Tucson house rental - Tucson Retreat in Desert Wildlife Sanctuary
Tucson Retreat in Desert Wildlife Sanctuary
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 5 nights
 

Tucson House Rental Photos and Description
2 BR, 2 BA, Sleeps 4.

If you love nature and seek a comfortably furnished and peaceful place to relax or work, you've found it. This spacious, custom-built 2-bedroom, 2-full-bath house is situated in the Tucson Mountains on a private 50-acre wildlife sanctuary. The estate bridges an 880-acre county nature preserve and Saguaro National Park West on the east side (city side) of the Tucson Mountains. Front and back deck and patio areas are ideal for wildlife watching and afford a nighttime view of Tucson's city lights and the full-moon rising. Rental includes a computer workstation with hi-speed WiFi Internet service. Your host and property manager Thomas Wiewandt lives nearby; he's a professional nature photographer/tour operator and southwestern author.

For Additional Information: Weaving Studio: A fully equipped weaving studio is located on the premises and available for use by experienced weavers for a $100/week rental fee, all materials included.

I'm a professional wildlife photographer/filmmaker well rooted in the Sonoran Desert. To learn more about me and to see samples of my work, please visit my website wildhorizons.com.

Thomas Wiewandt purchased this house in 2004

I chose this property because of its unique location and richness in desert plant and animal life. Both homes -- mine and the rental -- have been carefully nestled within this natural area, 50 acres of pristine desert. The state of Arizona levies 60% higher taxes on undeveloped land, so income from this rental is helping me to keep this land in a natural state. My goal is to have it added to Saguaro National Park West for preservation in perpetuity.

You won't find a more restful and secluded home in Tucson, and it's perfect for anyone who loves watching wildlife and hiking. This property is also contiguous with our newest county park, Sweetwater Preserve, an 880-acre tract of pristine desert with superb hiking and mountain biking trails, rated among the best in the Tucson area.

We are also located on the east side of the Tucson Mountains, just a 10-minute drive to large grocery stores and Interstate-10, providing easy access to all parts of metro-Tucson.

We have the best of both worlds!

25 Reviews of Property 122855 in Tucson, Arizona

Tucson Vacation House in a Wildlife Sanctuary
average rating of 5.0 based on 25 reviews
business
Tucson Vacation House in a Wildlife Sanctuary
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p122855
520 743-4551
Tucson Arizona
United States
5

Paradise in the Desert

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 4, 2009
  • Stayed: Feb 2009
What a beautiful place, a great location, a home full of amenities and a very gracious, interesting and informative host. The home was convient to Tucson and a wonderful home base for travels all around the area. We had our own wildlife show daily - one morning spotting a bobcat, seeing coyotes on a couple of occasions and daily visits from the Gambel quails which you could always hear before seeing. Sunrises and moonrises were outstanding and on our last day, we watched a hot air ballon over the city. Our stay took place over one of the weeks during the Gem Show for 2009 - totally unplanned. Our host directed us to the best location for viewing some amazing archaelogical finds and gems from around the world. He also offered us excellent recommendations for dinner at a nearby local restaurant. We were in heaven and found our visit extremely relaxing - it was hard to leave and come back to the "real" world. We hope to get back again in the summer when the storm season arrives to enjoy the landscape in a different setting. The home itself was spotless and had everything we could need for our stay. We would definitely recommend this home to anyone needing to get away but also needing the convenience of easy access to main roads, highways and lots of great food and attractions. While in Tucson, we visited Mt. Lemmon (beautiful beyond compare and snowy), Sabino Canyon (ride the tram to the top and walk back - easy trek with amazing scenery), the Desert Museum (definitely a highlight of the trip), Pima Air Base/the Boneyard (get there early, lots to see), the ASARCO Mineral Museum (different and very cool), Titan Missile Base (don't miss doing a Directors Tour), took a day trip down to Tombstone and on to Bisbee for the Queen Mine Tour (great fun). Everywhere we went the scenery was breathtaking. As you can tell, we had a full visit but still made it back home every evening to relax in front of the fireplace and fall asleep listening to the desert wind down its day. We can't wait to get back.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 10/10
business
Tucson Vacation House in a Wildlife Sanctuary
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p122855
520 743-4551
Tucson Arizona
5

Desert delight

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 16, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
This is the second time I reserved this rental with Tom, the owner. Everything was perfect and as advertised. This is a high quality residence and a high quality desert experience (though some of the furniture is becoming somewhat dated). Sun and hiking are right out the back, front, and side doors. The home is remote from, yet convenient to, the amenities and resources of Tucson.

Property was clean, and well maintained. Everything works. Owner, whose house is several hundred feet away, is personable and responsive.

I would recommend this rental and hope to stay here again soon.
business
Tucson Vacation House in a Wildlife Sanctuary
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p122855
520 743-4551
Tucson Arizona
Oshawa Ontario Canada
5

A Wonderful Retreat in the Sonoran Desert

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
The house is an amazing retreat in the foothills of Tucson. Though only 10 minutes from shopping and suburbia it is totally isolated and surrounded by the untouched desert.
Tom is an attentive and helpful and most interesting host. He is an avid professional photographer and has a wealth of knowledge of the Southwest. He was easy to deal with online and gave us a thorough introduction to the gorgeous southwest style house.
The house had every amenity we needed, including separate bathrooms and showers. The kitchen had everything needed and a BBQ was great on warm evenings. We were there during a hot October when temperatures reached the high 80s but the evaporative cooler kept the house comfortable and humidified. The king size bed was extremely comfortable and the open windows at night allowed the fresh breeze to keep us cool. Also, the master bedroom had a wonderful deck overlooking the lights of Tucson.
We marvelled at the quiet and the wonderful moods of the desert and the Tucson Mts as we enjoyed wine and cheese on the patio. We were visited by several deer, some quail and lots of other birds. Great hiking is just a short walk away in the Sweetwater Preserve. We got up early to avoid the midday heat and experienced amazing sunrises among the cacti.
There is not a better place than this home to experience the Sonoran Desert in the Tucson region. Unreservedly recommend.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Tucson Vacation House in a Wildlife Sanctuary
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p122855
520 743-4551
Tucson Arizona
5

Desert Serenity

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
We never knew how serene the desert could be but sitting out on the deck in the evening, seeing the lights of Tucson in a cut between the mountains - in silence - was magical. During our two-week stay, our wildlife sightings were restricted to a herd of six deer, Harris' Antelope Squirrels and several desert cottontails. Nothing very exotic, and for the birders - we did have Cactus Wrens, Gila Woodpeckers, Northern Flickers, House Finches, Gambel's Quail, Curved-billed Thrashers, Pyrrhuloxia,White-crowned Sparrows and Mourning Doves coming to the suet feeder we brought with us. They also made use of the trays of fresh water we set out each day. Our host, Tom, was very accomodating and we were proud of his new prize-winning documentary on the Sonoran Desert. The house is extremely convenient to special places like the Desert Museum, Saguaro National Park, Tohona Chul Park, the International Wildlife Museum, Sweetwater Wetlands (for birders) and all the cultural attractions of Tucson. Superb location, charming house, and the two decks were magnificent.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Tucson Vacation House in a Wildlife Sanctuary
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p122855
520 743-4551
Tucson Arizona
London & Provence
5

A wonderful Sonoran Desert haven

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
A stay in this wonderful property and location will provide experiences and memories galore to those who love nature. Yet at the same time the property is within easy driving distance of downtown Tucson and its many local attractions.

The house has been thoughtfully located to nestle in its surroundings and provides fascinating desert and mountain views from all sides. A wide range of desert wildlife and plants can be seen nearby. We saw mule deer, coyotes, bobcat, Gambel's quail, hummingbirds etc. on the property during our stay. The diversity of cacti and desert flora is astonishing and hiking in the nearby Sweetwater Preserve will show you the Sonoran Desert at its best.

The house itself is very well furnished and equipped - including a good internet connection. It has a comfortable & cosy atmosphere both when inside and when lazing on the outside terraces.

The owner, Tom Wiewandt, lives nearby and is a charming and efficient host. He is a desert enthusiast, wildlife photographer and author so has a great knowledge of the locality and the best places to visit.

In summary - a very special experience. Highly recommended.

Keith & Maralyn, Suffolk, England.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Tucson Vacation House in a Wildlife Sanctuary
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p122855
520 743-4551
Tucson Arizona
5

So relaxing....

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 21, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
The stay at this location is a lifetime memory. The setting was so peaceful and provided a great connection to the desert environment. The listing and pictures, while very clearly and accurately describe the rental and show the setting, do not fully convey the tranquility and wonderful experience a stay will provide.

The property was clean, the owner extremely gracious and helpful with local information. The proximity to Tucson and the National Park provided ample opportunity to enjoy the area. Day trip excursions are easy with the close proximity to a major interstate. A wonderful nature preserve with trails is walking distance away to provide an opportunity to get out into the desert

I especially enjoyed my morning cup(s) of coffee on the patio. The bird activity was a unique performance each day, Gambel's Quail were the main performance daily. They would be heard before seen, delightful to watch. Looking at the landscape provided a calming and wonderful way to start the day.

Definitely a place to relax and get close to the desert.
Owner's Response: Our guests all come here to enjoy this spectacular and private location, rich in wildlife and hiking opportunities. As a wildlife photographer, my favorite months are February - April and July - August. Surprisingly, most Tucson visitors overlook July and August. This is our summer monsoon season, the time when you'll experience dramatic sunsets, rainbows, lightning shows, cactus flowers and wildlife not seen in other months of the year. Days may be hot, but tempered by afternoon relief from clouds and wonderfully pleasant, balmy evenings and refreshing mornings. Daytime temperatures commonly drop 20-30 degrees F from day to night. Our house has central AC and remains comfortable round the clock. Give summer a try -- you won't be disappointed! ~ Thomas Wiewandt, Your Host
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Tucson Vacation House in a Wildlife Sanctuary
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p122855
520 743-4551
Tucson Arizona
5

Perfect in every way

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 23, 2011
  • Stayed: Jan 2011
This is the perfect rental property - roomy, immaculate, comfortable, and accommodating in every way. It has everything you could possibly need or want in a home: washer/dryer, desktop computer and wi fi, satellite TV, a superb kitchen, bedrooms on opposite sides of the house, 2 great decks, gas fireplace, a 15-minute walk to a nature preserve, etc. etc. etc. Plus, virtually total privacy inside and out. You would really have to work hard to spot or be seen from another house. Most importantly, at least for us, it is in the Sonoran desert with spectacular views in all directions. This means sunrises, sunsets, saguaro cacti, coyotes, humming birds, quail, and no people or vehicles in sight. Great nature viewing and photography right from the deck. Located near and with easy access to all the attractions on the west side of Tucson - the Arizona-Sonora Desert Museum, Gates Pass, Saguaro National Park West. Central and downtown Tucson and museums and restaurants a very easy 20-minute drive. Very good shopping nearby (10-15 minute drive). Also easy access to Sabino, Mt. Lemmon, San Xavier Del Bac, Saguaro East, and even Kartchner Caverns. Tom is the perfect host and only a phone call or a 6 minute walk away. All in all, a simply magical desert experience. Recommended without reservation (but be sure to make one).
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Tucson Vacation House in a Wildlife Sanctuary
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p122855
520 743-4551
Tucson Arizona
UK
5

Do go!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 22, 2008
  • Stayed: Oct 2008
A lovely, comfortable house; a delightful, peaceful, calm place; a very special setting, beautiful views.

For us northern Europeans it was a remarkable opportunity to be immersed in this stunning desert landscape and simply wonderful.

We enjoyed every second.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Tucson Vacation House in a Wildlife Sanctuary
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p122855
520 743-4551
Tucson Arizona
Minnesota
5

Guestbook Comment

It is a place that I would recommend with no reservations. The gracious owner lives nearby if you have questions. The rental home itself will almost a...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 9, 2008
  • Stayed: Mar 2008
It is a place that I would recommend with no reservations. The gracious owner lives nearby if you have questions. The rental home itself will almost assuredly be beyond your expections. A unique opportunity to enjoy and learn about the desert literally right on your doorstep,and within easy driving distance of many things you might want to do around Tucson. We loved it, and felt as many other guests have felt in their comments. cb
Helpful votes: 3/4
business
Tucson Vacation House in a Wildlife Sanctuary
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p122855
520 743-4551
Tucson Arizona
Vancouver, BC, Canada
5

Guestbook Comment

The Tuscon Retreat without question is the jewel in the crown of our first attempt at life as 'Canadian Snow Birds'! We experienced the mos...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 17, 2008
  • Stayed: Jan 2008
The Tuscon Retreat without question is the jewel in the crown of our first attempt at life as 'Canadian Snow Birds'! We experienced the most comfortable winter temperatures the Sonoran Desert has to offer and greedily soaked-up the sunny rays that warmed each and every day of our 17 day stay here!
Tom's gracious presence added the perfect human touch and the love, knowledge and respect he holds for not only this part of the world but for the all the wonders of this earth are deeply inspiring.
This retreat is as good as it gets, hands down!
Helpful votes: 5/6