Pocasset cottage rental - Summerwind by the Sea on lovely Patuisset Island.
Summerwind by the Sea on lovely Patuisset Island.
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
 

Pocasset Cottage Rental Photos and Description
2 Bedrooms 1 Bath, 1 1/2 bath.SLEEPS 6

Summerwind is a comfortable Saltwater-view get-away in the charming seaside village of Pocasset. Within the village is Patuisset Island, an undiscovered corner of 'Olde Cape Cod'. Enjoy being on 'Island Time', yet very close to all Cape activities.

Sun, swim and beachcomb from one of the island's sandy beaches or take a five minute stroll to a wide, white sand BEACH.

Free use of a TANDEM KAYAK for exploring the coastline or picnics on Bassett's Island.

Renovated kitchen with dishwasher and microwave, new counters and floor, serves the water view dining area.

Light and bright, freshly painted bedrooms on the second floor. Bathroom with shower also on second floor. Living room, dining area, kitchen, enclosed porch and 1/2 bath on first floor. A daybed on the enclosed front porch is a great spot for a sea-breeze inspired nap.

Fire up the gas grill for a BBQ, relax and watch the sunset.

The backyard is a birdwatchers delight with ospreys, hummingbirds and shorebirds.

Summerwind is in a lovely, peaceful, safe, seaside neighborhood where the road ends at the sea.

Enjoy 'the Cape' the old-fashioned unhurried way spring, summer and fall.

ALSO Visit: www.Homeaway.com/146574 periwinkle cottage on Onset Island

GUESTBOOK:: We had a perfect week at Summerwind. We loved the location, with a backyard view of the harbor. The area is secluded, quaint & quiet (no traffic commonly found elsewhere on cape), and our young boys (ages 6 & 5) could safely ride their bikes. We had a blast on the kayak, which we used to get across to the island where the kids found some amazing sea shells that we have never before seen on the Cape. In fact, Patuisset Island is a secret gem, very different from the usual cape experience. It almost feels like to coast of Maine with it's charming harbor. The area is perfect for a nice long walk/jog, or a lazy stroll, with it gorgeous views. It's a very short -- and picture-perfect -- walk to the beach. I could go on and on with great things to say. . . we had a great time and look forward to returning soon!

Susan

A truly lovely place, very peaceful and beautiful. Everything we hoped for and more. Looking forward to our next visit!!

Julie, Vincent Veilleux, Quebec, Canad

Guestbook: Summerwind is a delightful home away from home. It has all the amenities you need to have a comfortable, pleasant holiday in a lovely, calm setting. Perfect for families because of its safe, tranquil location. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there.

Ann Wood, Grandvaux, Switzerland

We loved the cottage. It definitely is in a great location. We enjoyed the harbor view and the walk around the circuit, and of course the food!!

If your looking for a nice, peaceful location this is your place.

Laura, Ron & John Colla, Milford, Pennsylvania

We loved our vacation at the Summerwind cottage. It is a great location so close to the beach and is such a nice quiet area. We loved walking around the circuit in the morning and at night. The cottage has everything you need and is so comfortable you feel right at home. We have told many people about it and look forward to a return stay at Summerwind.

Heidi, Scott and Brittany Maxson, Fairport, New York

MORE VACATION RENTALS ON CAPE COD: Please visit our other Cape Cod rental:

www.homeaway.com/146574 The Periwinkle on Onset Island- A unique vacation adventure.

More Details
Hide Details

26 Reviews of Property 123182 in Pocasset, Massachusetts

HARBORVIEW Steps to Sandy saltwater Beaches Free use DBL Kayak Pets consid
average rating of 4.826087 based on 26 reviews
business
HARBORVIEW Steps to Sandy saltwater Beaches Free use DBL Kayak Pets consid
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p123182
508 273-2939
Pocasset Bourne Area
Baltimore, Maryland
5

You Will Want to Come Back!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 1, 2008
  • Stayed: Aug 2008
Summerwind is an idyllic setting for a Cape Cod vacation.Patuisett Island is scenic, peaceful and friendly.Water views abound from the cottage as well as the circuit walk.The home is charming, cozy and well appointed. We loved the nearby neighborhood beach as well as the Falmouth beaches, Old Silver and Surf Drive. The Lobster Trap and Chart Room are great local restaurants, but leave room for an ice cream dessert from the Whistle Stop! We have visited Summerwind twice and find it a perfect vacation spot. We highly recommend this property and hope to return again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks very much for choosing Summerwind on the Cape for your vacation again this summer. We are happy you had a great time and enjoyed the cottage and the area.
You are welcome back anytime.
Helpful votes: 9/9
business
HARBORVIEW Steps to Sandy saltwater Beaches Free use DBL Kayak Pets consid
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p123182
508 273-2939
Pocasset Bourne Area
4

Excellent location

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Summerwind was a perfect location for our vacation with a very active toddler. The house was located in a quiet neighborhood with several nice beaches accessible by foot and streets that were low on traffic for walking. Many of the surrounding houses only were occupied over the weekend, making it very quiet during the week. The kitchen was well stocked and made it easy to prepare meals at home for the family. We are looking forward to coming back!
Owner's Response: Dear Susan, Thanks so much for your review. We love the location of the beachouse too with its waterviews, access to sandy beaches and boating.
Being off the beaten path, but not too far from restaurants, shops and activites is an added bonus. We hope to hear from you again for a future vacation.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
HARBORVIEW Steps to Sandy saltwater Beaches Free use DBL Kayak Pets consid
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p123182
508 273-2939
Pocasset Bourne Area
Chicopee, MA
5

Great Vacation!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 17, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
Enjoyed our visit to area. And the cottage was great. We were very excited about our vacation this year and choose Cape Cod. We lived in Onset and Wareham 26 years ago. We have not been back in 19 years and we were not disappointed with the place, cottage and area. The only complaint is that we did not have longer to stay and enjoy it :) We found it hard to leave.
Things to do in area: Beaches, Kayaking(first time in the ocean for us), Onset Canal Cruise, Hyannis Ducks and Railroad Tour, birdwatching, picture taking, beautiful back yard to enjoy, and great walks around the island.
Susan, David and John Thornton --Chicopee, MA
Owner's Response: Thanks Susan, David and John for your great review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your return to The Cape. We agree that Summerwind is in a beautiful area. Off the beaten path but close to beaches, restaurants and activities. We hope you will consider one of our cottages again for a future stay.
Best regards,
Carol & Jerry
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
HARBORVIEW Steps to Sandy saltwater Beaches Free use DBL Kayak Pets consid
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p123182
508 273-2939
Pocasset Bourne Area
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

From the Summerwind Guestbook

  • Submitted: Oct 29, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2009
Weather was: FANTASTIC EVERYDAY!
Some wonderful things we did: Just being on the island and walking. Location is fantastic!
What we discovered: The ever changing tides! Seaglass on Wing's Neck (you have to search)
Little things that mattered: It was my grandson's 1st vacation. (8mos. old) and he loved it here-he is a Beach Baby!
Other thoughts: Loved the kayak. Just a lovely well-equipped cottage. Hope to be back next year. Loved the outside shower.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
HARBORVIEW Steps to Sandy saltwater Beaches Free use DBL Kayak Pets consid
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p123182
508 273-2939
Pocasset Bourne Area
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

From the Summerwind Guestbook

  • Submitted: Oct 29, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2009
The weather was: Cloudy and Sunny
Some wonderful things we did: Visited Sandwich, kayaked, Marconi Beach in Wellfleet, relaxed and played games with the children.
What we saw and discovered: Friendly neighbors who shared their delicious fish.
Little details that mattered: Lovely house with a wonderful view. Many thanks and best wishes.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
HARBORVIEW Steps to Sandy saltwater Beaches Free use DBL Kayak Pets consid
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p123182
508 273-2939
Pocasset Bourne Area
5

Excellent Location and Value

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
Excellent location, very comfortable and well-equipped cottage in a very quiet neighborhood with so many extras such as the kayaks, BBQ, etc. Ideally suited for families with smaller children, however, our teenagers enjoyed the nearby go-karts, mini golf and restaurants. Close enough to all tourist attractions, shopping and ameneties, but completely removed from all of the hassle and traffic - felt more like our own personal home away from home.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: We are very happy your family enjoyed Summerwind and felt that it was your own Home Away from Home. We think the location is pretty special too. Away from the traffic and crowds, but close to beaches, attractions, shopping and restaurants.
There are activities for all ages to enjoy and we thank you for your kind review.
We hope you will consider Summerwind for a future vacation.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
HARBORVIEW Steps to Sandy saltwater Beaches Free use DBL Kayak Pets consid
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p123182
508 273-2939
Pocasset Bourne Area
5

Summertime at Summerwind

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
Our family of 5 had a super vacation at Summerwind. The cottage was very clean, comfy and charming. The sandy island beaches and beachcombing were a big hit. We poked in and out of coves with the kayak and spotted some unusual birds. Day tripped to Plymouth for a whale watch and spent a day touring Boston. Dinner at the Lobster Trap and Sundaes at Somerset Creamery-YUM! The cottage had everything we needed and more. The kitchen is nicely equipped for a beach cottage. Lots of movies, books and games. We recommend Summerwind and will definitely be back next summer.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Many thanks for choosing Summerwind for your vacation and for the positive review.
We're so glad you enjoyed the cottage, the beaches, great local restaurants, sights and activities.
You're welcome back anytime, just send us an email. Thanks again.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
HARBORVIEW Steps to Sandy saltwater Beaches Free use DBL Kayak Pets consid
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p123182
508 273-2939
Pocasset Bourne Area
3

Ups and downs at Summerwind

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
Summerwind cottage is located in a beautiful, secluded area with small beaches nearby, ample bird life etc. However, you do need a car to visit shops, restaurants and the excellent Beach Plum bakery. For those wanting a wider and better choice of restaurants we would recommend driving to Falmouth which is about a 25' drive away and has a lovely atmosphere with boat trips etc.
The cottage does come, as previous reviewers have noted, with lots of extras. Amongst these is a kayak which was great fun. Unfortunately, the provided beach chairs and tandem bike seemed to have seen better days. We would also like to correct some of the information provided. The kitchen is only updated in the sense that there is a microwave. We were quite disappointed to find that the glasses and crockery were quite sticky and we needed to wash them before first use. Moreover, there is no bath on the second floor as indicated, but merely a very small shower which does not work very effectively. (Thank God for the outside shower which we used more often and was very enjoyable!) The 'half bath' mentioned on the first floor is really just a toilet. The porch does not provide a sea breeze as it is glassed in. We also could not get the bbq to work.
The bedrooms were very good for a family of 4, particularly the master bedroom. Overall, we felt that small investments here and there plus a more thorough cleaning would have improved the overall impression of this accommodation.
Recommended for:  Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thank you for your recent stay. We’re glad you had a good time and enjoyed the beach, restaurants and other local activities and we apologize for your inconvenience.
We wish you had called as most of these issues could have easily been resolved.
We’ve had many international guests, and have never had this kind of misunderstanding before.
It seems some of the standard terms used in our listing may not have translated well.
Summerwind is a beach cottage in a family friendly seaside neighborhood with an “Old Cape Cod” atmosphere. We work very hard to provide a clean, comfortable and affordable experience for our guests. The kitchen was remodeled over the winter with new counters, floor and dishwasher. The second floor bathroom as stated in the listing has a shower, toilet and vanity/sink, all new. The shower is in working condition and we have not had any complaints before or since your stay. The bathroom on the first floor is what is known in the US as a “half bath”, which is a toilet and sink/vanity. Bathrooms in the US may or may not contain a bathtub.
The enclosed porch has combination windows with screens and a ceiling fan for great sea breezes when the wind co-operates.
The gas grill works and a lighter is provided along with an extra tank of gas. Every Sat. the cottage is cleaned between guests by 2 people for 3 hours.
We’re glad you liked the cottage and the nearby beaches and will work on making our listing translate better for our foreign guests. Thank you.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
HARBORVIEW Steps to Sandy saltwater Beaches Free use DBL Kayak Pets consid
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p123182
508 273-2939
Pocasset Bourne Area
Tucson, AZ
5

A Sweet Spot

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
Summerwind has a dual nature. You can be as active as you want. There is a kayak to paddle to the island or in the tidal marsh at high tide. You can jog or walk around the mile circuit or use the tandem bike. You can do laps at the little family beach. Then again, you can relax in the back yard and watch the birds in the marsh; and read or nap on the front porch. The cottage has just about everything you need to enjoy your stay. We've been back now for three visits. We love Summerwind.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thanks very much for the great review. We hope you'll make Summer at Summerwind an annual event!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
HARBORVIEW Steps to Sandy saltwater Beaches Free use DBL Kayak Pets consid
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p123182
508 273-2939
Pocasset Bourne Area
Cleveland, Oh
4

August 2010 Visit

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 2, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
The summerwind house was perfect for my family. The home was well maintained and clean. Good location with access to several local beaches. The neighborhood was quiet and nice. The outdoor shower was a nice addition for when we returned from the beaches!
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thanks very much for submitting a review and choosing Summerwind on Cape Cod for your vacation.
We hope you'll be back.
Helpful votes: 3/3