Kentucky Lake house rental - Rear view of house, decks, pool and hot tub. New 7 person hot-tub not pictured.
Rear view of house, decks, pool and hot tub. New 7 person hot-tub not pictured.
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps9
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay nights
 

Kentucky Lake House Rental Photos and Description
House, 4 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 3 Baths, (Sleeps 9)

This 2800 square-foot house is situated with a fantastic view on enormous Kentucky Lake (which has more shoreline than Lake Superior). An absolute fisherman's paradise, Kentucky Lake is known as some of the best crappie fishing in the world, and just last summer several big largemouth bass and a 10-pound catfish were caught straight off the owner's dock. AS OF NOV 1,2013 we are 50 miles from a 100 million dollar park that houses a world class museum, botanical gardens, aquarium etc... Discoveryparkofamerica.com Great for all ages.

The house has four bedrooms, each with a lake view - two upstairs and two downstairs. UPSTAIRS RENOVATED 2009 and finished in 2011. New beautiful wood floors and beautiful countertops. Both bathrooms upstairs are completely renovated and beautiful. The upper bedrooms each have a bathroom and each have a king size bed. The newly renovated Washington suite is awesome. Downstairs there is one bathroom next to the bedroom with a queen size bed. The other room has bunk beds and another single -- perfect for the kids. Pets are NOT allowed. No exceptions! No Smoking.

The large living room upstairs has a gas-log fireplace, a large surrounding balcony and a stunning view. The upstairs and downstairs both have a large living area (fantastic lake view) with leather furniture. Downstairs totally renovated in 2010 .There is a wood-burning fireplace (not used) and a sauna along with a full-size desk for the workaholic. Other amenities include a private heated large (30by20) swimming pool, foosball table, Bose music system, fax machine and copier. A seven-person jacuzzi (old 3 person one replaced in May 2013) is an extra $150 per rental. A recent guest said out of 40 rental places they have been to mine was the best and was most equipped. They did not need any of the extra cooking supplies they had brought. THERE ARE MANY REASONS WHY MY SUMMERS ARE BOOKED THE YEAR BEFORE!!! 2010 gutted bedrooms and completely redone. New furniture. Check out photos. 2011 saw the completion of the inside being completely remodeled. All new flooring, wiring, lighting, walls. new house!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! New Hot-Tub 2013 and now a fire pit

PEACEFUL and QUIET!!

This property is situated only three miles from Miller Memorial Golf Course, which has been ranked among the top designed public courses in the nation by Golf Digest. The best thing is that green fees are only $15!

Keywords: House, swimming pool, lakefront

More Details
Hide Details

I am a Campus Minister at Murray State University and have been for 35 plus years. The Ministry is called Christ Ambassadors. Google Murray Chi Alpha I have traveled around the world on missions trips but my favorite place is here in Murray, Ky. which was named the friendliest city in the nation by U.S.A. Today.

The Owner purchased this house in 1998

I love the water and the location (peaceful and stunning views) as well as the home.

I do not get to stay in the house very much as I update every winter and it is totally rented out during the summer. Very unique benefits are swimming pool, stunning lake view, lake front, sauna, fax machine, Bose music system located right outside the city limits of the friendliest city in America according to U.S.A. Today. I challenge you to find another house like it anywhere!!!

21 Reviews of Property 12218 in Kentucky Lake, Kentucky

Kentucky Lake's Best View! 4 BR/3 BA Private Swimming Pool
average rating of 4.904762 based on 21 reviews
business
Kentucky Lake's Best View! 4 BR/3 BA Private Swimming Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p12218vb
Kentucky Lake Kentucky
Knoxville, TN
5

Wonderful view and Beautiful Upgrades

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 29, 2009
  • Stayed: May 2009
I was very impressed as soon as I walked through the door. I had stayed at the house in years past and remembered some of its dated features. But the most recent renovations are spectacular. The upstairs living room has beautiful hardwood floors and great leather furniture. The kitchen looks very sharp now too with brand new appliances and new granite counter tops. All rental homes say the the kitchen is fully stocked, but this one really is. My wife and I stayed in the new Washington Suite which was definitely first class. Every detail in both the bedroom and bathroom was excellent. Most of our time was spent in the upstairs and every bit of the furnishings have a high quality feel, something I greatly care about in a rental property. The view and lake access was as good as ever. We appreciated the effort Mark (the owner) put into giving us a very clean and well done house. You will not be disappointed.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: It is always great to have people return, and it is a delight to have you and your wife as guests. My favorite room is the Washington Suite also. I continue to spend thousands of dollars every year to make this the best property available. My goal is to make this a 6 star vacation experience for everyone!!!!!!!!!!
Helpful votes: 13/13
business
Kentucky Lake's Best View! 4 BR/3 BA Private Swimming Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p12218vb
Kentucky Lake Kentucky
Dayton, Ohio
5

Everything we hoped for, and more

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 24, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Even in the off season, the getaway was perfect. Enjoyed the hot tub during the crisp cold. Got a round of golf in at a close course while the wives went antique shopping in town. The other reviews were right, the view of the lake from where ever you are in the house are amazing. The house had all the top notch accommodations, from the tv to the mattresses to the kitchen appliances and even the silverware. Catching up with old friends and making new ones needs a comfortable, relaxing place and this one does not disappoint! Looking forward to making this a regular visit!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the gracious review. It was great having your family and friends at the house. My house has always been booked a year in advance for the summer months but more and more people like you are enjoying it in the off-season. I look forward to seeing you again. May the Lord Jesus Christ bless you and yours.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Kentucky Lake's Best View! 4 BR/3 BA Private Swimming Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p12218vb
Kentucky Lake Kentucky
United States
5

Lake Weekend

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
We met some friends at this property for the weekend. It was the perfect size for 2 families with children. We loved the view, the fire pit and all the outdoor space. The kitchen was well stocked and we had everything we needed to cook 2 breakfasts and 2 dinners. The owner even came by to make sure we had everything we needed and that we were enjoying ourselves. Looking forward to coming back someday.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thank-you for your kind comments. I am so glad you had a good time. It was great to meet you and look forward to you coming back. Blessings
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Kentucky Lake's Best View! 4 BR/3 BA Private Swimming Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p12218vb
Kentucky Lake Kentucky
Lexington, KY
5

Relaxation At Its Finest

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
What a great week of memories that were made at this beautiful lakefront retreat! When you first drive up, there is little indication of what awaits you when you walk through the front door. The view through the wall of windows, the deck, or anywhere on the property for that matter, offers quite the "Wow!" factor. And when the views have sunk in, there is more-than-ample opportunity to fulfill the desire of your visit - whether you are looking to just relax and soak it all in, or sprinkle in a buffet of family fun.

We were visiting with extended family - six adults and four children in all - and there was a great time to be had by all. The house is very spacious and well designed for both shared living space and for time needed to oneself. It is very well equipped with everything you might need for your stay as well. Even if you have a hard time "unplugging" yourself, you will be happy to know that there is cable TV with flat panel TV's and WiFi for your internet needs. The owner made sure we felt very welcome, with candles lit and fresh food and snacks waiting. He was also very helpful in answering whatever questions we had about the property, the lake and things to do/places to eat in the surrounding area. The swimming pool was a great attraction, especially for the kids, and is plenty big to be enjoyed by a large group. Due to some storms that moved through at the beginning of our stay, we even requested for the pool to be vacuumed and it was done right away.

We had also rented a pontoon for the week and introduced the kids to tubing. That was a big hit as well. The location of the property on this particular branch off Kentucky Lake is ideal for boating and water sports - and it was not crowded at all.

The other primary activity for the week was fishing. All of our fishing was done from the home's private dock and kept the whole group hooked for the entire week. We caught bluegill, sunfish, catfish, large-mouth bass, striped bass, crappie and even a couple that we weren't quite sure what they were. Some were of good size too, with a few lines being snapped and several that we could see were, "the big one that got away."

We wrapped up our visit on the final night by enjoying S'mores around a beautiful campfire at the lakefront fire pit. What a beautiful setting. We highly recommend this rental - along with stocking up on bug spray and worms for fishing!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: It was great having the Strattons at my rental home. I really enjoy sharing my house with such friendly people. I am excited that you are already signed up for a week next year. May God Bless you!!!!!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Kentucky Lake's Best View! 4 BR/3 BA Private Swimming Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p12218vb
Kentucky Lake Kentucky
Southern Illinois
5

The perfect retreat place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
Our staff of 10 wanted a place for a retreat that was private but had enough space to accommodate all of us. This lake house was perfect! The furnishings were beautiful, comfortable, and clean; the kitchen had all the appliances we needed to cook our meals; and the upstairs fireplace added a warm, welcoming touch. The view of the lake, from either upstairs or downstairs, was breath taking even in "off-season" when we were there (early March), and the area was quiet and peaceful. It also had Wi-Fi and plasma TV’s with cable in every bedroom and living room with other electronic helps. Its detail to excellence is quickly noticed. It was spacious and warm with three complete baths. The owner was also very nice and helpful - he gave us some good recommendations for local restaurants. We couldn't have asked for a better retreat place. We highly recommend this property and hope to return again ourselves.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: I am glad you enjoyed your visit. One of the purposes of me buying the house was so people could have personal, family and church retreats. It is a perfect place to reflect on the Greatness and Glory of God!!!!! May the Lord Jesus bless your group as you continue to further the Kingdom of God. Thanks for coming and the nice review.
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
Kentucky Lake's Best View! 4 BR/3 BA Private Swimming Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p12218vb
Kentucky Lake Kentucky
Sellersburg IN
5

Family Christmas

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
Our family spent the weekend celebrating Christmas and two birthdays. This Lakehouse is so spacious, warm and welcoming we didn't want the weekend to be over. The owner, (Mark) was kind enough to leave the Christmas decorations up for us, and when we arrived on Thursday late afternoon, the gas fireplace was going, lights were on throughout the house and candles had been lit. What a beautiful and loving welcome! Everything was very clean and organized. We did a lot of cooking, and I have to say I've never been in rental property that has such a well stocked kitchen (even a Belgium waffle maker!). The appliances are new and got a lot of use from us; with 15 of us to feed, it was chaotic at times, but with all the spaciousness on the main floor, meal time went very well. This is a beautiful property with a spectacular view of the lake. The pictures in the listing don't do justice to how pretty this property actually is. Since our visit was in January, we weren't able to take advantage of the pool or hot tub, very nice gas grills or the private boat dock, but hopefully we will be able to return sometime during the boating and swimming season. I would highly recommend this property to anyone looking for a wonderful retreat. Thank you Mark for attending to even the smallest details that made our trip one of the best ever!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: It was a pleasure meeting everyone and I love to share my home with people that appreciate it. I hope you get to come back and thanks for the delicious fudge!!!!! May the Lord bless you and yours and give you a fantastic new year!!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Kentucky Lake's Best View! 4 BR/3 BA Private Swimming Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p12218vb
Kentucky Lake Kentucky
5

Exceptional Home on an Exceptional Lake

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 29, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We ended July and started August at this lovely lake property. This lake home is truly special. It affords one a chance to really relax while enjoying the splendor of an exceptional lake. I spent countless hours as an adolescent boating and skiing on Kentucky Lake and wanted to share this experience with my family—this property offers it all and my family can’t wait to return! Well-appointed, great location, with all the amenities needed for a busy family and guests (the pool was a big hit). In addition, Mark, the owner is a gracious and attentive host. Don’t forget to bring your fishing poles and your ski boat—Mark’s property offers ready access to great fishing and skiing/boating. Our week certainly passed too quickly … that’s why we will be coming back next summer for two weeks (already booked)! As one other reviewer stated, “You will not be disappointed.”
Owner's Response: It is great hosting such kind people and am very glad you are coming back. I will see you in July!
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Kentucky Lake's Best View! 4 BR/3 BA Private Swimming Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p12218vb
Kentucky Lake Kentucky
UK
5

Fantastic holiday and great memories

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 7, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Having read the reviews on the house we were eagerly looking forward to spending the week there with our friends. I have say that neither family was disappointed in the slightest. The house itself was amazing and we had plenty of accommodation for all 9 of us (4 adults and 5 children). The children loved having the downstairs to themselves and this helped during their early morning get-ups! The standard of accommodation was fantastic, beautifully furnished and very very comfortable. The outside was fantastic – the balcony with the nectar for the humming birds never failed to amaze us and the swimming pool and hot-tub provided hours of endless entertainment for us and the kids. The house has a spectacular view and we did lots of fishing as well – catching a number of fish both from the dock and also from the hire boat which we had for a couple of days and spent motoring up and down the lovely lake.
We came all the way from the UK via Toronto for this holiday and was one of the best we ever had – well worth the long drive. I would love to think that we would come again one day but in the meantime would certainly not hesitate in recommending it to anyone vacationing from anywhere in the world. Well worth a visit. Thank you Mark, for making a memorable holiday.
Recommended for:  Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: I must admit that when I first got your inquiry, I thought it was a scam. I wondered how in the world did people from England find my house in the middle of Kentucky. I am very confident in my house being a super place to stay but was extra honored to have you come and stay. It was a joy to meet you and your welcome any time. I had another inquiry from England a couple weeks ago. I hope they can come also. Thanks for your very kind remarks.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Kentucky Lake's Best View! 4 BR/3 BA Private Swimming Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p12218vb
Kentucky Lake Kentucky
New Castle, IN USA
5

Great Place!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
What a wonderful week of bonding with our children and grandchildren! There were 6 adults and 6 younger children and we had plenty of space! The kids loved the pool! The dock was close and our kids were able to fish and boat safely! (They even caught fish which made it even better!) We were able to rent a funtoon (that's a pontoon with slide) from the Kenlake marina.

Shopping was fairly close although we bought most of what we needed at the beginning of the week. We ate in everynight because of not wanting to get ready to go out to eat. There were plenty of cooking utensils and plates, etc.

The view of the lake was beautiful! The home is located on an ideal part of the lake! The launching ramp for our own boat was close. We recommend this home and plan to return.
Owner's Response: It was great to have you and am glad you had a wonderful week. Every single person in your group was super friendly. I look forward to having you back. May the Lord bless you and yours.

Mark
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Kentucky Lake's Best View! 4 BR/3 BA Private Swimming Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p12218vb
Kentucky Lake Kentucky
Chicago, Illinois
5

Never Disappoints!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
This was our 6th year coming and the lake home never disappoints. The only downside is that the week always goes by way too fast!! Weather was great, water was perfect, and the kids caught a ton of fish! The renovations to the outside of the house are wonderful and add the finishing touches to many years of hard work. It's amazing to see the transformations that have taken place in the last 6 years. Look forward to staying here again!
Helpful votes: 5/5