Mathews cottage rental - Local porpoise happily returning to Reflections for another fun visit!
Local porpoise happily returning to Reflections for another fun visit!
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps5
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
 

Mathews Cottage Rental Photos and Description
- 3 bedrooms and one and one-half baths plus outdoor shower. SLEEPS 5. .

Want to get away from it all? Forget the daily grind by visiting Reflections, our attractive Chesapeake Bay beach cottage. Wake up to gorgeous sunrises and unlimited views. Walk the private beach to New Point Lighthouse, the second oldest lighthouse on the Bay. Spectacular sunsets are just a short walk to the Nature Conservatory's overlook on Mobjack Bay. Your backyard is a beach of sugar-white sand. The water is shallow and warm without dangerous waves, undertows and currents. You and your children will love it. How special is it? In February 2014 The HuffPost Travel Journal reported voters across the nation selected Mathews '1 of 15 of America's Coolest Small Towns'!

Reflections' Great room and master bedroom overlook the many moods of the Chesapeake. One bedroom is especially appealing to children - its beds are World War II Liberty ship bunks. Marine artifacts accent the room. The third bedroom features a wicker trundle bed and furniture - sure to suit any young girl's fancy. Reflections is tastefully decorated and so comfortable and relaxing you won't want to leave - ever.

What is it that makes Reflections so unique? You will know the minute you walk into the Great Room. The walls and decorations combine to make an interesting and one of a kind collection of marine art and antiques collected over many years of living and sailing on the Bay. Enjoy original water colors, stained glass and art which highlight the many moods of the Bay. If you're into artifacts you'll enjoy sleeping in the original officers bunk beds taken from a World War II Liberty Ship - a survivor of the German U boat Atlantic campaign. Directional signs from the deck of the famous liner S.S. United States can be seen on the walls of the Great Room along with survival rations and a life jacket from one of its lifeboats. All of this integrated into its beautiful setting on the Bay help make your stay at Reflections truly unique. Still unsure? View the video of Reflections taken by one of our guests, Pulitzer Prize winner and White House Photographer, Ron Edmonds.

***** No smoking. No pets allowed. *****

Guests are responsible for providing their own linens, towels and all paper products.

More Details
Hide Details

13 Reviews of Property 122036 in Mathews, Virginia

Chesapeake Bay Beachfront with BREATHTAKING Views
average rating of 5.0 based on 13 reviews
business
Chesapeake Bay Beachfront with BREATHTAKING Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p122036
+1 7578698056
Mathews Chesapeake Bay - Northern Neck
5

A true slice of heaven

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
This was our second trip to Reflections and it was just as enjoyable and wonderful as our first trip. The house is perfect for a relaxing getaway. It is a hidden gem that once you experience, you will never forget. We love how this house just seems tucked away from the world! Waking up to the breathtaking sunrise and falling asleep at night to the sound of ocean waves make this place all the more special. The house is clean, the beach is beautiful, the people are nice...what more can one ask for on vacation. The water is calm and refreshing and the beach private. Having a beach as the backyard is a dream come true! A vacation to reflections is worth every penny. You leave feeling refreshed and dreaming of your next visit. We absolutely love it here and so do our boys and are hoping to return in the future. The owners are great to deal with and we would absolutely recommend this property to friends and family.
Helpful votes: 1/3
business
Chesapeake Bay Beachfront with BREATHTAKING Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p122036
+1 7578698056
Mathews Chesapeake Bay - Northern Neck
5

A Hidden Treasure

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Thank you for providing us one of the best weekends that we have ever had! We absolutely fell in love with your place! The pictures truly do not do it justice!

The rooms were far bigger than pictured and delightfully decorated. We loved the Liberty ship berths. I was continually touring your beautiful cottage and finding some picture or knickknack lovingly placed. A lot of love is in your place.

We walked down to the lighthouse, a delightful journey. We also fished with not much luck but who cared? Fishing was just an excuse to sit and soak up the ambiance. We dined at Richardson's and what a surprise!! I had the chipotle cinnamon crusted tuna with mango sauce and my husband had the stuffed grouper. What a find!

We were so fortunate to have the full moon and the first night, it shown directly into the great room and our bedroom. We slept with the windows open to listen to the soothing influence of the waves. Upon awakening, we watched the sun rise and heard loons! What an incredible morning.

Leaving was the hardest of all...we cannot wait to return!

Thank you so very much for providing just a little slice of heaven for us.

Kindest regards,

DLB & VEM
Helpful votes: 1/3
business
Chesapeake Bay Beachfront with BREATHTAKING Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p122036
+1 7578698056
Mathews Chesapeake Bay - Northern Neck
Winchester, Virginia
5

Incredible experience!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
I cannot say enough wonderful things about our stay at Reflections. The location is incredible, and certainly the dominant feature of our stay. Being able to see AND hear the water from the deck, the dining table, the living room, it's wonderful. We walked barefoot on the beach in October with no one around -- what could be more relaxing?

The cottage is well equipped and the main bed is comfortable (we only needed one room). The other two bedrooms, with twins, are also nice sized rooms. We didn't cook, but the kitchen seems to be well equipped, and everything is where the owners say it is. The bathroom is small but nice. Good water pressure! TV is available, but we read and enjoyed the view, so we watched TV very little. This is a great place for an escape, it's a quiet neighborhood and a private beach; we had very few passersby and no immediate neighbors in residence.

Please be aware that you are asked to clean before you leave, but we found that to be very minor; the cottage is not huge, and we kept it tidy during our stay, so cleaning up on Sunday morning didn't take long at all. Also, if you arrive at night, follow the directions exactly; it is difficult to see all the roads in the dark! We would recommend arriving during daylight, if you can. If you need to stop for provisions/restroom and aren't familiar with the area, the last stop is a Food Lion in Mathews.

The location is a great base for exploring the water towns of Urbanna, Reedvile, Irvington and Kilmarnock. We drove north for lunch, and found some great takeout places to bring dinner back, so we could enjoy the water a little more. Sunrise is stunning, but the sunsets are great, too.

I also cannot say enough about the owners. They are extremely helpful and very responsive. We had to move our original trip dates at the last minute, and they were very easy to work with. We wish all our renting experiences were this easy! We highly recommend Reflections and are already planning a spring escape! This time we'll bring our son; he'll love having the gentle Bay right at his doorstep, and collecting shells as we walk. We can't wait!
Helpful votes: 3/5
business
Chesapeake Bay Beachfront with BREATHTAKING Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p122036
+1 7578698056
Mathews Chesapeake Bay - Northern Neck
5

Perfect for Families!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
I stayed at Reflections with my spouse and our 5-yr old and 1-yr old sons. We typically stay at Ocean City, MD every year and were very hesitant to try something new. However, we just couldn't take the crowds in OC anymore. The 'risk' couldn't have been more worth it. We all loved it here! The house is right on your own private beach, so no crowds and no lugging tons of beach stuff back and forth. The house was very clean and well maintained. It was evident that the owners actually care about maintaining the residence and making sure their guests are happy.
Unfortunately, we arrived right after some major storms hit the east coast and Virginia was in a state of emergency. We arrived to the house with no power. However, the owner offered to reimburse us to stay in a hotel for the night. The place was so nice, we just couldn't see leaving. There was a nice strong breeze coming off the ocean so we had no trouble making do for the night.
This was the first year that our son was able to safely play in the water and he couldn't get enough! Since it is on the bay, there are essentially no waves and no undertow. It is also very shallow (knee deep) for quite a ways out. We even felt comfortable letting our 1-yr old walk around a bit on his own.
I couldn't imagine finding anywhere better to take the kids for a beach vacation. The owners really have done a great job accomplishing a home away from home with everything you need onsite. I would recommend this rental to anyone, and almost hesitate writing the review because we want to keep it all to ourselves!
If you do venture out, we loved the food at South Wind Pizza and Richardson's. Both places had excellent menus and were reasonably priced, as well as family friendly.
Helpful votes: 6/8
business
Chesapeake Bay Beachfront with BREATHTAKING Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p122036
+1 7578698056
Mathews Chesapeake Bay - Northern Neck
Knoxville, Tennessee
5

One week wasn't long enough

One week wasn't long enough
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
To say that our stay here was wonderful is an understatement. My wife and I, and our kids, had the time of our lives here. Soooooo relaxing. So blissful.
The beach was, at most, 20 feet from the door. And, what a beach it was. We saw crabs, fish, rays, and from the living room every morning we could see dolphins at play.
And speaking of the living room and the house, our kids are 8 and 2. Staying in a dangerous or unclean house could have been a real issue, as could have an unsafe house. But this one was sparking, safe, and everything we could have wanted.
We've been to Cozumel, Destin, Europe, the west coast, and all along the Outer Banks and enjoyed all of them, but this was the first time that planning for a return visit began before we even left.
Fantastic!!!
p.s. Visit Stan Strings pizza just outside of Mathews. We passed it on the way in, and made a lunch stop on the way to Busch Gardens Williamsburg one day. SO very good.
Owner's Response: We try so very hard to provide ensure a great vacation for our guests - we maintain Reflections to the very highest standards. Unsolicited comments like these make us feel the extra effort is recognized and appreciated.
Helpful votes: 4/6
business
Chesapeake Bay Beachfront with BREATHTAKING Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p122036
+1 7578698056
Mathews Chesapeake Bay - Northern Neck
5

Room with a view

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 4, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
This location does have superb views with the situation right on the beach. The property was clean, well-maintained and decorated with a nautical theme. The place was great for a couple. The deck area was so correct size-wise in relation to the size of the property and I liked the angled railing - nice touch.

We didn't tour much outside Mathews County - why sit in the car when you could be on the deck? We enjoyed the ever-changing sea-scape - weather, sky, wild-life, sea. The best time was dusk, sitting on the deck with a glass of wine watching the sky change from light to dark.

The good folks of Mathews were extremely friendly. The volunteer staff at the Old Store information center deserve a special mention as do the Mathews Memorial Library staff - they were very helpful with our queries.

We didn't eat at any of the local restuarants - seemed a pity to spend time indoors when we could be outside on the house deck.
We enjoyed the Mathews Art Gallery and bought some good stuff.

This was a great place for a vacation and although we had mixed weather it did not dampen our enthusiasm for the house.

A cracking place.

Blair & Karen, Edinburgh, Scotland
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Chesapeake Bay Beachfront with BREATHTAKING Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p122036
+1 7578698056
Mathews Chesapeake Bay - Northern Neck
Baltimore, MD
5

Wonderful experience. Wish we stayed longer!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 7, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
We had a wonderful time at Reflections. It was exactly what we were looking for in a cottage. No hustle and bustle of the commercialized beaches. Just pure relaxation and serenity. The cottage was perfect for us and our 4 year old. The waves are not too overwhelming, yet one is able to fall asleep to the sounds of the ocean. We cannot wait to return. The owners are such wonderful individuals, and we are so happy they shared their home with us. Thank you! Next time it will be longer.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Chesapeake Bay Beachfront with BREATHTAKING Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p122036
+1 7578698056
Mathews Chesapeake Bay - Northern Neck
Pittsburgh, PA
5

Wonderful Vacation!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 4, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
This was a wonderful vacation for my family. We loved the location, the home & the beach. It was close to Busch Gardens but private & quiet. The weather was wonderful! We walked the beach picking up sea shells, saw the light house & found many "treasures" along the way too. We didn't want to leave & definitely want to return in the near future. This is a wonderful place for families or couples, and would definitely recommend it to others.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Chesapeake Bay Beachfront with BREATHTAKING Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p122036
+1 7578698056
Mathews Chesapeake Bay - Northern Neck
Richmond, VA
5

Wonderful get away

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 22, 2010
  • Stayed: Mar 2010
We have stayed at Reflections twice and have enjoyed it immensely. I highly recommend it for a couples get away.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Chesapeake Bay Beachfront with BREATHTAKING Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p122036
+1 7578698056
Mathews Chesapeake Bay - Northern Neck
Allentown, PA
5

Spring Break Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 22, 2009
  • Stayed: Mar 2009
My husband and I spent four days in March at Reflections. We LOVED it! The cottage is cute, comfortable, and clean. The view is AMAZING! Four glass doors look out onto the Bay. The sunrise is beautiful to watch, from your bedroom or living room window. What a relaxing break. We walked the beach, read on the deck, biked around the town. The New Comfort lighthouse, on the other side of the peninsuala, is an easy bike ride. We also biked around the deserted streets, admiring the old, beautiful homes (farmhouses and bungalows). We would highly recommend Richardson's Drug Store, in town, for lunch or dinner. Great food, especially the fried gulf shrimp and clam strips. Also, Southwind Pizza has an easy vibe and delicious eats. Michael and Barbara are very helpful and friendly - really easy to work with. We would DEFINITELY recommend this cottage to anyone looking for a nice break.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 12/12