Vineyard Haven house rental - Aerial View of Home and Private Dock
Aerial View of Home and Private Dock
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps10
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Vineyard Haven House Rental Photos and Description
4 BR, 3.5 BA, Sleeps 10-12

This spacious waterfront home offers impressive 180 degree views, two private beaches, a dock, a mooring and boasts all the amenities of Martha's Vineyard just minutes away. So whether you like to walk on the beach, swim, sunbathe, boat, hike, fish, shop, dine and/or just relax this waterfront home is the perfect getaway. Something for everyone. Located on a private drive and nestled in a pine forest this home offers quiet seclusion with incredible waterfront views. Vineyard Haven is only ten minutes away for easy access to the Vineyard Haven ferry boat terminal, shopping, grocery stores, restaurants, family entertainment, rental cars, boats, etc.

Overlooking the crystal blue waters of Lake Tashmoo which opens out into Vineyard Sound this home offers exclusive waterfront vistas and stunning sunrise and sunsets. The two large sun decks complete with a entertainment sized stainless steel grill is ideal for hosting family and friends.

With 10 rooms and 3,000 sq.ft. there is plenty of room to share with guests or to escape for a while with your own private space. Choose from one of three sitting rooms including a screened-in porch or living room with a dramatic stone fireplace. The large open kitchen and dining area offer panoramic views through the full length bay windows. The second story master bedroom offers incredible views of Vineyard Sound. It also includes a king-sized bed, private reading deck, and Jacuzzi bath. Bedroom two, includes sliding door to large deck leading to dock and king-sized bed, and it is located next to bathroom with shower and laundry. Bedroom three has private bathroom with shower and queen-sized bed. Bedroom four, has one twin-sized bunk bed, and an individual twin bed perfect for families. There is also a queen-sized sleeper sofa and two fold away beds available for additional guests.

More Details
Hide Details

Martha's Vineyard is an Island that I consider my second home. It offers the beauty of the beach, magnificent vistas, crystal clear waters, consistent sea breezes and the pleasures of Island living. As a an avid sailor, leisurely swimmer, happy angler and one who enjoys sharing the beauty that is Tashmoo I find myself extremely blessed.

Curt Carpenter purchased this house in 2000

Welcome to our home on Lake Tashmoo! Our home was originally a summer cottage that was purchased by our grandparents Curt and Carol Booth in 1957. Our grandparents and mother Nancy Booth Carpenter spent many summers enjoying the tranquility of the Lake Tashmoo and its many accoutrements. The family home was renovated in 1990 and after our mother’s passing, Carolyn and Curt inherited the home to share with family and friends for generations to come. So take pleasure in Lake Tashmoo’s serene sunrises, blazing sunsets, refreshing swims, and wonderful silence.

The house was built for family and friend entertaining. Like it outdoors? Your in the right place; we have two beaches, two bodies of water (Tashmoo and Vineyard Sound), a private dock, two huge sun decks, an outdoor shower, large front yard, private patio and gardens throughout. Prefer to be indoors? No problem; we have three TV, DVD and Blue-Ray players, new PC, wireless high speed internet, huge sectional couch in the den with a massive field stone fireplace, back family room with two coaches and a large overstuffed chair and a screened in porch with windows that can be closed. Want to stretch your legs? The property is located on a private road and surrounded by woods and reserve land with hiking trails through out.

Collapse

22 Reviews of Property 122410 in Vineyard Haven, Massachusetts

Waterfront Property with Private Dock, Private Beach & Fantastic Views
average rating of 5.0 based on 22 reviews
business
Waterfront Property with Private Dock, Private Beach & Fantastic Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p122410
+1 6176803394
Vineyard Haven Martha's Vineyard
5

Wouldn't change a thing!

Wouldn't change a thing!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 20, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
From the moment we arrived to the moment we had to leave- perfection!! It was our daughter's college graduation celebration with grandparents, cousins, and boyfriend. The location is dreamy, the kitchen was well stocked (we are cookers), bedrooms and bathrooms were great, and the owner was extremely available on email to answer all our questions. We have rented home all over the world and we have 2 vacation rental homes of our own so we are seasoned veterans at this and we would rent this house again in a heartbeat. As a matter of fact, we hope to go back some day!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We enjoy sharing our home with people like you; who truly appreciate the beauty of Tashmoo as much as my family does. Love to have you back anytime.
business
Waterfront Property with Private Dock, Private Beach & Fantastic Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p122410
+1 6176803394
Vineyard Haven Martha's Vineyard
Weston, MA
5

Great Property

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Just returned from a terrific vacation at this beautiful home. In my opinion (and having done a lot of research on the subject), this is one of the best properties in its price range on the island. You get wonderful views all the way out to Vineyard Sound where you can see the ferries come and go, lakefront with dock AND direct ocean access from the lake (great for kayaking), a high degree of privacy, easy access to beach, and yet still very close to a supermarket and other conveniences, Our kids had so much fun they didn't watch TV the entire week. The only negative I can think of is that this property has many loyal followers, and is already booked for many weeks next summer.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your kind review. We really enjoyed having you and your family at our home. It's always a pleasure to share the Tashmoo experience with people who truly appreciate how special it is.
business
Waterfront Property with Private Dock, Private Beach & Fantastic Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p122410
+1 6176803394
Vineyard Haven Martha's Vineyard
5

Our Favorite Annual Tradition!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We enjoyed another perfect vacation at the Carpenter home on Lake Tashmoo in June. This was our third annual vacation here, and it continues to be our favorite vacation spot.

The home is in an ideal location, right on Lake Tashmoo with plenty of privacy. It’s very comfortable here - the house has everything you could possibly need. We love the new addition of the beautiful hand carved picnic table on the deck - we enjoyed drinking our coffee here every morning as the sun come up.

We rented a kayak down the street at Winds Up and spent our days floating around the lake pretending to be working off our awesome dinners (and too much Mad Martha’s ice cream) from the night before. We also spent time on the dock watching the boats - and one night we were treated to the sound of bagpipes from across the lake. There’s a lot to see and do on the lake - we really had a lot of fun.

We enjoyed the many restaurants around the island, particularly Black Dog, Scottish Bakehouse, and Linda Jean’s Diner for breakfasts, and Chescas, MV Chowder Company, Newes, Net Result, Seafood Shanty and Nancys for lunch or dinner. There’s so many other great restaurants - we definitely enjoy trying them all :-)

We also can’t say enough about the owners - they truly want to make your stay the best it can possibly be. We’ve rented many homes over the years, and can honestly say they are the most attentive and accommodating we’ve ever experienced.

Definitely plan on continuing our annual tradition here!
Owner's Response: Thank you for the great review and all the helpful tips for future guests. We hope to have you and your great family back again next summer!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Waterfront Property with Private Dock, Private Beach & Fantastic Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p122410
+1 6176803394
Vineyard Haven Martha's Vineyard
5

Fabulous Home with Best Tashmoo view

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
WOW! This home has everything you could want in a MV rental- view, accessibility to the water, incredible sunsets, kayaking, privacy and yet close to all the action and a great owner who is responsive to any issues which might arise. I rented this house for 3 weeks for family reunions with my siblings and then children/grandchildren. It easily accommodates 10-12 but we sometimes had a few more and it was not a problem. Having summered for many years of my life down-island, I have a new love of this island due to the privacy of this home. My Midwest family was blown away by everything the island offered and yet were reluctant to leave the beauty of this home's setting. I rented a second kayak (Book a Boat in Menemsha delivers for free and reasonable cost) and we paddled all over the lake. Relaxing off the dock on the floaties was an evening requirement. We ate dinner every night on the big picnic table and wandered down each night to watch the sunset over the end of the dock. Biking was great from Oak Bluffs to Katama and Edgartown (Anderson's rental in OB has best rates) and who couldn't love getting lobster rolls and chowder at Menemsha Fish Market and watching the sunset on the beach at the end of the pier. If you're looking for a place to eat out (which we never usually do since it's always expensive and crowded in the summer) we were pleasantly surprised to find Little House Cafe right before Cronigs on State Road. We had no problem getting a reservation for a Sat. night and the food was delicious and surprisingly inexpensive. I recommend it! Lastly, the waves at Katama (South Beach) were a big hit with my kids-young and old and we had to make our own history with jumping off the bridge on State Beach. All in all this is a fabulous home rental.
Owner's Response: Thank you for your rental and your warm review. It was a pleasure hosting you and your family. We hope you'll return sometime very soon. Have a great balance of your summer!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Waterfront Property with Private Dock, Private Beach & Fantastic Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p122410
+1 6176803394
Vineyard Haven Martha's Vineyard
5

MV Round 2

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 13, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
MV Round 2

Summer of 2012 was our second summer vacationing in Martha's Vineyard, and it was our second time renting the Carpenter home. The house really felt like "home," and we didn't realize how much we loved and missed the house until we returned the second time.

With it being our second time there, we were settled in much quicker, and really used the space. Hanging out on the dock in the late afternoon and jumping right off the dock into Lake Tashmoo were some of our best memories from this past summer. We had an incredible week with only one morning of light rain, and we had a lot of family that came to visit and stay with us, from Boston and even San Antonio. Another highlight was getting home-cooked meals from local restaurant Scottish Bakehouse -- we grilled up some of their homemade lamb burgers, and just had some amazing family dinners on the back deck of the house. Lots of memories made, especially for the kids. And while the babies were sleeping, we often used the back living room (where the TV is) for exercising -- last year it was WiiFit, and this year we all did a Gyrokinesis video. We'll have to come up with something else this coming year :)

The property is very clean, very well maintained, and Curt, the owner, provides an amazing level of customer service. He even went the extra step to email us some of his family's personal favorite attractions of the entire island.

The house is perfect for larger groups who need to be able to spread out a little, and who need multiple adult bedrooms (one bedroom has three twin beds -- all the rest have larger beds for adults). The kitchen is well-equipped, and the home has a level of privacy that really makes it feel secluded, yet it's only minutes from everything you'd need as far as restaurants, shops, and grocery stores. The views are absolutely gorgeous -- we could just stare at that Lake forever.

Looking forward to returning this coming summer -- highly recommend this place!
Owner's Response: Thank you again for your Rental. It's a pleasure sharing our home with a family who appreciates the magic of Tashmoo and Martha's Vineyard. Have a great winter season. We look forward to having you back! The Carpenter's.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Waterfront Property with Private Dock, Private Beach & Fantastic Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p122410
+1 6176803394
Vineyard Haven Martha's Vineyard
5

Another Perfect Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
We stayed here for a second year in a row and had another great vacation! It’s a perfect location for a truly relaxing time.

It takes several minutes to get to the house from a main road - down a bumpy dirt road (14.5 miles per hour signs are posted), you pass wildlife - deer, turkeys, horses, goats, sheep, cattle. When you finally arrive at the house, you are immediately in awe of the view. You are immediately relaxed!

Our family of 6 is very comfortable here and there is plenty of room for privacy. The rooms are spacious with great views of the lake. When we went in September, it was cool (very cool at nights), and the fireplace was perfect for sitting around and reading or playing games.

The surrounding area is very quiet and serene. You can enjoy the lake by either the decks overlooking Lake Tashmoo or go down on the dock and get closer to the activity on the water.

The Owners are truly welcoming and want to do everything they can to make sure you have a great time.

It’s a perfect home when you need the most relaxing and restful vacation!
Owner's Response: We're so glad you had another wonderful stay. It really is a joy to share our home with another family that appreciates the beauty of Tashmoo and the Island as much as we do. Have a great Fall/Winter season and we hope to have you back again soon! The Carpenter's
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Waterfront Property with Private Dock, Private Beach & Fantastic Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p122410
+1 6176803394
Vineyard Haven Martha's Vineyard
5

MV Round 2

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
Summer of 2012 was our second summer vacationing in Martha's Vineyard, and it was our second time renting the Carpenter home. The house really felt like "home," and we didn't realize how much we loved and missed the house until we returned the second time.

With it being our second time there, we were settled in much quicker, and really used the space. Hanging out on the dock in the late afternoon and jumping right off the dock into Lake Tashmoo were some of our best memories from this past summer. We had an incredible week with only one morning of light rain, and we had a lot of family that came to visit and stay with us, from Boston and even San Antonio. Another highlight was getting home-cooked meals from local restaurant Scottish Bakehouse -- we grilled up some of their homemade lamb burgers, and just had some amazing family dinners on the back deck of the house. Lots of memories made, especially for the kids. And while the babies were sleeping, we often used the back living room (where the TV is) for exercising -- last year it was WiiFit, and this year we all did a Gyrokinesis video. We'll have to come up with something else this coming year :)

The property is very clean, very well maintained, and Curt, the owner, provides an amazing level of customer service. He even went the extra step to email us some of his family's personal favorite attractions of the entire island.

The house is perfect for larger groups who need to be able to spread out a little, and who need multiple adult bedrooms (one bedroom has three twin beds -- all the rest have larger beds for adults). The kitchen is well-equipped, and the home has a level of privacy that really makes it feel secluded, yet it's only minutes from everything you'd need as far as restaurants, shops, and grocery stores. The views are absolutely gorgeous -- we could just stare at that Lake forever.

Looking forward to returning this coming summer -- highly recommend this place!
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for the kind words and helpful guidance to other prospective guests. We loved having you back and we're glad that the magic of Tashmoo hasn't lost its magic the second time around. Looking forward to your return. The Carpenter's.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Waterfront Property with Private Dock, Private Beach & Fantastic Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p122410
+1 6176803394
Vineyard Haven Martha's Vineyard
Toronto
5

Amazing Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
This was our first visit to MV and we had an excellent time staying on Tashmoo. The house was well outfitted and very clean when we arrived with all the necessities for a vacation away from the hustle of city life. The quiet nights, the beautiful scenery and access to the private beach made our stay a magical one.

The owners were very accommodating and responsive to all questions and items brought up before, during and after the trip. We are looking forward to our next visit to MV and a stay here.
Owner's Response: Thank you for the kind words and for treating our home as your own. We look forward to having you and your family back on Tashmoo! The Carpenter's
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Waterfront Property with Private Dock, Private Beach & Fantastic Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p122410
+1 6176803394
Vineyard Haven Martha's Vineyard
5

SUPERB

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We enjoyed a superb stay at this beautiful, serene, well-fitted vacation home on Lake Tashmoo. It was the best equipped vacation home we have ever rented. The amenities, views, comforts (a master bedroom larger than most persons' living room, looking out , along with a deck, upon a 180 degree view of beautiful Lake Tashmoo), and not to be dismissed - the total absence of any mosquitoes all week long, - made for a truly excellent environment for our entire family, including 4 grandchildren (4 girls ranging from 3 - 5 years old). The owner was and is a pleasure to deal with, and he is immediately responsive to any concerns and issues about one's stay on the property. The home exceeded our expectations in a way that a great painting is much more than the sum of its descriptions. We would definitely recommend the property to anyone with an appreciation of the Vineyard and its beauty.
Owner's Response: Thank you again for renting our home. You were a pleasure to host and we hope to have you and your family back again soon.
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Waterfront Property with Private Dock, Private Beach & Fantastic Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p122410
+1 6176803394
Vineyard Haven Martha's Vineyard
5

SUPERB

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We enjoyed a superb stay at the Carpenters' beautiful, serene, well-fitted vacation home on Lake Tashmoo. It was the best equipped vacation home we have ever rented. The amenities, views, comforts (a master bedroom larger than most persons' living room, looking out , along with a deck, upon a 180 degree view of beautiful Lake Tashmoo), and not to be dismissed - the total absence of any mosquitoes all week long, - made for a truly excellent environment for our entire family, including 4 grandchildren (4 girls ranging from 3 - 5 years old). The owner Curt Carpenter was and is a pleasure to deal with, and he is immediately responsive to any concerns and issues about one's stay on the property. The home exceeded our expectations in a way that a great painting is much more than the sum of its descriptions. We would definitely recommend the property to anyone with an appreciation of the Vineyard and its beauty.
Owner's Response: Thank you for your very kind words. You and your family were an absolute delight to have as guests and we hope to have you back again very soon. Enjoy the balance of your summer.
- The Carpenter's
Helpful votes: 4/4