Poipu house rental - Akala Pua is surrounded by lushly landscaped yard
Akala Pua is surrounded by lushly landscaped yard
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Poipu House Rental Photos and Description
3 bedrooms, 3 bathrooms, sleeps 6

Last Minute Deals:

5/5/14 through 5/21/14 (7 night minimum) $228/night.

AKALA PUA (Pink Hibiscus) is a newly built, luxury 3 bedroom, 3 bathroom Poipu oceanview vacation home, located just 100 yards from the sparkling, blue Pacific Ocean, and just four minutes walk to either white sand Baby Beach or Lawai Beach. The moment you walk in the house you are greeted by renowned Big Island artist Ezra Muir's lovely Hawaiian landscape painting and you will know you have rented one of Poipu's greatest values. You can just feel the quality that is usually reserved for more expensive beachfront homes.

Downstairs are three spacious and private bedrooms and three bathrooms with tile floors and showers, and granite countertops. Gentle tradewind cross-breezes caress you nightly.

Upstairs are whitewater ocean views from the large great room that includes a fully-equipped kitchen, dining area, and living area with windows everywhere. Furnishings are the best South Pacific decor available. And just outside is a roofed lanai for al fresco dining.

Ocean Views from the Living Room: Downstairs are two nearly identical master bedroom suites complete with king-size beds and beautiful bedroom furniture, private bathrooms, plenty of closet space, and cable TV. The third bedroom has two twin beds that can convert to a king bed and a bathroom across the hall. The mattresses are firm and plush. A laundry room with washer and dryer and a one car garage complete the house.

Upstairs is like a tree house, with windows all around the room. There are whitewater ocean views from everywhere, including the kitchen. There is comfortable seating for all six people in the living room and dining room. Plus there is a counter bar for casual breakfasts and snacks. Outside is a nice lanai with a table for four.

A large rear lawn includes a gas barbecue and two chaise lounges.

WARNING: We never advertise on Craigslist. There is a scammer who has copied our photos and descriptions and is attempting to rent this house on Craigslist.

More Details
Hide Details

127 Reviews of Property 121317 in Poipu, Hawaii

Beautiful 3 Bedrom Ocean View Home Just Steps to Poipu's Baby Beach
average rating of 4.8333335 based on 127 reviews
business
Beautiful 3 Bedrom Ocean View Home Just Steps to Poipu's Baby Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p121317
+1 4804897004
Poipu Kauai
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

This house has everything

  • Submitted: Oct 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
We enjoyed staying in your vacation home. It had everything we needed. We spend many hours at the various beaches. Yesterday we saw a monk seal and a huge sea turtle. We enjoyed snorkeling, too.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful 3 Bedrom Ocean View Home Just Steps to Poipu's Baby Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p121317
+1 4804897004
Poipu Kauai
Seal Beach, CA
5

Our family of six had a great time at Akala Pua!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
My family of six had a wonderful time staying at Akala Pua! My two little granddaughters loved being so close to Baby Beach and we adults so enjoyed the spacious upstairs which seemed to be perfect for hanging out, talking and generally bonding and having a good time. Even when my son and his wife (who live on Kauai) visited, there was plenty of room for everyone. We are all vegans and vegetarians and prefer to cook at "home" especially as there seemed to be few veg-friendly restaurants in the area. We found the kitchen well-equipped, all we had to do was add food! The owner, Buzz, was very patient and helpful with my multiple questions before the trip and had helpful suggestions about the local farmers' markets and activities for the little girls. We would love to return!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful 3 Bedrom Ocean View Home Just Steps to Poipu's Baby Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p121317
+1 4804897004
Poipu Kauai
4

Good Place to Stay

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
My family of 3 stayed here for a week and really liked it. Generally, the place was as described. The upstairs common area location is smart to keep the heat away from sleeping quarters at night and to be able to view the ocean from the back deck during the day. The kitchen is open and there is a lot of space. We are just a couple with a baby, but we appreciated being able to spread out with the baby's gear and have him sleep in a room separate from us. I also wanted a kitchen that would allow me to watch my baby on the floor in the living room or dining area, and this space was perfect for that. The sisal wall to wall carpet in the living areas and bedrooms is a practical choice. The various switches are also thoughtfully marked. The location is convenient to everything, and it was pretty quiet even though on the main road. The owner also has a bunch of beach gear plus some childrens' items for use--we didn't use any, but thought this could come in handy for others. While the property was generally well-cleaned, I did find potato chips and popcorn under the dining room table--since I have a floor-bound baby, I was concerned about these things. Also, unfortunately for us, the dishwasher door latch was broken when we got there. This prevented us from running the dishwasher because we could not get the door open once it was closed. This problem was handled well by the rental company, which dispatched a technician the same day, but the technician could not fix it for our stay because he said he had to order a part. This was a bit vexing for me because I was specifically looking for a place with a dishwasher so that I could sanitize/sterilize my baby's milk supplies without having to boil them for extended time every day on vacation, but unfortunately, I could not use it for this purpose. While the owner was responsive regarding this and other issues, I was not offered any remediation for this essentially missing amenity. However, the owner had previously been kind enough to give us a couple of hours extra to check out since he didn't have anyone coming the same day, so I left the issue alone. While this was manageable for us since we were only 2 adults, it could have been a major annoyance for a full house. The appliances generally appear a little older and show their wear, as do the dishes, etc.

I would consider renting from this owner again if I return to Kauai. On the whole we were satisfied, and we had a great time in Kauai with our baby
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Aloha Sanchi,
Thank you for the kind words. I apologize for the dishwasher. We had no complaints from the previous guests that checked out the day you checked in, but the maid that washed the dishes before you arrived said the latch was sticking, so the latch must have broken just when you checked in. We have no way to predict when something like this will happen and one of the problems of living on a small island is that parts are not always readily available, and this part had to be shipped from Oahu.
I hope you return and we will be happy to offer you a 5% discount off the rent for your next stay.
Sincerely,
Buzz and Valorie Wisda
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Beautiful 3 Bedrom Ocean View Home Just Steps to Poipu's Baby Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p121317
+1 4804897004
Poipu Kauai
California
5

Great place to stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 10, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
Our family of six loved staying in this rental in June 2012. From the first conversation with the owner to the moment we left to return home, our experience was fantastic. The home is clean, well stocked, wonderfully located, and is spacious. If we return to Poipu, we will stay in this rental again. You will not go wrong if you choose to stay at Akala Pua. We loved it.
There were only a couple negatives, and they were minor. The mattresses were okay, but should probably be rotated/flipped. There was a too much of a depression in a couple of the beds. As for noise, the place is perfect except when a loud car drives by (the rental is on the street which provides access to many condos, The Beach House, Spouting Horn, etc.). But, there isn't much traffic and none of us were ever awakened by a loud car driving by the place.
The beach towels, beach chairs, garage (with opener), laundry facilities, nice lawns, covered porch on the second story, and three bathrooms were all appreciated. Staying in this home is worth the difference in cost (if any) of a condo or room at a resort.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Aloha Brett and Kim,

Thank you for the kind words and we are so happy you had a great vacation. I will have the mattress rotated and flipped and I will review if we need a new mattress when we visit in August. Valorie and I slept on that bed in January and it was fine, and Valorie is a stickler for firm mattresses. Perhaps something happened between January and June!!?? We'll get it fixed.

Come back often, we have a great discount program for return guests.

Buzz and Valorie Wisda
business
Beautiful 3 Bedrom Ocean View Home Just Steps to Poipu's Baby Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p121317
+1 4804897004
Poipu Kauai
Bow Island Alberta Canada
5

wonderful place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 21, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
We stayed here over the Christmas break and absolutely loved the place.
The layout of the house is effecient and roomy,there was the 6 of us. I liked having the living quarters upstairs,the views from the balcony are amazing.In the garage we found all sorts of snorkel gear and boogie boards, a coolbox and beachchairs,there were also lots of beach towels to use.The downstairs is for sleepng and loundry,great set up with private bathrooms for the 2 King bedrooms.
The fact that it took just 4 minutes to walk to Lawai beach was ideal,we love to snorkel and justabout everyday we walked over there ,we checked out all the other places as wel but this was our favorite place.Baby beach is just like the name says for babies and ideal for small children,we liked Brennecke beach the best for boogie boarding and swimming.We would without hessitation recomend this house to anyone.
The location is wonderful,close to grocery stores ect and quite often the weather was better in the south.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thank you, Bart and Sibbelina, for taking so much time to write a review for our future guests. We are most happy that you enjoyed your stay, and we hope you come back to Poipu and take advantage of our returning guest discounts. Buzz Wisda
business
Beautiful 3 Bedrom Ocean View Home Just Steps to Poipu's Baby Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p121317
+1 4804897004
Poipu Kauai
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

This Little Piece of Heaven

  • Submitted: Jan 14, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
It's been a great 2-1/2 weeks on this little piece of heaven. Thank you for letting us rent your house. We pretty much saw and drove the entire island, snorkeled anywhere we could and came to the conclusion that Lawai Beach is the best!!! We will miss this place, the house was just right for us. Greetings and blessings from Alberta, CA.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful 3 Bedrom Ocean View Home Just Steps to Poipu's Baby Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p121317
+1 4804897004
Poipu Kauai
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

It is truly a paradise here

  • Submitted: Jan 14, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
We enjoyed the house, location, amenities and the island's mellow beat. The house suited all of our dual family needs. Having the house "stocked" was very helpful!! We are sad to return to our Canadian climate!! It is truly a paradise here! Mahalo!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful 3 Bedrom Ocean View Home Just Steps to Poipu's Baby Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p121317
+1 4804897004
Poipu Kauai
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

Baby Beach is so Close!

  • Submitted: Jan 14, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
Thank you for building such a wonderful home stocked with all the amenities and for keeping the home so clean! We enjoyed our stay here so much! It was great that Baby Beach is so close; our 2 and 3 year olds wanted to be there all the time! We loved the kitchen being fully stocked so we could cook meals, but also enjoyed some local spots too! We hope to be able to come back to this wonderful home and island soon! Thank you again so very much!
business
Beautiful 3 Bedrom Ocean View Home Just Steps to Poipu's Baby Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p121317
+1 4804897004
Poipu Kauai
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

The Most Perfect Location

  • Submitted: Jan 14, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
We are so grateful to have found this wonderful place. It was in the most perfect location. Our family, especially our 17 month old, loved going to Baby Beach everyday to play in the sand and splash around in the water. We will definitely be back!
business
Beautiful 3 Bedrom Ocean View Home Just Steps to Poipu's Baby Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p121317
+1 4804897004
Poipu Kauai
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

We Just Love Kauai

  • Submitted: Jan 14, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
Thank you for sharing your home with my family. We had a wonderful time. We were to the beach every day. We just love Kauai. We'll be back next year. Thank you so very much.
Helpful votes: 1/1