Portsmouth cottage rental - All ready for your arrival! Enjoy your morning coffee on the deck.
All ready for your arrival! Enjoy your morning coffee on the deck.
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Portsmouth Cottage Rental Photos and Description
3 Bedrooms, 1 Full Bath, Sleeps 6, outdoor rinse shower, pets welcome.

Thank you to our many repeat guests! We really appreciate your repeat visits. Direct waterfront cottage on Narragansett Bay with great southern views. Walk out the back door onto the beach. Enjoy brunch on the 600 sq. ft. deck overhanging the water. Bring your fishing pole and fish from the deck while you BBQ. This is traditional New England at its best! The cottage is stocked with everything you could need to have a fabulous New England vacation. (Check out guest reviews and comments) There is so much to do on Aquidneck Island all year around! Golf, fishing, museums, polo, mansions, theater, clam shacks, fine dining, beautiful beaches, vineyards, horseback riding and world class festivals to name a few. The cottage is a two minute walk to the restaurants Scampis, The Beach House and 15 Point Rd, Shultzy's Ice Cream Shop and Flo's Clam Shack. There is a great diner, The 501, for breakfast one block away. Enjoy the sunrise and sunset on the huge deck. Bring your bikes-great roads for biking. Only 3 miles to Portsmouth Abbey, 3 miles to Roger Williams.

The cottage has been in rental since the Summer of 2005 and it has been at 100% occupancy each year with many repeat guests. We consider that the very highest compliment! Take a look at some of our Guest Rave Reviews...

'Thank you so much for the pleasant stay in your sweet home. We love the open airiness of your place. Thank you again, your place is wonderful.' Pamela, F. CA

'Wonderful! We had a wonderful vacation. The house is perfect, location perfect. Great starting point to expore Npt, Bristol....also great to stay put at. We'll be back next year!' Elaine, NYC, NY

'What a wonderful time we had at your lovely home. You really have put a lot of thought into the cottage. Everything we needed was right there. The deck and view were a perfect 10. Look forward to coming back again.' Todd & Eileen E., MA

'Thank you so much for renting your cottage. We had a wonderful vacation and all we needed was right at our fingertips. We felt right at home.' Brenda & Warren, MA

More Rave reviews.....: 'We had a great time here. The cottage is beautiful- what a view. Love your deck-it's huge. We don't want to leave!' Sheryl & Dan L., OH

'Fantastic weekend. Mostly stayed on the beautiful deck and watched the water. It was the perfect spot for our anniversary' Dan & Caroline L., CT

'Thank you for the use of your home. It was so clean and comfy. The view is incredible. We would love to come back next year.' Doreen and Joe M., CT

'We had a great time-it's sooo beautiful here-love the smell of the water and the view.' Bunny O., CT

Even More Rave reviews.....: 'Thanks for having me. I didn't have to have separation anxiety.' Starr, dog, Upstate NY

'I loved playing on the beach.' Gunner, dog, Clev., OH

We had a great time and loved the house and the views.' Kevin & Leslie, CT

'We had a wonderful time. Look forward to coming back every year. Thanks for the memories.' Sharon and Al, Upstate NY.

'Wonderful time! Great house. Our trip was very enjoyable' Vicki T., Cornwall, NY

More Details
Hide Details

18 Reviews of Property 120827 in Portsmouth, Rhode Island

Direct Waterfront on Narragansett Bay. Beautiful southern views on 600' deck.
average rating of 5.0 based on 18 reviews
business
Direct Waterfront on Narragansett Bay. Beautiful southern views on 600' deck.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p120827
+1 4016627243
Portsmouth Newport and Aquidneck Island
Brooklyn, New York
5

Most relaxing vacation ever....

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 26, 2009
  • Stayed: Sep 2009
Since I had planned my vacation last minute, I was a little worried about locating a nice place to wind down for a week w/my family and my dog as I was not too familiar with RI but wanted to see the mansions, go wine tasting and relax. I came across Deborah's listing and she was very responsive/helpful so I booked the house immediately. When we arrived, I thought to myself the pictures just did not do the place justice! It was more than enough space for my parents, adult sister, myself and 2 Pugs. The deck was like an extra room, one that tons of time was spent....lots of morning coffee, chatting with the family, falling asleep in one of the many chairs, wine/cheese later in the day, allowed my the dogs to play, ect. Its also closed in so great for pets and children. The sidewalks in town, yard and beach were also good for my dog who likes to expore.

The house was clean, bright and inviting. Everything was at your fingertips. While we spent time in other areas (Newport, Bristol, Tivington) it was always nice to come back to the peaceful house away from the larger crowded areas. I had seen Evelyn's (located in Tivington) on the Food Network's show Diners, Drive-Ins and Dives and wanted to try it out since it was located 10 mins away. The food was so fresh/amazing we ended up going twice...homemade desserts too! The restaurant is great, located on the water with excellent staff....lobster rolls were terrific! We walked to dinner one night which was a 2 minute stroll down the road to Scampi's and also ate breakfast at Graziano's both were good eats/nice staff.

I would suggest this house to people who are seeking relaxation, time with family, may enjoy cooking (kitchen was stocked well) or weekend getaways with friends.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Many thanks for the excellent review! We are so glad when our guests enjoy the cottage. We try to make everything special for our guests, and we appreciate that guests love the area as much as we do! Thanks Lynda!
Helpful votes: 9/9
business
Direct Waterfront on Narragansett Bay. Beautiful southern views on 600' deck.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p120827
+1 4016627243
Portsmouth Newport and Aquidneck Island
5

The most beautiful spot

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
The view is breath taking and the breeze from the water is something I enjoyed every day and evening. The house is located in such a quiet spot within walking distance to all Portsmouth has to offer. The vacation we had was our best and a place we plan to have many more memories. The cottage is 20 minutes outside Newport where there are beaches and many things to do. We would suggest this cottage to anyone interested in a truly relaxing vacation located on the water.
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind words! We look forward to your return next year! All the best to you and your family, Deborah and David
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Direct Waterfront on Narragansett Bay. Beautiful southern views on 600' deck.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p120827
+1 4016627243
Portsmouth Newport and Aquidneck Island
Portsmouth, NH
5

A little slice of heaven!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 5, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
This is the cottage I've been searching for my whole life -- right on the ocean. Not just water views: you get the super-relaxing sound of the waves, too. The deck offers privacy and plenty of space for dining or grilling. We left the master bedroom sliders open so we could be rocked to sleep by the sound of the waves and hear them upon awakening. It was like getting a "mental massage" to live so close to the water! Portsmouth is a cute beach town that's not too crowded, and feels undiscovered, but has plenty of restaurants, from Flo's Clam Shack to the more elegant setting of 15 Point Road. Newport is an easy drive away, with its gorgeous waterfront sightsand mansions. This cottage is stocked with everything you would need, and it's sparkling clean. We really didn't want to leave when our visit was over and we are already making plans to return. It's a rare property that "has it all": beauty, peace, proximity to a great tourist town like Newport. We couldn't have been more delighted with our time there! Thanks, Deborah, for your attentiveness, from the time we booked onward. You made it easy to fall in love with the cottage!
Owner's Response: We are so happy that you really enjoyed yourselves at the cottage. Thank you so much for your kind words! We really appreciate your thoughtfulness and do hope you are able to return soon. Great guests like yourselves are why we really enjoy renting the cottage. Thank you very much!
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Direct Waterfront on Narragansett Bay. Beautiful southern views on 600' deck.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p120827
+1 4016627243
Portsmouth Newport and Aquidneck Island
5

Best vacation ever!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
We had the most relaxing vacation we ever had! We have 3 young girls and they have never settled into a vacation home as they did this one. The house was clean, inviting and comfortable. The views were amazing! The sliding glass door off the master bedroom was wonderful. We fell asleep and woke up to the gentle sounds of water splashing below. Some of the earlier reviews said they wouldn't recommend the home to families with young children because of the rocks to get to the beach. The girls ages 7, 5 and just 3, mastered the rocks before we did! Yes the beach was rocky, but it didn't deter us from spending most of our vacation in the water just below the home. The kids spent tons of time searching under rocks for crabs. It was just a short drive to sandy beaches and to Newport. We were even lucky enough to catch the America's Cup Sailing Races! We spend many meals in the well stocked kitchen, but when we didn't feel like cooking, we tried out a couple of local restaurants. The food was great and everyone treated you as a local. We can't wait to spend many more vacations at this wonderful home!
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for the great review. We really appreciate it. We are delight that you will choose to stay at the cottage again and make more New England memories.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Direct Waterfront on Narragansett Bay. Beautiful southern views on 600' deck.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p120827
+1 4016627243
Portsmouth Newport and Aquidneck Island
Sutton, Massachusetts
5

Amazing!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Thank you so much for sharing your home. This was an amazing vacation home. It was beautifully kept and very clean. It was well stocked with everything you need. The deck is honestly the best part. You are directly on the water. Couldn't ask for a more relaxing and peaceful view. The pictures that are on the site are not completely up to date but honestly the house was even better so you will be pleasantly surprised as we were. Thanks again and we hope to be returning next year.
  
Owner's Response: Thanks Kelli! We are delighted that you enjoyed the cottage so much. We look forward to seeing you back again next year. Happy Summer!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Direct Waterfront on Narragansett Bay. Beautiful southern views on 600' deck.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p120827
+1 4016627243
Portsmouth Newport and Aquidneck Island
5

Lovely view, comfy home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
We had a wonderful time staying at this home. The view from the sliding glass door in the master bedroom is spectacular. There are tons of chairs on the deck. The home also feels very private. The kitchen is well-stocked.

There's only a tiny bit of rocky beach in front of the home. (You have to be very careful walking down there, however. It's no big deal for an adult, but children will need to be careful.) There are tons of shells on the beach. We found a huge shell down there.

Portsmouth is lovely. The location is nicely positioned between Providence and Newport.

This was my first trip to New England and I thoroughly enjoyed it! (As a side note, the Newport Ghost Tour is a lot of fun.)
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Direct Waterfront on Narragansett Bay. Beautiful southern views on 600' deck.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p120827
+1 4016627243
Portsmouth Newport and Aquidneck Island
5

You won't want to leave!

You won't want to leave!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 28, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
Perfect for our week-long get a way. Sitting on the deck, listening to the water, walks along the beach and up and down quaint little streets, great restrauants within walking distance, a short drive into Newport to tour the mansions and all the Newport has to offer.... who could ask for more? The cottage is very cozy,clean and comfortable. The kitchen is well stocked and equipped with all you need if you want to prepare meals. Waking up to the magnificient water view each morning and going to sleep to the sound of the waves, now that my friends is priceless!
Owner's Response: Thank you for the great review! We are so glad that you enjoyed the cottage and hope to see you again next year. Best of the summer to you!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Direct Waterfront on Narragansett Bay. Beautiful southern views on 600' deck.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p120827
+1 4016627243
Portsmouth Newport and Aquidneck Island
5

Extreme Relaxation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
My family of 4 just returned from this ocean cottage and the reviews are unanimous - every one of us had a fabulous time and would love to return next year. We found the home to be clean and well-stocked. The area was quiet - just the sound of seagulls and waves. The huge deck is a fabulous space to sit, relax, and watch the sailboats. We brought a hammock and many hours were spent laying in it this week. I also loved that there were no stairs off the deck; my dogs could go out there at will and I didn't need to worry about them. My teenagers enjoyed the rocky beach, however in my opinion, it wouldn't be my first choice if I had younger children. Water shoes were a must and there was a lot of seaweed.

The cottage was centrally located between the places we wanted to visit - about 15 minutes to both Newport and Little Compton. We visited Sakonnet Vineyards for wine tasting and bought a case of wine - fabulous! Downtown Newport is quaint. We ate at The Black Pearl and did some shopping. We toured The Breakers and drove the 10 Mile Ocean Drive.

This was our first experience renting a property online and we have no reservations about doing so again in the future. The experience was everything we had hoped for and more - thank you Deborah and David!
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you Michelle. We appreciate the kind words and we are so glad you enjoyed the cottage. See you again next year!
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Direct Waterfront on Narragansett Bay. Beautiful southern views on 600' deck.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p120827
+1 4016627243
Portsmouth Newport and Aquidneck Island
warwick, r.i.
5

peaceful, fun and relaxing

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 18, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
i have visited the cottage many times now and each time i leave i am planning the return visit!!! the cottage is very clean, has plenty of room, fireplace and of course the magnificent deck. the deck is so great with plenty of room for guests and of course daydreaming. it is beautiful to experience in any weather!! there are great restaurants around the cottage with great service. you are a short ride to newport, r.i. and conn.. but most of all even if you want to do nothing but sit and read a book, this place allows the calm and serentiy your soul needs!!!! i can't wait to go back.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the kind words about the cottage Barbara! We really appreciate it. It is always a pleasure to know you are at the cottage and enjoying the area. We hope to see you again soon. Maybe the Newport Wine Festival?
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Direct Waterfront on Narragansett Bay. Beautiful southern views on 600' deck.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p120827
+1 4016627243
Portsmouth Newport and Aquidneck Island
United States
5

Pretty cottage by the sea

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 14, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
We are currently in the middle of our stay here at the cottage, and we couldn’t be more pleased. Since we first arrived, we have been in awe at the perfect view of the bay. The house, itself, is very welcoming and comfortable—the pictures do not do it justice. The three bedrooms are all spacious, clean, and bright. I love staying in the side bedroom with the view of the waves on the beach—but I must confess that the master bedroom has the most spectacular view of the bay. The master bedroom also has private access to the extra large balcony. The kitchen is also a good size with a great view, and I was very surprised at how well stocked it is—it has everything from spices, to all sizes of pots and pans, to Tupperware and even a hand-mixer! The bathroom is also well kept and stocked.

Deborah and David are very attentive and welcoming. The other night, my grandmother had a query about the hinge of the bathroom door, so we called them and told them about it. They quickly replied and came the very next morning to have a look—turns out that my grandmother was just being paranoid, but nonetheless, I was very impressed with how they treated the situation.

This house has been perfect for our family—my elderly grandmother appreciates how accessible everything is, and especially enjoys seeing the shell collection that my aunt and I have brought in from our daily walks on the shore. The wireless Internet is also a plus, as are the tasty restaurants within walking distance (or wheeling distance, for my grandmother).

I would definitely recommend staying at the cottage to anyone interested! If we ever return to New England, we will be booking with Deborah and David!

Thank you for the wonderful vacation!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks Melanie! We really appreciate your kind words about the cottage. We are thrilled that you are enjoying your stay, and we hope you will be stateside again to visit soon. Thanks again for the great review!
Helpful votes: 7/7