West Tremont cottage rental
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps4
Minimum Stay nights
 

West Tremont Cottage Rental Photos and Description
Cottage, 1 Bedroom, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2-4)

Welcome to Skylark, a quaint & adorable island vacation getaway, waiting for you to enjoy with waterfront ocean shore less than a minutes walk on the property. Situated behind the owner's Main house, this lovely decorated and modern cottage features hardwood floors, skylights, second floor bedroom and bathroom, completely furnished and ready for your vacation stay. Total area of both floors is 900 square feet. Full shower and bathtub in very over sized modern and bright bathroom. Bathroom features double sinks and counters. Bedroom sleeps 2 on queen bed and there is a sleep sofa available. Outdoor lighted large deck for sitting and enjoying the cool breezes and sunset evenings. A propane grill is included for your outside cooking needs. Kitchen area is small and only setup for light cooking and food storage. Hotplate is included, along with microwave, coffee and tea pots, toaster oven and small 3 foot refrigerator. Area hosts a bar type counter for food prep and standing.

Stools for bar area and a kitchen table with chairs are included.

Keywords: Cottage

More Details
Hide Details

homeowner, property manager, community minded citizen, former early childhood teacher...

the cottage seemed appropriate to share, via renting, in this extraordinarily beautiful place...

access to a very special waterfront and natural environment of the Western side of Mt. Desert Island.

8 Reviews of Property 364676 in West Tremont, Maine

Quaint Oceanside Cottage, Acadia National Park
average rating of 5.0 based on 8 reviews
business
Quaint Oceanside Cottage, Acadia National Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p364676vb
207-266-1705
West Tremont Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Rowlett Tx
5

Perfect in every way for our visit to Acadia National Park

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Virginia,
My wife and I never formally thanked you for our stay back in October.
We had a great time, and loved staying on the quieter side of the island.
Yes we were there just as the Fed closed down, but that did not impede our travel plans in the least. As a matter of fact if may have made them better.
My wife and I had planned on biking the carriage trails and hiking in the park, so those flimsy barricades were no match for our trusty 2 wheels and legs.
We actually felt like we had the park to ourselves (more or less). The only negative was there were no restrooms open….but that’s what the woods are for anyway…right!
And we didn’t get to have popovers at the Jordan Pond house. But we did eat our lunch one day right on the pond, and the next day we ate on the lawn of the restaurant.
We did do some hiking, but did not get to climb Cadillac Mountain, as it was not easy to get to from the perimeter of the park without a car. But everything else we came to do we were able to do.
Lots of good restaurants in the area. We did eat at a lobster pound and had a lobster roll another day. My wife and I are not big lobster eaters, so that was more of a mission than a passion, but now we can say we did it.
We did stumble upon a unique place called the Common Grounds Café. Not sure if you are familiar with it, but it is out by the seawall. It is more of a soup kitchen for the poor where visitors make donations for a modest breakfast (which did include popovers) and the proceeds feed locals during the winter months. There were some characters there and that experience will give us stories to tell for years to come.

Your place is amazing! I want to affirm you for the outstanding job you did in remodeling the barn into such a lovely cozy hideaway. The use of space was superb. The finish out was first class. And the location and relaxation factor were out of this world! We could have easily stayed for two weeks and not gotten tired of Acadia, and the enjoyment of hanging around your cottage. We stay at a lot of VRBO properties and yours is definitely one of the nicest and coolest places we have stayed.
I’m sorry we did not get to meet you, but by the way your place looks I can tell you are an outstanding individual.

Peace and Blessings as we move into the holidays.
And of course Merry Christmas!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Quaint Oceanside Cottage, Acadia National Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p364676vb
207-266-1705
West Tremont Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Washington, District of Columbia
5

A Gorgeous Homebase for Touring Acadia

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
This is adorable converted barn was the ideal place for a couple & small dog to spend a week in down east Maine. The house is brilliantly well-designed; we wished we could have folded it up and taken it back as our own.

There's a cozy downstairs with built-in bookshelves filled with books about Acadia, sailing, and outdoor adventuring. The kitchen is small but sharp (toaster over & electric countertop range)--everything you need for breakfast and simple meals. The back porch looks out over a sprawling yard with gorgeous garden beds. The upstairs is awash in sun from skylights and windows. Easily the best bathroom I've ever seen and a charming, inviting bedroom.

Across the road is a path through a meadow down to the edge of the cove. We had access to a canoe and kayak and made it out on the water without having to even get in the car.

Located in the quiet, southwest corner of MDI, this spot is secluded from the bustle of Bar Harbor, but all the best hiking is just a short drive away. Provisions, fine dining, and casual food are all accessible in the nearby town of Southwest Harbor. Perhaps best of all, you're a few minutes drive from Thurston's Lobster Pound. The property owner is delightful and made many excellent recommendations for local spots.

For first-time visitors, Acadia is a stunning park. That first experience was all the more exceptional on account of these idyllic accommodations.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Quaint Oceanside Cottage, Acadia National Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p364676vb
207-266-1705
West Tremont Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Brooklyn, New York
5

Skylark Serenity

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 24, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
I visited Mount Desert Island this past May, chasing trees, silence, and childhood memories. My goals: To read, to write, to hike, climb and think. In this I was successful. I selected Skylark because it had what I needed: walls, a roof, a kitchen, and proximity to nature. Driving up to my small cabin that first day I expected it to be little more than an outpost: A place for my stuff. A place for quiet. A place to sleep. A place to return to after a full day.

But instead, for one full week, Skylark was my home. I embraced its comfort and its openness when I walked in the first time, and felt the pinch of melancholy when I left on my final morning.

During the day Skylar's bright living room is cooled by competing breezes from multiple windows. At night you hear nothing but birds and wind. Whether cooking in the kitchen or lounging with a book on the couch or back patio, I never suffered from "cabin fever," or claustrophobia of any kind.

Sit by the humming furnace on a cold morning with coffee and a book. Take a walk to the shore at night with a flashlight and observe the starts. Spot satellites. Trace the Milky Way.

And of course the kitchen is great, the bathroom clean, the internet excellent, the cable clear and the books legion.

But most importantly, when you stay at Skylark you become the neighbor of Virginia Agar and her companion Helmut Weber. I was warmly welcomed by by Ginny and Helmut (and their two new kittens). It is rare that one meets such kind listeners, sharp conversationalists, and generous hosts.

I hope some day to return (this time with my wife). For any traveler who gets there before me, please know that I am envious.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Quaint Oceanside Cottage, Acadia National Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p364676vb
207-266-1705
West Tremont Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Pennsylvania
5

Janice

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 1, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
We found this property delightful. Our host could not have been more thoughtful and accommodating. The location is convenient to Acadia National Park. We would recommend and definitely plan another visit in the near future.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 1/3
business
Quaint Oceanside Cottage, Acadia National Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p364676vb
207-266-1705
West Tremont Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Upland, Indiana, USA
5

We had a fantastic stay here!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 2, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
My wife and I stayed here for 5 days in September 2011, we loved the location, the accomodations, and Owner was a wonderful hostess. Place was very clean, up to date, comfortable, and everything in the cottage worked perfectly! The second floor bedroom and spacious bath far surpassed our expectations from the pictures we had looking at prior to making our reservations. We really liked being on the quiet side of the island and plan on staying here again when we return. Owner was very helpful in providing information and ensuring we had everything we needed during our stay. Cottage has plenty of reading material to suit any individuals taste in case of heavy rains or just desiring to relax and spend a quiet day around the cottage.
Location is secluded but close enough to Park and SW and NE Harbors for quick drives for dining, etc... great hiking trails very close. We would be happy to serve as reference for this owner and property, owner has our contact info
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/4
business
Quaint Oceanside Cottage, Acadia National Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p364676vb
207-266-1705
West Tremont Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
San Francisco, Ca
5

A quiet place for creativity and relaxing

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 27, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
My summer stay in this cottage allowed me time and space to relax and work on writing. The area is spacious and well-kept, and the proprietor couldn't be sweeter. Ginny is warm and accommodating and has a killer flower garden that sits right in front of the cottage! The "quiet side" of Mt. Desert island is much more appealing to me than busy, touristy Bar Harbor. This is a true getaway.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/3
business
Quaint Oceanside Cottage, Acadia National Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p364676vb
207-266-1705
West Tremont Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Maine
5

Romantic getaway or perfect for an artists retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 18, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
I just love Sea Heather Farm. It is a totally perfect spot to retreat. A short walk across a country road and a walk through the meadow brings you to the ocean. This house is on the very quiet side of MDI and is charming and beautiful. The owners are in another house on the property but not in yoyur way only there if you need them. The house is in meticulous condition surrounded by well kept gardens, in a word it is "heaven"
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you, Lindy!
We do aim to create a "quiet", "charming" and "beautiful" environment for our guests to enjoy...the gardens, wild life and lush feeling of nature contribute to our guest's experience. Please visit us and see for yourself!
Helpful votes: 2/4
business
Quaint Oceanside Cottage, Acadia National Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p364676vb
207-266-1705
West Tremont Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Fairfield Maine
5

Wonderful place to stay and relax

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 5, 2009
  • Stayed: Apr 2009
I have stayed at Skylark several times and have thoroughly enjoyed my visits. The description of the property doesn't do it justice. The cottage is decorated in such a manner that it is both cozy and elegant at the same time. Every time I visited, I found the cottage to be very clean and well maintained. The owner of the property provides great customer service. Mt. Desert Island offers so many recreation opportunities which are readily accessible from Skylark. Southwest Harbor is 10 to 15 minutes away by car and is a really quaint town with nice shops and restaurants. I highly recommend this property to anyone who is looking for a wonderful place to call home while on vacation.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 7/11