Bailey Island house rental - Welcome to 44 Robinhood Road!
Welcome to 44 Robinhood Road!
 
  • Bedrooms7
  • Sleeps18
  • 4 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay nights
 

Bailey Island House Rental Photos and Description
7 bedrooms, 4 bathrooms, sleeps 18

Extensive renovations have just been completed on this beautiful home! The circa 1890 home has the true summer cottage feeling of Maine, with wood paneled walls, many antiques furnishings and much more! Living room/dining room area with huge fireplace; newly renovated fully equipped kitchen; flat screen color TV with DVD player and VCR in family room; and 4 full bathrooms. Large front porch to relax on and look out over a large yard in a private setting, gas grill, and yard games. The beautiful sandy beach is an easy 1/8 mile walk away. It has wonderful rocks for climbing; tide pools for hunting hermit crabs, snails, and sand dollars. At low tide, you are able to walk to a small island to search for other treasures of the sea! Bed ilinens included, no hidden cleaning charges, and we take care of the trash for you!

14 Reviews of Property 120204 in Bailey Island, Maine

Robinhood Inn on Bailey Island Home near Sandy Beach
average rating of 4.714286 based on 14 reviews
business
Robinhood Inn on Bailey Island Home near Sandy Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p120204
(603) 662-9956 (New Hampshire, USA)
Bailey Island Portland and Casco Bay Area
United States
4

Large family vacation

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
I recently rented this house with my family (2 babies, 4 kids, 13 adults) as a weekend getaway - the house accommodated all of us. The house was THAT roomy. The description was more than accurate - when the owner says it sleeps 18, it really comfortably sleeps 18.

House is fully equipped with everything you'd need for a vacation away from home, yet feel like you're right at home. House was also very well kept - clean and well-maintained. Spacious front yard for kids to play. My nieces/nephews also enjoyed the nearby beach.

Yes, the house has a campy feeling to it- but that's not always a bad thing. My family hung out by the common room (basically in front of the fireplace) and it did not feel congested at all. We all had enough space to do what we wanted to do.

Only downside to this rental were the bathrooms - they were a bit outdated. However, given the campy vibe this house gives off, they weren't terrible. Also, you can hear everything in this house - but again, it adds to the campy vibe.

The owner was very accommodating - answered all questions I had - before and during the stay. That was very much appreciated.

Highly recommend this house for family getaways - especially big family reunions. My family enjoyed our stay and hope others will as well.

Thanks for a great stay Terry!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Robinhood Inn on Bailey Island Home near Sandy Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p120204
(603) 662-9956 (New Hampshire, USA)
Bailey Island Portland and Casco Bay Area
United States
4

Large family vacation

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
I recently rented this house with my family (2 babies, 4 kids, 13 adults) as a weekend getaway - the house accommodated all of us. The house was THAT roomy. The description was more than accurate - when the owner says it sleeps 18, it really comfortably sleeps 18.

House is fully equipped with everything you'd need for a vacation away from home, yet feel like you're right at home. House was also very well kept - clean and well-maintained. Spacious front yard for kids to play. My nieces/nephews also enjoyed the nearby beach.

Yes, the house has a campy feeling to it- but that's not always a bad thing. My family hung out by the common room (basically in front of the fireplace) and it did not feel congested at all. We all had enough space to do what we wanted to do.

Only downside to this rental were the bathrooms - they were a bit outdated. However, given the campy vibe this house gives off, they weren't terrible. Also, you can hear everything in this house - but again, it adds to the campy vibe.

The owner was very accommodating - answered all questions I had - before and during the stay. That was very much appreciated.

Highly recommend this house for family getaways - especially big family reunions. My family enjoyed our stay and hope others will as well.

Thanks for a great stay Terry!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thank you for the wonderful review Le, we hope to see you again next summer.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Robinhood Inn on Bailey Island Home near Sandy Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p120204
(603) 662-9956 (New Hampshire, USA)
Bailey Island Portland and Casco Bay Area
North Hampton, NH at the seacoast
5

Family Get-Together

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 4, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
This was our family's 2nd annual vacation. There was supposed to be about 17 of us but narrowed down to 11. We had such a wonderfully relaxing time. The house itself is perfect for a large gathering with the main area (kitchen, dining and sitting area) all open. We found this helpful with keeping our eyes on the little ones. The fireplace and pellet stove gave off enough heat to keep the chill out of the house (no central heating). The beach was a short beautiful walk. We did have to go down a rocky cliff to get down to the beach area but were all able to do so. The outside, at the house, had a beautiful yard that we sat around in and at night had a bonfire (not sure if we were supposed to have a permit for this though). The one thing you must remember that it is an old beach cottage and you could hear everything. That just added to the charm of it. After all it is a large, old beach cottage. To us the added plus was having the owners staying on the property. You would hardly know they were there. They were all delightful. A few of us did spring for a boat ride with Terry and two of his children and that was absolutely beautiful. We would definitely rent here again and would recommend it highly.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for your kind words, we'd love to have you all back again!
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
Robinhood Inn on Bailey Island Home near Sandy Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p120204
(603) 662-9956 (New Hampshire, USA)
Bailey Island Portland and Casco Bay Area
Pennsylvania
4

family reunion

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
Thank you for a lovely time on Bailey Island. We were a group of 11, over 55 adults enjoying a family reunion. We were delighted to have enough bedrooms for each couple and 4 bathrooms. The photos in your listing were accurate. Everything was clean and neat. The owner was very helpful when needed. We enjoyed excursions to neighboring areas, Bath, Freeport, Booth Bay, Brunswick. The Lands End gift shop was a very nice and the scerery in the area was beautiful. Food was enjoyed at several small diners and our family out dinner was held at Morses Cribstone Grille. It is a rustic setting and I would recommend it to others. Thank you for a lovely reunion.
You may want to stabilize the picnic style tables better. If too many sit on one side they tip over.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 12/12
business
Robinhood Inn on Bailey Island Home near Sandy Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p120204
(603) 662-9956 (New Hampshire, USA)
Bailey Island Portland and Casco Bay Area
Dansville, New York
5

Just Right !!!!!! Perfect !!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
Quiet and a great home to relax in. We will be back again and again. Thanks Terry.
Ed Johnston
Dansville,NY
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Robinhood Inn on Bailey Island Home near Sandy Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p120204
(603) 662-9956 (New Hampshire, USA)
Bailey Island Portland and Casco Bay Area
Whitby, Ontario, Canada
5

Accurately describes the property

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
Ideal location for a large family group of varying ages. The property was in very good shape. The owner was very pleasant and helpful. The house is large and very well-equipped with lots of counter-space and ample dishes, cooking utensils, two refrigerators, stoves etc - very suitable for cooking and eating in. There is ample room for a large party to sit and eat and very comfortable sitting space for relaxation. The beds were comfortable and the bedrooms large enough and the were enough bathrooms! There is a large grassy area which is ideal for the children to play without having to worry about traffic. The short walk to the beach though trees is interesting and the restricted access to the beach meant that it was never crowded. Because of the difference between the tides the beach seems to present new and interesting experiences each visit. The presence of small islands around the beach restricts the waves so that even small children could swim. The island is very scenic for walking and the local people were very welcoming especially when we attended the local Independence Day Strawberry Social. We would highly recommend this location to anyone with a large family with children who wanted as we did to stay in one location.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thank you for the nice descriptive review, I hope you all had a safe trip home. We hope to see you again.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Robinhood Inn on Bailey Island Home near Sandy Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p120204
(603) 662-9956 (New Hampshire, USA)
Bailey Island Portland and Casco Bay Area
4

Fun Time at The Robin Hood Inn

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 22, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
11 of us Ladies stayed at the Inn in Oct. 2011. We had a great time. The place is so big and the rooms are all a good size. We would of love to have had a TV in the fireplace room because that is where we spent most of our time talking . The stove was nice and cozy. Some of the ladies watched scary movies and we had alot of fun cooking in the huge kitchen. We had so much fun that we are hoping to return next Oct. The owner of this place is so nice to deal with.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Robinhood Inn on Bailey Island Home near Sandy Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p120204
(603) 662-9956 (New Hampshire, USA)
Bailey Island Portland and Casco Bay Area
Narragansett RI
5

We will be back next summer

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 5, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
It couldn"t have been better, we loved the house ,the setting, the beach etc. We plan to be back next summer,once I have my vacation dates set I will call. The greatroom was our gathering spot each evening, we would go over our day at the beach,boating , exploring the islands, etc. Good restaurants in the area, but the best is picking up a few lobsters and doing them at the house. I would reccomend it to everyone (just don't take my week!!!!)
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for your kind note! We love cooking our own lobsters at the house too, it really is the best. Many people don't realize how great fresh lobster....and by fresh I mean right from the ocean that day....really is! We look forward to having your family stay next year! Thanks again!
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Robinhood Inn on Bailey Island Home near Sandy Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p120204
(603) 662-9956 (New Hampshire, USA)
Bailey Island Portland and Casco Bay Area
Jackson NH
5

Picturesque home on a beautiful island

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 30, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
We've spent a lot of time on Bailey Island and I have to say that this is the nicest place that we have found. It has plenty of room for our large family yet is cozy when we are all sitting by the big fireplace in the livingroom. The large newly remodeled kitchen is a great place for us all to gather and we especially enjoy the spacious porch in the front of the house for either eating or lounging around on a warm evening. The house is within walking distance from the beach where we can sunbathe, collect shells or kayak and it's nice that our kids can still run back to the house while we are still at the beach and we don't have to worry about them. There are also beautiful views in every direction on Bailey Island which seem to draw us back again and again. We will most definitely make this a yearly destination and we thank the owners Terry and Sarah for sharing their beautiful home with us.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We can't thank you enough for your kind words. We are so glad your family enjoyed the house and wonderful Bailey Island as much as we do! And we look forward to welcoming you and your family back every year!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Robinhood Inn on Bailey Island Home near Sandy Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p120204
(603) 662-9956 (New Hampshire, USA)
Bailey Island Portland and Casco Bay Area
Harpswell ME
5

Great week!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
We had a fabulous week with our children and grandchildren. The house is roomy, very clean, and well-equipped - very comfortable. Although we had a houseful, one could always find a private space. The outdoor space provided many hours of family fun and games. It’s a terrific house – we hope to return. I would recommend a visit to the Bowdoin College Art Museum in nearby Brunswick.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your kind note! We are so happy when families enjoy the home as much as our family does. There is something special about Bailey Island and all there is to do in the area. We hope if your family plans another trip to Bailey Island that you will think of us again! All our best, Terry and Sarah
Helpful votes: 1/1