Eight Point Lake cabin rental - Front porch
Front porch
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps12
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Eight Point Lake Cabin Rental Photos and Description
- 2 BR, 1 BA, Sleeps 12.

The cabin has 50 feet of waterfront with a southern exposure. The water is clean and clear and very gradually deepens creating a perfect swimming area for children. The cabin has a dock and deck area at the water. A canoe, small sailboat and paddle boat are included with the rental. A pontoon boat is available to rent. The 1,100 square foot cabin has two bedrooms with double beds and two sets of bunk beds on the enclosed back porch. There is an enclosed front porch as well which affords a wonderful view of the lake. There is one bathroom with a shower, a fully equipped kitchen and a combined dining area/living room with a beautiful stone fireplace. The landlords are next door to the property.

Golf and Groceries: There are several golf courses all within a half hour of the cabin. The cabin is located off US10 between Farwell and Evart. We are about 10 minutes away from Farwell and 15 away from Evart where major grocery shopping can be done. Clare is just 20 minutes away for additional shopping and a movie theater.

15 Reviews of Property 122964 in Eight Point Lake, Michigan

Rustic Log Cabin on Eight Point Lake
average rating of 4.8 based on 15 reviews
business
Rustic Log Cabin on Eight Point Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p122964
+1 248 879-6877
Eight Point Lake Northern Michigan
Mishawaka, IN
5

Guestbook Comment

We first vacationed at the cottage in the summer of 2005 and loved it so much we returned again in the summer of 2006. The lake is wonderful. The bea...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 9, 2007
  • Stayed: Jan 2007
We first vacationed at the cottage in the summer of 2005 and loved it so much we returned again in the summer of 2006. The lake is wonderful. The beach at the cottage is sandy and drops gradually. When I think of the vacations at thecottage I think RELAXING. Our kids ages 12 & 14 also loved it. We hope to return regularly.
Helpful votes: 12/13
business
Rustic Log Cabin on Eight Point Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p122964
+1 248 879-6877
Eight Point Lake Northern Michigan
saginaw
5

Had a wonderful stay at eight point lake!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Really enjoyed our stay at eight point lake.....the cabin was clean and well maintained, Kay and Dave were fantastic hosts. We took advantage of the pontoon for great fishing, swimming and late night cruises. Played golf at a great course a half hour away........plenty of stores and restaurants nearby.........we would highly recommend this cabin and hope to come back next year........Denny and Kim Munger
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Rustic Log Cabin on Eight Point Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p122964
+1 248 879-6877
Eight Point Lake Northern Michigan
5

Pure Michigan!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
My husband and I are both from Michigan and over 20 years we've gone north with our family for cottage vacations. This vacation, on Eight Point Lake was by far the best. The beach is sandy and clean. The cottage was a perfect size; built from a Sears & Roebuck kit in the '40's. My tall husband and son did have to duck at a couple room entrances!

The large table in front of the porch was perfect; an oak tree provided shade all day. The grill and portable fire pit were great for evening meals and somemores. We rented the pontoon boat too and enjoyed trips around the lake, stopping at the sand bar and swimming in foot deep warm water. We also used the canoe and bikes...a great ride around the lake.

Even though the cottages are close together noise was never an issue. The fully stocked kitchen is indeed fully stocked...appliances and spices. The wifi was spotty...but we were on vacation and being un-wired is a welcome change.

We cooked most of the time but enjoyed Big Al's, nearby and Smokey Bones in Evert, plus Buccilli's Pizza in Farwell. They have an all you can eat pizza and salad bar; the waitress asked what kind of pizzas we wanted and stocked the buffet with them.

The renters are gracious, friendly folks...we had relatives w/kids visit for a day and they want to return themselves.

Again, we loved our week on Eight Point Lake, and would recommend this cottage and the lake, esp to those with families looking for a relaxed time by pure Michigan water.
Helpful votes: 5/6
business
Rustic Log Cabin on Eight Point Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p122964
+1 248 879-6877
Eight Point Lake Northern Michigan
5

Fantastic time at this cabin

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
We had an amazing time staying at this great rustic cabin! We can't say enough nice things about the cabin and about the owners. They are great people and it was a pleasure to rent from them. The lake is wonderful and we had a great time tubing, boating on the pontoon, fishing and relaxing by the lake. There was also a paddle boat and a canoe that we were able to use, which is included in the rental. We have already told many friends about our great experience staying here and suggested they all do the same. Our children (11 & 13) loved it. The kids had tons of things to do and were never bored. There were many games, books and movies for us to choose from in the cabin. We never wanted or needed for a thing here. Everything was already there. The cabin was extremely clean & well maintained. The size and layout of the cabin was perfect and we had plenty of room. The owners live next door and went out of their way to bring us gas out on the lake to the pontoon boat when we absentmindedly forgot to check the gas and ran out. Thank you for a great stay at this great cabin.
Helpful votes: 4/5
business
Rustic Log Cabin on Eight Point Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p122964
+1 248 879-6877
Eight Point Lake Northern Michigan
Ann Arbor, MI
5

Wonderful Vacation!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
This cabin is the perfect escape from busy day-to-day. The lake is great for the kids to swim in, because it's quite shallow in front of the cabin and the lake has a sandy bottom -- no seaweed or muck! The cabin itself is absolutely charming, and in excellent condition. The owners provide an array of spices, which makes it easy to make homemade meals (kitchen is more than adequate, and plenty of pots, pans, serving utensils, etc) and there's a nice outdoor table, to fully enjoy the views of the water while eating. We appreciate how much thought has been put into the little extras provided by the owners, and we love not having to haul sheets, towels, toilet paper, etc to the cabin, when the car is already so full!

The owners are warm and welcoming, and genuinely concerned that the renters enjoy their stay. We highly recommend this cabin!!
Helpful votes: 4/5
business
Rustic Log Cabin on Eight Point Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p122964
+1 248 879-6877
Eight Point Lake Northern Michigan
5

Fun in the Sun

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
This little cabin packs in big fun for the family! The lake is absolutely beautiful all day. We woke to the sound of loons on the lake early in the morning and had our coffee down on the dock as the sun rose over the early morning mist. There was plenty of sunshine all day for fun in the sun and lots of places to find shade to read a book. We often ended the day with a cruise around the lake on the pontoon boat that is provided. The cabin is clean and bright and very smartly decorated! The owners are an absolute delight and were so very accomodating to anything we asked of them. They are right next door and were very friendly and helpful. This is a great place to spend a relaxing vacation on the water. We recommend it highly!
Helpful votes: 3/4
business
Rustic Log Cabin on Eight Point Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p122964
+1 248 879-6877
Eight Point Lake Northern Michigan
2

Dishonest Renter

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
This was a decent cottage with a nice view of Eight Point Lake. My family had a good time during our stay. We had some visitors, but always stayed with in the means of the contract with having a maximum of twelve people staying over night. The week after we had left I called to thank the owner for the opportunity to stay at her cabin and to see when the earliest was that we could rebook for next year. She then went into how we had more than twelve people there and that she was going to have to charge us $25 extra per person. She stated that the carpet was a mess, and that they needed to get it steam cleaned. However, we had left on Saturday, and she didn't get there until late Monday, two full days after there had been new renters in the cabin. Also, the vacuum cleaner that she provided did not work very well. Regardless, the carpet looked no different when we left from when we got there. My family has been renting cabins ever since I have been very young which is about 30 years. We always do a thourough cleaning on the cabin before we leave, and make sure that it is spotless. We have never had an issue getting a deposit back in the past. She claims that she had to spend the entire deposit on steam cleaning the carpets, but she would not provide an invoice for the cleaning. Also, the cabin had an ant problem which she never once offered to help us with. She said in the advertisement that there was free WIFI, but the WIFI only worked about one quarter of the time that we were there. She never once tried to fix the issue. In the advertisement it also said that there was a paddle boat. However, the paddle boat did not work properly. In spite of all of this we never complained, and then afterwards she pulls this stunt by taking our deposit. I just think that we were treated very poorly, and I would think twice before renting this cabin.
Owner's Response: Owner's response to review #5380572. We own the home next to this rental cabin and are present first hand to observe the size of rental groups and the condition of the premises upon arrival and departure. Our contract specifies a limit of 12 persons with a charge for extra persons. Our contract also calls for the premises to be left in the same condition as when our renters arrive. Within a day of check in this group consisted of 6 vehicles and at least 15 persons. The renters failed to leave the property in the same condition as when they arrived. It is worth noting that this renter contacted us to ask about renting next year and inquired about the first opportunity to book dates for next year. We declined their request and have provided them with an itemized list of charges and damages which exceed the security deposit. This is the first time in our eight year rental history that we have withheld a security deposit.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Rustic Log Cabin on Eight Point Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p122964
+1 248 879-6877
Eight Point Lake Northern Michigan
Indianapolis, Indiana
5

Wonderful Relaxing week!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
We loved this rustic cabin on Eight Point Lake. It is exactly what we were looking for. It was clean and offered all of the things we needed to have a relaxing week. The kitchen is fully stocked with the cooking supplies that we needed to cook every meal for the week. We rented the pontoon boat and spent everyday out on the lake. We had 4 adults a three year old and loved relaxing on the dock and watching the sunset. The owners lived next door and were very kind and accommodating. They helped us with anything we needed. This cabin is exactly what I pictured for a nice summer family lake vacation. We are hoping to return again next year!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Rustic Log Cabin on Eight Point Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p122964
+1 248 879-6877
Eight Point Lake Northern Michigan
Troy, OHIO
5

Eight Point Lake Cabin Rental

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
This cabin is amazing and everything that it says it is. The Renting Family is a very generous family to rent from and their actions show that they want you there and to have a great time. We slept 9 adults and 2 children (ages 2 and 5) in the cabin. We cooked breakfast, lunch, dinner, and also a birthday party in the kitchen. The amenties were great and there was plenty of entertainment and fun things to do for all of us! The pontoon boat was what made the trip for us because we could all go out with the 2 kids and have a great time! The lake was awesome because you could quickly get to a fishing spot and be back into the cabin within minutes. There was fishing for the little kids (pan fish) and the big kids (pike, bass, etc.). We caught a lot of rock bass, blue gills, perch. There were several pike and bass caught as well! The dock area by the lake down from the backyard of the cabin is spectacular. On many days the adults would be lounging on the dock while the kids were swimming in the water that they could touch in. The cabin had a VCR with many movies to pick from, a CD player and radio, and many games. We will try to rent this cabin again in future years because it was very suitable and enjoyable for our family vacation. Thank you this family for a wonderful experience!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 8/9
business
Rustic Log Cabin on Eight Point Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p122964
+1 248 879-6877
Eight Point Lake Northern Michigan
Saginaw, MI
5

Eight Point Lake - a well kept secret

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2008
  • Stayed: Jul 2008
Eight Point Lake and this cabin rental was a great discovery for our family. The cabin is very roomy - especially the livingroom, and really does sleep 12 people. The lakeside screen porch is really relaxing. The kitchen has everything you would ever need - even for a large group. You have to stay in this cabin to appreciate the historic value and character of it. The lake itself is clean and sandy bottomed. You will catch fish if you're patient and ask the locals for advice. There are steps to a wooden dock - the dock has plenty of room for chairs to sit and enjoy the water. You do have to step off the dock (steps available) into the water - there isn't a beach, but it is very shallow. The pontoon boat was a great plus for us. My husband wears a brace on his leg and was able to manage the steps and get on/off the boat easily. He was comfortable all week long - which meant we all had a good time. There was a paddleboat, canoe, and bikes available too. The owners are friendly, accessible and accomodating as well.

If you want to stay in one place for a week, enjoy the water and just plain relax - this is the place for you and your family.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 10/11