Mohican Lake cabin rental - Wonderful lake views and dock!
Wonderful lake views and dock!
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps5
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay nights
 

Mohican Lake Cabin Rental Photos and Description
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bath

Escape to the Mountains!!! Charming, cozy, cottage for rent on a pristine 2 mile long and 1/2 mile wide private lake located at the foot of the Catskill Mountains in the Delaware River Valley.

Location: Mohican Lake, Glen Spey, NY 12737

This cottage features 3 bedrooms, 1 bath, living room, fully equipped kitchen, nice hand laid stone fireplace, a full length lake front screened in porch and 2 lovely private lake front patios with a boat dock. Enjoy boating, fishing, swimming, local attractions, or just relaxing.

6 Reviews of Property 121937 in Mohican Lake, New York

Rustic Lake Front Cabin Getaway on Mohican Lake
average rating of 4.1666665 based on 6 reviews
business
Rustic Lake Front Cabin Getaway on Mohican Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p121937
304 886-2843
Mohican Lake Delaware River Valley
Baltimore, Maryland
4

Excellent Value, Awesome Times

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
An outstanding deal for an even better time. Two families, both with little kids shared the house for a week. 7 total people, and we never felt crowded. The house is nicely rustic, and the lake is just epic. The house's best feature, besides the lake, is the the massive front porch facing the lake. The old rocking chairs are crazy comfortable! We grilled every night and dined on the porch each time. The kitchen is dated but functional. The biggest beds are fulls, not queens, so that was a little tight for us, since we have a king at home. The TV is an older tube model but works just fine with the DVD player (once you get it hooked up... ;) ). The bathroom was also dated but perfectly functional. No AC in the house, and while it cooled off at night, it was a little sticky, and definitely toasty during the day. All the more reason to enjoy the lake! The fish are bountiful, as are the many varieties of boats, jet skis, etc that zoom around all day. The lake was extremely busy on the weekend and July 4th, but otherwise quiet. The houses are pretty close together, but everyone is very nice (except for the punks who se off fireworks at 2 AM the day before the 4th. The road in front of the house between the lake and the house can get busy, so we had to keep a close eye on the kids, who were drawn to the water like magnets. We found a great park nearby in Glen Spey (Circle Park) that is definitely worth a visit. Bethel Woods isn't far, either. Maybe 20 minutes. We will likely return, next time with a jet ski or a boat. Thanks Bonnie!
business
Rustic Lake Front Cabin Getaway on Mohican Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p121937
304 886-2843
Mohican Lake Delaware River Valley
5

Wonderful time

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
Returning family here and once again...great time. Weather was great, lake was warm, nice and relaxing time. I couldn't even get the kids to stop jumping off the dock into the lake when we had a 20 min sprinkle of rain. Had everything we needed and love our times here. There might have been 4 boats on the lake the entire week, so quiet.
Thanks again and hope we can return again next year.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Rustic Lake Front Cabin Getaway on Mohican Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p121937
304 886-2843
Mohican Lake Delaware River Valley
5

Nice waterfront retreat for a whole family.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
It was an amazing vacation. Very quiet area, nice lake. The cottage is extremely clean and neat, we had everything we needed in the kitchen. The screened terrace has two sofas where you can take a nap on the fresh air, or read a book, or just look at the lake and listen to the sounds of nature...We could not ask for more relaxed atmosphere. The owner of the cottage - Bonnie - is very nice person. She makes sure that you feel like it's your home. Although the weather was very hot, it was nice and cool inside of the house, because of its location in the shades of big trees.

Bonnie, thanks a lot for a memorable vacation!

Very Warmly,

Lena@Stan
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Rustic Lake Front Cabin Getaway on Mohican Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p121937
304 886-2843
Mohican Lake Delaware River Valley
5

Fun Fun Fun

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
I usually don't write reviews but felt compeld to in this case. The Kids enjoyed the lake, swimming and jumping off the dock and the wife and I always enjoy the fishing and love the cabin atmosphere. I have alway found the place immaculate and left if the same. My family and I have rented this place 4 times in the years past and have always had a positive experience both at the cabin and dealing with the owner. I would recommend this to anyone looking to getting away for it all.

One a another note, I would ask the other reviewer if they didn't "touch" the vacume how did they clean up after themselfs before they left? Also there is a large book of hand rewritten reviews in the cabin and all were very happy.

Anyway we are looking forward to getting another getway this summer.

The Rugh Family from PA
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Rustic Lake Front Cabin Getaway on Mohican Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p121937
304 886-2843
Mohican Lake Delaware River Valley
north tonawanda NY
5

What a great way to relax!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 27, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
The time spent at 141 Mohican Lake was wonderful. Its such a beautiful scenic area, and very queit during the week. There were plenty accessories that went along with renting this quaint cabin. It is very spacious, with lots of nooks to just be by yourself or with a group. The weather was a plus we spent many hours out on the lake, wether fishing or just taking trips around the lake. The residents there seem very friendly and helpful. We did alot of sightseeing into the other little towns in the area, with only being appox. 5 miles from PA . There is a great bait and tackle shop there and gas was about 30 cents cheaper!!! There are some great little resturants in both areas and the Mohican Lake Inn (at the end our street) had great food (the're open wed-sun). We went to Monticello and did a little gambling and bet on some of the horse races. But at the end of each little adventure it was nice to get back to the cabin where we could feel like it was home. We cooked there most nights because there was plenty of cooking utencils to make what ever we wanted, the one night we broiled the fish we caught right out our front door!!! It was really nice going out on the stone patio at night and just throwing our lines out and looking up at the stars. The patio lanters just added to the ambiance of this little piece of paradice. With all that being said the communication between Bonnie and I was always a pleasure. I felt like we had been friends long before our first conversation, she was so easy to talk with and answered all of my question prior to our arrival to Mohican Lake. Bonnie also has a folder with all kinds of info on how to get places and protocals as to whats what in the cabin (like working the tv and all the stations and such) It was immaculate when we arrived which is always a plus when you go somewhere for the first time and not knowing what to expect (that has happen to me before and made for a miserable vacation) All in all we had a amazing weeks vacation and can't wait to go back. Thanks to Bonnie we had a wonderful time at Mohican Lake.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Rustic Lake Front Cabin Getaway on Mohican Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p121937
304 886-2843
Mohican Lake Delaware River Valley
New Jersey
1

poor customer service

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
The place is as pictured, although be aware that the neighbors are a lot closer than the photos let on.
My only real complaint is that the owner made unverifiable claims about the condition that the cabin was left in, and did not give a full refund of the security deposit. There was a claim that a vacuum was broken that was never touched. Also she claimed that there were stains that took "hours" to clean, despite the fact that she admits she did not inspect the cabin personally.
When confronted with her unreasonable claim, she simply hung up the phone.
This was an unfortunate end to the weekend.
Owner's Response: Owner reply to the Grant review - The contract says that the cottage should be left in the condition it was found in upon move in. This renter left dog vomit on the carpet in two areas, dried vomit in the sink and broke the vacume cleaner. My housekeeper has been in the business for 28 years and is very trust worthy. In all the years of renting the cottage we have never had to keep half the security deposit. After sending back half the deposit with a note explaining why, he then called. When the conversation turned to accuzations and name calling I requested he calm down or the conversation would be over - he persisted so I hung up. There is a book at the cottage in which most of the renters have taken time to jot some notes of their stay - all were very positive. One person even painted a picture and left it as a gift. I do thank Grant for bringing this 'write a review' to my attention. I will add it to the contract to give all the renters the opportunity to write a public review.
Helpful votes: 3/3