Cushing cottage rental - Bird's eye view of Broad Cove from the kitchen.
Bird's eye view of Broad Cove from the kitchen.
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 
Special Offer! 20% off in April & May -

Cushing Cottage Rental Photos and Description
Perfect for a couple. - sleeps up to 4

A charming and quiet waterfront cottage in the heart of Wyeth country awaits you for a romantic getaway. Enjoy fresh Maine blueberry muffins and coffee while watching the sunrise from your private pebbly beach. Relax and unwind in the swing set while watching seals and osprey fishing. Observe the lobstermen ply their trade as they fish in Broad Cove. Kayaks are available for rental nearby. A short drive from numerous Mid - Coast attractions. Guest comments include: ''The cottage is an oasis, timeless and precious. ' 'A quiet, cozy refuge, perfect for relaxing and exploring. ' ''Thank you for providing the ideal haven to rest, refresh, and rejuvenate.' 'You truly have a little piece of heaven here. We could not have asked for a more relaxing week. '

Spectacular Beauty: If you are looking for the authentic Maine experience, this area has it. The Rockland-Thomaston area is the entry point to Penobscot Bay, perhaps the most scenic body of water on the eastern seaboard. Here you'll find scores of islands, a dozen historic lighthouses, and quiet little harbors filled with working lobster boats. Ospreys and bald eagles nest high in the spruces along the rugged shores, Puffins make the islands their homes, deer browse the open fields, moose forage the wetlands, and harbor seals make their annual pilgrimage to quiet coves.

More Details
Hide Details

The property is owned by Helen and Merritt Webster. After living in several states including NY, PA and TX Helen retired to her favorite state, Maine. Maine is a place of peace and rugged beauty. One of Helen's passions is cooking. She and Merritt are both avid gardeners.and have created beautiful seaside gardens. on the property. Merritt is a native Mainer with sea-salt in his blood with many generations of sailors and fishermen preceding him. He loves anything to do with the water and also has a passion for woodworking. We both love nature and soak up as much as we can. We love to travel in Maine and beyond. Living next door we are available to meet your needs and to share our extensive knowledge of the area.

Helen Webster purchased this cottage in 1997

The rocky coast of Maine is a natural wonder. The cottage sits several feet above the water. It provides a stunning view of the cove with it's ragged coastline jutting out in the water framed by evergreens. You can access the pebbly private beach by stairs

Located at the end of a private dirt road the property is very quiet and peaceful. The cove is a wonderful place to kayak or for more adventure you can paddle to the open sea. Nestled close to the water's edge the view is every changing. The sparkle of the water is magic. Osprey love to fish here along with a wide array of birds including frequent bald eagles. It is a great place to read or just sit and relax.

26 Reviews of Property 121893 in Cushing, Maine

Sunny Saltwater Cottage Steps from Water,
average rating of 4.923077 based on 26 reviews
business
Sunny Saltwater Cottage Steps from Water,
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p121893
+1 207 354-0209
Cushing MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
Cincinnati, OH
5

Hidden Treasure on Broad Cove

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
My husband and I chose Maine for our getaway to celebrate our 43rd wedding anniversary. Little did we know that we had actually found a hidden treasure on Broad Cove! This is truly a little piece of Heaven! The cottage was quaint, charming and comfortable with everything we needed provided. The setting is spectacular and so relaxing! The cottage is actually very convenient for sightseeing all along Route 1 where most attractions are located. We enjoyed the Farnswort Museum and Olson House, all of the lighthouses and picturesque fishing villages.
Helen and Merrit were charming hosts and Helen's blueberry muffins were wonderful! I hope to return again sometime soon.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Sunny Saltwater Cottage Steps from Water,
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p121893
+1 207 354-0209
Cushing MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
North Attleboro, MA
5

What a beautiful place!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
I'm writing this review during our last evening at Cove's Edge. I'm here with my husband for a romantic get away to celebrate our newly empty nest. The property is located within a 30 minute drive from many local sites and restaurants. While here we visted Rockland, Rockport, Camden and Damriscotta. Our favorite activity however, has been to sit on the deck and enjoy the view while reading, knitting, chatting and relaxing.

The cottage is charming and the photos don't do it justice. It is also well appointed with a very functional kitchen. I enjoy cooking which has been especially fun given the beautiful water view through the kitchen window. Helen's knack for decorating with antiques carries through every room in the cottage beginning right as you enter with a special welcome just for you.

Helen and Merritt were charming hosts . Helen baked us some fabulous blueberry muffins yesterday morning. They also gave us plenty of privacy to enjoy our romantic vacation. I highly recommend this vacation rental. We have truly enjoyed it.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
Sunny Saltwater Cottage Steps from Water,
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p121893
+1 207 354-0209
Cushing MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
5

Cove’s Edge is Wonderful!!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Cove’s Edge is a very charming and peaceful oasis, beautifully situated on a quiet cove on a peninsula in Cushing Maine.

The cottage is perfect for a relaxing vacation, yet it is close enough for day trips to great sites like the Farnsworth Museum, the Olson house, Camden/Rockland/Rockport for galleries, a day ferry trip to Vinalhaven, and the spectacular Maine Botanical garden in Boothbay. Don’t miss the local farmstands (Beth’s farm and School House farm in Warren were favorites). Returning to the cottage at the end of a day’s outing was a highlight, as it felt like returning home.

The cottage is very comfortable, beautifully decorated and has lovely gardens. The master bedroom has a large sitting area with a gas fireplace for cozy nights (and a few chilly mornings). The view from the kitchen window is spectacular and there is every pot and utensil one could possibly need. On the lower level there is a living room with French doors and windows providing lots of light that lead to a deck (with Adirondack chairs, a grill and a table and chairs for dining outside) that leads to a lawn (with more Adirondack chairs!) that leads down to steps down to the cove, with beautiful views and varied waterfowl to watch.

Helen and Merritt are the most delightful and thoughtful hosts…it felt like visiting with old friends! They provided special touches like fresh flowers from their garden to greet visitors, WARM homemade blueberry muffins delivered on a plate decorated with flowers, a nice collection of books and local area guides, and they are very helpful with recommendations of places to visit. It’s a very special place…can’t wait to go back!
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Sunny Saltwater Cottage Steps from Water,
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p121893
+1 207 354-0209
Cushing MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
Greenfield, Massachusetts
5

Lovely cottage in a location that is both quiet and accessible to sightseeing

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
We loved this cottage. It's a beautiful shorefront location on a quiet bay with loons for those who want to remain at the cottage, but it's also accessible to visiting the West Penobscot Bay region, Thomaston, Rockland with it's museums of art and sailing history, and small working harbors like Freindship, which is how we used it. The kitchen looks out on the bay, and, on the floor below there's a den and deck with barbecue which has the same perspective. We were pleasantly surprised to discover that a few minutes away is the location of Andrew Wyeth's "Christina's World," associated with the Farnsworth Museum in Rockland, which has a collection of his work. It's also an easy ride to the departure for a daytrip to Monhegan Island.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Sunny Saltwater Cottage Steps from Water,
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p121893
+1 207 354-0209
Cushing MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
5

Peace and tranquility

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 1, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Coves Edge met all of our expectations. We are so thankful to Helen and Merritt to share their wonderful cottage with us. It was the perfect spot for us to spend a week relaxing without distractions. Whether it be sitting on the patio in a rocking chair reading or doing a crossword puzzle, watching the chipmunks, squirrels and birds feeding at the bird feeder, going down to the water, taking out our kayaks for a little bit of paddling or just being lazy for the day with naps. It was so nice not hearing the sounds of road traffic yet we were just a short drive to fine dining, beaches and finding places to wander. But our ventures away from the cottage were short as it was so nice just to come back to Coves Edge to relax. We were even fortunate to see the bald eagles a couple of times. What a treat. We cannot wait to return to Coves Edge to recharge in the future. Thank you, Helen and Merritt, for opening your cottage to us and your many visitors.
Helpful votes: 5/6
business
Sunny Saltwater Cottage Steps from Water,
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p121893
+1 207 354-0209
Cushing MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
5

relaxing and refreshing

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 13, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
Most wonderful time well spent away from hustle and bustle of life. Far enough away yet close to so much to do. Wonderful owners, great blueberry muffins, wealth of information on things to do, etc. The accomodations were better than expected, very clean and the views were wonderful. Harbor seals, Eider ducks and geese were fun to watch and listen to. The fox and its 2 kits were neat to see in the field and even had the luck of seeing a moose within 3 miles of the property. Could not have asked for more. The sunrises were spectacular and the full moon rise was picture perfect. If you are into lighthouses, New England charm, antiques, seafood, sightseeing or just relaxing, all are available here in abundance. Moody's diner in Waldoboro worth the trip for home cooking also.
This is our second homeaway.com rental and both have not disappointed in the least. Thank you Websters for sharing the cove with us and allowing us the chance to renew and refresh. Will definately look at coming back up here in the future.
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Sunny Saltwater Cottage Steps from Water,
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p121893
+1 207 354-0209
Cushing MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
Hartford, CT
5

Relaxing and Charming

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 18, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
We can’t say enough nice things about our experience at Cove’s Edge. Helen and Merritt were helpful, interesting, and gracious hosts. I was so taken with the coziness and design of the cottage that I am considering doing a near copy for a renovation I am doing. The restaurants in the area are excellent from diner to upscale. The Owl’s Head Transportation Museum was a nice rainy afternoon visit (very cool vintage cars and airplanes). The drive to Mount Battie (Camden State Park) lookout gives a breathtaking view of Penobscot Bay. If you like art, don’t miss the Farnsworth Museum, the Olson House, and the many galleries around. These are some of the fun things to do around the Rockland/Camden area. But sitting in the Adirondack chairs next to Broad Cove watching the wildlife (all kinds of water birds, bald eagle, seals), or watching out the panoramic kitchen table window, is relaxing in itself. I was so decompressed after our vacation that my boss asked me if something was wrong with me.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Sunny Saltwater Cottage Steps from Water,
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p121893
+1 207 354-0209
Cushing MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
5

Great vacations/Excellentes vacances

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
We spent a wonderful week in this cottage. View from the cottage is very nice. The cottage is equipped comfortably, very clean and the area is very peaceful. Helen and Merritt Webster were very helpful making sure that all was perfect for us and presenting us with wonderful homemade wild Maine blueberry muffins.

Nous avons passé une excellente semaine de vacances à cet endroit. La vue est fantastique. L’appartement est confortable, très propre et bien équipé. L’endroit est très calme. Helen and Merritt Webster ont été très aidants et nous avons bien apprécié les muffins aux bleuets du Maine.

Laval, Québec, Canada
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Sunny Saltwater Cottage Steps from Water,
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p121893
+1 207 354-0209
Cushing MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
Dandridge, TN
5

Absolutely wonderful!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 26, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
Cove's Edge is peaceful, charming, beautiful, picturesque and postcard perfect! Hosts, Helen and Merritt are very gracious, thoughtful and helpful. The location is wonderful for taking scenic day trips and for buying local seafood and returning to the cottage....cooking and eating there while you enjoy the stunning waterfront view and the beautiful gardens surrounding the cottage! If you like the artist, Andrew Wyeth, this is the place to be. The Olson House, where he painted "Christina's World" is only several miles down the road. The Farnsworth Museum in Rockland, which houses some of his works, is close by as well. Cove's Edge was actually better than it is viewed on the internet....a rare find! You will feel refreshed and grateful that you chose the most perfect spot for a delightful vacation- one of our best vacations and the fondest of memories....Thanks Helen and Merritt!!!!
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Sunny Saltwater Cottage Steps from Water,
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p121893
+1 207 354-0209
Cushing MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
Sussex, New Jersey
5

Beautiful and relaxing stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 26, 2010
  • Stayed: Oct 2010
We have just returned from a one weeks stay at this sweet, tranquil cottage and area. The scenery in the Fall is breataking, the weather was perfect for walking trails and country roads or just taking driving tours. The cottage is equipped comfortably and with care for your stay. Helen and Merritt Webster were the perfect hosts making sure that all was perfect for us and presenting us with wonderful homemade wild Maine blueberry muffins. Not to be missed! Thank you both and we hope that we can return to this special place very soon.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5