Submitted: August 12, 2012
Stayed: July 2012
This was a decent cottage with a nice view of Eight Point Lake. My family had a good time during our stay. We had some visitors, but always stayed with in the means of the contract with having a maximum of twelve people staying over night. The week after we had left I called to thank the owner for the opportunity to stay at her cabin and to see when the earliest was that we could rebook for next year. She then went into how we had more than twelve people there and that she was going to have to charge us $25 extra per person. She stated that the carpet was a mess, and that they needed to get it steam cleaned. However, we had left on Saturday, and she didn't get there until late Monday, two full days after there had been new renters in the cabin. Also, the vacuum cleaner that she provided did not work very well. Regardless, the carpet looked no different when we left from when we got there. My family has been renting cabins ever since I have been very young which is about 30 years. We always do a thourough cleaning on the cabin before we leave, and make sure that it is spotless. We have never had an issue getting a deposit back in the past. She claims that she had to spend the entire deposit on steam cleaning the carpets, but she would not provide an invoice for the cleaning. Also, the cabin had an ant problem which she never once offered to help us with. She said in the advertisement that there was free WIFI, but the WIFI only worked about one quarter of the time that we were there. She never once tried to fix the issue. In the advertisement it also said that there was a paddle boat. However, the paddle boat did not work properly. In spite of all of this we never complained, and then afterwards she pulls this stunt by taking our deposit. I just think that we were treated very poorly, and I would think twice before renting this cabin.
Owner's Response: Owner's response to review #5380572. We own the home next to this rental cabin and are present first hand to observe the size of rental groups and the condition of the premises upon arrival and departure. Our contract specifies a limit of 12 persons with a charge for extra persons. Our contract also calls for the premises to be left in the same condition as when our renters arrive. Within a day of check in this group consisted of 6 vehicles and at least 15 persons. The renters failed to leave the property in the same condition as when they arrived. It is worth noting that this renter contacted us to ask about renting next year and inquired about the first opportunity to book dates for next year. We declined their request and have provided them with an itemized list of charges and damages which exceed the security deposit. This is the first time in our eight year rental history that we have withheld a security deposit.
Helpful votes: 2/2
Did you find this review helpful?