Bernard house rental - Perennial garden with a view of an Island
Perennial garden with a view of an Island
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps5
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Bernard House Rental Photos and Description
2 bedrooms, 1 full bathroom, 1 half bathroom, outdoor shower, sleeps 5, internet

On a private wooded lot with views of Blue Hill Bay, this custom-built house with many windows and a 'floating ceiling' is designed to make you feel as though you are living in a painting. In addition to a well-equipped kitchen, glass doors from the living room and master bedroom with a King bed opens to a deck which has a large stone fireplace. The other bedroom has a Queen and you have a view of the front gardens.

The village of Bernard is a short walk away. A trail through the woods takes you to Thurston's Wharf for lobster dinner or to Island Astronomy for some star-gazing. Back Beach is excellent for rock hunting, investigating tidal pools or an evening bonfire. Try scuba diving, biking park trails, kayaking or any of the other adventures Acadia National Park offers. Two bedrooms: one queen and one full-sized bed. One full and one half bath.

10 Reviews of Property 120303 in Bernard, Maine

House with Water View and Fireplace on Deck
average rating of 5.0 based on 10 reviews
business
House with Water View and Fireplace on Deck
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p120303
207 244-7807
Bernard Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
United States
5

Perfect Maine Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 24, 2009
  • Stayed: Aug 2009
We have a new standard in vacation rentals. We don't use numbers or stars. Our top ranking will now be called "Marty's Place" after our weeklong stay in August 2009. This home on the quiet side of Mt. Desert Island came as advertised. It was the perfect spot for early morning wanderings through the woods and along the shore of Bass Harbor and environs. We spent successive evenings in efforts to create the perfect s'mores at the fireplace out on the deck. There we were serenaded by bullfrogs in the pond that lies between the house and the beach. We watched the full moon rose through the trees. "Marty's Place" is also a great base from which to visit Acadia National Park for hiking, bicycling, kayaking, and swimming; Southwest Harbor, Southeast Harbor, Bar Harbor and the other communities of the island. "Marty's Place" is part of the village of Bernard with the village of Bass Harbor close at hand. A great little library is a 5-minute walk from the house with antiques, local crafts, art galleries, lobster fishing docks also a short walk away. There are many, many eateries on the Quiet Side but we often neglected them in favor of building family meals in the kitchen and on the grill and eating on the deck or, if there was a little rain, in the comfortable dining room. Our recommendation? Next time it just might be two weeks at "Marty's Place."
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thank you for your positive response and also thanks to Home Away for their format in presenting rental pictures.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
House with Water View and Fireplace on Deck
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p120303
207 244-7807
Bernard Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

Simply amazing

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Beautiful house with breathtaking views from the windows and the back porch. Bought lobster, clams and mussels from the local lobster pound everyday for dinner. the kitchen is beautiful and has everything you could possibly need to cook meals. We ate breakfast and dinner everyday in the house. The owner was very hospitable and accommodating. We walked around the back and my boyfriend went fishing while I collected seashells. He actually caught a fish and we had it for dinner! Great way to end our first vacation in Maine and it couldn't have been more perfect.
business
House with Water View and Fireplace on Deck
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p120303
207 244-7807
Bernard Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Colorado
5

Better than Expeceted

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
You always wonder if the pictures will match up with the actual property, right? The price just seems too good to be true. I can tell you that this property was a delight. The pictures really do not show you the beauty of the property. Everything was clean, well maintained and fully equiped. There are floor to ceiling windows that let the light flow in, even on a foggy day. There are two bedrooms, each about the same size, with the bathroom more or less in between them. There is a great deck that sits in the middle of the house that you can see from either the living room or the the back bedroom. We bought plenty of "camp wood" to use in the outdoor fireplace, which was so relaxing after a long day. I hate to admit this but I am pretty picky. I have been known to call and request that a property be recleaned or at least cleaned before I unpack. On a trip my husband does not upack until I've checked the room and bathroom. I just really feel you should get what you think you are paying for. I had no such issues with this house, even the furniture is comfy and clean. It feels like you are visiting friends and they just left you the keys to their house. It takes you just a couple of minutes to walk to the ocean if your so inclined but I bet you'll just sit on the deck and watch the boats go by. We had a couple of foggy days and could hear the fog horns but not see the boats so when it cleared it was amazing to see the Ferry turning past the point. The location of the house REALLY is on the quite side of the island which we really enjoyed but the drive to Bar Harbor is 15 to 20 minutes and only because of the speed limit and narrow roads. There are plenty of places to eat or shop if your so inclinded, within a 5 minute drive of the house, including Bass Harbor which has a grocery store and a very nice specialty market.
The owner Marty even contacted us to make sure everything was as expected and that we didn't need anything, which I thought was considerate. I could tell you a lot more but your just going to have to experience it yourself. I only have one negative thing to say and that is, we just did not have enough time to enjoy the house to its fulliest because we were always out exploring Acadia National Park. I would love to come back and just stay at the house. Hopefully we will be able to do that in the near future.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: With the beauty of Mount Desert Island and Acadia National Park I have a challenge to match such beauty with my own properties.
When I receive positive reviews about my properties I have feel I have complimented my magnificent surroundings. It is part of the service I wish to provide. I hope by making the houses comfortable inside and out, families visiting Mount Desert Island will return again.
Again thanks Georgia Meachum for such a positive review.
business
House with Water View and Fireplace on Deck
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p120303
207 244-7807
Bernard Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

Can't wait to return

Can't wait to return
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
We loved the Lyon's Den. It was exactly as described and a GREAT place to relax after exploring Acadia and surrounding areas.The home is beautiful, Beds are comfy, View is breath taking. Thank You!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
House with Water View and Fireplace on Deck
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p120303
207 244-7807
Bernard Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

Well worth it!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
The Lyons Den was beautiful! It was everything we could have hoped for and more. Amazing views from the house and lots of privacy. We brought our children (ages 14, 12, and 9) and they really enjoyed walking to back beach and catching snails in the yard. The house is equipped with everything you need, and it was so much fun to walk to Thurstons Lobster Pound and pick up live lobsters to cook at the house. The owner Marty was extremely helpful and even stopped in once to make sure we didn't need anything else! Our stay was so relaxing that my husband is sold on the idea of retiring to "the quiet side" of Mount Desert Island!
Owner's Response: Again as property manager of 'Lyons Den' it is gratifying to hear positive comments from renters that appreciate the comforts that are available for their rest and relaxation. I am committed to making my property the best for all renters who vacation on Mount Desert Island....." a destination that they will want to return too in the future".
business
House with Water View and Fireplace on Deck
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p120303
207 244-7807
Bernard Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
5

Relaxing, beautiful, and luxurious

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We had a truly amazing vacation at the Lyon's Den. It was just what our family was looking for--a lovely well-appointed house, a gorgeous setting overlooking the harbor and ocean, comfortable and well-stocked accommodations, and proximity to all the Acadia and Mount Desert Island have to offer. We really hit the jackpot! From the comfortable and plush beds and couches, to the outdoor deck and fireplace, to the well-equipped kitchen, to the stunning garden and woods surrounding the house, our week felt like a little slice of our own private paradise. The owner, Marty, was gracious and helpful in helping us to set up the rental and has truly thought through everything a guest might need to feel at home. I cannot recommend this property highly enough!
Owner's Response: As property manager of 'Lyons Den' it is gratifying to hear positive comments from renters that appreciate the comforts that are available for their rest and relaxation.
I am committed to making my property the best for all renters who vacation on Mount Desert Island....." a destination that they will want to return too in the future".
business
House with Water View and Fireplace on Deck
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p120303
207 244-7807
Bernard Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
New York, NY
5

Lovely House on the Quietside

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and I would highly recommend this rental to anyone who prefers staying on the Quietside. The house has calming water views, a pretty perennial garden, is tastefully decorated and thoughtfully appointed - it was a pleasure to return here after a busy day of hiking, biking and exploring. I loved that we could walk to Thurston's Lobster Pound, and we enjoyed taking our dog to nearby Back Beach, where he could swim to his heart's content. Overall, we had a delightful stay and I would definitely rent this house again.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Providing quality service with a “Home Away Touch” is what we strive for. We are always open to suggestions for improving our visitors’ stay on Mount Desert Island. It is very gratifying to hear positive comments/feedback by our summer renters after they have stayed at the Lopaus Point House in beautiful Bernard.
“Down East comfort is what we wish to provide to you, making your stay on Mount Desert Island relaxing…”
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
House with Water View and Fireplace on Deck
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p120303
207 244-7807
Bernard Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
New Jersey
5

Blissful Perfection

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 7, 2009
  • Stayed: Sep 2009
We thoroughly enjoyed our second stay - if possible, perhaps even more than the first. We have never before visited or vacationed anywhere twice (let alone in the same year), but this place is "that" special. It's the perfect antidote for anyone with a need to get away and it offers such amazing amenities... the incredible view, proximity to the water, wonderful and comfortable house (amply stocked with absolutely everything you could need) and puts you close to nature while close to activities and great spots to dine! Thank you again for a delightful respite from normal life. Just as we said the first time we visited as we were walking around admiring the view from anywhere in the house... "this is incredible"! We certainly hope to make a return visit in the future - most likely again next year!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
House with Water View and Fireplace on Deck
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p120303
207 244-7807
Bernard Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Upstate NY
5

Dream Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 22, 2009
  • Stayed: Sep 2009
I can't say enough about how much we enjoyed the house and our vacation. Last year my sister rented the house and told me it was so beautiful that if it was her house she would never allow anyone to bring pets. However, we are so glad Marty was able to accomodate our dogs. The weather was perfect and we found ourselves rushing back to enjoy the late afternoon sun on the back deck. We especially loved Acadia National Park (another dog friendly experience) and the nearby small harbor towns. We are seriously considering returning next year as the house was perfect and one week was not enough to enjoy all the area has to offer.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
House with Water View and Fireplace on Deck
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p120303
207 244-7807
Bernard Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
New York City
5

House with Water View and Fireplace on Deck

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2008
  • Stayed: Jul 2008
The house was beautiful and well-maintained. If anything, the pictures don't do justice to the efficient and thoughtful layout. The accommodations were tasteful and the location was terrific.

The restaurants of Southwest Harbor were extremely convenient, and Bar Harbor was a quick and easy trip.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 5/5