Northside estate rental - 2 private beaches
2 private beaches
 
  • Bedrooms9
  • Sleeps24
  • 9 Bathrooms
  • 3 Half Baths
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Northside Estate Rental Photos and Description
9 bedrooms, 9 full baths, 3 half baths, sleep 24 people

Sand Dollar is set above its own private white sand beaches on the shores of beautiful Magens Bay. Fully air-conditioned with contemporary island decor, Sand Dollar Estate has always delighted its guests, from celebrities to U.S. Presidents. The upper entry level opens to 2 spacious king bedrooms, each with its own bathroom, indoor and outdoor shower, and an alcove with sofa bed perfect for small children. A few steps below is the main level with a large open well equipped kitchen, formal dining room, sumptuous living room and third king bedroom with private bath. The main level opens to a short flight of stairs down to the pool level with three air-conditioned bedroom suites, one with queen size bed and two with king size bed. Each pool side bedroom has a separate bathroom and sitting area with sofa bed. They are connected by a large game room pool table,

cable TV and mini bar, overlooking the pool. Right off the pool deck is a separate recreation building with professional gym, spa massage room and rooftop sun deck.

The pool area features a 5,000 sq ft sun deck, tiled pool, gazebo, and an alfresco dining area with professional gas grill and sink. Off the pool area are stairs down to the magnificent, private white sand beach, the crown jewel of Sand Dollar. Swim, snorkel, sunbathe, and relax in privacy and solitude. Guaranteed to be the nicest beach you have ever set foot on!

Just next door is Little Sand Dollar, a 2300 square feet stone cottage, three bedroom suites (each with king size bed and full bath), stairway down to its own private beach, fully air-conditioned with a well-equipped kitchen, jacuzzi, a covered porch, and an open deck overlooking Magens Bay, it is perfect for newlyweds, teenagers or a small family. Very secluded and luxurious, Sand Dollar Estate is the luxury vacation of lifetime!

Jetski/watertoys can be delivered to private beach at extra cost.

Our fully equipped, newly completed gym features a full complement of Precor professional equipment including:

- Precord treadmill with heart rate monitor

- Precord recumbent bicycle with heart rate monitor

- Precor elliptical trainer

- Precor weight trainer

There is also a Bose audio/video system with cable TV and a Sony 32' LCD TV and iPOD dock. High Speed WIFI throughout the property. This fully air conditioned state of the art facility offers incredible down island views, as well as magnificent views of Magens Bay and our private beaches below. Enjoy the lovely deck outside before, during, or after your work out. Trainers are available with advance notice.

Our fully conditioned, Spa massage room features hydrotherapy tub, rain shower, make up station, massage table, manisure/pedicure area, cable TV and a Sony 32' LCD TV and iPOD dock. Ideal for Lady Spa Day or couple massage. Exclusively for our guest.

Right above this brand new pavillion, is our rooftop sundeck. Furnishs with oversized costumed settee and day bed, perfect for stars gazing at night or sunbathing during the day.

More Details
Hide Details

42 Reviews of Property 120358 in Northside, Virgin Islands

Sand Dollar - 2 private beaches - Rent Directly from Owner
average rating of 5.0 based on 42 reviews
business
Sand Dollar - 2 private beaches - Rent Directly from Owner
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p120358
+1 908 698-2722
Northside St. Thomas
5

Amazing Week at Sand Dollar

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 1, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
We had a group of 19 at Sand Dollar in the beginning of March - mixture of friends and our adult children and their spouses (ages 27 to 59). Some met each other for the first time. We had such a great adventure and we felt like we had all known each other forever.. We played group games each night and Thursday was our "Secret Night" where everyone shared a secret about themselves. What happens at Sand Dollar stays at Sand Dollar!

I organized the trip and everyone was so appreciative and said I could not have found a better location. Suzanne the owner was wonderful to work with. She would respond immediately to every one of my e-mails or calls and was so very helpful. We also hire Monica and her niece to cook for us and it was the best decision ever. They prepared 2 meals of our choice daily and purchased whatever food our group requested which made the food cost so reasonable. We spoke several times before our arrival. I felt like we had friends for years. We like fresh fruit and she always had beautiful fruit platter each morning to enjoy all day. Her scrambled eggs, Mac N Cheese and BBQ chicken were our favorite.

Bob, the manager became part of our group. He was such a pleasure and so very helpful. Bob met us at the airport and had all the food and drinks I had pre-ordered from Cost U Less delivered at the estate. He kept our bar well stocked everyday which save us $ on alcohol and supplies. He is so sweet and made our stay so special. Both he and Monica truly became part of our group.

We absolutely love the property, so beautiful and private. We all had our own rooms and private bathrooms. Our own private beach with beautiful clear water - kayaks, paddle boards and rafts to enjoy. We walked in the water all the way to Magens Bay. We basically lived in our bathing suits. We went out to dinner once, but there was no need to leave our paradise.

We had Gloriana come to the estate on 2 days for massages which was outstanding. We also had a private boat tour with New Horizon which Captain Ryan and Matt was great and so much fun. They gave us 20% discount as Sand Dollar's guests.

The great thing about Sand Dollar is there is no need to leave this wonderful property. It was the most relaxing vacation any of us every had. Our group will certainly return. Hopefully with a few grandchildren next time.

Thanks to Suzanne, Monica and Bob for making us feel so special and giving us a great getaway that we will never forget.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Sand Dollar - 2 private beaches - Rent Directly from Owner
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p120358
+1 908 698-2722
Northside St. Thomas
Wichita, KS USA
5

Sand Dollar Estates, St. Thomas USVI

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 10, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
From the time we booked the villa thru Suzanne until the day we left, the whole experience was worth every dime. Once we arrived at the Villa, Bob was there to greet us and show us everything we needed to know in addition to offering his services for anything we needed during our stay.
The villa is well appointed, the beach is the BEST private beach on the entire island of St. Thomas and I think the beds were one of the most comfortable beds I have every slept in, period!
Suzanne and Steve provide you with eveything you need to know about the area, the services and the villa prior to your arrival. I would suggest purchasing the necessary items from the costuless website and have Bob stock the villa before your arrival. Who wants to be at the grocery store after making the flight versus sipping a rum cocktail by the pool or on the beach?
There is a small deli/store called the cork and cup where you can buy simple items as well as beer, wine and spirits that is a short 5min drive from the villa.
We had a group of 12 (six couples) in our party and to a couple, each said we would come back to Sand Dollar Estate in a heartbeat!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Sand Dollar - 2 private beaches - Rent Directly from Owner
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p120358
+1 908 698-2722
Northside St. Thomas
Portland, OR
5

Exceeded All Our Expectations!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 10, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
I have been following Sand Dollar for two years. Every time I was ready to book, it was unavailable. I was excited when I finally found a week which the property was open that worked for our entire family. With such high anticipation, our group of 20 was EXTREMELY looking forward to our trip to Sand Dollar. I am glad to report that it exceeded all our expectations.

The pictures and videos do not capture the magic of this place. We are still glowing thanks to the warm hospitality of the estate staff, especially Bob and Monica. The property is tastefully decorated. Every aspect is well-thought. Since it is not in the middle of the tourist area, we rented two cars for the week. Even so, Bob offered to drive us most of the time. Suzanne (the owner) suggested that we take advantage of pre-stocking the groceries. They were all in the fridge when we arrived. How great is that! Nothing worse than hungry kids after a long day of travel. I worked with Monica on the menu to please our picky eaters. She worked around our schedule the entire week and we took the opportunity to dine out several nights while she graciously babysat our children.

We could not have asked for a better vacation. Each day we were blessed with lovely weather and a new experience in the islands - fishing, swimming, snorkeling, boating, or just relaxing on the beach.

Our family likes to explore new places. However, we will make an exception for Sand Dollar. We plan to come back next year for sure if there is any time open!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Sand Dollar - 2 private beaches - Rent Directly from Owner
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p120358
+1 908 698-2722
Northside St. Thomas
colorado
5

Perfect for Wedding and Family Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 6, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
We chose Sand Dollar because it was perfect for our destination wedding and large enough for our family to stay with us. Not to mention that it is the only property in St. Thomas with a real white sand beach which was ideal for our ceremony.

Everyone enjoyed their stay and the amenities the house had to offer. We liked the layout of each bedroom. They are very different in decor and set up, but suited all our individual needs. The location of the property is ideal, only 20 minutes from the airport and within 15 minutes from all major attractions. The area was very safe, we did not lock the doors the entire time.

We worked directly with the owner. Suzanne helped us find the best wedding planner and caterer and gave us a lot of money saving ideas. Bob, the manager, was great to work with and very friendly. He made numerous trips to meet with our family members who arrived from different parts of the country, pre-stocked all our groceries, picked up and stored all the wedding packages prior to our arrival, and always available during our stay. We also hired Monica to cook for us. We enjoyed her food tremendously.

This is by far one of the most memorable vacation. We will definitely return in the near future.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Sand Dollar - 2 private beaches - Rent Directly from Owner
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p120358
+1 908 698-2722
Northside St. Thomas
5

Jaw dropping beauty and exceptional property

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
This property does not disappoint! Everything was wonderful, from the layout of the villa (everyone found privacy when they wanted it, but there were many fun and comfortable gathering points), to the comfort of the bedrooms (lovely beds, linens, pillows and towels) to the incredibly well appointed kitchen. The staff was welcoming and truly helpful. They did their best to make sure we had a fabulous stay and went out of their way to assist when we needed it.
We are most certainly returning. This is a must for your bucket list and is certainly worth repeating!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Sand Dollar - 2 private beaches - Rent Directly from Owner
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p120358
+1 908 698-2722
Northside St. Thomas
5

Best Vacation in Years!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
We have been to several Caribbean five star resorts and luxury rental properties, and so far this is our favorite. First of all, Suzanne is wonderful to work with. With numerous emails and calls, I was confident that this was the right place for our annual family reunion.

Upon our arrival at the airport we were greeted by Bob, the property manager. We were swiftly brought to Sand Dollar. He helped us to pre-stock all our provisions and picked up all the packages we shipped prior to arrival (one of our family member requires special medical attention). Monica (the cook) was waiting for us with a delicious light meal. The property was impeccable. It took us no time to recover after a day of travel.

We stayed in all 9 bedrooms. Four generations and 20 of us had plenty of space to relax and get together each morning and night for a wonderful breakfast and dinner.

The weather was awesome. The water is always calm on the beach. You can snorkel up and down the shores of Magens Bay.

We planned a lot of activities prior to our trip. However, we ended up spending most of the time on the private beach, kayaking, snorkeling, swimming, paddle boarding.... We did manage to leave the property and spend a day on a private charter to the BVI. What's a marvelous way to see the islands.

Monica prepared most of our meals. They were delicious. We only ate at a restaurant twice. Thirteen and Old Stone Farm House are both wonderful.

There was so much to do but so little time! We all agreed to return next year.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Sand Dollar - 2 private beaches - Rent Directly from Owner
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p120358
+1 908 698-2722
Northside St. Thomas
5

Absolutely the best!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
This was our first time to St. Thomas. We spent a lot of time comparing the location, prices and reviews of all the different villas in the Caribbean. We were pleased that we chose Sand Dollar. The property is beautifully maintained, spacious, clean and impeccably furnished. There are plenty of space for our party of 16, aging from 3 to 81. The villa staff was polite and helpful. Special thanks to Suzanne and Bob, who always made us feel at home and offered a lot of great recommendations before and during our stay.

The clear, calm water and sandy private beach just steps below the villa which was perfect for both adults and children. There was great snorkeling right along the shore with abundant wildlife day and night. There are plenty of activities to take advantage of in the islands, but we took advantage of the property to have everything set up right there. Massage, fishing, jet skis right on the private beach.

Our experience at Sand Dollar was fabulous, and this was truly a trip we will remember forever. We plan to visit again in the near future.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Sand Dollar - 2 private beaches - Rent Directly from Owner
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p120358
+1 908 698-2722
Northside St. Thomas
Atlanta, GA
5

Dream Wedding at Paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
My wife and I got married at Sand Dollar Estate in August 2013 and we could not asked for a better venue for our big day! Our parents and friends stayed with us at the villa (both main house and cottage) and other wedding guests stayed at nearby Sugar Bay Resort. We had a beautiful ceremony on the beach, followed by a delicious meal prepared by Laura, and non-stop dancing on the pool deck. The wedding planner, Janelle, was professional, knowledgeable, well-orgainized and very easy to work with. Suzanne, the owner was also easily accessible via phone or email and was eager to answer any questions and offer valuable advices.

The villa itself is a beautiful property, tastefully decorated and meticulously maintained. With 14 adults and 2 children staying at the property for 7 nights, we all had plenty of space and privacy. The villa staff were wonderful: friendly, professional, hard working and fun to be with! They made sure we had everything we needed, cooked us delicious meals and even showed us how to prepare local dishes. Bob, the property manager is always available, offered various tips and activities advices.

Overall Sand Dollar Estate has exceeded our expectations. The private beach, the nice weather, the sumptuous accommodations, the spectacular view, the resort style amenities, the helpful staff..... We could have not imagined a more perfect place to celebrate our special day.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Sand Dollar - 2 private beaches - Rent Directly from Owner
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p120358
+1 908 698-2722
Northside St. Thomas
minneapolis, MN
5

St. Thomas Fishing Adventure

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Every year for the past twenty years or so, we have taken an annual boys trip to various destinations around the globe, all of which had one thing in common - great fishing. Most of the time we stayed in hotels or resorts because there are not too many houses large enough to accommodate all of 10 of us. This past summer we decided to fishing for blue marlin in St. Thomas. One of my friend found the beautiful Sand Dollar on the internet. We have the fantasy of our charter boat picking us up every morning from our own beach and dropping us off when we were finished. It was not until we got to this magical place, that our fantasy came true.

We have been around the world from Australia to Hawaii to the Bahamas in search of marlin, but we never have been in ay place like Sand Dollar. We fished for four days around the moon and did not leave the estate for the other three. Monica cooked us hearty breakfast every morning and the dinner were there waiting for us when we got home. Bob left the light on which shine from the downstairs deck on to the water every night, there will be a hundred tarpons right in front of the house within casting distance. What a great way to spend an evening. He also stocked the house with beer and rum and took us his favorite restaurant, Old Stone Farmhouse for the only dinner we ate out. What a treat!

Because we were used to stay at the hotel, we were worried about lack of amenities and privacy. We were wrong. The 7 bedrooms (8 including the den at the cottage) were over the top. The free WIFI is faster than any hotel and we can even got it on the beach. The sand was softer than any of us ever felt and this fishing trip was the greatest we ever took. Thanks to Suzanne (the owner), Bob (the manager) and his staff and the incredible fishing on the North Drop of St. Thomas.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Sand Dollar - 2 private beaches - Rent Directly from Owner
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p120358
+1 908 698-2722
Northside St. Thomas
Houston
5

Incredible Family Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We spent a week at Sand Dollar in June 2013 for our parents' 50th anniversary. What a great way to celebrate their special day. There were 18 of us, 14 adults and 4 children from ages 3 to 16. The entire property is spectacular, very well maintained and perfect for a large family. Between the main house, cottage, and all the outdoor spaces, there are always places to relax. The private beach is absolutely magnificent, powdery sand, calm and always filled with wild life. The younger children were able to play and swim on the beach, while the older ones snorkeled, kayaked or rode the paddle board along the shores of Magens Bay. We rented a jet ski and had it delivered to the beach, the teenagers had a blast!

Bob and the rest of staff were most accommodating, always willing to help. They made you feel right at home. Monica cooked most of the meals for us and we dined out several times. It was fun for our family to try her local recipes. Oceana was our favorite restaurant by far!

We chartered a private sailboat for a day. It is certainly the best way to see the islands. The boat picked us up on the private beach, saving us a trip to the nearby marina. We booked several massages in advance and got a great package deal from Glorianna. We went golfing, shopping, and took a day trip to St. John but spent most of our time on the beach.

We highly recommend this property to large family who is seeking luxury, privacy and the ultimate in relaxation.
Helpful votes: 2/2