate itself. El Muelle de Arriate is a gem of a place with lovely food. Further afield we visited the beautiful cities of Seville and Cordoba, and investigated the port and old town of Marbella. Plans to visit Grenada and to take the train to Algeciras will have to wait until the next visit…
business
Andalusian Luxury Villa near Ronda, Spain
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p123690
+34 606 60 71 56
Arriate Ronda area
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Great holidays at El Cobijo

  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Review Submitted: August 6, 2012 Date of Stay: July 2012

We stayed in El Cobijo for two weeks with our family: My husband and I with our 2 children (ages 13 and 9). We had a delightful time. The listing description was accurate in every respect. The property was not only clean and well maintained but beautifully furnished and very well equipped (we had chargers for all types of electronics, convertors, players for music; scanner; printer etc). The kitchen was also very well equipped and the appliances of very good quality.

The location is ideal, it is both private and yet very close to many interesting villages and cities. It gives a great opportunity to get a real sense of Spanish culture, community and family life

One can feel that El Cobijo has been a place where many happy moments in the lives of a family have taken place.

The owner, Raynold was both available and discrete. He was very pleasant and interesting to talk to. He helped us organize the many day trips to visit the interesting villages around Arriate. We really liked visiting Ronda, Granada, Malaga (don't miss the Picasso museum); Senetil, Genilguacil, Garcilama and the pre-historic Caves. We enjoyed many restaurants, in particular "El Muelle de Arriate" (5 minutes away from El Cobijo).

The swimming pool was always clean. It was a pleasure to spend time around the pool, the kids loved it!!!

We would recommend this property to family and friends and we will consider going back
business
Andalusian Luxury Villa near Ronda, Spain
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p123690
+34 606 60 71 56
Arriate Ronda area
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

Wonderful retreat in Southern Spain

  • Submitted: Jan 29, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
To start with our long list of the 'things we love about El Cobijo', we would start with sunset dinners on the west facing porch with views across the olive groves and mountains. The house itself is beautifully equipped and decorated -a great combination of fine furnishings with a very comfortable, rustic country charm- and there is ample opportunity for large gatherings and private retreat. Each of the suites is spacious with it's own closet and bath, nicely separated from the communal area ...
business
Andalusian Luxury Villa near Ronda, Spain
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p123690
+34 606 60 71 56
Arriate Ronda area
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

Perfection

  • Submitted: Dec 18, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
Review Submitted: December 4, 2011 Date of Stay: November 2011
We were 2 families of 4 in this beautiful home November 2011. El Cobijo is a beautifully constructed and decorated home (the pictures are nice but don't do it justice), with every possible need tended to: books, maps, amazing stocked kitchen, stone floors with radiant heat, large dining room, beautiful living room with cozy fireplace, free WIFI, 4 bedrooms with incredibly comfortable beds and each with it's own lovely bathroom, 2 Miele washer/driers, a basement with bunk beds and kids toys that were enjoyed by the four kids in our group, a million places for kids to play hide and seek in, Mari who cleaned every day and kept the place spotless, etc, etc.
On top of that, Raynold is a wonderful host, on site while we were there but completely invisible (separate entry/quarters) readily available for advice, but unobtrusive. The kids were shocked/puzzled to find out a few days before we lift that Raynold was living there! We communicated mostly via text messages given expensive phone rates and that worked well for us. Raynold and Teresa also own a restaurant in Arriate (El Muelle de Arriate) which was not crowded the night we went (off season) but delicious food with excellent service.
The area is gorgeous, close to Ronda, surrounded by olive trees, easy lovely drives to Granada, Sevilla (both <2hrs). Raynold also directed us to some really special places close by (Roman ruins and a cave with prehistoric drawings) which we really enjoyed. Made for a beautiful, restorative yet stimulating trip.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Andalusian Luxury Villa near Ronda, Spain
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p123690
+34 606 60 71 56
Arriate Ronda area
Arlington, Virginia
5

El Cobijo, Ronda Spain

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 29, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
We three American couples cannot speak highly enough of El Cobijo, a villa near both Ronda and Arriate Spain. We visited in early October. What views from the front porch!!! The villa was in first-rate condition, and the grounds and pool were well maintained. The owner was extremely helpful knowledgeable about local attractions and eateries and helped us shape our stay...which was completely delightful. The owner also runs a nearby restaurant which is superb. I heartily recommend this villa to anyone who wants to experience the delights of Andalusia. In addition to the beautiful town of Ronda, we loved the smaller town Arriate, whose citizens were infallibly courteous and helpful. There are Roman ruins 15 minutes to the north, and our party also took advantage of a lovely horse-riding trip at a local stable along the high, serene ridges leading up to Ronda. We also drove 90 minutes to Jerez, and enjoyed the Royal Escuela equestrian exhibition, which takes place on Thursdays. At nights, the Arriate-Ronda band practices for the Seville festival, and you can hear their horns puffing near twilight. Want to go back to El Cobijo!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you Andrew for your very kind words!

We love this area and like to share it with our family, friends and visitors. For those who can travel outside the summer vacation months (March-June and September-November) the area is truly delightful as base from where to undertake plenty of excursions and sightseeing trips.
business
Andalusian Luxury Villa near Ronda, Spain
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p123690
+34 606 60 71 56
Arriate Ronda area
Luxembourg
5

Simply Perfect

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
The whole experience we had at El Cobijo was simply perfect. Everyone was extremely helpful and saw to everything to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. We even received baskets of their garden produce which we tried to do justice to in that large wonderful kitchen. The recommendations for dining and places to visit gave us confidence in venturing out in a new city so we enjoyed Spanish cuisine at its best. We also cannot say enough about the location, the magnificent views of olive trees, having nature as company all around and the wonderful accomodations. The house was grand but cozy with all the amenities of a finely equipped and lived-in home. All the comforts were provided in the proper areas of the home. The rooms were spacious and private, each with their own ensuite baths. There were various living areas all around to read (with ceiling-high bookshelves), relax, and listen to music with an incredible sound system. The pool and grill were also favored areas of play for our family. We felt very lucky to have found such a spectacular vacation spot. We hope to return at the next opportunity and we thank the owners for sharing their great property with us!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Andalusian Luxury Villa near Ronda, Spain
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p123690
+34 606 60 71 56
Arriate Ronda area
Houston, Texas
5

Wonderful villa near Ronda

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
Our family stayed at this property for a week in June 2011. It was fantastic in every way. The home is immaculate and beautifully built and furnished. Stylish and at the same time it's very homey and comfortable. We had everything we needed. Lots of US adapters and the wireless internet worked well. Best of all, and this is petty for some, awesome water pressure in the showers, even on the top floor. The master suite was very nice, as are all the bedrooms, making this an ideal house for a group of all couples. The grounds with lovely gardens and olive trees was just beautiful. We loved sitting on the porch in the evenings and soaking in all the wonderfulness. Raynold and Teresa did a great job when they built this house!

The home is just a mile from the small village of Arriate and about 4 miles from Ronda. We spent some time in Ronda and also took day trips to other points of interest; Granada, Gibraltar and Tangier, Morocco.

We hope to return again some day!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2