Winter Harbor house rental - Street View to Ocean
Street View to Ocean
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps5
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Winter Harbor House Rental Photos and Description
3 bedrooms , 1 bath , sleeps 5

Located on the scenic Schoodic Peninsula - part of Acadia National Park. Ocean Views-House is 130 ft. to Henry's Cove, walking distances to shops, galleries, restaurants, grocery store, post office, old-fashioned 5 & 10 & ferry service to Bar Harbor. Golf in town at Grindstone Neck Golf Club-right beside the ocean. Take free Island Explorer bus around the area-July & August. Renovated home with three bedrooms - sleeps 5, Queen Beds-2 & Twin Bed-1. 1 bath-clawfoot tub w/shower hookup, fully equipped kitchen-including dishwasher & garbage disposer, dining room & living room. Full size sofa sleeper in living room in addition to the beds that sleep 5. Cable TV, VCR/DVD player, wireless internet access, ceiling fans, washer/dryer. Picnic cooler provided. 2 bicycles available for your use & outdoor grill. Soaps, linens, towels provided. There is a STRICT NO PET policy.

I was born in the area and attended the local schools, graduating from the local high school.

This home has been in my family since 1885. This house has been passed down thru the generations. I have many fond memories of time spent in this home and in the town of Winter Harbor.

Large yard & field to play games & enjoy the outside, with ocean views from the house and master bedroom. You can walk to everything in the town of Winter Harbor.

9 Reviews of Property 123030 in Winter Harbor, Maine

Acadia, Schoodic Peninsula, Frenchman's Bay Home, Henry's Cove
average rating of 4.7777777 based on 9 reviews
business
Acadia, Schoodic Peninsula, Frenchman's Bay Home, Henry's Cove
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p123030
+1 816 316-9299
Winter Harbor Downeast and Acadia
4

Winter Harbor is Awesome...

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
This was our first family vacation in too many years to count, and it was incredible!! Despite all the rain! The home is more than well stocked and pretty true to its description. Sharon has thought of everything!! The house is really well situated, we liked staying out of the hub of the bar harbor area..and Winter Harbor provides a nice little haven. For sure go to the Visitors center across the street especially on Farmers Market day. We hope to be able to come back and stay here many times in the future!
business
Acadia, Schoodic Peninsula, Frenchman's Bay Home, Henry's Cove
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p123030
+1 816 316-9299
Winter Harbor Downeast and Acadia
4

Great for Honeymooners!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 13, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
My husband and I vacationed here for our honeymoon! We are from Kansas City, MO so we didn't really know what to expect in ME; we were pleasantly surprised!

This house we stayed in was within walking distance to the ocean and to a nice restuarant. They were equipped with a washer and dryer which came in handy over the week. The bedrooms were spacious, yet cozy. Overall the house was great.

As for the area, we took a few day trips to Bar Harbor, ME (about an hour away, totally worth the drive). We went hiking in the Acadia National Park and enjoyed the breathtaking views. We visited the shops and restaurants there as well. If you are there, make sure to go by Thirsty Whale's, they have great food! We also made a day trip to Millinocket, ME and went white water rafting!

Maine is the outdoorsmen's paradise. Whether you are wanting a relaxing, leisurely trip or an exciting adventure, Winter Harbor, ME is the place to be! The owners were very kind and called us up the first night to make sure we were settling in ok. They gave us some last minute tips and tricks which was great!

We had a great honeymoon and would definitely return!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Acadia, Schoodic Peninsula, Frenchman's Bay Home, Henry's Cove
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p123030
+1 816 316-9299
Winter Harbor Downeast and Acadia
5

Beautiful Vacation / Beautiful Home!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
The vacation home was as described, very clean, homey and had everything that we needed to enjoy our vacation. There is a new Information Center across the street that had great coffee, yummy pasties/breads and a wonderful farmers market. The town of Winter Harbor was charming; have to visit the 5 and 10 and the shops.

We rode the ferry over to Bar Harbor; and had some great lunch and wild blueberry ice cream! The Schoodic side of Acadia was great for picnics and really close to the house - we took advantage of the free bus to tour the area. I recommend going to the town of Corea, quaint lobster town - had great food at the Corea Wharf.

We stayed in Winter Harbor an extra day to experience the Pancake Breakfast and Lobster Festival. It was work the extra day.

I highly recommend a stay at this home with your family. My sister, niece, and grand-niece had a wonderful time.
business
Acadia, Schoodic Peninsula, Frenchman's Bay Home, Henry's Cove
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p123030
+1 816 316-9299
Winter Harbor Downeast and Acadia
5

Vacation in Winter Harbor, Maine

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
From the moment we arrived at our lovely vacation home, we felt like we were truly "on vacation". We opened the windows to allow the ocean breeze to filter in through the filmy white curtains, and breathed the fresh air of Winter Harbor, Maine. Everything was provided from clean linens to blueberry jam, information about events and activities in the area, a bicycle, picnic basket and blanket, and even a lobster pot, which we happily used. We are already planning our trip for next year, and couldn't be more pleased with our stay at the quaint summer home on 27 Newman Road, Winter Harbor, Maine.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Acadia, Schoodic Peninsula, Frenchman's Bay Home, Henry's Cove
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p123030
+1 816 316-9299
Winter Harbor Downeast and Acadia
5

A perfect rental home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
We thoroughly enjoyed staying in Sharon's rental home for our vacation in Winter Harbor. The house was clean, comfortable, and in a great location. Although we were up during a fairly hot week the nights were always comfortable in the bedrooms because of the ceiling fans and a lovely breeze. The beds were extremely comfortable. The kitchen and dining room were great and very well stocked. There were even extra toothbrushes, tooth paste, shampoo, etc., in the bathroom in case you forgot to bring your own.

I've visited Winter Harbor almost every summer of my life, and have a great affection for it. The house is located very conveniently to Main Street, you can walk to just about everything in town.

My husband was able to get a lot of work done during the days with the very reliable wireless internet, and we enjoyed being able to cook when we didn't feel like going out. The yard was excellent, and a great spot for our 20 month old to run around in. We also enjoyed being so close to the water, being able to see it from the house or walk to it in the mornings.

I would absolutely recommend this rental to others, and will most likely be doing so to family members (or staying again) in future summers.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Acadia, Schoodic Peninsula, Frenchman's Bay Home, Henry's Cove
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p123030
+1 816 316-9299
Winter Harbor Downeast and Acadia
Stilwell, KS
5

Relaxing in Winter Harbor

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
We had a wonderful vacation in Maine!

The house was just as described and a very welcoming place to come to after a busy day out and about. We used the large cooler to pack lunches for our day trips to the Shore Path in Bar Harbor, Campobello Island to see FDR's summer home and a trip to the Oceanarium. We used the large stock pots to boil the live lobsters we bought at the Winter Harbor Co-op. And had S'mores a couple of nights after using the backyard grill for hamburgers.

We had a very nice dinner at Chase's (5 min walk) and stopped at Harbor Girls for some awesome Philly Cheesesteaks after a visit to Schoodic Point. Later in the week we went back for pizza. Yummy!

Sharon provided a huge amount of information on the sights and activites around the area including Seacoast Fun Park in Trenton (45 mins) with Go-Karts, water slides, mini-golf and water balloon wars. (We treated our boys to it after half a day of shopping).

Winter Harbor is a lovely little town and we felt very comfortable sending our 11 and 10 year old boys to the IGA around the corner to pick up milk. (They loved it!)

The weather was perfect! Shorts during the day and jackets for our evening walks. Bring sturdy shoes to walk along the rocks on the beaches. This was a favorite activity for us all.

We have fallen in love with Maine and will certainly go back again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Acadia, Schoodic Peninsula, Frenchman's Bay Home, Henry's Cove
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p123030
+1 816 316-9299
Winter Harbor Downeast and Acadia
Lenexa, KS
5

Reunion Destination

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 24, 2008
  • Stayed: Aug 2008
My wife and I joined friends for a reunion vacation. The house in Winter Harbor was an ideal vacation spot. House is cozy, clean with all the comforts of home. We had a great time. Plenty of room for two couples.

Beautiful views from house of the cove. The town is a quaint village with a wonderful breakfast spot, 2 Sisters Bakery. We were there every day. You can walk from the house. Several restaurants in Winter Harbor that have great food !! We especially enjoyed the restaurant at Bunkers Wharf, great food, great views.

Schoodic peninsula is a few minutes away with breath taking views. We took day trips from the house in Winter Harbor to Bar Harbor and Camden. Acadia National Park is like nothing else you will ever see. Bar Harbor has everything you could ever want: Shopping, restaurants, bars and spectacular scenery. Camden is a quaint town with unique shopping and wonderful restaurants.

It was so nice to come back to a beautiful relaxing home each night. You will not be disappointed with this rental or with Winter Harbor. Charming town and people. Highly recommend this property for a vacation spot.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/7
business
Acadia, Schoodic Peninsula, Frenchman's Bay Home, Henry's Cove
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p123030
+1 816 316-9299
Winter Harbor Downeast and Acadia
Kansas City, MO, USA
5

Beautiful Old New England Home-Fantastic Location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 9, 2008
  • Stayed: Aug 2008
This rental was a real surprise, we didn't expect so many amenities. The house is beautifully furnished, very comfortable with all the bells and whistles. Every attention to detail, well thought through. Everything we needed and more, a washer and dryer, belgium waffle maker and of course a lobster pot and eating utensils. The house sits just a few hundred feet from Henry's Cove and offers a wonderful view. The town is just what you would expect, quaint, quiet and the people are very friendly. They have everything you need, from and IGA to a 5 and 10 cent store.

Many things to see and do in the area, close to Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park. Schoodic Point with its gorgeous ocean views, is a must see.

We would highly recommend this rental for anyone looking for a relaxing vacation spot.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Acadia, Schoodic Peninsula, Frenchman's Bay Home, Henry's Cove
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p123030
+1 816 316-9299
Winter Harbor Downeast and Acadia
Upstate NY
5

Charming cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2008
  • Stayed: Jul 2008
Very clean and comfortable little cottage with a lot of charm and all you could possibly need in the way of linens, cooking utensils, and appliances, including really great waffle and coffee makers. Location and attractions were as described - this is a lovely part of Maine and less traveled than west of Acadia. The owner was very helpful and gracious in our email and phone contacts and made good recommendations - the cottage also has a stack of brochures on local attractions and nicely annotated guide books.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 4/4