Friendship house rental - Your pier directly in front w/ Octag. seating area, Haystack Is., and out to sea
Your pier directly in front w/ Octag. seating area, Haystack Is., and out to sea
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps4
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay nights
 

Friendship House Rental Photos and Description
Three bedrooms, Two baths (jacuzzi), Maximum Guests Allowed: 4

Immaculate, year-round 3 bedroom, 2 bath oceanfront home on 4 1/2 acres with private pier overlooking Muscongus Bay & islands. Antiques, Orientals, cathedral ceilings, gleaming wide pine floors & skylights, along with top of the line mattresses & appliances including single jacuzzi tub provide a very comfortable setting for an unforgettable vacation. Wake to the nostalgic scent of fresh salt air & the plaintiff call of seagulls. Watch the occasional local fisherman check his pots for lobster from the elevated sun deck, spot the family of seals on Haystack Island or see the resident Ospreys nesting with the guest house binoculars. Use the two sit on top kayaks, two sit in kayaks, tandem kayak, (a total of 5 !) or the rowboat provided to explore the endless coves and islands, or take advantage of our large take one/leave one library to read on the deck which is complete with patio furniture, gas grille and magnificent views. Later enjoy a cocktail on your private pier as the ducks and seals swim & the tides change below.

And that's just the beginning... you haven't even left the property!

The downstairs living room has beautiful & comfortable seating, a large picture window & the TV/VCR/DVD. Off this is the double bedroom with private bath. Upstairs the great room has a mix of antique & new furnishings where you can enjoy the cd stereo & the panoramic view of boats, islands and spruce trees thru huge French doors that lead out to the 2nd floor deck. The kitchen is large, bright & well equipped. The master bedroom has a stately queen antique four-poster bed & the main bath has the jacuzzi tub, separate shower & skylights. Upstairs the protected loft holds two comfortable twin beds. It is a truly beautiful & restorative vacation home. Although there are beds for more people, we are limiting the number of Guests to a very strict 4 people. This way you can choose which of the bedrooms would best suit you, and will assure you of many years of a wonderful vacation in a well appointed and carefully kept home

The nearby Farnsworth Museum is famous for its collection by American artists, & the Transportation Museum has the first Ford Mustang ever built!

We are only 30 minutes from Camden and Rockland to the North and 30 minutes south will bring you to Damariscotta, Pemaquid and the Boothbay region. Fine dining, world class golf, museums, festivals, concerts, the opera house, schooner trips, hiking, biking, & fabulous antiquing are all only a decision away. Waldoboro itself has an active summer playhouse/theatre and the local pier in Friendship is only minutes away where you can buy succulent lobster fresh off the boat. Or on vacation, why not treat yourself to an organized clambake on the beach where all the work & cleanup is done for you! We have compiled an extensive list of activities and ideas, complete with phone numbers, etc. that is available at the guest house. Included in your rental is the use of 5 separate kayaks, (2 sit-on-top, 1 tandem, 2 regular) and a 14 ft. aluminum boat

Lease Details: The lease you will be signing, should you decide to rent the Guest House, is a very important document, and is legal and binding. Please understand that all of the people who will be staying at the guest house, and any and all visitors to the property, or the guest house, even for a short period of time, must be clearly recorded on the lease and have been discussed with the owner previously. Pets are not allowed, and smoking is not allowed inside the guest house. Having people on the property who are not named on the lease is considered a violation. If the terms of the lease are violated, please understand that you may be dismissed without a refund.

Please read a full explanation of the lease terms and the reasons for them at 'Terms of the Lease' on our website at www.friendshipguesthouse.com

More Details
Hide Details

13 Reviews of Property 122852 in Friendship, Maine

Antiques, Orientals, and an Upscale, Private Oceanfront Home
average rating of 4.9 based on 13 reviews
business
Antiques, Orientals, and an Upscale, Private Oceanfront Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p122852
+1 8572398589
Friendship MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
5

PRIVACY, QUIET, WATER AND WOODS

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
This is our second year staying at the Guest House. If you want privacy, quiet, water and woods, then the Guest House is a perfect retreat for your vacation. Here you will find woods on 3 sides and a few yards away from the front door the cove with a beautiful deck to sit, relax & enjoy the water close up. Fish from the dock, take out one of the furnished kayaks or canoe, have your morning coffee or just do nothing. The deck off the house will offer you a higher view of the cove, the occasional lobster boat making its rounds, a table to enjoy your meals and seating to do your contemplating. Suzanne has done a wonderful job furnishing the Guest House with period furniture that makes you feel welcome and comfortable. The kitchen is furnished with all you need to make your meals, including a lobster pot (lobster $3.75 lb. at Creamers). The living area is the perfect place to sit, relax, read and view the outdoors through the sliding glass doors. The bedroom makes you feel warm and cozy. We are not into the t-shirt shops or tourist traps and have found for enjoyment: Sweetgrass winery, Thomaston Cafe, the state Pen store for hand-made souveniers, Bet's fish shack, and pizza at the local pizza shop in Friendship. Another great stop is the Audubon Camp where they have several hiking trails, some along the water and boat dock. We had the pleasure of meeting Suzanne and Francesco, the owners. They were warm and gracious and made us feel very welcome. We very much recommend the Guest House for your next vacation to Maine coast.

Dan and Kathy
Pittsburgh, PA
Owner's Response: Cathy and Dan are wonderful people. Down to earth, friendly, intelligent, interesting, and just the sort of people who seem to gravitate to the Guesthouse. We thoroughly enjoyed meeting them and if we lived closer I'm sure we would be fast friends. Thanks for the review guys! We appreciate it.
business
Antiques, Orientals, and an Upscale, Private Oceanfront Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p122852
+1 8572398589
Friendship MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
5

A bit of Heaven on Earth

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 14, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
Suzanne,

Dan and I want to thank you and Francesco for sharing your lovely guesthouse. We had a wonderful time...one of our best vacations ever. The weather was pretty much perfect. The view is absolutely beautiful and there was nothing more we could have asked for. You have thought of everything as far as the accomodations are concerned. Although we were not able to meet in person, your emails portray a warm and gracious person.....and that is reflected in the care and thoughtfulness you have put into making the guesthouse so comfortable.

We wanted to stay longer and hope to make it back to the area again.
Again, thank you. We will cherish the lovely memories of this vacation.
business
Antiques, Orientals, and an Upscale, Private Oceanfront Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p122852
+1 8572398589
Friendship MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
5

Paradise in Maine!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We had a fantastic, relaxing week which more than lived up to our expectations and, unfortunately, passed all too quickly.

The guesthouse was really comfortable and very well-equipped and it was very tempting to spend the whole week just admiring the wonderful view from the deck. However, we did manage to tear ourselves away each day and explore the inlets in the kayaks provided. The highlight has to be paddling out to the rocks to see the seals, basking in the sunshine. There are many possibilities for trips further afield but the location itself is so peaceful and stunning that it is very difficult to leave.

Suzanne and Francesco were extremely helpful both before and during our stay.

We were very sad to bid farewell but we certainly hope to return one day. The Guesthouse is a perfect location for a memorable vacation.
business
Antiques, Orientals, and an Upscale, Private Oceanfront Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p122852
+1 8572398589
Friendship MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
5

Paradise Found:

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
The photos of this house really do not do it justice.When my family and i , pulled onto the driveway, we was totally blown away by its beauty.The house is a perfect size,for a family of 4 to 6.very clean ,and well equipped.The views from the home, are breath taking, and at low tides you will see seals out on the islands.We had good times kayaking, around the islands, watching the lobster Boats the the morning pull their traps.or taking the Row boat out fishing.you feel a million miles from anyone,yet everything you need and want to see, if very close at hand.Checkout Moodys for Breakfast lunch or dinner close by on route 1.And just up in Warren small place at the side of the road called Maine-ly poultry.Fantastic homemade chicken pie's.Of course all the Lobster you can eat, is from any of the nearby fishing Towns, right out the Boats.I could keep going,from the house, to everything else, it was a trip to remember for sure.Enjoy your stay.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: We are so glad you had such a wonderful time with your family at the Guesthouse, Peter. You even found a place that I was not aware of! I will have to try out Maine-ly Poultry's chicken pies.
There is so much to do in Midcoast Maine and it looks as though you made some wonderful memories. We would love to have you back anytime, and thanks for taking the time to write a review. Enjoy the rest of summer!
Suzanne and Francesco
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Antiques, Orientals, and an Upscale, Private Oceanfront Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p122852
+1 8572398589
Friendship MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
Kent, UK
5

A great house in a lovely location...

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
We have just a had a very enjoyable and all too short week staying at the Guesthouse.

Although we knew there were plenty of other things to do and see in the vicinity, we did not stray far from the house and the water. It was good fun kayaking and rowing in the cove, and swimming off the impressive dock.

Certainly suited our family perfectly - which includes two teenage sons. It is private and quiet, but not isolated. There is a tremendous diner - Moody's - right on the junction of Route 1 and other useful facilities in nearby Waldoboro The house is impeccably presented and furnished, and the views from the deck are superb. Everything was as described and lived up to expectations. Loads of books to read, plenty of films and a perfect place to relax.

The owners were extremely friendly. Correspondence before the trip was both helpful and welcoming and this approach was maintained during and after our trip.

Would certainly recommend this house to others - without hesitation.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Antiques, Orientals, and an Upscale, Private Oceanfront Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p122852
+1 8572398589
Friendship MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
Richmond, VA
4

LOVELY, QUIET, VERY WELL EQUIPPED

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 6, 2009
  • Stayed: Sep 2009
We loved our stay in this guest house. It is "off the beaten path" which was great for us, quiet with beautiful views. Recommend for couples and seniors particularly!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Wonderful Guests. Lovely, witty and fun!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Antiques, Orientals, and an Upscale, Private Oceanfront Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p122852
+1 8572398589
Friendship MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
Gallupville New York upstate NY USA
5

Return vacation at the guesthouse

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 27, 2009
  • Stayed: Sep 2009
We just returned from our second vacation at this beautiful spot. The house and setting are beautiful, peaceful and comfortable. Everything is well maintained and as presented in the description. This is a perfect Maine location for enjoying the real Maine. It is not commercial, but there are many places to visit and great places to eat. We would highly recommend a vacation at the guesthouse. The owners provide the very best and are very helpful. We can't wait to return in 2010.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Such a delightful couple! B. and L. are always a pleasure, and have been vacationing in Maine for many years. They just discovered the Guesthouse last year, and have already reserved their spot for next year.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Antiques, Orientals, and an Upscale, Private Oceanfront Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p122852
+1 8572398589
Friendship MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
Cambridge, MA
5

Absolutely Beautiful

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 10, 2009
  • Stayed: Jun 2008
My husband and I stayed here for a week last summer and absolutely adored our time! This property really has everything to offer: relaxation, adventure, authentic cultural experiences, great dining opportunities, and beauty.

As a interior decorator, I must say that I was blown away with how beautifully done the house is. There is the perfect balance of color and class. There was always wonderful light coming in the windows, and the view is spectacular. Richard and I wish we could live there year round!

Have a great time!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Antiques, Orientals, and an Upscale, Private Oceanfront Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p122852
+1 8572398589
Friendship MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
Gallupville New York upstate NY USA
5

This is the real Maine....

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 16, 2008
  • Stayed: Sep 2008
We have spent fall vacations in this area of mid-coast Maine for several years. This guesthouse is the best! The guesthouse is beautiful, comfortable and clean. The area is very private and quiet and the views are breathtaking. The wonderful second floor deck and seating on the pier offers spectacular views in all directions.
Although you are truly away from it all - between Friendship a quiet fishing village and Waldoboro, an interesting historical town, you can drive in either direction for restaurants, museums, the beautiful Coastal Maine Botanical Garden.
We found that we did not want to travel far from this absolutely beautiful spot.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Antiques, Orientals, and an Upscale, Private Oceanfront Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p122852
+1 8572398589
Friendship MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
Rochester, NY
5

Wonderful

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2008
  • Stayed: Jul 2008
Other than a few minor issues with the electricity (we managed to trip the breaker twice), we had an absolutely wonderful stay.

We did find out, quickly, that the neighbors do not like "trespassing" on private property - we walked the shoreline at low tide and apparently that is a no-no! No worries, though, we kayaked around the cove and saw all that we wanted to - even ran into the seals!!

The place is peaceful, clean and beautifully maintained. Anything we were missing was available at the nearby grocery. We were also less than an hour from Rockland and Booth Bay, so we did do a few day trips to see Maine.

We would definitely return!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Sorry, you can't pick your neighbors!! but at least they are not close by and live 90% of the time on the west coast! (Including most of the summer)
Lovely family... you guys are welcome anytime. So glad you had a marvelous time!
Helpful votes: 6/6